We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blue Reef Aquarium Hastings

Features Animals
Rock-a-Nore Road, Hastings TN34 3DW, England
+44 1424 718776
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
A great little place

I booked online before hand so got prices a little cheaper . Had a great time does t take long to... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
shelleymock
,
Heathfield, United Kingdom
via mobile
Over priced and cafe was so bad

The aquarium itself wasn't too bad but a bit over priced for what's there. The main reason I'm... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
BenOsborne253
,
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 511 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Located in the historic Old Town, take the ultimate undersea safari at Blue Reef Aquarium, Hastings. Enjoy incredibly close encounters with seahorses, native sharks, giant octopus and hundreds of amazing aquatic creatures. At the aquarium's heart is a giant ocean display - walk through the mesmerising underwater tunnel and come face to face with shoals of colourful fish. With talks and feeds all day you can even get hands on with our Remarkable Reptiles during animal encounters. Don't forget to grab a bite to eat in the Blue Reef Cafe and even book your Pirate or Mermaid themed birthday party. There's so much to sea under the sea!
  • Excellent19%
  • Very good36%
  • Average26%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“sea life” (29 reviews)
“archer fish” (11 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
Rock-a-Nore Road, Hastings TN34 3DW, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1424 718776
Write a ReviewReviews (511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

I booked online before hand so got prices a little cheaper . Had a great time does t take long to walk round but the kids loved it . We also went along the seafront had lunch ( so can’t comment on cafe ) ....More

Thank shelleymock
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The aquarium itself wasn't too bad but a bit over priced for what's there. The main reason I'm writing this review is aimed at the cafe, it is absolutely awful, the guy they have behind the till is rude, they do not do chips? What...More

Thank BenOsborne253
BlueReefAquariumH, General Manager at Blue Reef Aquarium Hastings, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear BenOsborne253, Thank you for your review. We were very surprised to read this review as the interaction you had with the staff member was amicable and you did not request to speak to a manager to make a complaint or discuss the issue. We...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A lovely place to visit. It has lots to see and was great for my two daughters, four and nearly three years old. They particularly loved the talk in the jungle room and then were able to stroke one of the lizards. I'm think they...More

Thank 452DarrenM
BlueReefAquariumH, General Manager at Blue Reef Aquarium Hastings, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear 452DarrenM, Thank you for your lovely review! We hope to welcome you and your family again soon. Blue Reef Aquarium.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I took my great nephew (2 1/2 years old) and he loved it - so did I!! Lots to see and the gift shop had some very reasonably priced things to buy. Will certainly return.

Thank Liz B
BlueReefAquariumH, General Manager at Blue Reef Aquarium Hastings, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Liz B, Thank you so much for your 5 star review! We hope to see you again soon! Blue Reef Aquarium

Reviewed 10 January 2018 via mobile

So we went teenager in tow and to be fair we weren’t holding out much hope. Glad to be proved wrong, nicely laid out, informative, great talks, friendly staff and a treasure trove of all that is fishy. The whole area had interactive things for...More

1  Thank sarah g
BlueReefAquariumH, General Manager at Blue Reef Aquarium Hastings, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear sarah g, Thank you for your 5 star review! We are so glad we surpassed your expectations and hope to see you again soon! Blue Reef Aquarium

Reviewed 22 November 2017

A very friendly staff...helpful...the tanks are well kept and contain some very pretty fish and other sea creatures... a good place to visit for all ages...

Thank Helen R
BlueReefAquariumH, General Manager at Blue Reef Aquarium Hastings, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Helen R, Thank you so much for your 5 star review! We are so glad you enjoyed the visit. Hope to see you again. Blue Reef Aquarium

Reviewed 9 November 2017

went with family i.e. wife daughter son in law and grandchildren and had a great time, to be honest it is not very big will take around 1 to 1.5 hours of your day depending on childs age and curiosity but a fun time and...More

1  Thank ShaneLondonUk
BlueReefAquariumH, General Manager at Blue Reef Aquarium Hastings, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear ShaneLondonUk, Thank you so much for your 5 star review! We are glad you enjoyed your visit and remember you can come and go all day to see all the talks and feeds taking place. Hope to welcome you back soon! Blue Reef Aquarium.

Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

Visited in october half term on a rainy day with our 5 and 1 year old, we bought our tickets online the night before which saved us some money and made it much better value than other aquariums. They have a good variety of fish...More

1  Thank Sapphire B
BlueReefAquariumH, General Manager at Blue Reef Aquarium Hastings, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Sapphire B, Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you back again soon. Blue Reef Aquarium.

Reviewed 3 November 2017

Took the kids here for a treat, lots to see,but it only took us half a hour to walk round before you know it, your walking for the gift shopMore

Thank Maxi-hart98
BlueReefAquariumH, General Manager at Blue Reef Aquarium Hastings, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Maxi-hart98, Thank you for your review. We only wish you spoke to us on the day about your concerns. The aquarium takes around an hour to visit and your ticket is an all day pass and so you can come and go as you...More

Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

What a lovely day we had at the aquarium, easy to park, although a bit expensive, but that is out of the aquariums hands. If you book and pay online it is very reasonable, would certainly recommend it, and we will go again when we...More

Thank Paul M
BlueReefAquariumH, General Manager at Blue Reef Aquarium Hastings, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Dear Paul M, Thank you so much for your five star review! You are right, unfortunately the car park next door is not owned nor operated by us. Booking online is a great way to make some extra savings so we are glad you took...More

PreviousNext
12345651
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 hotels in Hastings
Lansdowne
311 reviews
1.27 km away
Chatsworth Hotel
268 reviews
1.30 km away
The White Rock Hotel
467 reviews
1.63 km away
Travelodge Hastings
646 reviews
2.02 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Maggie's Fish & Chips
594 reviews
.11 km away
Webbe's Rock-a-Nore
944 reviews
.22 km away
The Crown
380 reviews
.21 km away
The Stag Inn
96 reviews
.34 km away
Nearby Attractions
Old Town Hastings
2,101 reviews
.36 km away
Hastings Fishermen's Museum
858 reviews
.04 km away
Cliff Railways
627 reviews
.10 km away
Shipwreck Museum
380 reviews
.06 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
littlepik1970
24 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Cliff W | Reviewed this property |
Well what a question. You need to speak to the manager. I found everyone very nice 👍 Bring flask and have a great time
2
Votes
susan f
9 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from BlueReefAquariumH | Property representative |
Dear Susan. The aquarium is mostly accessible however there are seven steps down and up again to the underwater tunnel. Many thanks, Blue Reef Aquarium, Hastings.
0
Votes
Josieowl68
23 May 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from BlueReefAquariumH | Property representative |
Hi all If you have any issues or complaints following your visit please put them in writing and send to us or via the contact form on our website. Many thanks
1
Vote