We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Westlander Train Charleville to Brisbane

Queensland Rails Westlander Train travels between Brisbane and Charleville each way twice a week, a... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Shakamaker
,
Perth, Australia
via mobile
Private Car User Finds Rail Travel Great !

I used the Tilt train service from Hervey Bay to Roma Street and on to Gold Coast train to Varsity... read more

Reviewed 9 September 2018
robynexploring
,
Hervey Bay, Australia
Read all 72 reviews
39
All photos (39)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good30%
  • Average11%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“club car”(9 reviews)
“rail bed”(11 reviews)
About
Suggested duration: < 1 hour
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
23°
14°
Oct
25°
16°
Nov
26°
18°
Dec
Contact
Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Website
+61 7 3072 2222
Call
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Brisbane
from US$25.40
More Info
from US$14.50
More Info
from US$137.80
More Info
from US$14.50
More Info
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
27
22
8
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
27
22
8
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club car rail bed business class train travel central station economy seats comfortable journey great trip hour trip gold coast sleeper carriage platform passengers queensland footrest nambour
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were planning a trip to the Sunshine Coast and wanted to return to Brisbane by Train. While reading a newspaper I happened on an article that mentioned a fast quiet train that was on the Rockhampton to Brisbane schedule. I tried in vain to...More

Thank diva763844
QueenslandRailTravel, Customer Service at Queensland Rail, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

You are very welcome and we are so glad you got to experience such a wonderful journey on our tilt train service. Thank you for your review and can't wait for you to travel next time on our wonderful services.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

While farewelling a friend after having a wonderful week together in the Bundaberg region, I witnessed the rudest treatment of other passengers at check-in and then as my friend was booking in: no greeting, no parting farewell even though she was lovely and attempted to...More

Thank Teeby1
QueenslandRailTravel, Customer Service at Queensland Rail, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We're sorry you witnessed this. We'd love to find out more details about your experience so we can follow up. If you'd be able to contact our customer feedback team and provide your travel details (booking date, service) - customerfeedback@qr.com.au

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Queensland Rails Westlander Train travels between Brisbane and Charleville each way twice a week, a distance of 777km (483 miles) I rode the service from Charleville departing at 6.15pm Wednesday and arriving Brisbane slightly late at 11.40am Thursday morning. The locomotive hauled train consisted of...More

Thank Shakamaker
QueenslandRailTravel, Customer Service at Queensland Rail, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time out to review the Westlander, happy to hear you enjoyed the journey and had a great experience.

Reviewed 9 September 2018

I used the Tilt train service from Hervey Bay to Roma Street and on to Gold Coast train to Varsity Lakes. I couldn't believe how easy and personalised train travel is. I'd expected robotics and find-your-own-way, but Qld Rail employed such helpful staff on every...More

Thank robynexploring
QueenslandRailTravel, Customer Service at Queensland Rail, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Thank you for your review @robynexploring. We're glad you enjoyed your journey aboard the Tilt Train with connections on our city network to the Gold Coast. We hope to have you aboard again soon.

Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

There are 2 staffs push a trolley served with foods and drinks. When I simply asked what can I order to the them, one lady explain to me; but the other one just said ‘Jesus’ right behind my back. Is this the way you’ve been...More

Thank Candice J
QueenslandRailTravel, Customer Service at Queensland Rail, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Hi Candice, thank you for your feedback. We're sorry our journey aboard our long-distance service didn't meet your expectations. We'd love to find out more details about your experience so we can follow up. If you'd be able to contact our customer feedback team and...More

Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

After traveling on this train last night I decided I am just going to save the money to fly, it was the most uncomfortable seat I have ever sat in, I never got any sleep as I ached so much and 12 hours of some...More

1  Thank Karen C
QueenslandRailTravel, Customer Service at Queensland Rail, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience - we'd be lying if we said we weren't disappointed that this journey didn't live up to your expectations. We do apologise for the other customers behavior onboard. We are glad to hear you were able to find some...More

Reviewed 8 August 2018

We travelled from Cairns to Brisbane aboard the Spirit of Queensland, a 24 hour trip. The carriage was very clean with roomy comfortable seats that converted to flat bed sleepers. A good sized shower was avallable also. Food was good and served to your seats....More

Thank Pamr443
QueenslandRailTravel, Customer Service at Queensland Rail, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience aboard the Spirit of Queensland. We're delighted you enjoyed your journey, the RailBeds are something else, an Australia's first :) It's a great way to relax and take in the Queensland scenery, you wouldn't normally see when driving or...More

Reviewed 1 August 2018

Great Connectivity between Brisbane International Airport to GoldCoast. It is cost effective, comfortable and fast. The seats are good and the travel very nice. The platforms are friendly for stowing luggage and clean. As a train lover, i just loved the experience. Recommended as a...More

Thank Ramachandran R
QueenslandRailTravel, Customer Service at Queensland Rail, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Thank you for your review.

Reviewed 26 July 2018

The tilt train certainly wasn't tilting much today 26th July. It was half hour late arriving and leaving Gympie. Then it stopped at Landsborough and it appeared to be to allow someone to use the disabled toilet. I have never heard of a train stopping...More

1  Thank feedbackthetruth
QueenslandRailTravel, Customer Service at Queensland Rail, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2018

Thank you for your feedback, unfortunately sometimes our services are hit with delays and disruptions caused by many factors; storms, heavy rainfall, severe heat and of course unpredictable human delays. I apologise that the staff were unable to inform you sufficiently of the delay when...More

Reviewed 8 July 2018

Needed a way of getting back to Brisbane from Queensland. Just two services a day. One first thing in the morning and one at 13:24. If you miss it you have to wait until the next day. The coaches were a bit old and worn,...More

1  Thank Matt J
QueenslandRailTravel, Customer Service at Queensland Rail, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Thank you for sharing such a detailed and glowing account of your experience aboard our train and, your journey! We're delighted you had such an enjoyable time and, we hope you devoured the delicious chef-prepared meals ;) We'd love to have you back aboard some...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
mattfroda
4 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from jnl380 | Reviewed this property |
Hi i have not not done this train trip as yet, but if you contact Qld Rail they will be able to help with all your queries.
0
Votes
37seddon
21 June 2017|
Answer
Response from Sandra P | Reviewed this property |
Sorry I can not answer that one as I have only been on the spirit of Queensland.
0
Votes
Clifford B
30 January 2016|
Answer
Response from Jason R |
Railbed in my opinion is overkill for that short time unless you really need a bed to sleep on. If you want the max experience, railbed, if you just want a seat to sit on, economy. Both have access to the shop. You will not... More
0
Votes