We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Part of birthday celebrations

We had a meal here on Friday 3rd August as although we only live in Redditch we had some to stay in... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Schmoo11
via mobile
Impressed

As I had just enjoyed a little Shakespeare a local suggested I vist here as often the actors from... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Colin E
via mobile
Read all 281 reviews
31
All photos (31)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good24%
  • Average12%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“lovely pub”(12 reviews)
“pub grub”(6 reviews)
About
This notorious tavern is still frequented by thirsty actors after an evening's performance at the Swan Theater.
Closed Now
Hours Today: 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
See all hours
Contact
Waterside, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6BA, England
Website
+44 1789 297312
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Stratford-upon-Avon
from US$18.80
More Info
from US$29.20
More Info
from US$51.90
More Info
from US$8.30
More Info
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
278 results
Traveller rating
101
68
34
34
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
101
68
34
34
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely pubpub grubhunters chickenlamb shankthe black swanfavourite pubsigned photosthe rivermixed grillsunday roastpre theatre dinnerroyal shakespeare theatreacross the roadvalue for moneyvisiting stratfordactorsperformance
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 278 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We sat out front on the patio on a lovely summer afternoon and enjoyed the view, the company, a few pints, and a bite to eat. The service and the other patrons were friendly. The beer was good and food was tasty. Would love to...More

Thank Tanis S
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We’ve visited the Dirty Duck on a number of occasions and have always had a pleasant time. But this time on our visit, I made the mistake of booking the Rooftop restaurant at the RSC. After a terrible experience there, we left hungry and disheartened....More

Thank Ruthie_Heg
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

lovely pub didn't eat there but really friendly atmosphere adorable guy behind the bar 2nd visit went there years ago when we were in Stratford

Thank Lynne W
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent establishment with great atmosphere in a lovely location the food is wonderful and also a good selection of wines and beers,staff very friendly and helpful.the place to visit in stratford

Thank Aaron T
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We sat in the sunny garden - it was very busy, but the staff coped and knew what to do.... it was great. So relaxing

Thank Ashtead
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a meal here on Friday 3rd August as although we only live in Redditch we had some to stay in Stratford for the weekend. I had make the booking online wit a confirmation coming straight back however the booking was not in the...More

Thank Schmoo11
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As I had just enjoyed a little Shakespeare a local suggested I vist here as often the actors from the plays drop in pre and/or post play. Did meet one person I recognised, but as importantly the food was really good as was the location...More

Thank Colin E
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a lovely place to sit in the sun and have a drink but our food experience was disappointing. Three of the dishes we had selected were unavailable and the food that we did get was mediocre. With so many excellent places to eat...More

1  Thank LizHarrison82
Sam P, General Manager at The Dirty Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

we are sorry that we did not have the food you ordered on the day but you enjoyed the view and drinks

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Dined as party of 6 on a Monday lunchtime with reservations. Not very busy in the restaurant but service on arrival lacking - no-one showed us to our table and we had to find an appropriate one ourselves! Menus centrally located on the table and...More

Thank straightjohnbull
Sam P, General Manager at The Dirty Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

sorry to hear that you had to wait for the food and drink we will look into having more team members looking after the guest

Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

My partner and l visited on 15 July for Sunday lunch. We had visited a few years ago and remembered it being very nice. On this occasion we ordered th roast beef Sunday Dinner. When we started eating it the beef was very gristly and...More

Thank tinar675
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Allin2014
1 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from a_londoner_20121027 | Reviewed this property |
Plenty of paid car parks within 5 mins walk. Also street parking opposite pub (restrictions and payment apply). Street parking usually all taken as there is contention with the theatres nearby.
0
Votes
Ryan B
13 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from guinress | Reviewed this property |
Yes
0
Votes
Kingy53
1 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from guinress | Reviewed this property |
A very good selection
1
Vote