We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rhine River

Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
+49 8557 074837
Website
Share
Save
Book In Advance
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good23%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“cruise director” (73 reviews)
“cruise line” (43 reviews)
LOCATION
Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
CONTACT
Website
+49 8557 074837
Ways to Experience Rhine River
from US$97.20
More Info
from US$282.80
More Info
from US$79.75
More Info
Write a ReviewReviews (903)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"cruise director"
in 73 reviews
"cruise line"
in 43 reviews
"lunch and dinner"
in 41 reviews
"every night"
in 22 reviews
"top deck"
in 32 reviews
"sun deck"
in 33 reviews
"avalon waterways"
in 20 reviews
"black forest"
in 30 reviews
"dining room"
in 32 reviews
"day cruise"
in 38 reviews
"program director"
in 19 reviews
"wine and beer"
in 15 reviews
"french balcony"
in 18 reviews
"included tours"
in 18 reviews
"travel agent"
in 11 reviews
"newmarket holidays"
in 16 reviews
"soft drinks"
in 8 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 758 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

This was my 3rd river cruise having been on the Danube last year and the Nile about eight years ago. This was organised by Riviera Travel on board the Jane Austin. This is a very nice ship with good sized cabins which are cleaned to...More

Thank Ray J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago

Just returned from a Riviera cruise from Cologne to Basel on the William Shakespeare. During the overnight sailings (most nights) the engine noise and vibration made it impossible to sleep. We'd booked a cabin on the most expensive deck, but as first timers we were...More

Thank paul l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago

We took an 8-day Rhine Getaway cruise from Amsterdam to Basel and had one of best times of our lives. From the very first night, everything was just perfect. The cabin was great, with full height windows and our own balcony and every meal was...More

Thank Stan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

Booked Viking Romantic Danube river cruise months in advance. The company was aware late winter and early spring of pending water issues. However, a week before our departure we received a letter notifying us the river was low due to lack of rainfall and we...More

Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

If you are planning a European river cruise of Western Europe you will probably be considering cruising on the Rhine (especially if you have WWII historical interest in the area!) the motion picture entitled “A Bridge Too Far” show many of the small towns and...More

Thank ChefMarkChristopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Float and swim downstream on the Rhine, that’s what the locals do. And it’s free! All you need is a waterproof bag (that you roll and it becomes a floatation device), put all your stuff in it and float down the river. I’m not athletic...More

Thank Yeweng W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago

Emerald Cruise from Bernkastel to Nuremberg - been with them twice before & boat, food, tours etc first class. BUT - on many sections of this cruise, because of low bridges, the top Sun Deck was closed - for 4 out of the 7 days....More

Thank ICA186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great cruise, yet again with APT but perhaps went a little early it was still March and bitterly cold at times so we didn't get the full use of our balcony but as far as I am concerned cruising the river takes over any day...More

2  Thank Bernice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Have been on river cruise from Asterdam to Budapest with Saga.. Boat crashed into bridge and damaged the wheelhouse so delayed for repairs. Had unscheduled stop at small town. Next day had to go by coach to Nuremberg whist the boat caught up with us....More

Thank dafden2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been on this river many times on river cruises. The best! Lots to see along the way with great little towns to stop at.

Thank paketa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 1,052 hotels in Rhineland-Palatinate
Burg Reichenstein
70 reviews
3.96 km away
AKZENT Waldhotel Rheingau
67 reviews
4.55 km away
Hotel Unter den Linden
50 reviews
4.94 km away
Alte Bauernschaenke
170 reviews
5.11 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Burg Reichenstein
29 reviews
3.96 km away
Hotel-Restaurant Schon
27 reviews
5.30 km away
Kleiner Weinprinz
21 reviews
4.90 km away
Alte Bauernschanke
55 reviews
5.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
Burg Sooneck
52 reviews
5.06 km away
Rheinstein Castle
160 reviews
5.08 km away
Niederwald Chairlift Assmannshausen on the Rhine
80 reviews
5.09 km away
Seilbahn Rudesheim
459 reviews
5.53 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
hkjcline
14 August 2018|
Answer
Response from Ray J | Reviewed this property |
We finished a weeks cruise yesterday. The Captain said if it hadn’t rained on the first day we may not have been able to complete cruise as only 20cm water clearance in places. Hope it rains again for future cruises.
0
Votes
eduarda m
13 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Ray J | Reviewed this property |
River levels are very low as we finished our cruise yesterday. More rain needed now for lower Rhine but ok in upper Rhine. Danube river cruises have stopped due to low levels.
0
Votes
eduarda m
13 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from JWP26 | Reviewed this property |
We went in July and at that point it was noticeable that the water levels were low. However, apart from the sewage issue near Koblenz ( mentioned in my review Riviera Rhine River Cruise) there was very little impact on our... More
1
Vote