We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Livello

Lower Dean Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3JE, England
+44 191 233 3733
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Saturday lunchtime drinks

After struggling to find somewhere for breakfast we needed a nice outside space for a drink and saw... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Lisa W
,
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Great cocktails

Visited early evening, cocktail barman (sorry, didnt get his name), was a star. Entertaining just... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
21sus
,
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Read all 152 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good20%
  • Average14%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible25%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 5:00 PM - 12:00 AM
LOCATION
Lower Dean Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3JE, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 191 233 3733
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Newcastle upon Tyne
from US$10.40
More Info
from US$32.50
More Info
from US$32.50
More Info
from US$20.80
More Info
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"vermont hotel"
in 6 reviews
"amazing cocktails"
in 7 reviews
"nice atmosphere"
in 6 reviews
"cocktail menu"
in 4 reviews
"friendly bar staff"
in 3 reviews
"work colleagues"
in 2 reviews
"saturday afternoon"
in 2 reviews
"member of staff"
in 2 reviews
"daiquiri"
in 2 reviews
"tunes"
in 2 reviews
"venue"
in 8 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

After struggling to find somewhere for breakfast we needed a nice outside space for a drink and saw this place. Lovely outdoor space which was complemented by the hotel backdrop. Bit disappointed by bar interior as ceiling needed a good clean and toilets were just...More

Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited early evening, cocktail barman (sorry, didnt get his name), was a star. Entertaining just watching him and end result cocktail was great too. Had our drinks outside in quirky garden (we were sat next to giant gorilla and phone box! ). Pleasant pre-dinner drinks.

Thank 21sus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is ok cocktails 2-4-1 at certain times but it is worth a visit staff can be a bit dense probally my black country accent

1  Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2018

I went on Friday and for a fun challenge instructed the bar staff to give me increasingly worse and worse drinks and see how gross I could get them before I couldn’t persuade a fellow punter to get one of their own. I started with...More

Thank Mick_Dill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard T, Manager at Livello, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review Livello.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

Well appointed modern interior which leads onto a courtyard with outdoor seating and overlooked by the magnificent Vermont Hotel which is an art deco style building and which was originally Northumberland County Councils administrative HQ. Worth a visit.

Thank barrelmakercooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard T, Manager at Livello, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Thank you for the review, we hope you will visit Livello again in future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

We’d heard good things about this place and as a group of ten women we though we had to give it a visit on a day drinking trip to Newcastle. We didn’t reckon much to this place at all, no atmosphere, terrible music and drinks...More

Thank ZD92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard T, Manager at Livello, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience of Livello, may I ask what date you visited and approximately what time? Our drinks prices are in line with the majority of similar venues in Newcastle, though we do have offers on cocktails (all £4.95)...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

Visited here twice now socially with friends and each time the experience has not been great unfortunately. A very over crowded bar area just managing to get a drink as it took around a good 10 minuets just to get served. Both times now I’ve...More

Thank Tim_n_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard T, Manager at Livello, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Hi Tim, thank you for your feedback - we will do our best to improve on the issues you have highlighted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

We have had 2 staff night outs at livello. Great atmosphere, music, and tables. However customer service is not the best. Both occasions there has been issues with my boss. Not value for money in my opinion and livello's Facebook page do not upload all...More

1  Thank Bethanyc4305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

Very impressed with the cocktail list within the bar, especially the special offer before 8pm but I do feel this should be more advertised. Very nice decor, toilets could do with a little upgrade but other than that this is a very nice venue.

Thank Aimée H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard T, Manager at Livello, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Glad to hear you enjoyed your visit! We do advertise the £4.95 cocktails offer on a daily basis across our social media channels but will try to give it more exposure going forward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

this is the 6 or 7th time my boyfriend and I have visited Livello. Every time we have the pleasure of being served by Heron (sorry if we have spelt it wrong!) if you’re looking for the perfect bartender....look no further! He’s given great recommendations,...More

1  Thank milena j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 83 hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Surtees Hotel
625 reviews
.05 km away
easyHotel Newcastle
768 reviews
.06 km away
The Vermont Hotel
2,379 reviews
.06 km away
Quayside View
8 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Simla Restaurant
696 reviews
.03 km away
The Bridge Tavern
612 reviews
.10 km away
Uno's Trattoria
937 reviews
.11 km away
Babucho
1,614 reviews
.03 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Tyne Bridge
914 reviews
.20 km away
St Nicholas Cathedral
479 reviews
.14 km away
Newcastle Castle
673 reviews
.13 km away
Bessie Surtees House
84 reviews
.11 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Livello staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit