We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sydney Visitor Centre

24 Playfair Streets | Corner Argyle, Shop 1-2, The Rocks Centre, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
+61 2 8273 0000
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Booked 2 tours via the centre

We booked a walking tour of The Rocks and a boat trip round the Harbour. Both were excellent and... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
angelabrown67
,
Aylesbury
They know the best discounts!

Always start at a tourist information specialist. We booked a few things at once and by using... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
LAJ27
,
Western Australia, Australia
Read all 79 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
More
Enjoy a warm Sydney welcome! Let the Visitor Information Centre team help you to make the most of your stay in Sydney with an extensive range of brochures, maps and other information about activities and events. Services include travel bookings for tours, experiences and accommodation, discounted attraction passes, interstate and countrywide itineraries; and a select range of souvenirs. Get local tips and recommendations from experienced consultants. Bilingual staff are also available to assist you.
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good34%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“walking tour” (2 reviews)
“information” (20 reviews)
“visitors” (13 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
LOCATION
24 Playfair Streets | Corner Argyle, Shop 1-2, The Rocks Centre, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
The Rocks
CONTACT
Website
+61 2 8273 0000
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Sydney
Sydney BridgeClimb
1,624 Reviews
from US$123.60
More Info
from US$23.50
More Info
from US$44.10
More Info
from US$117.70
More Info
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"walking tour"
in 2 reviews
"information"
in 20 reviews
"visitors"
in 13 reviews
"tours"
in 8 reviews
"rocks"
in 10 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a walking tour of The Rocks and a boat trip round the Harbour. Both were excellent and the staff in the centre were helpful & knowledgableMore

Thank angelabrown67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam D, Manager at Sydney Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there Angela. Thank you very much for taking the time in writing a review. I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience in both our Visitor Centre, and on the tours you booked. We hope to see you again very soon,...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Always start at a tourist information specialist. We booked a few things at once and by using these government agencies you always know you are getting the best advice because they know all the specials so you can make an informed decision about organising your...More

Thank LAJ27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam D, Manager at Sydney Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there. Thank you very much for your positive feedback. It is great to hear that you had a wonderful time in Sydney, and that you had a great experience at our Visitor Centre. We hope to see you again very soon, upon your next...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018 via mobile

Initially I just wanted to ask where to find an affordable meal for lunch. The employee and I ended up making a rough plan of my next weeks. He was very friendly, considered all my requirements and helped me a lot to have a great...More

Thank Peter U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam D, Manager at Sydney Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for your positive feedback Peter. We hope you had a fabulous time in Sydney, and Australia as a whole. We hope you have many more safe and enjoyable travels in the future. All the best, The Team @ Sydney Visitor Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2018

We came here in the Sydney Visitor Centre to get a map and information about cyclones. They helped us immediately and we received all the information we needed. By the way, this Visitor Centre is attractive! There is a tall man, standing on one feet,...More

Thank Robby G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

Since I'm living in Sydney and don't intend to go somewhere else right now, I went to this Center only from pure curiosity. Recently we paid a call on two visitor centers on the Northern Highlands, and I just wanted to compare my experiences. The...More

Thank stinkwink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

Couldn't fault the fantastic service offered by Sydney visitor centre. We hopped off the cruise ship and walked 5min up the road and dropped our suitcases for storage for the day ($10per case) and stated the time we would pick them up. Upon our return...More

1  Thank tiffany b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 September 2017

Hi Tiffany, Thank you for visiting our centre, we hope you enjoyed your time in Sydney. We are thrilled to hear our team made your short stay as easy as possible. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

We thought we'd save time by booking our Blue Mountains Hop-On-Hop-Off bus and Scenic World tickets @ The Rocks visitor centre, Sydney before going. We read on the brochure that you can get the Lyrebird offer for both of these. But it actually works out...More

1  Thank saleenag403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 August 2017

Sincere apologies for the delay in responding to you, unfortunately we've had some long-term problems with our listing that have just been resolved. Although we can only now respond, please be assured we were aware of this occurrence and it was addressed shortly after. We...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

We booked the Blue mountains explorer bus + Scenic world entry at the Rocks centre in anticipation of saving time when we arrive amongst the tourist throng of Katoomba. They gave us the Bus ticket but didn't explain we needed to get a wristband from...More

1  Thank Anil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 August 2017

Hi Anil, Sincere apologies for the delay in responding to you, unfortunately we've had some long-term problems with our listing that have just been resolved. Although we can only now respond, please be assured we were aware of this occurrence and it was addressed shortly...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

the staff found out that we were here on an assignment, then payed no interest in offering advice or information.More

Thank jcollins23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 August 2017

Sincere apologies for the delay in responding to you, unfortunately we've had some long-term problems with our listing that have just been resolved. Although we can only now respond, please be assured we were aware of this occurrence and it was addressed shortly after. Thank...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

My lecturer was more helpful than the staff. When my class and I approached the staff and figured that we were a tourism class wanting to have a look around, they weren't welcoming.More

Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 August 2017

Hi Pauline, Sincere apologies for the delay in responding to you, unfortunately we've had some long-term problems with our listing that have just been resolved. Although we can only now respond, please be assured we were aware of this occurrence and it was addressed shortly...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
The Rocks
The first residents of the Rocks were convicts and
sailors from the old nation. As the oldest
neighbourhood in the city, the area's cobblestone
streets host more than 100 heritage sites and
buildings, including the oldest house in Sydney,
Camden Cottage, which was built in 1816. Taste a “midi
“ or a “schooner” of beer and dine “al fresco” on the
waterfront at some of the oldest pubs in Sydney. The
...More
Nearby HotelsSee all 188 hotels in Sydney
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
1,383 reviews
.06 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks
2,603 reviews
.09 km away
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
2,681 reviews
.12 km away
The Australian Heritage Hotel
345 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Restaurants
7Rocks Deli
15 reviews
.03 km away
La Renaissance Cafe
490 reviews
.03 km away
Playfair Cafe
454 reviews
.05 km away
Sake Restaurant & Bar
1,433 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Rocks
7,760 reviews
.03 km away
Circular Quay
3,615 reviews
.08 km away
The Rocks Discovery Museum
436 reviews
.04 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Sydney Visitor Centre staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit