We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Elephant Freedom Project

Features Animals
Rambukkana Karandapana Road, Kegalle 71000, Sri Lanka
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Wanted To Love It

I really wanted to love this place but do feel compelled to write an honest review. So we arrived... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Leesh N
via mobile
Best place to go to get near elephants!

We were looking for an elephant-friendly place to learn more about those giants animals and this... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Yonija
Read all 196 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Visit us and experience a special elephant encounter which is suitable for young and old, families, couples and single travelers. This is your chance to get a memorable impression of a day in the life of a Sri Lankan captive elephant who is not being used for working nor riding. The small family run Elephant Freedom Project offers refuge, freedom from work and hardship to the elephant Nilame. At the project she is free from working in the riding industry and the wood logging. The Elephant Freedom Project aims to give Nilame a good and safe home, which is made possible thanks to your visit!
  • Excellent84%
  • Very good10%
  • Average2%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 08:30 - 16:30
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
Rambukkana Karandapana Road, Kegalle 71000, Sri Lanka
CONTACT
Website
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I really wanted to love this place but do feel compelled to write an honest review. So we arrived at 8:30 and had a tour of a local factory that turns elephant dung into paper. We then went back to the house and had tea...More

1  Thank Leesh N
the_EFP, Owner at Elephant Freedom Project, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I can understand how you feel expecting to see elephant Seetha happy. This was an unusual situation, Seetha was injured and not allowed to roam freely in the enclosure on doctors orders for fear of hurting herself. She had just received treatment in the morning....More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were looking for an elephant-friendly place to learn more about those giants animals and this one was just the place to go! No chains there, a place where the elephants can walk freely, and no activities disrepectful of the animal! We had a great...More

Thank Yonija
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having just read a very scathing review of the place I feel i need to comment with even greater vigour! Yes this place is not cheap to visit, and yes, you have a cooking lesson (which was far more than a chopping lesson!!!), and yes...More

1  Thank Nicola B
Reviewed 3 August 2017

Stayed here for 2 days and 1 night. Both days were exactly the same, apart from on the second day we visited the elephant dung factory (which is great), instead of the cooking lesson (which was really just a chopping lesson, with no explanation of...More

Thank Lots12392
the_EFP, Owner at Elephant Freedom Project, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear Lots12392, On our website there is a lot of information explaining about the project, we hope every visitor will read this before coming to us! The walk time of course should always be more than 10 minutes (see our program), thankfully most of the...More

Reviewed 25 July 2017

We spent over two weeks in Sir Lanka and this was definitely the highlight for us. It allows really good access to the elephants, but in an ethical way. Mucking out the elephants is great fun and walking through the countryside with them was wonderful...More

1  Thank LucyElks
Reviewed 8 July 2017

We learned a lot about elephants and Sri Lankan food. They show respect for the animals. It seems as the elephant is treated well! Great experience to go to the river with the elephant. We got a elephant shower. Great service too!

Thank bjornchristianja2017
Reviewed 5 July 2017

We went to the project in the morning, and went for a walk with the elephant after cleaning the poop😳 Afterwards we learned to cook Sri Lanka food and had a great lunch. Then we went to the river, with the elephant. Finally we took...More

1  Thank Louise B
Reviewed 4 July 2017

We had the best time at the elephant freedom project - the whole experience was amazing! We loved that the elephants are well looked after and are not subject to cruelty such as elephant rides, which Pinnawala nearby offers. It was great to walk Seetha...More

Thank lghudson1993
Reviewed 21 June 2017

We had a really wonderful day at the Elehant Freedom Project and would recommend it to everybody! The couple who runs the place is incredibly nice and we felt very welcome! The cooking-class was awesome and it was the best Sri Lankan food we had...More

1  Thank marion_zehet
Reviewed 11 May 2017

There are some experiences that words and pictures simply cannot convey. This is the Elephant Freedom Project. One of the reasons I came to SL was to meet elephants, and this is the only entirely ethical sanctuary in SL. Yes, the experience is pricey, considering...More

4  Thank Foetisa
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
CHANNA
111 reviews
2.07 km away
Barista
17 reviews
3.62 km away
Pinnalanda Hotel Restaurant
42 reviews
3.74 km away
Cafe Channa Pinnawalla
9 reviews
3.74 km away
Nearby Attractions
Pinnawala Elephant Orphanage
3,119 reviews
3.73 km away
Millennium Elephant Foundation
693 reviews
.96 km away
Luv SL
10 reviews
3.74 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Sonyav_13
20 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from the_EFP | Property representative |
Hello Sonya, Thank you for your question. Booking is required. Unfortunately we are already fully booked on the 9th, please see our website for availability. Best regards, Tim.
0
Votes
pauline f
10 December 2016|
Answer
Response from ant6666 | Reviewed this property |
You would need to allow approx 3 hours each way
0
Votes