We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blue Funnel Cruises

Ocean Village 4 Ocean Way, Southampton SO14 3TJ, England
+44 23 8022 3278
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Good way to spend a day

Took the trip across to cowes, the boat was ok and as the weather was good was able to sit... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
colin b
,
Bath, United Kingdom
A Lovely Way to Spend a Sunday Afternoon

I wanted to do something special for my family and friends so decided on a private Three River... read more

Reviewed 8 June 2018
eileenan2018
,
Southampton, United Kingdom
Read all 45 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Explore Southampton and the South Coast region by one of several tour boats, which depart from Ocean Village and offer a variety of tours from one hour in length to full-day trips.
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good22%
  • Average4%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM
LOCATION
Ocean Village 4 Ocean Way, Southampton SO14 3TJ, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 23 8022 3278
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"christmas party"
in 3 reviews
"informative commentary"
in 3 reviews
"ocean scene"
in 3 reviews
"hamble river"
in 3 reviews
"southampton water"
in 7 reviews
"chicken chips"
in 2 reviews
"these ships"
in 2 reviews
"southampton docks"
in 3 reviews
"the galley"
in 2 reviews
"cream tea"
in 3 reviews
"three hours"
in 2 reviews
"basket meals"
in 2 reviews
"cruise ship"
in 2 reviews
"fawley"
in 3 reviews
"captain"
in 6 reviews
"board"
in 17 reviews
"paul"
in 4 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Took the trip across to cowes, the boat was ok and as the weather was good was able to sit outside The boat itself is basic but serves a purpose and the historical facts given over the tannoy were informative and not boring, some were...More

Thank colin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley H, Manager at Blue Funnel Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Colin It’s nice hear your trip was basically a good experience. The boat is half way through a refurbishment so there is a lot more work to be done to bring it fully up to the standard we are looking for. Unfortunately we cannot...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018

I wanted to do something special for my family and friends so decided on a private Three River Cruise with afternoon tea. Good Decision. Thanks to Lesley booking was easy. Invited 60 guests aged from 4 t0 80 plus. There was plenty of room for...More

Thank eileenan2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley H, Manager at Blue Funnel Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2018

Thank you for such a lovely review. We always aim to make the day as special as possible and it’s great to hear you had such a good experience with us. Hopefully we will see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

Blue Funnel offer a range of different cruises and trips. The party nights are by far my favourite. With different theme nights. Or if you fancy something a bit more relaxed, The Bucklers hard river trips, will give you a nice ride up and down...More

Thank KelleysHeroCharters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley H, Manager at Blue Funnel Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Thank you for your review, we didn't realise you had been on so many of our cruises, its nice to know you keep coming back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2018

We did the Hythe cruise as part of a day trip with Bluebird coaches. It included a stop at Hythe for lunch and the market then back on board for a cruise around Southampton water and the docks with a cream tea served in the...More

2  Thank Dorsetdave68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley H, Manager at Blue Funnel Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

I’m very glad you enjoyed the day overall, but I’m sorry to hear you found the steps a little steep to navigate at Hythe. I will bear the tides in mind when I am adding nexts years trips to our itinerary and appreciate you letting...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Myself and my mom went on the Mother's Day cruise which included a cruise around the port, a commentary and a two course dinner and would just like to say how much we enjoyed it. All the crew were so professional and friendly. The commentary...More

2  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley H, Manager at Blue Funnel Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Hi Julie and thank you for your lovely review. Its really good to know you had such a nice time with us. Hopefully see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

What a great day we had food was excellent the staff nothing was to much trouble we with parrys international coaches from the time we got the coach to trip on board everything was was but guys you did yourselves proud thank blue funnel

Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley H, Manager at Blue Funnel Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, its always good to hear our passengers have such a positive experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018 via mobile

I organised for our office Christmas party to come on one of the Party Cruises in December. Tickets were really reasonably priced - less than £30 with food and a welcome drink included. Booking it and organising was pretty easy their end. Everyone I spoke...More

Thank Princess_Peach90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley H, Manager at Blue Funnel Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2018

Thank you for your kind review. It’s good to know you found us helpful as a company but more importantly I am very happy to hear you had such a good time. Hopefully you will join us again for a party cruise. We have lots...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

We went with a party. First time for the cruise but despite some trepidation it was really excellent. Good commentary with lots of information and quips. I never realised. the extent of the docks or the complexity of the various river systems. Fascinating place. Extremely...More

Thank NotLordPercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley H, Manager at Blue Funnel Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Hi Thank you for reviewing us. Its good to know you enjoyed the cruise not so good to hear the lunch wasn't up to the standard you are expecting. With this in mind I am going to look into the supplier and alternative options for...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

We had the 3 hour daytime cruise for a party of 120 with a buffet. It was excellent! The staff were very helpful (some of our party had mobility issues) and the commentary was first class.The food was more than ample and good value and...More

Thank jeffjarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley H, Manager at Blue Funnel Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Thank you for your review. I'm glad the trip went well for you. I also appreciate you mentioning our customer service on the boat. It's nice to hear we are getting it right. Hopefully we will see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

A Lunch Cruise around Southampton Harbour was splendidly organised and made everyone aware of the vast size of modern freight container vessels and Cruise Liners. A very pleasant straightforward hot lunch expertly served. Strongly recommended.

1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 27 hotels in Southampton
Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa
419 reviews
.19 km away
room2 Southampton
99 reviews
.45 km away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
1,736 reviews
.78 km away
Star Hotel
539 reviews
.82 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Max`s Brasserie
660 reviews
.31 km away
Bacaro
430 reviews
.24 km away
The Docks Coffee House
219 reviews
.33 km away
The Oxford Brasserie
490 reviews
.31 km away
Nearby Attractions
Solent Sky Museum
663 reviews
.25 km away
Southampton Town Walls
362 reviews
.57 km away
Southampton Water Activities Centre - Active Nation
15 reviews
.51 km away
Queens Park
9 reviews
.46 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Zvmorris
7 August 2018|
Answer
Response from Lesley H | Property representative |
Hi yes the boat is wheelchair accessible if it is a manual wheelchair. But as the boat has two decks you would only have access to the lower deck. The views from this deck are very good but there is no outside area.
0
Votes
Verity T
24 June 2018|
Answer
Response from Lesley H | Property representative |
Hi there. We are out on private charters on 14th July so we are not able to offer any public cruises on that date. Sorry we couldn’t help you on this occasion.
0
Votes
carole p
6 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Lesley H | Property representative |
Hi Carole. Not sure exactly what you are asking. If you mean do we always play music on our Party nights then yes we do. Cruises during the day are sometimes accompanied by quiet background music but usually it is just... More
1
Vote