We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mohio Tours - CLOSED

1 Beresford Square | Newton, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
+64 9-551 3177
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
OK, Friendly Tour Guide, very pricey

I took this day tour on the day after I arrived in Auckland. Michelle, the tour guide, was full of... read more

Reviewed 26 June 2011
KilbroganHouse
,
bandon, county cork
We would no recommend. Overpriced.

We went on a Mohio tour when it was still Potiki tours in December 2009, and overall we were very... read more

Reviewed 16 January 2011
Mivvit
,
Berkshire, UK
Read all 56 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Mohio Tours, (formerly Potiki Adventures), are tourism award-winning specialists in Auckland sightseeing, with an indigenous flavour. Offering small group & customised private tours. We started the original Auckland Maori Tours, over 6.5 years later our innovative tours range from introductions to contemporary Maori culture & beautiful local landscapes, through to ‘Insider Guide’ city tours & specialist private art tours. Daily tours - maximum 7 people. Lonely Planet Guidebook - ‘Top 10 Maori Experience’. Enviro-Silver accredited.
  • Excellent92%
  • Very good5%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
26 Jun 2011
“OK, Friendly Tour Guide, very pricey”
16 Jan 2011
“We would no recommend. Overpriced.”
LOCATION
1 Beresford Square | Newton, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 9-551 3177
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

1 - 10 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2011

I took this day tour on the day after I arrived in Auckland. Michelle, the tour guide, was full of life. Our first stop was One Tree Hill in Cromwell Park for some Maori history. We looked around Acacia Lodge which was lived in by...More

3  Thank KilbroganHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

We went on a Mohio tour when it was still Potiki tours in December 2009, and overall we were very disappointed. Our host was Noa, but we felt that she did not add anything above what we would have gained if we had hired a...More

4  Thank Mivvit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potiki_Aotearoa, Owner at Mohio Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2011

I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your tour. In relation to the Museum component, we do not generally include visiting the Museum in the small group day tour, unless it is a awful weather. She should have only offered to take the...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2010

I went on the Urban Maori Experience back in August and loved it. It had just the right mix of sightseeing and culture and wasn't overly 'touristy'. My tour consisted of just me and my guide Michelle who was exceptionally friendly and knowledgeable and taught...More

Thank MJH27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2010

We loved this tour during our honeymoon in NZ. Our tourguide, the lovely and warm Michelle Roberts, gave us an excellent view of Maori culture, arts, and historic sites around Auckland. We thoroughly enjoyed the tour - the time spent in the rainforest, the art...More

Thank mlbower1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2010

My husband and I had a fabulous time on our tour with Michelle. She was knowledgeable and personable. Some of our misconceptions were dispelled, and we had a great time seeing Auckland through her eyes. We highly recommend this company. It was certainly one of...More

Thank ltsgnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

7 of us local aucklanders went on an art tour with Melissa and had a wonderful 4 hours. We got to meet 4 stunning artists who gave us a real insight into how they work and what inspires them. We talked to gallery owners which...More

Thank Jodsteryoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

The Art Tour with Melissa was a 4 hour tour of galleries, a sculptural installation in a park and an onsite talk with a Maori artist about his work at the waterfront Viaduct Basin. It was well organised and friendly. The association with the 6...More

Thank aitchjay255106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2010

We had a wonderful day in Auckland with Melissa. It was a wonderful introduction to Maori culture and we both learned a great deal thanks to her depth of knowledge. It was wonderful to hear it all from someone who lives it everyday. The trip...More

Thank stephen1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potiki_Aotearoa, Owner at Mohio Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2010

Thank you for your kind feedback. We are certainly looking forward to more lovely days like that one this summer! Perfect weather - for a picnic lunch, for meeting great new people, and for sharing an insight into our culture and the fabulous Auckland lifestyle!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2010

I booked the urban Maori tour thinking that it would be a great way of seeing some areas outside the city without having to rent a car. I got a lot more than I bargained for and had a fantastic day out! Our guide for...More

Thank abramdaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potiki_Aotearoa, Owner at Mohio Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2010

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your tour. I hope the rest of your trip around Aotearoa went well. It was a great small group we had that day, it's nice when like-minded people meet up. I certainly love all...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

Went on the K’Road gallery tour last weekend and it was fantastic. I’ve lived in Auckland for many years and am no stranger to K’Road but I really had no idea there were so many art galleries. Thanks to Mohio Tours for lifting the cover...More

Thank cosmic_travel_goddes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potiki_Aotearoa, Owner at Mohio Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2010

Ahhh it's so awesome when a local Aucklander goes on one of our tours and then posts great feedback! It was a pleasure to host the K'Road Art Week Gallery tour, and I was more than happy to give you all a unique insight into...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 68 hotels in Auckland Central
Haka Hotel K' Road Apartments
70 reviews
.20 km away
Amora Hotel Auckland
1,085 reviews
.22 km away
Kiwi International Hotel
760 reviews
.26 km away
Ascotia off Queen
622 reviews
.27 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Apero Food & Wine
87 reviews
.10 km away
Uncle Man's Restaurant & Takeaway
82 reviews
.10 km away
Satya South Indian Restaurant
140 reviews
.08 km away
POKPOK Thai Restaurant & Bar
66 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
Auckland Town Hall
119 reviews
.62 km away
Aotea Square
142 reviews
.64 km away
Myers Park
49 reviews
.34 km away
Symonds Street Cemetary
22 reviews
.53 km away