We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
80
All photos (80)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent77%
  • Very good15%
  • Average4%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
About
Welcome to the Bay of Plenty best value scenic tour. This is fantastic opportunity for families with young children as kids under 12 travel FREE. Cruise through the vibrant port, the shipping activity, and islands of Tauranga harbour. Bring a picnic...more
Open Now
Hours Today: 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM
See all hours
Suggested duration: < 1 hour
Contact
Tauranga Harbour, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Website
+64 21 605 965
Call
Improve This Listing
Recommended experiences in and around Mount Maunganui
from US$21.07
More Info
from US$80.77
More Info
from US$104.65
More Info
from US$56.19
More Info
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
79
18
6
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
79
18
6
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tauranga harbour awesome cruise scenic cruise hour cruise beautiful boat great trip lovely hour container ships awesome service recommend this trip great fun all ages brandon skipper commentary crew picnic
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Repeating a very good experience in 2015, we eagerly embarked on the Kewpie yesterday, taking the 1 pm sailing out of the jetty on Pilot Bay. Unfortunately, we didn't enjoy the cruise as much on this occasion, as the one-hour cruise does not cover as...More

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank jollyrobert
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Today I went on the Kewpie Cruisewith my daughters 13&11, 11 month old puppy and 70 year old parents. The wind was a little up. Brandon and Hannah were very comforting and supportive to help us all aboard. The trip was very pleasant and informative....More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Jacquio74639
TeAwanui, Manager at Kewpie Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the lovely review. So glad to hear that you had a good day out.

Reviewed 15 January 2019

We paid for the 1-hour cruise in order to get to Matakana Island. This was a disappointing and expensive 20 minute trip at $30 per adult. The staff on the boat were rude and unhelpful. Due to a local event there was no parking on...More

Date of experience: January 2019
2  Thank Bronwen d
TeAwanui, Manager at Kewpie Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Bronwen. Thanks for sending through your feedback - we do appreciate it. Parking, and getting to the departure location is beyond our control. We are strict with our departure times as an overall service to those clients already onboard, who were able to get...More

Reviewed 1 January 2019

What a fantastic hour we had out on the water. We had an amazing view the boat was not crowded and we were able to enjoy views from both decks as well as the front of the helm by the captains area. Only downside was...More

Date of experience: January 2018
2  Thank IceKiwiBOP
Reviewed 11 December 2018 via mobile

enjoyed every bit of it. the guy o the boat was amazing. very friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome and cant wait to go back again. want to try the doping explorer next.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank enjoyingmoreoutdoors
Reviewed 10 November 2018 via mobile

Great trip awesome staff. Such a beautiful way to spend time chatting dancing and enjoying the company of others. Highly recommend to all groups

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Sherean72
Reviewed 4 October 2018

must do in Tauronga, you would't disappoint, Maybe a evening cruise is even better, a night party cruse, why not?

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Kel K
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

Top class. Was visiting from Ireland for a few days. Had a great hour long cruise around the harbour and bay with skipper Brandon. Very informative and great value for money. I would thoroughly recommend this company and will be back at Christmas to take...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank chrisk998
Reviewed 25 September 2018

I'm nearly a year late writing this review, so I'm afraid I've forgotten the names of the two lovely staff that made this little trip one of the high points of our holiday in NZ. When we arrived at the dock there was no one...More

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank AlexGTurton
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

Kewpie is an old kauri boat. The staff were friendly and fun to talk with. On the short tour we saw many blue penguins fishing and cavorting as well as dolphins. Good to learn some of the history of the area as well as see...More

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank richardjL3328BD
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 13 nearby hotels
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
35 reviews
.44 km away
The Atrium Apartments
154 reviews
.53 km away
Westhaven Motel
93 reviews
.70 km away
Mission Belle Motel
96 reviews
.70 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 129 nearby restaurants
Copenhagen Cones
166 reviews
.36 km away
Pronto
256 reviews
.49 km away
Dixie Brown's
770 reviews
.51 km away
Deckchair Cafe
240 reviews
.50 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 47 nearby attractions
Mount Maunganui Summit Track
2,438 reviews
.39 km away
Mount Maunganui Base Track
811 reviews
.54 km away
Mt Maunganui Main Beach
1,510 reviews
.66 km away
Pilot Bay
329 reviews
.87 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Shirley660
17 March 2018|
Answer
Response from X4924DDnicolek |
Hi Shirley, The cost for a 1 hour scenic cruise is $30 per adult $15for youth and kids under 12 free. We run every hour with the first tour departing at 11am we recommend that you ring the morning of the day you would like... More
0
Votes