We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ugly Duckling Wines

Closed Now: 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Open today: 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Share
Review Highlights
Perfect start to Swan Valley tour

So happy with our first stop - Kurt hit the perfect note of friendly and knowledgeable, the wines... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Jolene C
,
Perth, Australia
via mobile
Birthday

Just lovely!!! Nice staff beautiful cheese platter, live music and wine. A very engoyable day... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
sharybo
,
Perth, Australia
via mobile
Read all 154 reviews
67
All photos (67)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good28%
  • Average4%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“live music”(13 reviews)
“pie”(12 reviews)
“duckling”(6 reviews)
About
​A charming, rustic cottage overlooking the vines is home to our small boutique vineyard and cellar door. Premium wines, all locally grown and crafted, coupled with old-fashioned service and a friendly smile is what you’ll find at our popular spot...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
See all hours
Contact
7790 West Swan Rd, West Swan, Swan Valley, Western Australia 6055, Australia
Website
+61 428 349 855
Call
Most Helpful Positive Review
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

We stopped at the ugly duckling winery during one of our stops on a wine bus cruise of the swan valley. Situated on West Swan road and just down the road from Elmars. Unfortunately they were too busy with a couple of hens night/day groups...More

2  Thank Chizzel
Joanne H, Owner at Ugly Duckling Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are so happy to hear you had an enjoyable time at Ugly Duckling! We are sorry we were unable to fit your group in for a wine tasting on the day. Unfortunately for a...More

Most Helpful Critical Review
Reviewed 8 November 2016

We went to Ugly Duckling Winery as part of a Hens day wine tour in the Valley (there were 22 of us). We were there for lunch which we were all looking forward to. Out came platters of cheese, meats, salad etc. All looked good!...More

3  Thank nicki t
Joanne H, Owner at Ugly Duckling Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2016

Hi Nicki, We note a similar review was posted on Facebook by Hayley from your group yesterday and below is our response to her. "We certainly understand your disappointment and repulsion. The issue was raised by your Aunty and we expressed how extremely sorry we...More

Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
90
44
7
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
90
44
7
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews live music pie duckling glass of wine the reserve swan valley wine tour great wine tasting cheese board cellar door love this place lovely staff lovely lunch fur baby small vineyard steak grape vines
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 153 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

So happy with our first stop - Kurt hit the perfect note of friendly and knowledgeable, the wines were irresistible and the setting is beautiful.

Thank Jolene C
Joanne H, Owner at Ugly Duckling Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks, Jolene, for leaving such a lovely review. Kurt is fantastic, and such an asset to the Ugly Duckling team, and we will certainly pass on your wonderful feedback. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just lovely!!! Nice staff beautiful cheese platter, live music and wine. A very engoyable day. Highly recommend!

Thank sharybo
Joanne H, Owner at Ugly Duckling Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. Great to hear you had such a good birthday celebration and I will pass on your comment to the staff. Hopefully we see you again soon. Best wishes Joanne

Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

Our first stop on the wine and food trail was at the Ugly Duckling Winery. It set the scene for the day. We were able to bring our fur baby with us to the bar where we sampled delicious wines. The winery even makes sure...More

Thank Riv23
Joanne H, Owner at Ugly Duckling Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Thank you for such a great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and we love seeing our four legged friends enjoy themselves! Hopefully we will see you again soon for a pie or platter and a glass of wine. All the best.

Reviewed 1 September 2018

We were running late for lunch after a long morning at Caversham. Saw this place on the map and decided to give it a go. What a lovely little place it was. We had the cheese and ham sampler - it was a hit with...More

Thank Chow H
Joanne H, Owner at Ugly Duckling Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review. We are so glad that you all enjoyed your visit here, as well as the wines, platter and pie, and that the kids got to enjoy running through the vineyard! Hopefully...More

Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

Was very pleased with the selection available for tasting. The young lady serving was extremely helpful and knew her product. Am looking forward to enjoying my purchases when I get home.

Thank Jannabelle655
Joanne H, Owner at Ugly Duckling Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

Lovely to hear that you enjoyed your wine tasting here and thank you for the review. We hope you enjoy the wines and hopefully we will see you again soon! All the best.

Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

Stopped into have a tasting and instantly felt welcome, the owner/ manager was very accommodating and informative. A small but Vinyard with distinct flavours, a top favourite for the day.

Thank Luke M
Joanne H, Owner at Ugly Duckling Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

So glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to Ugly Duckling. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and we hope to see you again sometime soon!

Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

What a beautiful place to enjoy a glass of wine The only downside three party buses there at the same time The servers were great and implored is to try different wines which we did and loved!! Will definitely return if back in this area...More

Thank jasmond85
Joanne H, Owner at Ugly Duckling Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Thank you so much for the wonderful review and we are so glad you enjoyed your visit. We would love to see you again next time you are in the Valley!

Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

We stopped off briefly on the way home from the Swann Valley after seeing people sat out in the sun enjoying a drink. We were greeted at the bar and asked if we wanted to try a few wines from a list as part of...More

Thank Andrew T
Joanne H, Owner at Ugly Duckling Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Hi Andrew It was a total pleasure having you visit and I thoroughly enjoyed talking to you both and sharing a bit of what we do at Ugly Duckling Wines. Thank you for your feedback and really look forward to seeing you again. All the...More

Reviewed 24 June 2018

A more casual, down to earth cellar door compared to the stone behemoths elsewhere. A nice garden area with tables overlooking the vines. Small range of mid-level but quite drinkable wines. Worth dropping in to.

Thank Kent T
Joanne H, Owner at Ugly Duckling Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Thank you, Kent, for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it and are glad you enjoyed your visit and the wines. Hopefully we will see you again soon. Kind regards, Joanne

Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

We were greeted by Ellie who explained to us the wines on offer for sampling. Great wines, olives to die for and Sevice with a smile. Thank you Ellie for making this a part of our day that our visitors to WA will remember. Highly...More

Thank Fumbletrumpet14
Joanne H, Owner at Ugly Duckling Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

It was an absolute pleasure passing on your comments to Ellie. She is a highly valued member of our staff and we thank you for taking the time to tell us. We we hope you have the opportunity to visit us again. Best wishes Joanne

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Swan Valley Oasis Resort
106 reviews
2.41 km away
Budget Motel Midland
16 reviews
6.84 km away
The Novotel Vines Resort Swan Valley
1,024 reviews
7.49 km away
The Rose & Crown Hotel
331 reviews
7.78 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 3 nearby restaurants
Cottage Tea Rooms
97 reviews
.78 km away
Sittella Winery and Cafe Restaurant
379 reviews
.93 km away
Little River Winery & Cafe
88 reviews
.78 km away
Black Swan Winery and Restaurant
292 reviews
.86 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 10 nearby attractions
Top Gun Tours
162 reviews
1.62 km away
The House of Honey
181 reviews
2.39 km away
Old Young's
65 reviews
2.71 km away
Whistlers Chocolate Co
182 reviews
2.72 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Coffron T
31 August 2018|
Answer
Response from Joanne H | Property representative |
Hi Coffron, Thank you for your enquiry. We have sent a response through to the email you sent us on 31 August. Kind regards
0
Votes
patsy666
17 April 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from ruthp530 | Reviewed this property |
Saturday and Sunday afternoons. From midday I'm pretty sure.
0
Votes