We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Real Rotorua

Rotorua 3007, New Zealand
+64 27 666 0144
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
This is a must do excursion in Rotorua

My sister and I went on a night glow worm excursion with Stephen Julian on the night we arrived and... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Nancy B
,
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Great introduction to New Zealand for visiting relatives from overseas

My brother and his wife arrived into Auckland at midnight on 3rd January for their very first trip... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
DavidTripdvisor
,
Christchurch, New Zealand
Read all 95 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Small group tours connecting you with hard to reach places.Explore Rotorua by day or night.
  • Excellent99%
  • Very good1%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
Rotorua 3007, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 27 666 0144
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"hot chocolate and cookies"
in 8 reviews
"night tour"
in 11 reviews
"glow worms"
in 40 reviews
"night walk"
in 10 reviews
"amazing tour"
in 5 reviews
"safety vests"
in 3 reviews
"lakes tour"
in 3 reviews
"silver fern"
in 4 reviews
"crowds of tourists"
in 2 reviews
"starry night"
in 2 reviews
"cascading waterfalls"
in 2 reviews
"great guide"
in 6 reviews
"clear night"
in 2 reviews
"new zealand"
in 16 reviews
"flora fauna"
in 2 reviews
"hidden gems"
in 3 reviews
"nearby lake"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

My sister and I went on a night glow worm excursion with Stephen Julian on the night we arrived and a private tour of the area with him the next morning. He really knew all about the area and was an amazing guide. He knew...More

Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotoguide, Owner at Real Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Your welcome .It was a pleasure to have you two along and great to hear that you enjoyed my tours with me. cheers Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

My brother and his wife arrived into Auckland at midnight on 3rd January for their very first trip to New Zealand. Unfortunately bad weather set in for their first few days but we continued with our travel plans and headed for Rotorua on Friday 5th...More

Thank DavidTripdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotoguide, Owner at Real Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for sharing your experience and it puts a smile on my face to hear how you all enjoyed the Morning tour. So many great places around Rotorua and they way you describe it is exactly how I feel about it. cheers Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We decided to use a discount site voucher to "venture" from Auckland to Rotorua to try Real Rotorua's Morning Lakes Tour. It was a two and half hour drive each way, but it turned out to be an "add venture". Stephen and Rosa Julian, the...More

1  Thank candidcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotoguide, Owner at Real Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

WOW thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience with me and it puts a smile on my face to hear how much you enjoyed it. It is a difficult task to describe a tour on a brochure and as you found...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked this tour spontaneously at my hostel and it was fantastic! Steve, the guide was very friendly and went out of his way to make sure we all had a great time. I can only recommend this tour. I would do it again!

Thank Katrin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotoguide, Owner at Real Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

You are most welcome to come again. Thanks for the review, appreciate it cheers Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked Steve's night tour very last minute. It was a terrible day in in terms of weather however we thought we'd keep going and to be honest the weather didn't seem to make one bit of difference the tour was fantastic! Steve picked us...More

Thank daveyballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotoguide, Owner at Real Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Great night, I am happy to receive such a nice review and thanks for sharing your experience. . I love those damp nights because you are always rewarded with a brilliant natural display. once again thanks and cheers Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

We did the morning Lakes and afternoon Thermal paths tours, and Stephen delivered the Real Rotorua as only a local could. What a refreshing change from the usual big bus tours. Never rushed or waiting for others to catch up. Our groups of 5 to...More

Thank Rambler8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotoguide, Owner at Real Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Thanks firstly for taking the time to leave a review. I have a smile on my face to read that you enjoyed your time out with me here in Rotorua. Small groups and great locations is what it is all about and thanks for being...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

Thank you Stephen for showing us Rotorua with the both tours that we had booked so glad we had found you the family and I had seen so much with your tours and learnt so much..

Thank chantalthornton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotoguide, Owner at Real Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Thanks for booking with me. I really enjoyed showing you around and your kids were great. Your welcome back across the ditch anytime. Cheers Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

My family of 5 did the afternoon geo thermal tour with Stephen. He was a great guide, and we had a very enjoyable day. We loved the small group and intimate discussions about New Zealand and the geo thermal activity. He was very knowledge-able and...More

Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotoguide, Owner at Real Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

It was nice to meet you all and I am happy to have shown you a little of our big back yard. Keep up the family adventures. cheers Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

I was lucky enough to have a solo tour. Stephen was an exceptional host; knowledgeable, friendly, competent, and very concerned for the environment. The hot chocolate and shortbread were welcome too! Three and a half hour guided trip around Hamurana Springs, Okere Falls, Green and...More

Thank Nathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotoguide, Owner at Real Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I really appreciate it and it was nice to have you along for the ride. Cheers Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

We did the night tour with Stephen who was a great guide who knew his stuff. We walked to the glow worms that looked like stars in the dense canopy. Stephen stop along the way to show us the local flora and not so local...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotoguide, Owner at Real Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Thanks for posting a review and I am please that you enjoyed my tour. I never get tired of it and as you saw always seeing different things. Cheers Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PreviousNext
1234569
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
rshilpa11
12 November 2017|
Answer
Response from rotoguide | Property representative |
Hi,The tour takes two and half hours. We can pick you up from your accommodation and drop you off. Cheers Stephen
0
Votes