We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shore Trips & Tours

Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
More
About Shore Trips & Tours
We offer a range of small group, friendly and professional tours tailored specifically for cruise ship passengers arriving into all the ports of call in New Zealand and Australia. Choose from our standard tours or design your own one. With over 17 years experience our dedicated team of drivers and guides visit the best destinations, provide value for money and pride themselves on giving you the experience of a lifetime. We look forward to sharing New Zealand and Australia with you.
Read more
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travellers talk about

Shore Trips & Tours
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
571Reviews22Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 493
  • 58
  • 8
  • 8
  • 4
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Pam105 wrote a review Jul 2020
New Jersey61 contributions44 helpful votes
Our tour guide, Nora, was waiting for my husband and I to disembark the cruise ship. We were the only ones on the tour this particular day and that was to our advantage. Nora was knowledgeable and professional and answered all of our many questions. She drove us around Tauranga and pointed out various sights and she gave us background information about the city. We did stop by a kiwi farm but they were closed so we headed on to Rotorua. Along the way, Nora was able to point out the beauty and cultural aspects of New Zealand. The highlight of our tour was visiting the village of Whakarewarewa. There we experienced eating a Hangi meal and watched a beautiful cultural performance and saw the geothermals in action. On the way back to Tauranga Nora asked us if we wanted to see anything else and we requested to stop by an ice cream shop to taste Hokey Pokey ice cream. To our delight she found a shop and the ice cream was very tasty. Nora made our experience one of the best tours we had while visiting New Zealand. We returned to the ship in plenty of time. We had a great day and highly recommend this day trip.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Bencntr wrote a review Apr 2020
Billings, Montana5 contributions2 helpful votes
I really wish I could write a review for this tour that we had booked with Shore Trips in Tauranga. Unfortunately because of the Covid19 outbreak our ship turned around and headed back to Sydney at 9:30 pm the night before we were supposed to arrive in Tauranga! The morning that we should have been touring, I emailed the company and explained that our ship was not coming to port. They emailed me back right away and indicated that I would have a credit back to my card within a few days. I’m not sure that it even took that long. I know tour companies have different cancellation polices but some are still difficult to deal with and it can be a struggle to get your refund. Not this company! If I ever make it back to New Zealand, I will book everything I can with Shore Trips and Tours!
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from IanH4043, Owner at Shore Trips & Tours
Responded 21 Apr 2020
Thanks for the review on our company and such a shame that you missed some of the excursions you booked with us. We are now in a very strange time for tourism not only in NZ but world wide. We spent that last week of March refunding ALL of our clients advance booking payments, which was quite a task as there were around 500 clients needing the refund. We are now all in lock down until the 28th April when we hope the restrictions we be eased. Who knows what the future holds but we do hope that at some point the cruise ships will come back to NZ [yours was the last i think] and that we can again show you our beautiful country. Regards Ian
Read more
Dennis & Sharon wrote a review Mar 2020
3 contributions
This was the best day ever. We saw so much in one day that I couldn't believe it. The day was not rushed, but just the opposite. We had time to explore, site see and gain a ton of knowledge this day. John was our driver, tour guide, and soon our friend. He was awesome!!! Glad tripadvisor and Viator use "Shore Trips & Tours" John was on time, extremely polite and very informative. Thanks for a great day!
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from IanH4043, Owner at Shore Trips & Tours
Responded 21 Apr 2020
Thanks for the great review, Shore Trips and Tours actually offer tours throughout New Zealand so we have all bases [ports] covered. Regards Ian
Read more
A World Traveller wrote a review Mar 2020
Ottawa, Canada18 contributions3 helpful votes
Our Cruise Ship docked at the Port of Tauranga, where Alistair met us first thing in the morning. Unfortunately, our ship docked late, so we found out immediately we would miss the Lady Knox geyser, but we were assured we would likely see more spectacular and more natural geyers at Waka. As we headed out of Taranga, Alistair gave us a great tour and history of the port of Taranga, Mount Manganui, the beach and the city. After which we made our way onto the highway and to our first destination of Wai-O-Tapu. Wai-O-Tapu is absolutely phenomenal. With the time allotted for this stop we had enough time do walk all 3 trails of this amazing geothermal wonderland, and take quite a few photos along the way! It was absolutely stunning. As we were leaving Wai-O-Tapu, we stopped for a quick stop at large bubbling mud pool! Next we went to Waka - The Living Maori Village. I think I was most skeptical of this experience, as I was afraid it would feel forced, and very awkward. To my surprise, it was quite the opposite! We took the 45 minute guided tour (which is included in the cost of this tour) and is an absolute must at Waka! The tour was incredibly fascinating, and was well-timed with the geysers playing! The tour ended with a cultural performance which was very interesting to see! After leaving Waka, we were given a tour of Rotorua, and saw the highlights of the city from our van. Our third long stop was at a Kiwifruit farm on our way back to Taranga! Here we learned about the different type of Kiwifruit produced in NZ. We also got to taste a variety of Kiwifruit-based products, with the option to buy some if you wanted! They even had Kiwifruit Green and Kiwifruit Gold ice cream!!! With our stomachs filled and happy, we finally made our way back to our ship, arriving at the port about 8 hours after we left it! Since we knew that our ship was not leaving until late evening, Alistair had made a few extra stops along the way that were not on the itinerary, to give us the fullest experience possible! This your was more than I could have imagined, and absolutely gave us an amazing taste of the highlights of the area! We can see why Rotorua is one of the most toured cities in all of NZ! If you want to make the most of your stopover is Tauranga, and are up for a FULL day of things to do - this is definitely for you! Hopefully you get Alistair as a tour guide, because he made the experience what it was! Unforgettable.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IanH4043, Owner at Shore Trips & Tours
Responded 21 Apr 2020
We so much enjoyed reading your great review and are sure that others will do so as well, so thank you for taking the time to post it, makes our efforts all the more worthwhile. Regards Ian
Read more
Carol E wrote a review Mar 2020
4 contributions
Our Bay of Islands tour with Glowworm Cave as an exceptional day. Our tour guide, Jill, was very friendly and very informative. She kept the tour on schedule so we arrived back at our cruise ship on time. Something we always are concerned about when we book tours not through the cruise line. All in all, Jill was awesome!
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from IanH4043, Owner at Shore Trips & Tours
Responded 21 Apr 2020
Great to know you had a good day with Jill in the Bay of Islands. Being on time so we dont miss the ship is a number one priority [we have never missed a ship in 19 years] so thanks for your review. Regards ian
Read more
Previous
Recommended experiences in and around Mount Maunganui
from US$82.19
More Info
from US$117.82
More Info
from US$132.34
More Info
from US$64.70
More Info