We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Review Highlights
A dog friendly nteresting experience

A rainy afternoon in Wales... 2 bored teens and grandmother... an interesting experience that... read more

Reviewed 27 August 2018
readjohn316
,
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
via mobile
Worth a vidit

We spent an enjoyable few hours here. The entrance price was quite reasonable, the girl on... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Lex-Pelicana1
,
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 218 reviews
83
All photos (83)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good18%
  • Average9%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“the dragon”(28 reviews)
“black chasm”(44 reviews)
“tour guide”(15 reviews)
About
A choice of Actor-led Experiences: The Black Chasm Orcs, Goblins, Wraiths & other Myths. Wales' scariest underground adventure. This experience is not for the faint hearted! Not recommended for under 10's. A Dragon's Tale Why risk the nightmare of...more
Contact
| LLywernog Silver-Lead Mine, Ponterwyd, Aberystwyth SY23 3AB, Wales
Website
+44 1970 890620
Call
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveller rating
122
40
21
16
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
122
40
21
16
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the dragon black chasm tour guide woo hoo panning for gold gem panning den building fossil dig above ground egg hunt mining experience miners trail all ages horrible histories immediate response hard hats fun attraction
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 218 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We spent an enjoyable few hours here. The entrance price was quite reasonable, the girl on reception was very friendly, helpful and knowledgable and our guide Megan was great. The tour is easy to follow and very interesting,. There seemed to be lots to interest...More

Thank Lex-Pelicana1
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Visit was to learn from the museum and available underground workings, but were also introduced to experiences for families and children that help keep the museum viable. The play areas and tours for kids are well thought through & will no doubt excite with lots...More

Thank Peter S
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Awesome place to visit with very friendly staff, loads of things to look at for adults and children. The tour was brilliant. Fun for all the family!

Thank Claire K
LucieW191, Manager at Silver Mountain Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Claire, many thanks for your review! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Silver Mountain, and very much hope to see you again soon! From all of the Silver Mountain team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Really great time had with very informative and theatrical guides who made the whole visit both fun and educational. Weather was a little chilly and wet but still had a great time. Definitely go and check it out.

Thank dawniebrown
LucieW191, Manager at Silver Mountain Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your brilliant review! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit, and hope to see you you again soon! From all of the Silver Mountain team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we called into the silver mountain experience while looking for a different location - but decided to stay there and have a look around the old mine and other attractions there . what a great place ! the staff were brilliant and they seemed to...More

Thank Eric D
LucieW191, Manager at Silver Mountain Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Eric, thank you so much for your fantastic review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit, and hope to see you again soon! From all of the Silver Mountain team

Reviewed 9 September 2018

Was an average drizzly day, can see the potential of this place but certainly wouldn’t return. The cafe is nice but activities were naff.More

Thank Keryka77
LucieW191, Manager at Silver Mountain Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit. A large portion of the entrance fee goes towards maintaining this 250+ year old historic mine site, as well as adding new features and continuously developing experiences. As shown by the other feedback, the...More

Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely time at the silver mine. All made to feel very welcome. Spent about 4 hours there including lunch. We did the dragon 🐲 tour.

Thank Welshy21
Lucie W, Manager at Silver Mountain Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Thank you so much for your review, we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you all again soon, from the Silver Mountain team

Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

What a miserable rainy day made really wonderful by this place. Even though my daughter is 10 and the age on the Dragons Tale was 8, Findal the Elf guide made it a great fun experience. He was funny a great storyteller. We also did...More

Thank kate d
Lucie W, Manager at Silver Mountain Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Thank you for such a wonderful review Kate. We're so glad you enjoyed your visit and very much hope to see you again soon, from all of the Silver Mountain team

Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

A rainy afternoon in Wales... 2 bored teens and grandmother... an interesting experience that satisfied us all, including the dog! We did the miners trail, panned for gold, answered 2 quizzes, did the very interesting Miners Tour and had a delicious lunch/ snacks in the...More

1  Thank readjohn316
Lucie W, Manager at Silver Mountain Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Many thanks for your great review, we're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit! We hope to see you again soon, from all of the Silver Mountain team

Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

We drive past the silver mountain almost daily as we live locally and kept promising we would one day visit. We finally got around to going and we were really amazed! The boys, 7 and 6, absolutely loved it there and the highlight was panning...More

Thank Chasandmatt
Lucie W, Manager at Silver Mountain Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Thank you very much for your fantastic review, we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit! Hope to see you again soon, from everyone at Silver Mountain

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 13 nearby hotels
George Borrow Hotel
186 reviews
1.47 km away
White Lion Hotel
45 reviews
11.49 km away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
363 reviews
13.58 km away
Plas Antaron Hotel
131 reviews
13.97 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 163 nearby restaurants
The Red Kite Cafe
420 reviews
.07 km away
Hafod Hotel Restaurant
144 reviews
3.78 km away
The Druid Inn
289 reviews
4.30 km away
Tafarn y Maes
35 reviews
7.57 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 56 nearby attractions
Bwlch Nant yr Arian Forest Visitor Centre
763 reviews
1.54 km away
Devil's Bridge Falls
868 reviews
3.69 km away
Rheidol Riding Centre
16 reviews
7.95 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
awayfromhome1970
8 January 2018|
Answer
Response from LucieW191 | Property representative |
Hi, thanks for your question. The Silver Mountain Experience is currently closed for the winter, but will re-open on 24th March (with the exception of the Paranormal Investigations special event on 24th February) for the... More
0
Votes
Aks18f
14 August 2017|
Answer
Response from BlueEmmaMac | Reviewed this property |
only to the main attraction, but not on the guided walks: there is more on the website
1
Vote
Jim W
19 April 2017|
Answer
Response from BlueEmmaMac | Reviewed this property |
yes, website open now
0
Votes