We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Reunion Afternoon

In Derby for a Royal Navy reunion. Spent most of an enjoyable afternoon in this establishment... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
delarever
,
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reunion with an old friend.

It has been more than 10 years since I was last in the Brunswick and I am pleased to report it is... read more

Reviewed 13 September 2018
samthevillan
,
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Read all 201 reviews
42
All photos (42)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent69%
  • Very good18%
  • Average4%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“great pub”(20 reviews)
“real ale”(36 reviews)
About
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
12°
Oct
Nov
Dec
Contact
1 Railway Terrace, Derby DE1 2RU, England
Website
+44 1332 290677
Call
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
130
38
10
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
130
38
10
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great pub real ale camra pub of the year own brewery beer festival brewed on site derby station black sabbath close to the railway station excellent selection of beers casserole old style pub guest beers food menu serves excellent pork scratchings visited this pub
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 199 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

In Derby for a Royal Navy reunion. Spent most of an enjoyable afternoon in this establishment. Great choice of drinks and a good relaxed atmosphere.

Thank delarever
Reviewed 13 September 2018

It has been more than 10 years since I was last in the Brunswick and I am pleased to report it is as good as ever. You can see why they have received the Derby Pub of the Year awards, no mean feat with some...More

1  Thank samthevillan
Reviewed 16 August 2018

On a visit back to Derby we just had to revisit the Brunswick for lunch and some real ale . Perfect cheese n onion rolls ,cheesy chips, "Black Sabbath "and "The Usual "ales all very 👍good .Dog friendly as well🐕

Thank angelaB2583VK
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

This place is a gem. Brews it’s own beers and holds specialty lagers and ciders that I buys in. Cheap and honest, if you like good beer at good prices this place is a must go.

Thank PadiP
Reviewed 25 July 2018

Wonderful olde worldly pub serving real ale, numerous ales on tap...knowledgeable & friendly staff, very busy with customers which in this day and age it is a pleasure to walk into a friendly bustling pub...( unfortunately I didn’t eat here but the food looked excellent,...More

Thank BarryF719
allyboyy, Owner at The Brunswick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Great. Thanks for your review we always appreciate when we get thing right. See you soon.

Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

Caught the train from Nottingham having found out that the summer beer festival was on at the Brunswick and the Alexandra. Well worth the time and effort to get here. The choice of beers is excellent and so reasonably priced. Had the bbq which again...More

Thank nottinghamnikki
allyboyy, Owner at The Brunswick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Thanks for your review. Its always good to hear when we hit the spot just right. I am pleased you like what we offer here and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 26 June 2018

Deserves its trip adviser rating as best pub in Derby & Camra pub of the year 2016 & 2017, good job this was our last pub we visited, if we had came here first I would not have not moved, the bittersweet Everards Beacon was...More

Thank radfordred
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

Having been here a couple of times before and it being excellent. This visit was very disappointing. Out of three pints, 2 had to go back and one was just drinkable.

Thank testfourecho
allyboyy, Owner at The Brunswick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

I am sorry to hear your experience wasn't to our usual standard. No excuses here, but sometimes the last pint(s) out of a cask can turn and we normally pick this up. Hope this will not put you off visiting in the future.

Reviewed 11 June 2018

Without have a stop. This pub keeps the old spirit and charm. Visiting Derby since more then 15 years, this is an institution which is still in the tradition of pub culture. There are a good selection of changing beers and typical food. This is...More

Thank fw63
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

I never write reviews but had promised myself that the NEXT time either I, or someone with me was treated rudely or meanly in the Brunswick I would write one. I am genuinely sorry to do this, but I am fed up especially of being...More

1  Thank mrbobaderby
allyboyy, Owner at The Brunswick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Hi there. Firstly may I say we are sorry you feel like this. As you can see this is not our usual standard and if you would like to contact me I will gladly listen and try to put your concerns right. Alan

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 28 nearby hotels
Aston Court Hotel
524 reviews
.29 km away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
1,450 reviews
.29 km away
Hallmark Inn
545 reviews
.31 km away
Best Western The Stuart Hotel
1,231 reviews
.36 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 669 nearby restaurants
BellaMora
253 reviews
.41 km away
Anoki
1,841 reviews
.39 km away
Shalimar Gold
903 reviews
.35 km away
Viceroy Derby
1,055 reviews
.38 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 209 nearby attractions
Royal Crown Derby Visitor Centre
185 reviews
.71 km away
Derby Theatre
167 reviews
.88 km away
intu Derby
169 reviews
.58 km away
Famous Trains Model Railway
34 reviews
.32 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Keith_the_writer
11 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from allyboyy | Property representative |
Yes we do a small menu. We are home fans only on all our games now. The pub gets very busy on match days. Thanks Alan
1
Vote
DeanF932
26 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from allyboyy | Property representative |
Yes we have two areas to park. Both are our private land. One is at the front of the building access off railway terrace and the other to the rear access off calvert street.
2
Votes
Sarah M
19 March 2016|
Answer
Response from Alan P |
We are walking distance from the city centre about 10 minutes walking time. Thanks.
0
Votes