We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Haka Tours

Auckland Central, New Zealand
More
About Haka Tours
Voted 2018's best New Zealand tour operator, Haka Tours offers 3-24 day Adventure and Snow tours of New Zealand. Our difference? We believe size matters – all of tours have a max size of 16 people. Tours are also completely flexible – all tours include the basics such as transport, accommodation and breakfasts but you choose the activities you want to add to your trip. Reserve your spot with just a $99 deposit, pay off the balance later. Create your dream New Zealand tour today!
Read more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
See all hours
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travellers talk about
Tours and Tickets by Haka Tours
from US$1,064.23
from US$1,140.34
from US$3,493.77

12-Day Snow Odyssey Tour

Read more
12 days
from US$2,352.72
210Reviews1Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 178
  • 18
  • 6
  • 3
  • 5
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Elizabeth K wrote a review Apr 2020
2 contributions4 helpful votes
I booked a trip scheduled 2nd April, the company notified me that due Covid 19 pandemic the tour would be cancelled. I was offered options of a refund or get credits. I chose refund as I was not gonna get any other time which they concurred. After 2 weeks I was contacted by one rude Eva Lawrence who stayed that the business was not doing well due to the pandemic hence they would not refund back the money?! So is that how you treat your customers? Was it my fault that you cancelled the trip due to the pandemic??! I need a refund ASAP. lizahkeru@yahoo.com +61450753569
Read more
Date of experience: April 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from EveLawrence, General Manager at Haka Tours
Responded 18 Apr 2020
Hi Elizabeth, I'm so sorry about this. By no means do myself or my staff ever mean to be rude in any way. We are all in an incredibly difficult global situation and different laws in different countries make things very grey for business across the globe. As I mentioned in a previous correspondence you should be able to claim any and all costs directly from your travel insurance provider as our trips were cancelled on direction from the government therefore our contracts weren't cancelled by Haka they were 'frustrated' by the government regulations. I can forward your comms into our business owner Eve
Read more
crouch241 wrote a review Mar 2020
Basingstoke, United Kingdom13 contributions
+1
I was a bit anxious about going solo. I need not have worried as I was with a wonderful group and tour leader. The accommodation ranged from ok to excellent. For me a clean comfortable bed and I’m happy. There were many activities on offer but no pressure to take them up. These were offered the day before and free activities were mentioned. I would have missed some wonderful walks if they had not been mentioned by are guide. I had pre booked my activities and only 2 got cancelled bye to bad weather and time. It was easy to get alternatives. I had the most wonderful time and for once my time away did not fly by. This could be because the pace of the tour was almost right. Every one agreed that the time at Able Tasman National park could have done with an extra day then it would be bang on the money. After all that I would definitely go with haka again and would heartily recommend to anyone.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from EveLawrence, General Manager at Haka Tours
Responded 24 Mar 2020
Thank you so much for the review. The team at Haka are super pleased you enjoyed your tour. Please come and join the Haka Whanau again when this all clears up!!
Read more
Geraldine C wrote a review Mar 2020
4 contributions6 helpful votes
Joined a tour 24 Epic adventure tour with Char it is amazing. Still have 10 days to go. There have been only 2 of the hostels that we’re average but we saved so much choosing a hostel tour with twin accomodation that l am ok about the simple living when all the beauty is outside everywhere. We keep on thinking we have trumped all experiences and then we experience another magnificent landscape, additional activity or accommodation which is location, location, location. Char is full of local knowledge advice and is a lot of fun. Char has a good effect on group dynamics l would highly recommend this tour guide and the tour itself. 10 out of 10. The only downfall is the poor free wifi, Char suggested we get a month internet connection as she explained that the free wifi was not always reliable and l wish l had of.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from EveLawrence, General Manager at Haka Tours
Responded 11 Mar 2020
Thank you so much for your amazing review Geraldine. Charlotte is a fabulous guide, we love her and I will certainly pass this feedback onto her. New Zealand is a beautiful place with great activity choices, Maori culture and scenery. Be sure to come back and join the Haka Tours Whanau again soon! Safe travels, Eve
Read more
Rydcook wrote a review Mar 2020
Bar Hill, United Kingdom4 contributions
Super lovely group of people. Our tour guide was excellent. I really enjoyed the cultural aspects of the tour (for example doing the Haka Dance, carving Jade stone) it was genuine, authentic and less touristy. I loved that accomodation & transport was all taken care of as it meant for a stress free experience. Perfect to end of with the Paddle a Waka. Awesome stuff. Highly recommended for all ages. If you want less touristy, more culture, nice people and a range of awesome activities to choose from, go for this! If you can, stick around and get a campervan for a while too. Enjoy!
Read more
Helpful
Share
Response from EveLawrence, General Manager at Haka Tours
Responded 5 Mar 2020
Thanks so much for your review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your tour and the experiences Haka Tours could provide and we hope you join us again in the future!
Read more
TJR wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
They let you pay the full amount then cancel your tour because they don’t have enough bums on seats. Which I get if you can fill a tour bus then it’s not worth putting on. But letting you pay the full amount then cancelling. Taking over half a month to return your money so you don’t have a lot of time to book something else. And then when they refund you they do it in NZD so the transfer rate had us losing about £300 what a joke! They should at least take that into account if they are going to cancel after the final balance has been paid. On a whole as well they are a super unorganised company. There emails are all over the shop, I guess it’s because you talk to so many different reps. In the end we ended up booking and hiring a camper van with jucy rentals! We got to see both islands in our ten days there which is way more than this tour could have offered us! We met so many lovely people in the camper van traveling community and it’s a local kiwi tradition to travel around camping. We ended up seeing New Zealand properly thanks to these idiots at haka tours for cancelling. Do yourself a favour and go else where!
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from EveLawrence, General Manager at Haka Tours
Responded 11 Mar 2020
Hi there, Following on from the below, we have looked into this and due to bank fees and exchange rates there was a difference of just over 103.50 GBP per person. We have emailed you regarding offering you this refund as a gesture of good will, however we have not had a response from you. We have attempted again to contact you today so that we can arrange this. If you could respond so we can action the refunds, that would be fabulous. Thanks so much and again, we apologise for any inconvenience caused by the exchange rates and banking fees and look forward to hearing from you soon. Nga Mihi, Eve, General Manager - Haka Tours & ANZ Nature Tours 26 Feb 2020: Good morning RixonTe, Firstly please accept our utmost apologies for the customer service you experienced over the last few weeks. This isn't the usual way we treat our Haka Tours Whanau so we are very sorry you experienced some issues here and I will be sure to look into this. In regards to the time frame on the refund, these are set by financial providers, not Haka Tourism Group directly so sadly this isn't something we are able to change, however, we are looking into the payment details regarding the loss on your refund and hope to have a response on this for you by Friday this week. Do you have a booking reference number that we can take from you? if you could email this to info@hakatours.com that would be great. Thank you Kind Regards, Eve, General Manager - Haka Tours & ANZ Nature Tours
Read more
Previous
123456