We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Real Rotorua

Rotorua 3007, New Zealand
+64 27 666 0144
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Nocturnal Glow Worm Tour

Steve was a great tour guide. We started our tour at 6pm and were back at the hotel at 8:30. We saw... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
JennaSasser
via mobile
An unforgettable experience of Rotorua

We had a very limited time to stay in Rotorua, but we are happy we could take the night walk with... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
airjuande2014
,
Madrid, Spain
via mobile
Read all 54 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Small group tours connecting you with hard to reach places.Explore Rotorua by day or night.
  • Excellent99%
  • Very good1%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
Rotorua 3007, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 27 666 0144

Similar Things to Do in Rotorua

Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Steve was a great tour guide. We started our tour at 6pm and were back at the hotel at 8:30. We saw multiple glow worms, wallabys, waterfalls, and ferns. Steve was very informative and helpful. We paid $155 for a group of 4, and that...More

Thank JennaSasser
rotoguide, Owner at Real Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Great to hear Jenna and thanks for being adventurous and coming out on an overcast night. Happy to have shown Y'ALL a different side of Rotorua. cheers Stephen

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a very limited time to stay in Rotorua, but we are happy we could take the night walk with Stephen and visit some of the most native and interesting nightsights around Rotorua. We were able to see a few possums and wallabies, as...More

Thank airjuande2014
rotoguide, Owner at Real Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

It was a pleasure to have you join me for the night tour and it is nice to receive such a great review. Safe and happy travels to you both and I will continue to practice my Vallanatos....Adios amigos cheers Stephen

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our night walk with Stephen was a genuine highlight of our NZ experience! It was definitely not your average guided tourist stroll, and I recommend it to anyone visiting Rotorua - you will not be disappointed. The forest we visited was completely amazing, and Stephen...More

Thank Neal R
rotoguide, Owner at Real Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

cheers Neal was great to have you guys along for the evening to do a little exploring with me and i enjoyed hearing about your experiences over the ditch. safe travels

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were recommended this tour by staff at the i-Site tourist office in Rotorua. It's designed for small parties so you get a great personal service in a small friendly group. We went on the afternoon - Thermal Path Tour. There is also a morning...More

Thank caroline g
rotoguide, Owner at Real Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I also had a great afternoon out with the two of you, it was a pleasure to have shown you around and thanks for sharing your experience. cheers Stephen

Reviewed 13 July 2017

I was lucky enough to meet Stephen last month. I saw many attractions and had many adventures while in New Zealand last month for the British Lions tour (I had to use up the days in between match days somehow!) and Stephen's night walk was...More

Thank gbarry227
rotoguide, Owner at Real Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I am sure you team went home glowing as well with the good fight the Lions put up against NZ. It was a pleasure to have shown you a little of my back yard and thanks for trying something of the beaten track. cheers Stephen

Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

We went with Stephen who shared his passion and efforts toward make this visit a memorable one. It's like a special/private tour which we will never forget as we walked through the forest at night with our torches to explore new exciting life. The hot...More

Thank Motaz L
rotoguide, Owner at Real Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It is always nice to hear what my guests thought of the experience and makes me want to continue doing what I do. cheers Stephen

Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

Our guide Steven set up a fantastic night tour just outside of Rotorua. He was very personable and very knowledgeable on plants, Maori culture, and the glowworms. The great trek included cascading waterfalls, glowworms, and sightings of wallabies and a possum. Ended the night by...More

Thank kvanliew2
rotoguide, Owner at Real Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks , I enjoy what I do and love showing people something truly unique. No two days are the same and it is always nice to meet people from all parts of the world . ps I love eating all the cookies too. cheers Stephen

Reviewed 7 July 2017

We went on a night walk for about 2 hours and it was so awesome. We got to see baby kangaroos and glowworms and a waterfall. Stephen was a great guide and really knew his stuff. Highly recommend to anyone who wants to see the...More

Thank molliebaruch
rotoguide, Owner at Real Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for joining me and nice to hear that you enjoyed the night out. happy travels. cheers Stephen

Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

Thank you Stephen for a fantastic alternative to the geothermal experience , experiencing nature up close was a real treat, wallabies and possums. Especially the glow worms, being so close to see these tiny creatures was a highlight !!! The hot chocolate was the best...More

Thank roey2017
rotoguide, Owner at Real Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Cheers Rosie thanks for trying something different, great to hear how much you enjoyed it as well. cheers Stephen

Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

I wasn't involved in the planning for this event and so didn't know what to expect, but it turned out to be one of our more enjoyable outings. Stephen grew up in the area and was very friendly, interesting, and knowledgeable. We did a night...More

Thank Ken A
rotoguide, Owner at Real Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

It was a pleasure to have you 3 along for the evening and the fact you did not know what you were about to do or see is the icing on the cake for me. Nature delivered the show and i am happy you enjoyed...More

Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Real Rotorua staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit