The Night Owl

The Night Owl, Birmingham: Hours, Address, The Night Owl Reviews: 4.5/5

The Night Owl
4.5
Bars & Clubs • Dance Clubs & Discos
Saturday
12:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Sunday
1:00 PM - 7:00 PM
About
The Night Owl is a dedicated soul & retro club and live music venue based in Digbeth, Birmingham established in July 2015. Come down every Friday and Saturday for amazing live music and club nights,
Suggested duration
More than 3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours and Tickets
Popular mentions

4.5
54 reviews
Excellent
39
Very good
4
Average
3
Poor
3
Terrible
5

Kiki
Birmingham, UK8 contributions
Northern Soul Gem in the heart of Brum
Jan 2020
This is my favourite place in the world - let alone venue. I can't fault it. I have taken friends here with all different tastes in music over the years (from Drum and Bass to Metal to Pop/Charts loyalists). Some have been reluctant and worried whether the northern soul scene is 'for them' but five minutes after entering there in the middle of the dance floor thanking me for introducing it to them in between breaths because they're shimmying so much.

The crowd is a broad range of people from the younger crowd to the OGs of Northern Soul/Motown. You'd think that this might make the club a little awkward of disjointed but its the complete opposite. It makes for an amazing atmosphere, and I'm not embarrassed to say I've been outdanced by other punters nearly three times my age. It's a rare gem in that everyone is friendly and everyone is welcome. I've spent hours on the dance floor with friendly strangers and hours in the gorgeous outside smoking area listening to stories about the original Northern Soul scene from those who lived it. Throughout it all, you never stop laughing or having a good time.

The staff are what make it: from the DJs with amazing taste and personality, to the friendly welcome on the door, to the considerate and professional security, to the speedy legends behind the bar. They're there to have craic with you and make sure your experience is as fun and safe as possible. Absolute heroes - couldn't hype them enough.

While I'd recommend every night at Night Owl, do check out to see what events they have on. If you like the Soul vibe - Dig it and Soul Train are excellent. If you're more into the indie/britpop/rock vibe - look out for Come Together etc. If you're a fan of a particular artist: David Bowie/Prince/George Michael - look out for these nights and you won't be disappointed as it will be a night of back to back classics.

The venue itself is also stunning. A tiny jewel in the heart of Digbeth. You step off of Trinity Street into a time warp of an authentic Northern Soul Club. Everywhere you look the vibe and soul feel is tastefully preserved in the decor. It really is a magical experience.

Groovy tunes, groovy venue, groovy staff.

Honestly, if you want to have one of the best nights of your life - head to Night Owl.
Written 26 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi Keeks0121. Hope you're well and keeping safe. On behalf of The Night Owl I want to thank you for such a nice review, its really great to read people's stories of their first time at The Night Owl, and you've also described us to a T! It's people like you and stories like this that remind us why we started this club, and we cannot wait to be back open once again and dancing under that mirror ball. We hope to see you when we reopen at our future events, thank you once again! The Night Owl
Written 30 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Tom H
Shrewsbury, UK21 contributions
Fabulous club, great people, brilliant night.
Jan 2020
As I'd got a group together for my wife's $0th, I wanted somewhere were we wouldn't lost in the crowd and could have a good dance together and the Night Owl is perfect.
Marvelous music, incredibly friendly staff and a venue that is, clearly, accepting of all. I'm really not sure how it could have been better.
Written 27 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi Optimist15, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review! We love your description of The Night Owl and will pass your comments onto our staff. Hope your wife had a lovely birthday and we hope to see you all on the dance floor soon! All the best, The Night Owl
Written 3 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

jessimo
Stoke-on-Trent, UK774 contributions
Oasis tribute
Nov 2019
Fantastic venue only small but it's very unusual never been before and i was well impressed. The prices at the bar weren't too bad and even though it was busy it didn't feel like you were crushed. The tribute was banning and got the place bouncing with Oasis tunes. There is a car park right opposite which is always a bonus a tad difficult if you don't know the area to find but thats what google maps are there for.
Written 9 December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thanks for your kind words Jess and for taking the time to leave a positive review. Please come back soon, check our social media and website for upcoming events including Happy Mondays, Oasis and many more. Thanks again The Night Owl :)
Written 10 December 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

bluenoze0121
5 contributions
Brunch.
Jun 2019
Great day for a 50 th birthday with friends, fab atmosphere music excellent, brilliant venue & food great
Written 6 November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi Bluenoze, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. Really glad to hear you enjoyed our brunch, we have more taking place on December 7th, 14th and 20th and would love to see you there! Thanks again and all the best, The Night Owl.
Written 11 November 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Swin1981
Windermere, UK92 contributions
Fun
Oct 2019 • Friends
Really great Saturday night entertainment and dancing, reasonably priced drinks and very friendly staff!
Written 14 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi Swin1981! Thank you for coming to visit The Night Owl, really glad to hear you enjoyed your night! Thanks again and hope to see you again soon. All the best, The Night Owl
Written 21 October 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Corfey34
London, UK2 contributions
Keeping the SOUL in Birmingham
Sep 2019
Fantastic venue, great people, wonderful staff and a top music policy. We have been going since the opening and sometimes DJ there. Everyone is so bloody lovely, the staff and the party goers. If you are a music fan you'd be hard pushed to find a better night out. So many different events on and the music is always class not to mention the cocktails! Highly Recommend for dancing and good times!
Written 25 September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review, hope to see you on the floor soon! Check our website nightowlbirmingham.com for upcoming events! Ktf!
Written 26 September 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

paul f
Poole, UK7 contributions
Excellent
Sep 2019 • Friends
Attended the venue for a music gig.
Brilliantly sized for an intimate gig,staff very friendly in a clean,safe and well run environment.I will definitely return and recommend to anyone in the area for a night out.
Written 1 September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi Paul, Thank you so much for coming to The Night Owl, great to see you had a great time at the weekend! Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Written 3 September 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Robert R
Birmingham, United Kingdom5 contributions
RUDE, ARROGANT MANAGER
Aug 2019 • Friends
Myself and a group of friends decided that we’d head to the night owl as we’d heard great things about it and we wanted a night of good music. When we first arrived we were told that it was too busy and we would have to wait till 10 people had left even though there were only 7 of us. After more than 10 people had left, we asked why we still hadn’t been let in, we were then told that just one of our friends shoes wasn’t appropriate. I’d like to add that on the website, it says, smart, clean trainers, hers were the cleanest white trainers out of all of us. When we then questioned the bouncers as to why other people with vans and various similar types of trainers were allowed to walk in and out they then changed their mind and decided it was her trousers that were the problem even though she was dressed very similar to other girls in our group. If this was said in the first place before we’d already waited 20 minutes to be let in, it wouldn’t have been so bad but the fact that the reason kept changing and it was just to the one person in the group was disgusting. Singling her out and making her feel excluded was disgusting behaviour. On the website it states “dress up or go casual”...”whatever floats your boat”. If you put something on your website at least stick to it. To make it even better we wanted to speak to the manager, she stood in the doorway, looked at our one black friend and said she wasn’t allowed to come in to the bouncers. She even refused to come and talk to us. So before I get any reply trying to justify the situation, the manager definitely wouldn’t know the situation because she didn't even bother to come out and explain or have a conversation with us. Maybe she’d have been able to if she got off her high horse. I understand that towards the end we weren’t necessarily as calm but we were nice and polite before they kept moving the goalposts and discriminating against our one friend. I just think it was absolutely disgusting and for her to not even come and explain was appalling. Myself and my friend even came back after everyone had cooled down just to calmly and politely talk to the manager and again we were refused and told we could email her. If that’s how you’d like to deal with a complaint it shows you clearly didn’t care about any of our feelings at all. Will never ever be wasting my time or money on a place that thinks this is acceptable behaviour, good luck trying to keep a place going that is so small minded and discriminative.
Written 20 August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi Robert, First of all we would like to apologise for your experience at The Night Owl, we are disheartened to read this review. We are an inclusive club where all ages, genders and races are welcome. We are in no way racist as you imply throughout your review. We are an intimate venue and the night in question was a sold out event, meaning we were at capacity. Our security staff had explained their reasoning and also reserve the right to refuse entry to people as they see appropriate. If you have any further comments please email mazzy@nightowlbirmingham.com. Thank you.
Written 3 September 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

PinkDiva_243
Birmingham, UK797 contributions
Soul and Funk Brunch
Aug 2019 • Friends
My friend and I have a great time yesterday at the Soul and Funk Brunch. It started at mid-day with bottomless drinks for an hour which was great.
The atmosphere was very relaxed and both the staff, doorman and the other guests we spoke to were lovely.
We spent hours dancing and reliving our clubbing days at places like Rebeccas.
Included in £20 price was a taco lunch which was tasty. We were able to sit outside in the beer garden and enjoy some fresh air and rain at times.
I loved the quirky bar made out of chests of drawers.
A great afternoon out in a very friendly little club. Highly recommended if you enjoy that kind of music.
Written 11 August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hello Pinkdiva_243 Thank you for attending our soul and funk brunch, great to hear you had a good time! We have more brunches throughout September (7th and 21st) and in December (7th, 14th and 20th) - we hope we can see you again soon! All the best, The Night Owl
Written 3 September 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Thanos
Coventry, UK4 contributions
Not allowed in because we were a group of males
Jun 2019 • Friends
I wish I was joking about the title of this review. Last night, myself and 6 friends were attending this venue for a birthday. We heard it was fantastic and would be a big change up to our usual nights out. After catching a train to Birmingham and then a taxi from the station to the venue, we joined the queue and patiently waited. Once we arrived at the door we were asked how many of us there were in our party, to which we answered “7”. Unfortunately, we were then instantly told we would not be allowed inside because a group of males are “rowdy”.

I would understand the situation if we were a group of males causing disruptions in the queue prior to this conversation ,but we were doing nothing of the sort- this is nothing more than a straight up discrimination. If it’s not a discrimination , then it should be clearly outlined on websites and advertisements that male groups will not be allowed to enter the venue or you need to accompanied by females to enter. A completely ridiculous concept...

Furthermore, we was given absolutely no way to redeem ourselves , we politely asked “where does it state that groups of males are not allowed entry?” and we were told to step aside for “arguing”. After we moved aside , other parties with equal amount of males were allowed instant entry because they had females present.

Sexist. Rude . Useless.

Waste of time, waste of money, waste of everything.

If you’re a group of lads who are looking for a new experience with a club that plays old school music, all you have to do is take females to look after you so you’re not out of control when you’re inside. Enjoy.

Thank you Night Owl for an unforgettable night and providing a fantastic birthday for my friend, next time we will bring a lady for him so he can actually get inside and hear the music.
Written 17 June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hello Louie, First of all we would like to apologise for your experience at The Night Owl, we are disappointed to read your review. We would like to reiterate we are an inclusive club and are not in any way shape or form sexist. We have in no way suggested you need to be with a female to enter The Night Owl. Our bouncers reserve the right to refuse entry if they see it as appropriate. If you have any further comments or concerns please email mazzy@nightowlbirmingham.com. Thank you.
Written 3 September 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 54
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing