We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
1,175
All photos (1,175)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent73%
  • Very good21%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“submarine tour”(137 reviews)
“hms ocelot”(80 reviews)
About
PLEASE NOTE WE ARE NOW CLOSED FOR THE WINTER. WE RE-OPEN ON 2ND FEBRUARY 2019. Steeped in history, The Historic Dockyard Chatham is home to historic warships, a working Ropery, museum galleries and hundreds of compelling stories.
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Contact
Church Lane, Chatham ME4 4TZ, England
Website
+44 1634 823800
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (2,236)
Filter reviews
2,201 results
Traveller rating
1,578
473
91
33
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
1,578
473
91
33
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews submarine tour hms ocelot historic dockyard victorian ropery wooden walls big space rope factory sailing ship rope works royal navy commissioners house hms cavalier all ages timed tickets ticket lasts dock yard large site
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,201 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

Plenty to see, excellent displays. A must for people who like history. Much much more than just ships

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank michaeltidy
Historic C, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Dockyard Chatham, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear michaeltidy, Thank you for your 5* review. Glad to hear you were not disappointed and enjoyed seeing the displays and history shared here. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our fifth visit in 17 years, so having driven 150 miles to get here we started with an early morning breakfast and what a treat that was. The cafeteria is much improved since our last visit but still teteining. It's ancient character. We...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Leslie M
Historic C, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Dockyard Chatham, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Leslie M, Thank you for your recent review. It is lovely to hear you have visited us many times from far away and enjoyed your day here. We hope to welcome you back again in the future for breakfast and exploring again!

Reviewed 1 week ago

Great full day out but way too expensive! Lots of history and hands on exhibitions, we really enjoyed our visit and fortunately got a 2-4-1 offer as I would not pay £24.50 per adult for this visit.More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank LondonTravelAgent
Historic C, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Dockyard Chatham, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear LondonTravelAgent, Thank you for your recent review. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your day out here exploring a lot of the exhibitions. As your ticket is an annual one, we hope to welcome you back again in the future for our exciting programme of...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Our time was limited but we went inside a submarine and had an excellent guide who was hoping to soon be a submarine officer.A very enthusiastic guide explained how ropes are made and encouraged us to help make one. Very good amenities and lots to...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank JohnandAnnAdams
Historic C, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Dockyard Chatham, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear JohnandAnnAdams, Thank you for your 5* review. It is lovely to hear you both had a brilliant day out and especially loved the Submarine tour. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spur of the moment visit on our way home from Kent, accompanied by our dog. We received a warm welcome on arrival and allowed entrance with the dog, though advised that we couldn’t take the dog into the exhibitions. Sadly this included pretty much everything....More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Louise S
Historic C, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Dockyard Chatham, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Louise S, Thank you for your 5* review. Delighted to hear you had a great day out from your spontaneous visit. We look forward to welcoming you again when we reopen on 2nd February 2019.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

HMS Victory was built here, what else would you need to know! The whole site is so very old. All the beautiful wooden dockyard buildings are still there and the exhibits are housed inside them. The exhibits tell the story of the Royal Navy's shipbuilding...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Martin G
Historic C, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Dockyard Chatham, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Martin G, Thank you for your 5* review. It is lovely to hear you had such a nice time visiting us and exploring a lot of The Dockyard of what we have preserved. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Always enjoy visiting here although price of meals prohibitive. Friendly and helpful staff in the cafe and gift shop. however its nearly Christmas and time to write my Christmas cards to our ever increasing acquaintances and I was really looking forward to sending some to...More

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank Alan C
Historic C, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Dockyard Chatham, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Alan C, Thank you for your recent review. It is lovely to hear you had a enjoyable visit and we do hope to welcome you back again in future. We apologise for the confusion of the Christmas cards. Unfortunately, we don't currently stock Christmas...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As a dad of two boys 8 and 6 finding a good day out where they aren’t going to break anything, is a challenge. Chatham Historic Dockyard is full of great mini stories and attractions. It’s fully interactive and can be heard in English/ French/...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Richard R
Historic C, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Dockyard Chatham, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Richard R, Thank you for your 5* review. Delighted to hear you all had such a good day! Thank you for your kind words regarding your experience here. Your ticket also gains you free access to exhibitions and activities throughout the year, so we...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited on a chilly day in November, but I have to admit surprise that there were not more visitors (although it was good for us). This is a fascinating piece of history that works well through the whole year. Highlights included the introductory video...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Ian C
Historic C, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Dockyard Chatham, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Ian C, Thank you for your 5* review. It is lovely to hear you had a great day out and were fascinated by the history we tell as well as the architecture we hold. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great place to visit. Plenty to see and do and loads of history regarding ship building and submarines. There is also a steam train running and you can see boats in the river. There is a cafe with plenty of choice.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank paulshowell
Historic C, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Dockyard Chatham, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear paulshowell, Thank you for your 5* review. It is lovely to hear you had a great time visiting us for the Salute to the '40s weekend. We hope to welcome you back again in the future for more exploring.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 nearby hotels
Travelodge Chatham Maritime Hotel
419 reviews
.26 km away
Ship & Trades
452 reviews
.79 km away
The King Charles Hotel
751 reviews
.89 km away
Premier Inn Chatham/Gillingham (Victory Pier) Hotel
504 reviews
1.83 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 146 nearby restaurants
Boomers
176 reviews
.60 km away
Cool Beans Coffee & Bistro
109 reviews
.57 km away
Villagio Ristorante
437 reviews
.58 km away
King George V
94 reviews
.65 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 49 nearby attractions
HMS Cavalier
104 reviews
.27 km away
Royal Engineers Museum
236 reviews
.78 km away
Copper Rivet Distillery
144 reviews
.71 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
SunnyHunnyPaul
28 November 2018|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from Heart-in-Taiwan | Reviewed this property |
Yep lots of free parking
1
Vote
Pamela J
30 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from maryL0809 | Reviewed this property |
Went there for a day trip with my wife, there is plenty to do from some ships to explore to the rope making demonstration, so plenty to keep kids occupied. I have mobility problems but was able to get around without... More
1
Vote
Tort567
22 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from pepparoo | Reviewed this property |
They are made to order. I'd rather pay for that than pre packaged one full of preservatives
2
Votes