We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hawkhurst Fish Farm

Features Animals
Hawkhurst Fish Farm Hastings Road, Hawkhurst TN18 4RT, England
+44 1580 753813
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Disappointed!

We came here last Summer & had a decent lunch, so decided to bring our Dad here for a winter lunch... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Sandra R
via mobile
Cafe on site

The fishery it’s self is a great place the cafe however is over priced way to expensive and won’t... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Kym2107
,
London, United Kingdom
Read all 72 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good34%
  • Average5%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
LOCATION
Hawkhurst Fish Farm Hastings Road, Hawkhurst TN18 4RT, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1580 753813
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We came here last Summer & had a decent lunch, so decided to bring our Dad here for a winter lunch, very disappointing, our Dad had the chicken, bacon & leek pie, an 87 year old man said “he could’ve cooked better himself” vegetables were...More

Thank Sandra R
Dawn W, Owner at Hawkhurst Fish Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

I too am disappointed with your review. I have spoken with my staff who remember your visit, my Front of House staff members tells me she twice went to your table to see if all was OK with your meal and was assured that it...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The fishery it’s self is a great place the cafe however is over priced way to expensive and won’t sell a plate of chips which I find strange sometimes a small plate of chips is enough for kids or someone like me with a small...More

Thank Kym2107
JasminOlivia, General Manager at Hawkhurst Fish Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. I have answered your comments about our café on the other review you have left on the café trip advisor page. Our Junior Fun fishing re opens on 10th February in time for half term so we hope to see...More

Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

The place has three lakes for children and large lake for enthusiasts. They hire out all the equipment that you would need so don't have to bring anything. They even give you helpful advise and are very friendly. There is a fishing shop and a...More

Thank Farrokh H
Dawn W, Owner at Hawkhurst Fish Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review of our farm. I am so pleased you enjoy visiting here and find something for everyone! I would just point out that our junior lakes are now closed until February half term, but the café, tackle shop,...More

Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

We regularly visit for breakfast and you get what you pay for Although not the cheapest the food is excellent and if you choose a nice day you can sit outside and take in the lovely setting looking over the lake Well worth a visit

Thank martynprestidge
Dawn W, Owner at Hawkhurst Fish Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank you for your kind review of our café - I am delighted that you enjoy our breakfasts and our setting. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 22 September 2017

A lovely venue and the newly constructed tearoom/restaurant is well appointed and the food good and service polite and efficient. A peaceful environment in which to relax and enjoy the company of one's friends. Prices on the high side.More

Thank wellsofglenacres
Dawn W, Owner at Hawkhurst Fish Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Thank you for your kind review of our farm and café. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. Sorry you found the prices high - I believe we are very competitive, most of the meals on our menu cost less than £10 and our...More

Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Hire of 2 rods, a net, 2 kids fishing and 2 spectators came to £23!! So cheap for a great day of fun. Bailiffs are super helpful. Have a picnic whilst fishing. All in all, a fantastic value day out.

Thank PaoloHanson
Dawn W, Owner at Hawkhurst Fish Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

So pleased you enjoyed your visit to the farm. The Junior fishing is extremely popular with families. We hope you will visit again soon. Thank you for taking the time to give us a positive review.

Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

We have been going to the fish farm for many years and today was the first time we have been thoroughly disappointed with the service! Arriving at 12.00 we quickly ordered at 12.10 as we had only an hour, we were told it would be...More

Thank NBPBDSJS
Dawn W, Owner at Hawkhurst Fish Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

I am so sorry you were disappointed with your visit - I imagine this was last Sunday. Now that we stop doing breakfasts at 12.00 we do tend to have a huge influx of customers just before this time and this Sunday was exceptionally busy...More

Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

My friend and I went for lunch on a lovely sunny day. The choice of food on menu was great and some lovely vegetarian options. Whenever the food was served which was very quick, it was delicious and really large portions and good value for...More

Thank Judith5990
Dawn W, Owner at Hawkhurst Fish Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Thank you for your kind review of our café. We are delighted that you enjoyed the food on our menu and the choices offered, we do try and cater for the many vegetarians who visit us. I will pass on your comments to my staff...More

Reviewed 5 July 2017

Excellent breakfast. Lovely location. Great staff. It is a shame you cant swap things on the brekkies though. I didn't want beans and they wanted to charge extra for half a tomato which felt cheeky and a bit tight.More

Thank ajpsthompson
Dawn W, Owner at Hawkhurst Fish Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Thank you for your review of our café, location and staff! We are delighted you enjoyed your visit. We offer a variety of breakfast 'packages' and on these we do not permit items to be 'swapped', during busy periods we have found that this causes...More

Reviewed 13 June 2017

A stop over cafe unless you are fishing of course. A beautiful location, good food, generous portions and service with a smile. The full English breakfast with a cup of tea is definitely the best for miles.

Thank Betty B
Dawn W, Owner at Hawkhurst Fish Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Thank you for your kind review of our café and farm. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you again soon!

PreviousNext
1234568
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Hawkhurst Hotels
Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club
546 reviews
6.22 km away
T & J Motel
22 reviews
7.16 km away
The George Hotel
337 reviews
7.88 km away
Leeford Place Hotel
457 reviews
9.85 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Curlew Restaurant
752 reviews
2.18 km away
A21 Diner
120 reviews
3.33 km away
The Great House
580 reviews
3.44 km away
The Queen's Inn Restaurant
244 reviews
2.20 km away
Nearby Attractions
Merriments
107 reviews
1.46 km away
Kino Digital Cinema
125 reviews
2.15 km away
Bodiam Castle
1,560 reviews
3.88 km away
The Salehurst Halt
24 reviews
4.35 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Hawkhurst Fish Farm staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit