We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Marine Discovery

Features Animals
Closed Now: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Open today: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Morning of discoveries!!

Had a morning out on the waves on Wednesday, and it was perfect. Had dolphins swimming along with... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Kelly W
,
Towcester
via mobile
Fabulous boat trip, Saw dolphins, harbour porpoises, seals (and calves), bird life

Went the day after a very windy day. As it was still blowing a bit, the trip was cut from 4 hours... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Verencemos
,
Truro, United Kingdom
Read all 182 reviews
118
All photos (118)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent90%
  • Very good7%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“sea birds”(44 reviews)
“hour trip”(29 reviews)
About
Inspiring sea safari sailing trips aboard a ten metre catamaran, with the winners of the 2013 Responsible World Whale Watch Awards . A voyage on "Shearwater II" gives you the best opportunity to find the marine wildlife of south west Cornwall...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
See all hours
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Contact
Penzance Harbour 5 Albert Pier | Shed 5, Albert Pier, Penzance Harbour, Penzance TR18 2LL, England
Website
+44 7749 277110
Call
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
163
12
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
163
12
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsharbour porpoisessea birdshour tripgrey sealssun fishcommon dolphinsgreat tripdiscovery tripknowledgeable crewsaw dolphinscornish coastlinerecommend this triprelaxing boat tripwaterproof gearsea sicknessmemorable tripamazing wildlife
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a morning out on the waves on Wednesday, and it was perfect. Had dolphins swimming along with the boat with us, incredible. Would do it all again next week, but unfortunately back home now. Till next time!! Thank you

Thank Kelly W
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went the day after a very windy day. As it was still blowing a bit, the trip was cut from 4 hours to 3 and we were refunded the difference. I went with my 14 year old son who absolutely loves animals in all their...More

Thank Verencemos
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We joined Duncan and Hannah for a 4 hour Discovery Voyage and had a great trip. The catamaran offers plenty of room and a very stable platform. Duncan and Hannah are very knowledgeable, friendly and very informative. It was made very clear at the outset...More

1  Thank AdrianT1466
Hannah J, Owner at Marine Discovery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Adrian and Brenda, it was great to meet you. Glad you enjoyed your four hour trip and got some good photos. We hope to see you again soon. Best wishes Hannah and team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My son and I went on the 3 hour ocean discovery trip and what a great experience. The crew are very friendly and knowledgeable and gave detailed information on the birds and marine life we may see on the trip. We were then given waterproofs...More

Thank martinfranklin69
Hannah J, Owner at Marine Discovery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Martin, glad you and your son enjoyed your trip. It was lovely to see him making friends with the other child on board. All the best Hannah and team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went on the 1and !/2 Bay Discovery trip, as a local I often see the Marine Discovery setting sail so wanted to go, it didn't disappoint, saw Dolphins and lots of birds, one seal! Loved seeing the wildlife and the view from the boat! very...More

Thank Anna Y
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went out on a 3hr discovery tour in the thickest fog I have ever seen It came out of nowhere!! See picture below. The guides did their absolute best to try find us something in extremely challenging conditions, visibility was so poor. We saw birds,...More

Thank Alexbw2008
Hannah J, Owner at Marine Discovery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Alex, thanks so much for your lovely review. We don't usually get fog like that until the Autumn! So glad you enjoyed the experience despite the white-out, and your words regarding the wildness of wildlife are completely true of course. We cannot predict wild...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Really great set up. Knowledgeable and professional staff. Loads of space on the boat as they will only take 12 people when they could easily take more. We didn't see too much apart from seals and some diving gannets, which were amazing, but still had...More

Thank F3rr3t3r
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went out on a 1.5 hr trip with our kids age 5 & 7. The staff were really lovely, knowledgeable and we saw loads of exciting wildlife including seals, gannets, dolphins and a porpoise close by! The boat was really fun too, there weren’t...More

Thank katslacey
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I surprised my girlfriend with the 4 hour wildlife trip for her birthday and was so happy with our adventure. The catermeran was a fab boat to sail out into the harbour in. Our guides were knowledgable and entertaining but most of all put a...More

2  Thank Lawrence i
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I booked the whale and dolphin watch here and I was excited to see them in the wild,but we went out into the sea and only saw some seals and some dolphins but they didn't come close enough to take a pictureMore

Thank Ian F
Hannah J, Owner at Marine Discovery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Ian, thanks for the review. What a shame you only saw some dolphins and seals when using your dolphin watching voucher. As for not being able to take a picture, I can only apologise for the unobliging behaviour of the wildlife. As we always...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 3 nearby hotels
Hotel Penzance
901 reviews
.58 km away
The Queens Hotel
545 reviews
.82 km away
Marazion Hotel
376 reviews
4.08 km away
Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant
728 reviews
4.92 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 191 restaurants in Penzance
Old Lifeboat House Bistro
957 reviews
.26 km away
The Front Room Penzance
346 reviews
.33 km away
Harbourside Cafe
181 reviews
.26 km away
The Boatshed Cafe-Bar
328 reviews
.31 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 101 attractions in Penzance
Morrab Gardens
111 reviews
.57 km away
South West Coast Path - Penzance to Marazion
316 reviews
.31 km away
St Mary's Parish Church
5 reviews
.37 km away
Chapel Street
171 reviews
.46 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
terrysergeant
22 July 2018|
Answer
Response from Hannah J | Property representative |
Hi, thanks for the email. Best thing to do is check the availability on the wesbite (which Trip Advisor won't allow me to link to). All the trips are listed and you can either book online or give us a call in office hours on... More
0
Votes
sonia061268
2 May 2018|
Answer
Response from Hannah J | Property representative |
Hi If you go on our website to the Trips page that will give the different prices for the various length trips. I'm not allowed to post a link to the website but searching for us on google will take you straight to it. If... More
0
Votes
sonia061268
29 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Hannah J | Property representative |
Hi Sonia, thanks for the message. Yes we have plenty of space the first week of September. Please get in touch either by email or phone to book. Thanks, Hannah
0
Votes