We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dive Tutukaka

#1 of 12 things to do in Tutukaka Features Animals
Marina Rd, Poor Knights Dive Centre, Tutukaka 0173, New Zealand
+64 9-434 3867
Website
Save
Review Highlights
An Experience of A Lifetime

If you are a scuba diver or snorkeler, you must see the Poor Knights Islands. I can honestly say... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Trevor808
,
Lihue, Hawaii
Excellent dive shop and brilliant staff

Great professional and friendly staff that have lots of stories and jokes to share. Clean spacious... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
sam15595
,
London, United Kingdom
Read all 396 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The longest standing family-run dive company around; with a number of boats, professional crew, and every day all year round trips to the Poor Knights Islands. Passionate about the environment, conservation, for divers, snorkellers, and sightseers.
  • Excellent82%
  • Very good14%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“poor knights” (158 reviews)
“these guys” (29 reviews)
“hot drinks” (19 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 07:00 - 19:00
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
Marina Rd, Poor Knights Dive Centre, Tutukaka 0173, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 9-434 3867
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

If you are a scuba diver or snorkeler, you must see the Poor Knights Islands. I can honestly say that this is hands down the most beautiful dive site I have ever been to. Besides what is under the water, just seeing the islands in...More

Thank Trevor808
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great professional and friendly staff that have lots of stories and jokes to share. Clean spacious boat, go off season to avoid the summer crowded boats. Poor Knights has excellent diving. Definitely recommended.

Thank sam15595
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have just returned from a fantastic day diving and snorkelling at Poor Knights Island. The sealife was amazing,so many different species of fish and colourful sponges. The team were professional,knowledgeable and friendly, the day was run really well. I really enjoyed hearing about the...More

Thank ClareUK123
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Starting with the positive: it really is an awesome diving site to which they have access to. i have done more than 300 dives total, but only in warm waters, so that was quite new to me and I enjoyed it a lot! Black coral,...More

Thank KiwixWilson
22kaka, Owner at Dive Tutukaka, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hey, Sounds like your trip wasn't that cool, but to be honest - I have looked back through all our records, and we don't have anyone with your name and matching dive history recently with us? A couple of flags for me, are the fact...More

Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile

We did this dive and snorkeling trip in February. I must say i was a diver with 80 dives, mostly done in famous coral reefs around the globe. So expectations were not that high. But i was highly surprised how many fishes, corals and other...More

Thank Catalina M
Reviewed 4 May 2017 via mobile

What a brilliant trip that was! From the start, fantastic service. Kate in particular was extremely helpful in organising my snorkelling trip. I met the team, all the boat skippers and dive masters were very helpful and friendly. They all really seemed to be enjoying...More

Thank 01donala
Reviewed 1 May 2017

We had an excellent dive trip. The boat was comfortable and the staff were helpful. Of particular note, the skipper, Cole, was very knowledgeable and entertaining.

Thank FarmGirl-931
Reviewed 24 April 2017 via mobile

My 3 sons and I had an awesome day diving the Poor Knights. The weather and seas were a bit rough so the crossing was the first excitement for the day with a few seasick bags handed out. Once we dropped anchor at the Poor...More

Thank Ben2721
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

We have been on dives around the world and we know that each one has different ways of doing things. The skipper of our boat was amazing and very knowledgeable about the area and the Poor Knights Islands where we went diving. He kept everyone...More

Thank WeekendReviewers
Reviewed 11 April 2017

So I was advised to come here by a friend in November to complete my PADI Advanced Open Water. The course was absolutely amazing, the operator does absolutely everything for you in the most friendly and helpful way imaginable. The diving out on the Poor...More

Thank Josh R
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Schnappa Rock
442 reviews
.04 km away
Ngunguru Takeaways
43 reviews
3.05 km away
Whangerei Deep Sea Anglers
31 reviews
.03 km away
Wahi Restaurant
125 reviews
.17 km away
Nearby Attractions
Yukon Dive
101 reviews
.03 km away
Perfect Day Ocean Cruise
97 reviews
.05 km away
Tutukaka Headland
36 reviews
.25 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Trevor808
Hi, i'm planning for a dive trip this upcoming summer, and was wondering if i would need a dive hood or gloves.
19 July 2016|
Answer Show all 7 answers
Response from E1247IKmaried | Reviewed this property |
Yes, you would need hood and gloves... We were there in summer and the temp. was about 21c... OK for the first few minutes, but it really gets cold as you go down. Why be miserable? Hood and gloves are easy! FYI, the... More
1
Vote