We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holyhead Maritime Museum

Closed: Closed
Open today: Closed
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Fascinating museum

Visited on a cold, rainy day but got the warmest of welcomes. A fascinating range of exhibits and... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Claire T
via mobile
It's a Tardis!

Great museum made all the better by the very knowledgable local guides who offer to show you round... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
minibusmike
,
Kendal, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 208 reviews
87
All photos (87)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent76%
  • Very good18%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“world war”(9 reviews)
About
The museum is a fascinating experience for the whole family. Step back in time at the oldest lifeboat station in Wales (circa. 1858), Which houses a wonderful collection of exhibits telling the enthralling maritime history of Holyhead. Situated...more
Closed
Hours Today: Closed
See all hours
Contact
Newry Beach | Beach Road, Holyhead LL65 1YD, Wales
Website
+44 1407 769745
Call
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveller rating
151
33
9
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
151
33
9
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews air raid shelter lifeboat station world war run by volunteers guided tour bistro attached well worth a visit interesting exhibits wonderful guide absolutely everything volunteer staff great insight treasure trove personal guide military exhibits sewing machine couple of hours
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 196 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited on a cold, rainy day but got the warmest of welcomes. A fascinating range of exhibits and informative, enthusiastic guides. Well worth a visit.

Thank Claire T
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great museum made all the better by the very knowledgable local guides who offer to show you round, they bring the whole museum to life. Thanks guys and keep up the good work. Very good Bistro attached.

Thank minibusmike
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This little gem is packed with maritime models and goodies. Knowledgeable staff are happy to guide your through the displays, or just let you wander yourself.

Thank Philiph S
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent a fascinating 2 hours in this very interesting Maritime Museum today. It is full of wonderful exhibits and powerful stories of extreme bravery by all those marvellous Mariners and lifeboat men throughout the years. You need to take time to read all the...More

Thank Mac62Hertfordshire
HMMuseum, Trustee at Holyhead Maritime Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your very extensive and generous review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to us and especially that you took the time to appreciate the maritime heritage of the town. We are lucky that we have a very...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited the cafe next door after a great recommendation and was not disappointed. Would have visited the museum had it not been too expensive which was a shame. We thought £5 each was too much for such a small museum. To attract passing visitors we...More

Thank jii001
HMMuseum, Trustee at Holyhead Maritime Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your meal at the Bistro. However, we are dissapointed that you considered the admission charge for the Museum expensive. We have kept this to £5 for adults for a number of years. We offer...More

Reviewed 5 September 2018

We visited as a family with young children, after parking (for free) at the seafront to have a picnic. It costs £5 each for adults and free entry for children. As soon as we entered the building we were warmly greeted by a lady who...More

Thank Sarah L
HMMuseum, Trustee at Holyhead Maritime Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to add your review. We are pleased that you and your children enjoyed your visit and also thank you for your appreciation of the efforts of our volunteers.

Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

Situated in the old lifeboat station, quite a small museum but packed with loads of exhibits. Lovely helpful lady in reception. Very reasonable admission price. Also adjacent is an old air raid shelter packed with military exhibits. But what really made this visit was the...More

Thank MR C
HMMuseum, Trustee at Holyhead Maritime Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Thank you very much for your very kind and encouraging review and especially your appreciative comments regarding one of our volunteer guides.

Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

Even though it is a fairly small museum, it is packed with loads to see. There are a couple of ships bellsin there that they don't mind the children ringing. The airraid shelter next door has loads to see as well. You can go in...More

Thank cliveluty1968
HMMuseum, Trustee at Holyhead Maritime Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your encouraging review. We are pleased that you enjoyed finding out about the town's fascinating maritime heritage.

Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

We visited with our two children five and 11 years old. There was a quiz for the children to complete which when given back they received a prize for completing. Lots of interested objects and the volunteers were very knowledgeable. The air raid shelter was...More

Thank Kelly C
HMMuseum, Trustee at Holyhead Maritime Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to add your very kind review. We are pleased that the children enjoyed the quiz.

Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

Recently visited and shown around by a informative guide who gave a local insight to all the relics - so interesting. Well worth a visit.

2  Thank OTLS2018
HMMuseum, Trustee at Holyhead Maritime Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Thank you for asking the time to add your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to us.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 24 nearby hotels
Travelodge Holyhead Hotel
625 reviews
1.26 km away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
760 reviews
4.08 km away
The Beach Motel
251 reviews
4.56 km away
Anchorage Hotel
126 reviews
5.93 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 354 nearby restaurants
The Harbourfront Bistro
533 reviews
.01 km away
Langdon's
188 reviews
.49 km away
Simply Street Bar and Grill
66 reviews
.55 km away
The Stanley Arms
90 reviews
.56 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 193 nearby attractions
Nature's Work
22 reviews
.80 km away
Stena Line Limited - Day Trips
757 reviews
1.06 km away
St. Cybi Church
50 reviews
.63 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Kimberly H
4 June 2018|
Answer
Response from HMMuseum | Property representative |
Yes, for single buggy type prams. Double or 'twin' prams would be more difficult.
0
Votes
RachelWirral
8 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from HMMuseum | Property representative |
£5 for adults, £4 for concessions and all children 16 and under are FREE! Look forward to welcoming you.
0
Votes
Poppy L
28 June 2017|
Answer
Response from HMMuseum | Property representative |
Thank you for your enquiry. Unfortunately, with the exception of Assistance/Guide Dogs, we are unable to allow access for dogs inside the Museum. This is also the case for inside the attached Bistro. However, dogs are... More
0
Votes