We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Glass Bottom Boat

Features Animals
Goat Island Road, Leigh, Auckland 0947, New Zealand
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing

My partner and I went on the boat a week ago while visiting Omaha. We absolutely loved our... read more

Reviewed 30 April 2018
ButterflyKiwi
,
New Zealand
via mobile
Lovely scenery

The boat takes visitors on a tour from the beach across reefs to Goat Island to view some of the... read more

Reviewed 27 February 2018
Barbara A
,
Auckland, New Zealand
Read all 98 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The Goat Island NZ Glass Bottom Boat is a popular, fully commentated 45-minute tour showcasing the area’s abundant marine life, fauna, birds, reefs and caves. During the trip, guests learn about the history, preservation and protection of New Zealand’s first marine reserve. For those wishing to get a closer look, kayaks, wetsuits and snorkel gear are available for hire at the beach. Bookings are essential. Guests may book on the beach, however booking online or by phone is recommended to secure your seat.
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good34%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“marine reserve” (13 reviews)
“fish” (26 reviews)
“glass bottom” (5 reviews)
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
Goat Island Road, Leigh, Auckland 0947, New Zealand
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"marine reserve"
in 13 reviews
"fish"
in 26 reviews
"glass bottom"
in 5 reviews
"marine life"
in 10 reviews
"goat island"
in 30 reviews
"great experience"
in 7 reviews
"sea floor"
in 3 reviews
"all ages"
in 5 reviews
"year old son"
in 2 reviews
"knowledgeable skipper"
in 2 reviews
"dolphins playing"
in 2 reviews
"value for money"
in 3 reviews
"excellent trip"
in 2 reviews
"my partner"
in 2 reviews
"caves"
in 5 reviews
"picnic"
in 2 reviews
"scott"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

My partner and I went on the boat a week ago while visiting Omaha. We absolutely loved our tour. The skipper was full of knowledge and was also a bit of a comedian and made everyone laugh. We got to see lots of different fish...More

Thank ButterflyKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

The boat takes visitors on a tour from the beach across reefs to Goat Island to view some of the caves. The marine life on the day of our visit was disappointing, We saw quite a lot of curious snapper, a few moki and an...More

Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018

Our young (5 and 7 yrs) grandchildren were buzzing after this amazing experience. Staff were very welcoming, personable and informative. Easy to locate from Warkworth and Leigh.

1  Thank jsmithson2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2017

Bought a groupon voucher for 2 people to attend. Had to wait for them to update their website then we tried booking several times, it didnt work,so emailed for help. Received no answer. I have sent 4 emails, the only people helping me was groupon....More

1  Thank corsanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
31
Reviewed 25 May 2017 via mobile

We booked the glass bottom boat tour and drove a lot of kilometers. As we arrived (waisted our half day because of the tour) there was nobody so we waited until the tour should start. Unfortunately there was no sign saying the conditions are too...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott P, Owner at Glass Bottom Boat, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2017

Its unfortunate that people do not read the conditions of purchase, it states to check the web site or phone to insure the boat is sailing due to weather conditions, we also send a text message if we are not sailing due to conditions but...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Great time with the family, we were lucky enough to see dolphins playing and splashing right beside the boat. Would defiantly recommend it to others and take a picnic and enjoy the beautiful view before or after the boat trip or there are many good...More

1  Thank mandyr75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

I had a very nice time and I really would like to come back to glass bottom boat with JMR group and my own family. Thank you. The Guy was very informed and he talked about the diferent types of fishes there are in New...More

Thank NewZealandbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017

The skipper was very friendly and knowledgeable, and the view around was awesome. However, the view under the glass bottom was not as attractive as expected, partly due to too many heads reflected form the opposite bench, partly due to lack of various fish under...More

Thank Sunny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

Toke the tour with 5 year old son and found skipper very friendly, knowledgeable and definitely made the trip interesting and fun for everyone. Suitable for all ages and fitness levels as comes right up on beach to get on and off.

Thank CurliWinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2017

A great way to view the marine life, the visibility wasn't ideal but Scotty the skipper made the trip interesting and enjoyable. Definitely a good idea to book over the phone or on the website if you're going in peak season! Special thanks to Jacqui...More

Thank emilyw1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Leigh Hotels
Leigh Sawmill Cafe and Accommodation
42 reviews
2.18 km away
Matakana Motel
167 reviews
11.67 km away
Rosemount Homestead
1 review
14.67 km away
Snells Beach Motel
164 reviews
17.92 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Leigh Sawmill Cafe & Accommodation
213 reviews
2.16 km away
Leigh Eats
44 reviews
2.43 km away
Leigh Bar and Eatery
26 reviews
2.43 km away
Ginja Cafe & Restaurant
5 reviews
7.24 km away
Nearby Attractions
Goat Island Dive & Snorkel
101 reviews
2.16 km away
Pakiri Beach Horse Rides - Day Tours
79 reviews
7.87 km away
Clearyak
62 reviews
.02 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Glass Bottom Boat staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
;