We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
2,575
All photos (2,575)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good32%
  • Average8%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“worth the climb”(183 reviews)
“shuttle bus”(130 reviews)
“wallace monument”(393 reviews)
About
A national hero - a national landmark. The National Wallace Monument stands proudly on The Abbey Craig, outside the historic city of Stirling, and tells the thrilling story of Sir William Wallace, Guardian of Scotland, Patriot and Martyr.
Suggested duration: < 1 hour
Contact
Hillfoots Road | Abbey Craig, Stirling FK9 5LF, Scotland
Website
+44 1786 472140
Call
Improve This Listing
Ways to Experience National Wallace Monument
from US$52.78
More Info
from US$791.72
More Info
from US$48.82
More Info
from US$64.66
More Info
Reviews (3,185)
Filter reviews
2,530 results
Traveller rating
1,556
760
176
29
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
1,556
760
176
29
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews worth the climb shuttle bus wallace monument spiral staircase catch your breath free minibus walk up different levels gift shop worth the effort great views from the top car park steep hill nice walk scottish history ticket office surrounding countryside
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,530 reviews
Reviewed today via mobile

You won’t be disappointed with a trip to Wallace’s Monument. Steeped in history, it is situated on a volcanic rock in which William Wallace used to view King Edwards army across the Forth, before defeating them at the Battle of Stirling Bridge. You can view...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Kelly-no1
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Had a good walk up to the monument, lots of information boards around the walk up, with carved sculptures on pathways. Unfortunately the monument is closed whilst the6 do upgrading work. I will go back when it reopens as the view from where we were...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank donnamclean565
TheWallaceMon, Marketing Team at National Wallace Monument, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hello Donna, thanks so much for visiting and for your lovely review. Please do come back when we re open as there will be new and improved exhibitions on each level.

Reviewed 3 days ago

We visited in February 2019 on a Sunday. We were able to walk the steep pathway up to the Monuments entrance to find that the doors were locked. There is construction occurring to the monument itself.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Pckris
TheWallaceMon, Marketing at National Wallace Monument, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hello, we are sorry we weren't open. We are currently going through a refurbishment both inside and outside the monument and it won't be open again until mid April. Please do come back when we re open. Thanks

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

This is a unbelievable monument. I have never been to the top but I bet it would be great. Well worth a visit.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Bibcay
TheWallaceMon, Marketing Team at National Wallace Monument, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hello thanks so much for your review and very kind comments. Please do come and pay us a visit once our refurbishment is complete.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Amazing place but wrap up warm. Grest value for money and fridndly staff. free bus shuttle from the visitor centre to the monument. Views and history are amazing.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank susan r
TheWallaceMon, Marketing Team at National Wallace Monument, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Susan, thanks so much for your lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your visit to us!

Reviewed 1 week ago

A must visit when you come to Stirling. A nice walk up to the monument and then great views. If you able to climb the many steps inside, do take the tour up. It is worth it. Even better views and lots of history in...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Traveler449805
TheWallaceMon, Marketing Team at National Wallace Monument, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello, thanks so much for visiting us and for your very kind review. We are so glad you found the views at the top worth the climb.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Part of the Stirling skyline and a great landmark in the heart of Scotland. One of the highlights, if you climb it you get views of the carse of Stirling.

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank Barrie H
TheWallaceMon, Marketing Team at National Wallace Monument, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Barrie, thanks so much for visiting and for your very kind review.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A great day for all the family! The views are spectacular! A must if you are in the area. Loved it... I learnt alot about the history too!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank benjitheminister
TheWallaceMon, Marketing Team at National Wallace Monument, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello and thank you so much for visiting us, we are so glad you and your family enjoyed it. Thank you also for your lovely review.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I really loved the Wallace monument, the walk up to the top was tiring but well worth it as you get some spectacular views on your way up. The path for visitors was rather icy so we walked on the road as we were allowed...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank dani84m
TheWallaceMon, Marketing Team at National Wallace Monument, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Dani, thank you so much for visiting us and for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed visiting us.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

To be honest the day we were there it had scaffolding up and around it. It was pretty cold so we didnt do the climb up it. Its cool to go and visit though. The gift shop had lots of nice stuff that isn't expensive.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank lyndaann1975
TheWallaceMon, Marketing Team at National Wallace Monument, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello, thank you so much for visiting. We are sorry for the scaffolding, which is there due to work being done on the statue of Sir William Wallace. Thank you for your kind review despite this.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 20 nearby hotels
Stirling Court Hotel
698 reviews
.38 km away
Travelodge Stirling City Centre
188 reviews
2.18 km away
The Royal Hotel
914 reviews
2.21 km away
The Portcullis Hotel
217 reviews
2.44 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 254 nearby restaurants
The Meadowpark
568 reviews
1.11 km away
Corrieri's Cafe
418 reviews
.19 km away
Birds and the Bees
908 reviews
.84 km away
Legends Coffee House
56 reviews
.17 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 139 nearby attractions
Macrobert Arts Centre
82 reviews
.64 km away
Dumyat walk
30 reviews
1.24 km away
William Wallace Pub
34 reviews
.18 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Asif S
14 February 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from dundeeb0y | Reviewed this property |
There is a bus that takes you to the tower so you can view closer. At the entrance to the park there is a shop and some history as well as a very nice snack bar.
1
Vote
Cjbmum
19 October 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from TheWallaceMon | Property representative |
Hello, although dogs are welcome on the grounds surrounding the monument, I am afraid they are not permitted to the monument itself. I hope this helps.
0
Votes
BennySpiro
16 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from drprapa | Reviewed this property |
no
0
Votes