We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Glass Bottom Boat

Features Animals

Glass Bottom Boat
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
30
All photos (30)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good35%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“glass bottom”(6 reviews)
“marine reserve”(14 reviews)
“fish”(28 reviews)
About
The Goat Island NZ Glass Bottom Boat is a popular, fully commentated 45-minute tour showcasing the area’s abundant marine life, fauna, birds, reefs and caves. During the trip, guests learn about the history, preservation and protection of New...more
Suggested duration: 1-2 hours
Contact
Goat Island Road, Leigh, Auckland 0947, New Zealand
Website
+64 9-422 6334
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
43
35
10
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
43
35
10
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glass bottom marine reserve fish marine life goat island informative commentary kids and adults snorkel gear amazing experience my partner skipper caves water dolphins crew species commentator
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have had a great time on this trip,in the Goat Island rezerve. Great commentary from the boat skipper.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Pukeatua
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My family and I had a wonderful trip on this boat. Whatever you do don’t miss it. The location is stunning the water blue and crystal clear and the crew knowledgable and fun. The commentary was brilliant informative and funny too. It was so good...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Sarah H
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We took our 8 year old granddaughter on the glass bottomed boat. She was very excited, and the whole trip was wonderful. Great views of about ten species of fish, and an informative commentary. The fright in the caves was un-necessary, and unfortunate for those...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank KiwisNorthland
Reviewed 11 January 2019 via mobile

Staff were friendly and helpful, skipper was very knowledgeable about marine life, cultural histories, bird life and kept us entertained. Had a few swells which made the water murky and hard to see at times but kids loved it.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank TraceyC2275
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

My partner and I went on the boat a week ago while visiting Omaha. We absolutely loved our tour. The skipper was full of knowledge and was also a bit of a comedian and made everyone laugh. We got to see lots of different fish...More

Date of experience: April 2018
2  Thank ButterflyKiwi
Reviewed 27 February 2018

The boat takes visitors on a tour from the beach across reefs to Goat Island to view some of the caves. The marine life on the day of our visit was disappointing, We saw quite a lot of curious snapper, a few moki and an...More

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Barbara A
Reviewed 18 January 2018

Our young (5 and 7 yrs) grandchildren were buzzing after this amazing experience. Staff were very welcoming, personable and informative. Easy to locate from Warkworth and Leigh.

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank jsmithson2018
Reviewed 2 November 2017

Bought a groupon voucher for 2 people to attend. Had to wait for them to update their website then we tried booking several times, it didnt work,so emailed for help. Received no answer. I have sent 4 emails, the only people helping me was groupon....More

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank corsanto
Reviewed 25 May 2017 via mobile

We booked the glass bottom boat tour and drove a lot of kilometers. As we arrived (waisted our half day because of the tour) there was nobody so we waited until the tour should start. Unfortunately there was no sign saying the conditions are too...More

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Getaway704221
Scott P, Owner at Glass Bottom Boat, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2017

Its unfortunate that people do not read the conditions of purchase, it states to check the web site or phone to insure the boat is sailing due to weather conditions, we also send a text message if we are not sailing due to conditions but...More

Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Great time with the family, we were lucky enough to see dolphins playing and splashing right beside the boat. Would defiantly recommend it to others and take a picnic and enjoy the beautiful view before or after the boat trip or there are many good...More

Date of experience: March 2017
1  Thank mandyr75
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Leigh Sawmill Cafe and Accommodation
44 reviews
2.18 km away
Matakana Motel
174 reviews
11.67 km away
Snells Beach Motel
173 reviews
17.92 km away
Warkworth Lodge
104 reviews
18.68 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 5 nearby restaurants
Leigh Sawmill Cafe & Accommodation
238 reviews
2.16 km away
Leigh Bar and Eatery
29 reviews
2.43 km away
Leigh Eats
47 reviews
2.43 km away
Ginja Cafe & Restaurant
5 reviews
7.24 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 6 nearby attractions
Goat Island Dive & Snorkel
129 reviews
2.16 km away
Pakiri Beach Horse Rides - Day Tours
87 reviews
7.87 km away
Clearyak
79 reviews
.02 km away
Goat Island Marine Discovery Centre
30 reviews
.22 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Glass Bottom Boat staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines