We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Glass Bottom Boat

Features Animals
Goat Island Road, Leigh, Auckland 0947, New Zealand
+64 9-422 6334
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
A beautiful location.

Our young (5 and 7 yrs) grandchildren were buzzing after this amazing experience. Staff were very... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
jsmithson2018
,
Warkworth, New Zealand
ZERO customer service response via email

Bought a groupon voucher for 2 people to attend. Had to wait for them to update their website then... read more

Reviewed 2 November 2017
corsanto
,
Pui O, null, Hong Kong
Read all 96 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The Goat Island NZ Glass Bottom Boat is a popular, fully commentated 45-minute tour showcasing the area’s abundant marine life, fauna, birds, reefs and caves. During the trip, guests learn about the history, preservation and protection of New Zealand’s first marine reserve. For those wishing to get a closer look, kayaks, wetsuits and snorkel gear are available for hire at the beach. Bookings are essential. Guests may book on the beach, however booking online or by phone is recommended to secure your seat.
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good35%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“marine reserve” (12 reviews)
“fish” (25 reviews)
“glass bottom” (5 reviews)
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
Goat Island Road, Leigh, Auckland 0947, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 9-422 6334
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Our young (5 and 7 yrs) grandchildren were buzzing after this amazing experience. Staff were very welcoming, personable and informative. Easy to locate from Warkworth and Leigh.

Thank jsmithson2018
Reviewed 2 November 2017

Bought a groupon voucher for 2 people to attend. Had to wait for them to update their website then we tried booking several times, it didnt work,so emailed for help. Received no answer. I have sent 4 emails, the only people helping me was groupon....More

1  Thank corsanto
A TripAdvisor Member
3
Reviewed 25 May 2017 via mobile

We booked the glass bottom boat tour and drove a lot of kilometers. As we arrived (waisted our half day because of the tour) there was nobody so we waited until the tour should start. Unfortunately there was no sign saying the conditions are too...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Scott P, Owner at Glass Bottom Boat, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2017

Its unfortunate that people do not read the conditions of purchase, it states to check the web site or phone to insure the boat is sailing due to weather conditions, we also send a text message if we are not sailing due to conditions but...More

Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Great time with the family, we were lucky enough to see dolphins playing and splashing right beside the boat. Would defiantly recommend it to others and take a picnic and enjoy the beautiful view before or after the boat trip or there are many good...More

Thank mandyr75
Reviewed 13 February 2017

I had a very nice time and I really would like to come back to glass bottom boat with JMR group and my own family. Thank you. The Guy was very informed and he talked about the diferent types of fishes there are in New...More

Thank NewZealandbear
Reviewed 6 February 2017

The skipper was very friendly and knowledgeable, and the view around was awesome. However, the view under the glass bottom was not as attractive as expected, partly due to too many heads reflected form the opposite bench, partly due to lack of various fish under...More

Thank Sunny W
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

Toke the tour with 5 year old son and found skipper very friendly, knowledgeable and definitely made the trip interesting and fun for everyone. Suitable for all ages and fitness levels as comes right up on beach to get on and off.

Thank CurliWinks
Reviewed 24 January 2017

A great way to view the marine life, the visibility wasn't ideal but Scotty the skipper made the trip interesting and enjoyable. Definitely a good idea to book over the phone or on the website if you're going in peak season! Special thanks to Jacqui...More

Thank emilyw1228
Reviewed 14 January 2017

This was a fantastic boat trip. It is very good value for money. I highly recommend doing this, you will get a lot out of it.

Thank AnnaWellington
Reviewed 7 January 2017

Goat island is beautiful and the boat was a great way to explore it! I went there with my family and we all love it

Thank Julia F
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Leigh Hotels
Leigh Sawmill Cafe and Accommodation
41 reviews
2.18 km away
Matakana Motel
150 reviews
11.67 km away
Rosemount Homestead
1 review
14.67 km away
Snells Beach Motel
153 reviews
17.92 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Leigh Sawmill Cafe & Accommodation
195 reviews
2.16 km away
Leigh Eats
38 reviews
2.43 km away
Leigh Bar and Eatery
19 reviews
2.46 km away
Ginja Cafe & Restaurant
5 reviews
7.24 km away
Nearby Attractions
Goat Island Dive & Snorkel
84 reviews
2.16 km away
Pakiri Beach Horse Rides - Day Tours
73 reviews
7.80 km away
Clearyak
55 reviews
.02 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Glass Bottom Boat staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit