We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Review Highlights
A real old tradional pub

On a visit back to Derby we just had to revisit the Brunswick for lunch and some real ale... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
angelaB2583VK
,
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Amazing self brewed beer

This place is a gem. Brews it’s own beers and holds specialty lagers and ciders that I buys in... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
PadiP
,
Poole, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 199 reviews
40
All photos (40)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent67%
  • Very good18%
  • Average5%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“great pub”(20 reviews)
“real ale”(36 reviews)
About
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
19°
11°
Aug
16°
Sep
12°
Oct
Contact
1 Railway Terrace, Derby DE1 2RU, England
Website
+44 1332 290677
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
129
37
10
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
129
37
10
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat pubreal alecamra pub of the yearown brewerybeer festivalbrewed on sitederby stationclose to the railway stationexcellent selection of beersblack sabbathcasseroleserves excellentold style pubguest beersproper beerfood menupork scratchings
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 197 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

On a visit back to Derby we just had to revisit the Brunswick for lunch and some real ale . Perfect cheese n onion rolls ,cheesy chips, "Black Sabbath "and "The Usual "ales all very 👍good .Dog friendly as well🐕

Thank angelaB2583VK
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This place is a gem. Brews it’s own beers and holds specialty lagers and ciders that I buys in. Cheap and honest, if you like good beer at good prices this place is a must go.

Thank PadiP
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wonderful olde worldly pub serving real ale, numerous ales on tap...knowledgeable & friendly staff, very busy with customers which in this day and age it is a pleasure to walk into a friendly bustling pub...( unfortunately I didn’t eat here but the food looked excellent,...More

Thank Barry F
allyboyy, Owner at The Brunswick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Great. Thanks for your review we always appreciate when we get thing right. See you soon.

Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

Caught the train from Nottingham having found out that the summer beer festival was on at the Brunswick and the Alexandra. Well worth the time and effort to get here. The choice of beers is excellent and so reasonably priced. Had the bbq which again...More

Thank nottinghamnikki
allyboyy, Owner at The Brunswick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your review. Its always good to hear when we hit the spot just right. I am pleased you like what we offer here and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 26 June 2018

Deserves its trip adviser rating as best pub in Derby & Camra pub of the year 2016 & 2017, good job this was our last pub we visited, if we had came here first I would not have not moved, the bittersweet Everards Beacon was...More

Thank radfordred
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

Having been here a couple of times before and it being excellent. This visit was very disappointing. Out of three pints, 2 had to go back and one was just drinkable.

Thank testfourecho
allyboyy, Owner at The Brunswick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I am sorry to hear your experience wasn't to our usual standard. No excuses here, but sometimes the last pint(s) out of a cask can turn and we normally pick this up. Hope this will not put you off visiting in the future.

Reviewed 11 June 2018

Without have a stop. This pub keeps the old spirit and charm. Visiting Derby since more then 15 years, this is an institution which is still in the tradition of pub culture. There are a good selection of changing beers and typical food. This is...More

Thank fw63
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

I never write reviews but had promised myself that the NEXT time either I, or someone with me was treated rudely or meanly in the Brunswick I would write one. I am genuinely sorry to do this, but I am fed up especially of being...More

Thank mrbobaderby
allyboyy, Owner at The Brunswick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there. Firstly may I say we are sorry you feel like this. As you can see this is not our usual standard and if you would like to contact me I will gladly listen and try to put your concerns right. Alan

Reviewed 12 May 2018

This pub is a must for Real Ale fans visiting Derby. The building has a lot of history and is a real treasure. An excellent range of guest beers along with their own from Brunswick Brewing Company on site.

Thank Peter B
Reviewed 2 May 2018

This was the start and finish point of a Derby pub crawl for 8 old friends. It was a quiet Thursday lunchtime and we ordered eight different meals from the small but varied menu. The meals arrived two at a time and were served on...More

Thank Dave W
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Keith_the_writer
11 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from allyboyy | Property representative |
Yes we do a small menu. We are home fans only on all our games now. The pub gets very busy on match days. Thanks Alan
1
Vote
Dean F
26 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from allyboyy | Property representative |
Yes we have two areas to park. Both are our private land. One is at the front of the building access off railway terrace and the other to the rear access off calvert street.
2
Votes
Sarah M
19 March 2016|
Answer
Response from Alan P |
We are walking distance from the city centre about 10 minutes walking time. Thanks.
0
Votes