We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Manchester Academy

Oxford Road, Manchester M13 9PR, England
+44 161 275 2930
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Bars & Melody Gig

Took my 11 year old daughter this week.Was slightly apprehensive taking a child to a standing gig... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Keppel
,
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Seen various bands

I have seen many bands at this venue over the past 6 months, the most recent being Highly Suspect... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Adam J
Read all 218 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
A collection of four intimate music venues, each of varying capacity and hosting a total of up to 5000 guests.
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good34%
  • Average12%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“great venue” (35 reviews)
“security staff” (14 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 10:30 PM
LOCATION
Oxford Road, Manchester M13 9PR, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 161 275 2930
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Took my 11 year old daughter this week.Was slightly apprehensive taking a child to a standing gig & expected it to be an unpleasant experience for myself & her.It turned out to be amazing. Queue to get in orderly ,friendly .Security guy on the door...More

Thank Keppel
Reviewed 5 days ago

I have seen many bands at this venue over the past 6 months, the most recent being Highly Suspect on Feb 6th 2018. The room was a decent size and wasn't too hot despite the nature of the event. The stage in some rooms tends...More

Thank Adam J
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a fab venue. Staff were fabulous even though rushed off there feet. Courteous and friendly throughout. Bar was busy but my it was clean. The main room where the concert was was great. The staff who took tickets were extremely polite and there health...More

2  Thank susan g
HollyWils, Event Management Intern at Manchester Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Susan - thank you so much for leaving us a 5 star review, it's great to hear your feedback & we're very glad to hear you enjoyed your experience at our venue. Hope to be welcoming you to another of our gigs soon! Holly

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

As a Heavy Metal fan, and having seen The Damned with the mighty Motörhead some years ago, a trip to the Academy to see the punk legends was a no brainer! Never having been in the Academy, I did wonder what it was like, friends...More

2  Thank Cozy N
HollyWils, Events Management Intern at Manchester Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi - thank you so much for leaving us a 4 star review, we love hearing our customers feedback! I'm glad you enjoyed your experience here so much as customer satisfaction is very important to us. We look forward to welcoming you back in 3...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Half 7 doors open on a day when two bands were headlining with a support act. I do like gigs at this place but the slow speed of the security staff coupled with the late opening meant that we missed the support band and the...More

2  Thank Gareth C
HollyWils, Events Management Intern at Manchester Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Gareth - thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We understand how this must have been frustrating for you, please can you email info.su@manchester.ac.uk so that we can investigate this thoroughly, and make sure it doesn't happen again? Thank you.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went to see AA BVB in jan Queued for 2 hours missed support band need to speed up getting people in yes you need security but start it earlier. Nice venue bar prices dear £4:50 a pint sound quality a bit poor but overall a...More

1  Thank Mark Q
HollyWils, Events Management Intern at Manchester Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Mark - thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We understand how this must have been frustrating for you, please can you email info.su@manchester.ac.uk so that we can investigate this thoroughly, and make sure it doesn't happen again? Thank you.

Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

Both bands were brilliant as usual, and put on a really good show. The sound was really good too for the most. However, the venue itself is awful and I won't visit there again. No matter where you stand - unless it's with the first...More

Thank GreenyG80
HollyWils, Events Management Intern at Manchester Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi - thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Whilst I can appreciate that it's frustrating when you can't get a good view of the stage, please can I assure you that none of our venues would never be over-capacity and...More

Reviewed 23 December 2017

Fantastic night earlier this month seeing Gogol Bordello! A very well organised venue this. Fast service at the bar and reasonable prices. Thoroughly recommended!

Thank Angus JOHN M
Reviewed 16 December 2017 via mobile

£2 to park , beer at normal prices, friendly security , quick bar service , sound spot on . Great venue

Thank John R
Reviewed 13 December 2017 via mobile

Love coming to the Academy in all its guises. Basement club academy, academy 1 2 and 3 had no complaints in the past. After our most recent visit to watch Reverend & The Makers (who were superb) we received a Bus Lane infringement fine. We...More

1  Thank Linda C
HollyWils, Academy Intern at Manchester Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Hello, Best way to go is down Denmark Road and on to Dilworth Street (where the car park is) Please note that the machine does not accept the new £1 coins - apologies for any inconvenience caused. Thanks, hope you enjoy the show!

PreviousNext
12345621
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 121 hotels in Manchester
Travelodge Manchester Upper Brook Street
811 reviews
.53 km away
The Pendulum Hotel
1,762 reviews
1.14 km away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
1,439 reviews
1.18 km away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
1,160 reviews
1.18 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Tai Pan
338 reviews
.41 km away
Plymouth Grove Restaurant
34 reviews
.55 km away
Christie's Bistro
48 reviews
.20 km away
Red Chilli Chinese Restaurant Oxford Road
176 reviews
.17 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Manchester Museum
1,932 reviews
.28 km away
Whitworth Art Gallery
744 reviews
.45 km away
Victoria Baths
177 reviews
1.10 km away
O2 Apollo Manchester
492 reviews
.85 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Eli1989W
7 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Mark Q | Reviewed this property |
to be honest it was not that warm in there
0
Votes
MeganJaneFisher
29 January 2018|
Answer
Response from Gareth C | Reviewed this property |
Hiya, there is plenty of accommodation in the city but I'm not sure which is best to use as i never stay over.Just Google Oxford road and I'm sure places will come up. In terms of stations, if your not heading back to the... More
0
Votes
sherburn1518
23 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Linda C | Reviewed this property |
The actual car park I’m referring to is Cecil St M15 6GD as I said you need to approach it from the other side via Dilworth Street and have £2 coin or 4 x 50ps as new £1 coin doesn’t work.
0
Votes
PreviousNext
1234