We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cruden Bay Golf Club

Cruden Bay Golf Club Aulton Road, Cruden Bay (Port Erroll) AB42 0NN, Scotland
+44 1779 812285
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful, Atmospheric, Fun .... Quality Links Golf

Travelling north from Aberdeen and beyond the Ythan River you come to Cruden Bay Golf Club This... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Ally S
,
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Sensational !

I have traveled the world playing golf and I must say that the Cruden Bay experience is one of the... read more

Reviewed 7 November 2017
Alistair T
Read all 140 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Ranked in the top 60 in the world by "Golf Magazine," this 18-hole championship course, designed by Tom Morris, offers an internationally famous golfing experience, which is set against a backdrop of smoothly contoured greens and magnificent panoramic views.
  • Excellent87%
  • Very good10%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“links course” (10 reviews)
“pro shop” (8 reviews)
“nice menu” (2 reviews)
LOCATION
Cruden Bay Golf Club Aulton Road, Cruden Bay (Port Erroll) AB42 0NN, Scotland
CONTACT
Website
+44 1779 812285
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Travelling north from Aberdeen and beyond the Ythan River you come to Cruden Bay Golf Club This ancient links was at one time the host to a huge hotel and railway station where the great and the good came for their holiday The latter have...More

Thank Ally S
Reviewed 7 November 2017

I have traveled the world playing golf and I must say that the Cruden Bay experience is one of the most unique anywhere. The view for a start from the clubhouse is simply stunning - a panoramic vista lays it all out in front of...More

Thank Alistair T
golfclub25, General Manager at Cruden Bay Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Alistair - many thanks for the comments - I feel like I should ask where i send the cheque! :) We are fortunate to have a fantastic piece of land to play our golf over, and it offers so much variety.

Reviewed 3 October 2017

A special Scottish golf course with amazing views of the sea, the beach, the village and the castle. When we booked we didn't think I'd be allowed to play as I have a VERY high handicap. As I browsed through the pro shop I was...More

Thank leemstewart
golfclub25, General Manager at Cruden Bay Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you for taking time to write a review, I remember discussing your game and experience just after your hot chocolate.

Reviewed 20 September 2017

Superb from the moment you drive into the club with wonderful views over lots of the course. We played on a wet blustery day, and the course definitely won, but we still enjoyed it. To top it off, the very kind greenstaff went the extra...More

Thank Ollie G
golfclub25, General Manager at Cruden Bay Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thanks for the comments, I'm afraid this last month the course has won the majority of the time as the weather has just been awful.

Reviewed 14 September 2017

We were four players playing on our way to the airport. The weather was Scottish with pouring rain and wind. The course and the conditions were fantastic. The starter friendly and helpful but a exceptionaly grumpy receptionist got the smiles off all faces. She acted...More

Thank BredeDammann
Reviewed 8 September 2017

We played this course in early August under pretty decent weather conditions. We were welcomed in proshop upon arrival and given instructions for the practice range and clubhouse. Our pre-round lunch was excellent and the service top notch. They had even prepared a welcome for...More

Thank christophersmithers
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

Cruden Bay remains one of the best kept secrets in World Golf. Still true to its original design (with blind approach shots to 3 consecutive holes for example) the course has been enhanced over the years. The course is now slightly longer and harder for...More

Thank ScottLondon77
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

We played this course on a recent golf trip in gale force conditions for the first nine holes, followed by dead still. As such, perhaps the course did not show itself to its best advantage. We had played North Berwick earlier and I thoroughly enjoyed...More

Thank santhony
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Spectacular scenery, challenging holes and conditions, beautiful layout. Classic Links course that looks as though it was not man made....but something from the heaves. A must play and bucket list course!

Thank caedmund
Reviewed 12 August 2017

What a lovely course with great facilities. We were made to feel welcome by all the staff. We chose to play the shorter less challenging St Olaf course which we thoroughly enjoyed. We have not ruled out returning to try the Championship Course at some...More

Thank Maureen2903
golfclub25, General Manager at Cruden Bay Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Our tag line is "A Unique and Unforgettable Experience" - delighted you thought so. We are blessed with two fantastic courses, and the St Olaf must be one of the best in the land. It would be great to welcome you back to our Championship...More

PreviousNext
12345614
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Cruden Bay (Port Erroll) Hotels
St Olaf Hotel
63 reviews
.00 km away
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
251 reviews
.79 km away
Buchan Braes Hotel
204 reviews
7.71 km away
Palace Hotel
183 reviews
11.26 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
114 reviews
.80 km away
Buchan Braes Hotel - Grill Room
54 reviews
7.72 km away
Smuggler's Cone
8 reviews
8.64 km away
Clerkhill Fish Bar
34 reviews
10.51 km away
Nearby Attractions
Buchan Ness Lighthouse
11 reviews
8.25 km away
Peterhead Prison Museum
320 reviews
9.54 km away
BrewDog DogTap & DogWalk Brewery Tour
189 reviews
12.43 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
elizabethbuchan
17 February 2018|
Answer
Response from golfclub25 | Property representative |
Please see the menu on our website - please be aware due to our Club Licence that we are only open to members or members guests, or members from another golf club, we don’t want you to be disappointed. There is a carvery... More
0
Votes
MelchesterNorthWales
19 October 2017|
Answer
Response from golfclub25 | Property representative |
I'm sorry but due to the severe undulations on the course we are unable to offer buggies - even with a caddy. Our St Olaf 9 hole course is a much easier walk.
1
Vote
Jocko12345
26 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from golfclub25 | Property representative |
Good morning - many thanks for the enquiry - best if you email Elaine (see website) - we will be on mat play only, potentially 4 frost greens, and half price @ £50.00 per person.
1
Vote