We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
A hidden gem!

We played the course on a windy day in September. Hole after hole were outstanding with views that... read more

Reviewed 3 October 2018
GKNcanucksfan
,
Victoria, Canada
Links golf

This really is a proper traditional links course. A challenge for golfers no matter what your... read more

Reviewed 24 September 2018
Regerro
,
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Read all 161 reviews
112
All photos (112)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent88%
  • Very good9%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“pro shop”(14 reviews)
“links course”(10 reviews)
“blind shots”(7 reviews)
About
Ranked in the top 60 in the world by "Golf Magazine," this 18-hole championship course, designed by Tom Morris, offers an internationally famous golfing experience, which is set against a backdrop of smoothly contoured greens and magnificent...more
Contact
Cruden Bay Golf Club Aulton Road, Cruden Bay (Port Erroll) AB42 0NN, Scotland
Website
+44 1779 812285
Call
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
132
15
2
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
132
15
2
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pro shop links course blind shots great holes nine hole forward tees main course challenging holes north berwick great courses immaculate condition aberdeen area pebble beach few beers bucket list spectacular scenery sunday carvery
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2018

We played the course on a windy day in September. Hole after hole were outstanding with views that rival the best of Pebble Beach, Bandon Dunes and Kingsbarns. The staff in the pro shop, the starter and especially Irene in the restaurant were outstanding and...More

Thank GKNcanucksfan
golfclub25, General Manager at Cruden Bay Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

It's always windy in Scotland! Well not quite. Delighted to read your comments, and disappointed I didn't persuade you to take out a membership - you know it made sense.. Haste you back to Cruden Bay in the future.

Reviewed 24 September 2018

This really is a proper traditional links course. A challenge for golfers no matter what your standard of play. The service in the pro shop was very good. Enjoyed a few beers after and the staff were very friendly.More

Thank Regerro
golfclub25, General Manager at Cruden Bay Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Thanks for the comments, the course with it's three option of tees lends itself to be enjoyed by everyone, no matter their standard. Even if you don't play well the variation of holes and views just keep you entertained. your comments on the staff are...More

Reviewed 13 September 2018

Fantastic golf course. Great golf challenge and very beautiful surroundings. Quality of fairways was not good during our visit which I guess was caused by the dry summer. The view from the club house is spectacular Highly recommended!More

Thank Bernardshaken
golfclub25, General Manager at Cruden Bay Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Thanks for the comments and the rating. Dry summer - gave us the true links experience for 8 weeks for the first time in 5 years, but we have to agree the fairways have suffered. We have taken remedial action and seeded all the fairways...More

Reviewed 5 September 2018

Played Cruden Bay as part of a Scottish Golf Bucket List trip in a 3 -club wind which was the only negative thing that I could come up with about the experience. Staff was very welcoming and co-operative and had 2 great caddies Every hole...More

Thank Sightsee752194
golfclub25, General Manager at Cruden Bay Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Only a 3 club wind - that was one of our milder days! Delighted that you enjoyed you time at Cruden Bay and that we ( the course and the staff) didn't let you down.

Reviewed 5 September 2018

One of our favorite courses! Stunning views along the ocean! Caddies were great and would highly recommend having one. The guys in the pro shop were so nice and friendly! Great experience!

Thank Lorna J
golfclub25, General Manager at Cruden Bay Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Many thanks Lorna for your comments, we don't know how we missed your review initially. The experience is what we concentrate on, not just the course, and delighted that you had a great one!

Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

Great challenging course. 130 pounds to play. Great ocean views and fairly good putting services. In my top 10 courses in the UK.More

Thank bcbmarsh
golfclub25, General Manager at Cruden Bay Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Thanks for taking the time to submit a review - our green fee is £130 at the weekends, it does include an additional 9 holes on our St Olaf course which is also of a high standard. Good to see we rank highly in your...More

Reviewed 24 August 2018

We are a group of 4 couples playing 12 courses in Scotland and are about half way through our trip. Needless to say that every course we have played on so far has been a treat, but a few of them have been standouts, and...More

Thank ianh65
golfclub25, General Manager at Cruden Bay Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review - it is important to us to maintain the high standards both on and off the course. We are blessed with a course which offers variety at every hole, and in turn just keeps your...More

Reviewed 1 August 2018

Our group consisted of 4 gents on an away trip and from the moment we arrived at the Pro shop until we left after dinner, every thing was excellent, everyone was so friendly and our waitress in the dining room served us fish and chips...More

Thank PhillipStirlingshire
golfclub25, General Manager at Cruden Bay Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Phillip thank for taking the time to review your recent experience. Your positive comments encourage everyone to keepupmthe high standards set.

Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

8 of us played here twice whilst on our week long tour of the Aberdeenshire coast. We did play it’s illustrious nieghbour Royal Aberdeen but for myself the whole experience of Cruden Bay made this the pick of our tour. On a day ticket you...More

Thank Rich3022
golfclub25, General Manager at Cruden Bay Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your experience, it is important to us that we provide an experience for the golfer. Our championship golf course with all its unique and memorable holes speaks for itself, but delighted to hear our customer service was...More

Reviewed 24 July 2018

I recently (July) went to Cruden Bay Golf Club to play for a few days. The course was in excellent condition. The layout of the course had some great holes with each one being unique and different from the rest. If you are not up...More

Thank scameron1212
golfclub25, General Manager at Cruden Bay Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Thanks for the comments Scott - It was important that you, your Dad and the others in the group felt welcome in our club - that is our aim. Both courses speak for themselves - tradition Scottish links, with each hole having it's own uniqueness....More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
St Olaf Hotel
75 reviews
.16 km away
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
272 reviews
.79 km away
Buchan Braes Hotel
216 reviews
7.71 km away
Palace Hotel
197 reviews
11.28 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all nearby restaurants
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
134 reviews
.80 km away
Buchan Braes Hotel - Grill Room
62 reviews
7.72 km away
Smuggler's Cone
18 reviews
8.64 km away
Simpsons Tea Room
55 reviews
11.27 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 2 nearby attractions
Buchan Ness Lighthouse
16 reviews
8.15 km away
Peterhead Prison Museum
482 reviews
9.55 km away
BrewDog DogTap & DogWalk Brewery Tour
323 reviews
12.44 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
elizabethbuchan
17 February 2018|
Answer
Response from golfclub25 | Property representative |
Please see the menu on our website - please be aware due to our Club Licence that we are only open to members or members guests, or members from another golf club, we don’t want you to be disappointed. There is a carvery... More
0
Votes
MelchesterNorthWales
19 October 2017|
Answer
Response from golfclub25 | Property representative |
I'm sorry but due to the severe undulations on the course we are unable to offer buggies - even with a caddy. Our St Olaf 9 hole course is a much easier walk.
1
Vote
Jocko12345
26 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from golfclub25 | Property representative |
Good morning - many thanks for the enquiry - best if you email Elaine (see website) - we will be on mat play only, potentially 4 frost greens, and half price @ £50.00 per person.
1
Vote