We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art

Gateshead Quays South South Shore Road, Gateshead NE8 3BA, England
+44 191 478 1810
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Great if you are into art

This place is art haven but not interesting otherwise. It's modern art and sometimes has... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Sam A
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
Viewing platform 👀

The viewing platform supplies unrivalled views across the Newcastle Gateshead Quayside. The art on... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
travellinglights
,
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 1,001 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Housed in a landmark industrial building on the south bank of the River Tyne in Gateshead, BALTIC presents an ever-changing calendar of dynamic, diverse & international contemporary visual art exhibitions and events. Also houses BALTIC SHOP, a cafe/bar. Library & Archive and Six rooftop restaurant.
  • Excellent27%
  • Very good33%
  • Average21%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“top floor” (74 reviews)
“flour mill” (51 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
LOCATION
Gateshead Quays South South Shore Road, Gateshead NE8 3BA, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 191 478 1810
Write a ReviewReviews (1,001)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"viewing platform"
in 82 reviews
"top floor"
in 74 reviews
"flour mill"
in 51 reviews
"viewing box"
in 25 reviews
"turner prize"
in 19 reviews
"gift shop"
in 53 reviews
"free entry"
in 36 reviews
"millennium bridge"
in 70 reviews
"the river"
in 80 reviews
"glass lift"
in 12 reviews
"baltic centre"
in 49 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 62 reviews
"old building"
in 15 reviews
"interesting building"
in 12 reviews
"great cafe"
in 10 reviews
"fantastic views"
in 18 reviews
"exhibition"
in 291 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 973 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

This place is art haven but not interesting otherwise. It's modern art and sometimes has exhibitions.More

Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BALTICGateshead, Visitor Experience team at Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

We have a rolling programme of contemporary art exhibitions, this means we structure it so that we always have at least one exhibition on at any time and this is always kept to short times whilst we install brand new exhibitions. As a contemporary art...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

The viewing platform supplies unrivalled views across the Newcastle Gateshead Quayside. The art on show is worth a look around, and if you’re lucky you might catch a special exhibition.

Thank travellinglights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BALTICGateshead, Visitor Experience team at Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

We agree the view is pretty special & it's good to hear you enjoy looking around our exhibitions. We hope to welcome you again soon, thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago

I've been here a few times and you never know what you are going to see. Sure, iof you like traditional portraits then this probably isn't the place for you. Come with a sense of humour but there is always something interesting to see and...More

Thank laurice_strgnbrgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BALTICGateshead, Visitor Experience team at Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your comments and review, keep and eye out for free family focused activities throughout the year (amongst many other things) and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again soon. Very pleased to hear about your positive experience, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Visited here during the Newcastle great north exhibition, have to be honest most of the ' modern art ' is way over my head. Being a teenager is the 70s/80s I really enjoyed the photo exhibition of our lives ' back then' punk, miners strike,...More

Thank Sunnygirl83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BALTICGateshead, Visitor Experience team at Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

It's good to hear you enjoyed Idea of the North on Level 4. Thanks for taking the time to tell us about your visit. Our exhibitions are all free so we appreciate the quid idea - hopefully see you again soon. There are free spotlight...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago

Little like Tate Modern - a great use of an old building adapted to a modern art museum. Some exhibits a bit odd but guess that is modern art. great view of the city from viewing galleries

Thank Bob889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BALTICGateshead, Visitor Experience team at Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago

This building has so much wasted space & potential.. It is a shame that it does not offer more so that you could spend a lot longer visiting. What we did see was interesting and thought provoking but all over too soon.More

Thank Jules N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BALTICGateshead, Visitor Experience team at Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

We're glad to hear that you were interested in what you did see, all of our exhibition floors are open at the moment so we have our viewing box & terrace plus 4 exhibitions and BALTIC 39. We will changeover our programme in October and...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago

As I often find with modern art galleries like this, the contents don't live up to the surroundings, unless that particular form of installation/conceptual art impresses you. Well worth a visit, but few of the exhibits while I was there especially interested me.

Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BALTICGateshead, Visitor Experience team at Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thanks for the review. We change our exhibitions regularly so it's not very long before there's something different to see. We're glad that although you didn't like everything you still think we're worth a visit. Hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago

I'd heard a lot about the Baltic so on my visit to Newcastle it was a must see place and I wasn't disappointed. I went primarily to see Lubaina Hamid's exhibition as I had invigilated her work at The Ferens art gallery, Kingston-Upon-Hull when she...More

Thank elsejon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BALTICGateshead, Visitor Experience team at Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

We're really glad you enjoyed your visit to BALTIC today, thank you for the review & we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

An useful use of a redundant building, turned into a state of the art exhibition space. The viewing boxes give impressive views of the city, and of the nesting birds. The inevitable gift shop is worth a visit, as there are interesting and though provoking...More

Thank nigeljcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BALTICGateshead, Visitor Experience team at Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are happy to hear you enjoyed BALTIC, thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We like to visit cities to get inspiration and stimulation and of course do the obligatory shopping. We saw something of the Great Exhibition of the North in Newcastle and Gateshead. It really was a poor show, some elements for instance the flags exhibition and...More

Thank MrsLucyLocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BALTICGateshead, Visitor Experience team at Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

It sounds like you enjoyed some of our exhibitions and not others, this is why we have a varied programme as we hope to cater to a range of audiences. The exhibition by Michael Dean (Having you on...) may not be your cup of tea...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 20 hotels in Gateshead
Baltic Quays Luxury Apartments
22 reviews
.02 km away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
2,613 reviews
.14 km away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
1,607 reviews
.14 km away
Malmaison Newcastle
2,866 reviews
.25 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Six
2,394 reviews
.03 km away
BALTIC Kitchen
220 reviews
.11 km away
The Brasserie at Sage Gateshead
185 reviews
.42 km away
Barrio Comida
89 reviews
.32 km away
Nearby Attractions
Gateshead Millenium Bridge
1,983 reviews
.50 km away
Sage Gateshead
1,117 reviews
.41 km away
The Quayside
2,679 reviews
.37 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
David S
6 April 2015|
Answer
Response from Annie W | Reviewed this property |
The video I think you're looking for is called 'A Vicious Undertow'. It's available on youtube. Fingers crossed it's the right one x
0
Votes