We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Assembly Hall Theatre

Open Now: 12:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Open today: 12:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Review Highlights
Tickets issues on two occasions. Good shows.

The first time I visited here I saw an excellent local version of My Fair Lad. However, my ticket... read more

Reviewed 1 March 2018
stargate128
Sleeping (No way! Too good to miss) beauty

Don't miss this Christmas cracker. Sleeping beauty is sheer joy and entertainment at its best... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
207NeilM
,
Snodland, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 126 reviews
13
All photos (13)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good41%
  • Average16%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
About
Open Now
Hours Today: 12:00 PM - 7:00 PM
See all hours
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
Dec
Jan
Feb
Contact
Crescent Road, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN1 2LU, England
Website
+44 1892 530613
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
41
49
21
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
41
49
21
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front of house comfortable seating ticket sales front row seats cote brasserie tribute band car park member of staff ice cream stage interval stalls venue production pantomime tiered navi
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Don't miss this Christmas cracker. Sleeping beauty is sheer joy and entertainment at its best.. this is the best panto at the assembly for 5 years. Modern, witty and packed with cultural references and banging tunes for all the family. Good mix of new and...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank 207NeilM
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Enjoyed our show but the venue is very dated, looks like it was last decorated in the 70's. Staff were all friendly.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank NorthStar46202790314
Reviewed 19 October 2018

We go here every year as a family, and it never fails us. Lately, we have just seen the Queen tribute act, an act which blew me and my family away. It has comfortable seating, a great range of shows, and has helpful staff. It...More

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Skinners_Boy
Reviewed 12 May 2018

I don’t know who designed the website but it’s the worst theatre website ever. Check out Chichester or The Watermill. I have never managed to book tickets on line without a problem. Today I spent 1/2 hour resetting my password which I knew was correct,...More

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank SUSAN M
Antony P, Director of Sales at Assembly Hall Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Thanks for the feedback. I hope you will be delighted to know that we have a new website about to go live. I accept that in your case we have been inefficient on this occasion, please email boxoffice@tunbridgewells.gov.uk and we can make sure you receive...More

Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

I really don’t understand all the griping about refunds due to a smattering of snow for a few days. Anyone would think we’d had the problems here that they’ve had up North and in Scotland. People just need to leave earlier and be sensible. I...More

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank KeithTonbridge
Reviewed 2 March 2018 via mobile

Unable to get to tomorrow nights show of the sound of music. As another review has said, they have no compassion and don’t care about their customers. One of my tickets is for a disabled person which they are able to see on the booking...More

Date of experience: March 2018
2  Thank iloveyousomuch111
Reviewed 2 March 2018 via mobile

Beware theatre refuse to refund even in the severe weather we are experiencing now which includes disabled Blue badge holders like myself who cannot risk walking when paths are sheet ice, If the theatre however decide to cancel that’s ok and you will get a...More

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank janicejcm
Reviewed 1 March 2018

The first time I visited here I saw an excellent local version of My Fair Lad. However, my ticket had been double booked so I did not get the seats I had originally chosen. The second times i saw the rather insipid "Sound of Music"....More

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank stargate128
Reviewed 28 February 2018

Asked if I could have a refund due to poor weather conditions. Told the performance was going ahead so no. So risk your life in snow or loose your money. Terrible attitude

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank Lindaharrild
Reviewed 5 February 2018

It looks a bit grim from the outside but it's a bit better on the inside, I find the seating not very good although they say it's relatively new, it slots in so if someone behind holds the back of the seat then you go...More

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Nebcop
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 14 nearby hotels
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
1,034 reviews
.10 km away
Russell Hotel
210 reviews
.32 km away
Smart and Simple Hotel
232 reviews
.43 km away
The Royal Wells Hotel
331 reviews
.46 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 330 nearby restaurants
La Follia
121 reviews
.15 km away
The Guinea
111 reviews
.20 km away
The Barn Pub and Restaurant
523 reviews
.11 km away
Cote Brasserie - Tunbridge Wells
896 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 134 nearby attractions
Calverley Grounds
113 reviews
.34 km away
Trinity Theatre
64 reviews
.16 km away
Royal Victoria Place
69 reviews
.34 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
rcolive
1 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from par14 | Reviewed this property |
Yes you can take drinks to your seat but I have no idea if the bar is open during the performances as we tend to watch the entertainment........ I would think not as getting up and moving about during a performance, unless... More
1
Vote
Blimp1989
26 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from markhO7053QO | Reviewed this property |
Yes it's an intimate theatre.
1
Vote
lisanQ8807ZM
22 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Roofg G | Reviewed this property |
yes i find it smart causual but if you wish you can dress up fully. flippers and snorkle probably frowned on , but only for health and safety a lot of stairs.
0
Votes