No. 1 Royal Crescent
No. 1 Royal Crescent
4.5
Speciality MuseumsArt MuseumsHistory Museums
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
About
Step into the past at one of England's finest Georgian townhouses. * 10 display rooms * Upstairs and downstairs * Georgian shop * Disabled access * Kids explorer packs. The website has an Access section which has details of nearest car-parks, floorplans, facilities and information specifically for our visitors with access needs.
Duration: 1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Top ways to experience No. 1 Royal Crescent
The area
Address
Reach out directly
See what travellers are saying
  • Miss Louise
    London, United Kingdom12 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Great museum experience
    Greet museum to visit its a must see when coming to Bath. The interactive experience was amazing bringing the story to life of a Georgian family living in Bath. Great value for money. Would definitely go again when visiting.
    Thank you so much for your fabulous 5* review! So pleased we're a must see of yours. Thanks for reviewing.
    Written 11 August 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited August 2023
    Travelled with friends
    Written 9 August 2023
  • amanda c
    Cannock, United Kingdom101 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    A step back in time
    We saw this attraction on a previous trip but hadn't scheduled it into our busy itinerary so was looking forward to visiting on another visit and was so glad we did. I didn't book tickets as the website wa unclear and I wanted to purchase a one visit ticket and not an annual pass as we don't plan to visit beautiful Bath in the next 12 months. The entrance fee was for an annual pass so this suggets a one off visit isn't offered. We found the attraction very well laid out and the commentary throughout took you back into another world whilst viewing each room. We thought it was very well thought out. You have plenty of time after the commentary in each room has finished so don't feel rushed before walking into the next room. The order of roooms was clearly marked out on the floor with stickers. The rooms were set out with items from the Georgian period which give it the feeling of a living museum . The view s of the crescent were stunning from the windows of the house and of a lovely place to live in any perod of time. There are lots of stairs in the house so not very accesible for people with poor mobility or walking aids. We got immersed in the commentary so can't comment on the app which complements the attraction. A must see atraction when visiting the stunning Royal Crescent so add it to your itinerary
    Thank you for your lovely review! It's so nice to hear you had such a good visit and feel we are a must see attraction in Bath. As you mention, as a historic house we have a lot of stairs! We aim to make our attraction as accessible as possible and have lots of information on this on our website. Thanks again for your brilliant review. I do hope you can visit us on your next trip to Bath.
    Written 7 October 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited September 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 3 October 2023
  • LiimmoM
    Browns Plains, Australia162 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Georgian Musings
    Thoroughly enjoyed this place! We had no clue it was here and stumbled across it as we were wandering the crescent. My friend and I enjoyed the interactive storyline. You could buy a guide, and there was an app you could follow with as well... plenty of choice. The staff were informative, and the little gift shop had some nice stuff. Was happy to pay £15
    Thank you for your lovely review! Glad we were a good find for your and your friend. Hope you can come and visit us again soon.
    Written 28 October 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited October 2023
    Travelled with friends
    Written 23 October 2023
  • D B
    Nova Scotia, Canada268 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    18th Century Residents
    The Royal Crescent is a long, graceful arc of buildings — impossible to see in one glance. You must step way back to the edge of the park in front in order to take it all in. The park is full of folks. It was a prime location for the wealthy 18th-century residents of Bath. You can go inside one of these classy facades at No. 1 Royal Crescent, now a museum.
    Thanks for the lovely review! I hope you visited us at No.1 Royal Crescent.
    Written 23 December 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited November 2023
    Travelled with friends
    Written 31 October 2023
  • Stevie The Traveller
    County Armagh, United Kingdom61 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    No.1 Royal Crescent in October 2023
    Loved this tour of an example of a Georgian home. It contains lots of pieces from the time and all rooms are beautifully set out. It combines pieces from the time with beautiful restoration and a few cutting edge exhibits to help fully explore life in those times. The trick to this museum is the pace of the journey as the talks begin either on a sensor or a timer so if you get out of sync, it can take a bit to get it back otherwise you start in the middle of the recording. Apart from that slight hiccup, it’s fascinating and really well done!
    Thank you for your brilliant review. Don't worry if you want to stay longer in a room, our tour is on a loop and plays every 10 minutes, so you can always pick it up a little later. Thanks again for reviewing and do come and visit us again soon.
    Written 4 November 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited October 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 2 November 2023
  • Janice C
    Taunton, United Kingdom83 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Enjoyable experience at the best address in town.
    Not open as early in November last year, so glad to have the chance to visit this time. I was quite sceptical about the audio tour from the description, but found it amusing, not intrusive & enjoyable; it was the Georgians at Christmas one & the contrasts & similarities with our own celebrations was fun, as well as highlighting some specifically West Country beliefs. The rooms are beautiful, as one would expect, & the views from the windows wonderful - what an address to live at! I felt it did give a fair idea of how living there in Georgian times would have felt, both for servants & masters &, as I can't afford to stay at the Crescent Hotel, it is a good way to get inside one of these magnificent houses. The annual pass is great if you live within reach & we will return to do the other two tour commentaries. The joint pass, with the Herschel Museum, is good value if both interest you.
    Thank you for your thorough and lovely review. I'm really happy you had such a great visit with us and enjoyed our '12 Tales of a Georgian Christmas' audio-visual experience. Hope you enjoy our other experiences when you visit us again. Thanks again for reviewing.
    Written 2 December 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited November 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 27 November 2023
  • Dan T
    London, United Kingdom91 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Beautiful architecture
    A must see while you’re in Bath. The Royal Crescent is a beautiful example of Georgian architecture and is only a short stroll from Bath’s main thoroughfares. It’s eye catching and familiar from all the different shows that have been filmed here. If you haven’t been inside a Georgian town house before I’d also recommend visiting no 1 Royal Crescent while you’re here.
    Thanks for the review and recommendation!
    Written 23 December 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited November 2023
    Travelled with friends
    Written 3 December 2023
  • Dan T
    London, United Kingdom91 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    A very Georgian Christmas
    Given how iconic the royal crescent is, the chance to step back in time and see one of the town houses from the inside was something we were keen to do. We were not disappointed by our decision as the rooms available to view proved very interesting as well as the commentary on the different social classes who lived and worked in the household. As it was close to Christmas there was a Christmassy theme throughout the audio visual trail that was very enjoyable as well. This certainly adds value to the slightly steep £15 entry, since your ticket will enable you to come back again and maybe have a different experience at a different time of year. If I was being particularly picky, it would be nice to be able to start each rooms audio experience yourself rather than it being on a loop. There were a couple of times we felt rushed to move on as a result and, though the audio will come back if you wait a while, it hardly seemed to be an exact science.
    Thank you for your great review! Really pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and our Christmas audio-visual experience. Sorry you felt we were a little expensive though. Our prices are regularly compared to those of other similar attractions in the local area to ensure we remain comparative and competitive. As you mention, all our tickets are annual passes, so you can return later in 2024 to see our 'Georgians at Home' and 'Jane Austen in Bath' audio-visual experiences. Our Christmas audio is on a loop and runs every 5 minutes, so if you miss it, there isn't long to wait until it comes around again. Apologies if this wasn't explained to you on entrance. Thanks again for reviewing and I hope you are able to come and see us again soon.
    Written 16 December 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited November 2023
    Travelled with friends
    Written 9 December 2023
  • Lolita S
    275 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Past while in the Present
    I loved taking a wall through the past while in the present. Seeing the derails of food, clothing, bedroom set ups, reading rooms, tools and the sorts. I enjoyed it very much. I would love somewhere to cook like they did during those periods and have patrons eat!
    Thank you so much for the fantastic 5* review! I think your suggestion is a good one, thank you. Something for us to consider, maybe in relation to a potential event. Hope you can visit us again very soon. Thanks again for reviewing.
    Written 20 January 2024
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited December 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 16 January 2024
  • LondonLA71
    London, United Kingdom31 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Very engaging and interesting
    I went with no preconceived ideas or thoughts of what I was going to see which I feel is the best way to experience things. The set up is through the family eyes and in each room there are actors faces either on screen or in recording buried or even projected onto the wall. It was very innovative to tell the story of a family who lived within the walls.
    Thank you for your great review! So pleased you enjoyed your visit.
    Written 30 March 2024
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited March 2024
    Travelled solo
    Written 29 March 2024
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles7,127 reviews
Excellent
3,843
Very good
2,306
Average
821
Poor
122
Terrible
35

JennieB58
Southampton, UK91 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020
I'm so sorry to have to write this but I thought this was an expensive waste of money. We arrived just in time for a guided tour but the guide wasn't engaging, he repeated himself several times, read from notes and seemed more concerned with what staff got paid than the history and the rooms in the house. we only saw a few rooms in the entire house and because the guide was so boring we quickly lost interest. There are very few places to sit and lots and lots of stairs to climb, so this is not a venue for those who have difficulty walking or standing. I did see a lift, but it wasn't offered to the gentlemen in our group who had a walking stick and needed to sit frequently. Poor customer service in my view! Such a shame as what we did see was fascinating. Perhaps having a docent in each room and allowing people to wander and ask questions would be better. Or guides who are trained in the subject matter and who engage with the group.
Written 29 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

aytch
La font d'en Carros, Spain270 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 • Family
This was an unexpected treat and good value for money. A beautifully restored Georgian House with many knowledgeable guides. It was such a pleasure to talk to the many helpers who really knew their stuff. It is excellent that one entry fee gets you a years worth of visits.
Written 9 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

M C
Exeter25 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020
My self and my Daughter went on a mini break after cancelling a trip to Portugal.

It was lovely spending time with her as her 40th birthday is coming up, we stayed at the Royal Crescent for two nights .

Firstly I booked an evening meal in the Restaurant on the first evening very limited menu ,staff not attentive , and expensive for the quality of the food.

next we had spa treatments which was also nice but then again expensive, and when we came to pay the bill there was an extra 12 per cent surcharge on top, which we have never paid before .
Written 12 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

robsherv
Melton Mowbray, UK79 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2020 • Couples
This was one of the highlights of our visit to Bath. The recreation of a Georgian house via a series of rooms was fascinating and well-organised. At the moment, because of COVID, there are no guided tours and visitors guide themselves round the rooms. However we were met by a member of staff (Jayne?) at the entrance who provided a very informative and helpful introduction to the history of the house. The rooms themselves have been decorated and furnished appropriate to the period and reflect the life and times of the occupants. I’d recommend buying a guide book before you start your tour as it adds much useful background information
Written 25 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We're glad you enjoyed your visit, thank you for your support.
Written 2 October 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Catherine M
Los Angeles, CA70 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 • Friends
A high point in English architecture well preserved and not spoilt by much modernisation. The stone terrace glows is dramatic light like sunset or after the rain. Avoid the middle of the day. Go before 9 or after 5 to miss the guided tour and school children .
Written 12 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Keith C
Warminster, UK1,059 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2020 • Solo
Seeing the Crescent for real was surreal.
A beautiful, windless day maximised the experience to wander the footpath and the adjacent Victoria Park.
Lockdown, with only a few people visible, meant that it was all very quiet.
The semi-circle, the cobbled roadway, and the architecture of the houses gleaming in the sun were stunning.
Written 4 June 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Danielle R
Portsmouth, UK19 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020 • Friends
I visited this museum a couple of years ago with friends and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff were enthusiastic and knowledgeable and I came away with a huge amount of information that I wanted to pass on.
Hence why, a few years later- whilst visiting Bath with my children this time I decided to book again. They were very excited. I booked online and rocked up only to find the museum was closed. I checked through my booking to find that I had made an error and booked the wrong date 🤦🏼‍♀️. I would have loved to return the follow day (when my tickets were actually valid!) but sadly we had to return home. However I contacted the museum and explained the situation and without any fuss they refunded the ticket price to me- for which I am extremely grateful.

We will without a doubt return on the correct date this time 🤣🤣
Written 30 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We look forward to welcoming you next time!
Written 3 November 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Shani G
14 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2020 • Friends
Simply not worth £10 per person. The house was pleasant enough and staff very friendly, however £10 a head is very steep for a small recreation of a Georgian House. Especially in the context of some of the wonderful free museums e.g. National gallery, British Museum, Tate Modern etc they really need to reduce the price as it feels extortionate for a very small and simple museum .
Written 4 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Shani, Thank you for your feedback, we're sorry to hear you didn't feel our museum offered value for money. We are an independent charity and unlike the other museums you mention, receive no core funding except for what we can generate ourselves. Our prices have been slightly reduced whilst we develop more interpretation. At this time we are trialling our new post Covid-19 offer thanks to funding from the National Lottery Heritage Fund and would welcome any ideas or suggestions about how we can improve the experience. Many thanks.
Written 7 September 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

The_Loup_Garou
Phoenix, AZ166,093 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2019
Royal Crescent - Lovely Historic Buildings in Bath

The Royal Crescent is a semi-circular array of buildings in the center of Bath. We had seen it once before, but from the window of a friends car, in the pouring rain! In September, in a light drizzle, we got back to The Royal Crescent, but were able to spend some time admiring the architecture.

The structure, dating from the 1750's, is built in the local Bath Stone, so it blends in with much of the other architecture in the city of Bath - but it’s size, and the curvature, fronting on an expansive green, near the Circus, sets it apart.

Until the intensity of the rain picked up, I kept looking for a vantage point, to take it all in, and never really succeeded, due to its massive size. My photographs just did not do justice to this magnificent structure, but then any vantage point is going to be very good.

In my opinion, no visit to Bath would be complete, without spending an hour, or more, taking in the detail of this structure.
Written 31 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Stevie H
7 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2021
We visited on 16th June. We went to see the inside of an iconic building. However the whole experience was focused on a recorded presentation of actors talking about goings on in their family which was not really very interesting. There was NO information about the house at all. For instance I am still unaware of how many bedrooms there were (we saw one but isnt it supposed to be a family house).
The recorded presentation i think is there to fill-out the time to justify the charge of £11 each. You could see everything in the house in a very short space of time and it isnt very interesting.
Written 21 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We're sorry you didn't enjoy our new approach, it is a very different and new way to present a historic house and won't be for everyone but we do try to make it clear on our website before you book, what to expect so do let us know if we can improve this information.
Written 29 June 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 6,392
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

NO. 1 ROYAL CRESCENT (2024) All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

All Bath HotelsBath Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Bath
All things to do in Bath
RestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire