We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Dirty Duck

Waterside, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6BA, England
+44 1789 297312
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Lovely lunch on a fab day trip

My Mum and I were just visiting for the day and after a walk by the river we decided to pop in to... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Mcminny
,
Norwich, United Kingdom
Bank holiday Monday

Great location, a great building with front garden and back garden. Nice beers on offer, and i was... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
alrth
,
Burnham, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 260 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
This notorious tavern is still frequented by thirsty actors after an evening's performance at the Swan Theater.
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good25%
  • Average10%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible15%
Travellers talk about
“lovely pub” (12 reviews)
“pub grub” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
LOCATION
Waterside, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6BA, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1789 297312
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Stratford-upon-Avon
from US$19.90
More Info
from US$54.80
More Info
from US$8.80
More Info
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"lovely pub"
in 12 reviews
"pub grub"
in 7 reviews
"hunters chicken"
in 4 reviews
"lamb shank"
in 4 reviews
"the black swan"
in 4 reviews
"favourite pub"
in 4 reviews
"signed photos"
in 3 reviews
"the river"
in 30 reviews
"mixed grill"
in 3 reviews
"pudding"
in 4 reviews
"pre theatre dinner"
in 4 reviews
"royal shakespeare theatre"
in 7 reviews
"across the road"
in 5 reviews
"visiting stratford"
in 3 reviews
"value for money"
in 4 reviews
"actors"
in 33 reviews
"mallard"
in 4 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

My Mum and I were just visiting for the day and after a walk by the river we decided to pop in to the Dirty Duck for lunch and were really pleased. It was quite dark in the front but out the back it opened...More

Thank Mcminny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great location, a great building with front garden and back garden. Nice beers on offer, and i was really impressed with the food. Very tasty. Staff were really friendly aswell. 10/10

Thank alrth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam P, General Manager at The Dirty Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello, Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit. Looking forward to seeing you soon Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Dirty Duck is the student pub at the centre of the campus at Warwick University. Food is good with an extensive food menu and a wide range of both alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks. The prices are very reasonable and students receive a further...More

Thank HCSACT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2018

We found this pub, while out walking along the river. the next day, wanting to eat in a pub, we headed back here, rather than in town. Nice looking pub (it was evening & wet, but i bet this would be really nice in the...More

Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Popped in for a pint, really nice and old time boozer On the wall is covered in old actor photographs Very nice and cosy

1  Thank Mr z Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam P, General Manager at The Dirty Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review and you enjoyed the photos on the wall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

I travel from the States to Birmingham Area about 1x-2x per year for business. Each trip is incomplete without a visit to The Duck. Location is picture perfect - especially in Spring. Food and drink - a far step up from "normal" pub grub. Fish...More

1  Thank Loren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

I love this pub. Ever since my first visit in 2011. The food is fantastic, it’s pub grub, but, fortunately, not Marstons. My wife had a frankly massive beef and pulled beef burger with herby chips. She loved it. Really really loved it. I had...More

Thank Matthew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam P, General Manager at The Dirty Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Thanks for Choosing us for your date night and you enjoyed your visit we are having a little facelift soon and the loos are on the list thanks again Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Great pub not much change except for menus and prices in 54 years. This was my last visit as a schoolboy. Went in for and had great sandwiches served with great efficiency and a smile. Good value. Tried to book for dinner but full. Will...More

Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam P, General Manager at The Dirty Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

thanks for coming back and trying after 54 years sorry that you could not get a booking for dinner the theatre had all re opened and it was a busy day Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

Walking along the river with the dog my wife and I popped in for lunch. Great setting , riverside view table , excellent food served by a Megan Markle look alike ! I had chicken and smoked bacon sandwich my wife had the Forestiere pate...More

Thank michaelmoore458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam P, General Manager at The Dirty Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

We thank you for taking the time to write a review and you enjoyed Emma serving you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

Sam has a brilliant team, all the members of staff are very warm & friendly. It’s just a shame we never see the guys from the kitchen because they cook some lovely food! I come at least once a week on my “day off” as...More

Thank Jenni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam P, General Manager at The Dirty Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Thanks for the review on mothers day and you enjoyed your visit and the young ones Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 29 hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
The Arden Hotel
1,231 reviews
.07 km away
Thistle
4 reviews
.16 km away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
1,964 reviews
.20 km away
Stratheden Hotel
2 reviews
.22 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Lambs Restaurant
2,021 reviews
.20 km away
Loxley's Restaurant & Wine Bar
3,332 reviews
.22 km away
The Opposition Bistro
1,529 reviews
.20 km away
The Fourteas
1,873 reviews
.20 km away
Nearby Attractions
Royal Shakespeare Theatre
2,904 reviews
.12 km away
Swan Theatre
597 reviews
.08 km away
River Avon Chain Ferry
194 reviews
.08 km away
The Tower @ RSC
274 reviews
.15 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Allin2014
1 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from a_londoner_20121027 | Reviewed this property |
Plenty of paid car parks within 5 mins walk. Also street parking opposite pub (restrictions and payment apply). Street parking usually all taken as there is contention with the theatres nearby.
0
Votes
Ryan B
13 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from guinress | Reviewed this property |
Yes
0
Votes
Kingy53
1 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from guinress | Reviewed this property |
A very good selection
1
Vote
;