We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rottnest Fast Ferries - Day Tours

Open today: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Share
Book In Advance
Tours from Rottnest Fast Ferries - Day Tours tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
130
All photos (130)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good28%
  • Average9%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“day trip”(36 reviews)
“rottnest island”(53 reviews)
“mr bean”(8 reviews)
About
Your Gateway to Perth's Island Playground... Rottnest, Western Australia's most beautiful island is just 19km off the coast of Perth, and a lightning fast ocean crossing away in air conditioned comfort on one of our high speed ferries. Departing...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
See all hours
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Contact
Hillarys, Joondalup, Western Australia 6025, Australia
Website
+61 8 9246 1039
Call
Ways to Experience Rottnest Fast Ferries - Day Tours
from US$78.10
More Info
from US$63.30
More Info
from US$132.50
More Info
from US$132.50
More Info
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
279 results
Traveller rating
159
76
27
5
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
159
76
27
5
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsday triprottnest islandmr beanferry rideferry servicehired bikessmooth rideloading and unloadingfast servicesalmon baythomson baymorning teacomfy seatswhole processgreat triphillarys boat harbourwhale watching
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 279 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

Thoroughly enjoyed the boat ride over to Rottnest and back - very fast and very comfortable. Staff provided interesting commentary and kept us well informed about tour and return journey times etc. Historical Trainride to Oliver Hill Battery was fun. History of the gun was...More

Thank lyndownes237
Perth_AustraliaPhil, Director of Sales at Rottnest Fast Ferries - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear lyndownes237 So pleasing to hear of your experience on Rottnest Island, and you had such a great day! Hope you have a chance again in the future to travel with us and continue the adventure. Kind Regards Phil Richards- Director of Sales and Marketing

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Highly recommend Rottnest Fast Ferries to everyone as they have great customer service and the whale watching tour was excellent! We saw a lot of whales and the most important we had Marine Biologist Sam from AQWA onboard, she was very informative and lovely!More

Thank maggieyye
Perth_AustraliaPhil, Director of Sales at Rottnest Fast Ferries - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Maggieyye We are so glad you enjoyed our whale watching cruise and saw the whales on their migration, they are majestic creatures! Our staff are the backbone of everything we do and we pride ourselves on our customer service. It is always pleasing for...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I confess, we thought we had only booked the bus tour, but were on the train and military tunnels tour also. The bus tour showed plenty of nice places, but there was no time to stop and take photos. Rottnest as a whole is misleading...More

Thank vannsandra
Perth_AustraliaPhil, Director of Sales at Rottnest Fast Ferries - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear vannsandra, Thank you for your feedback on your visit to Rottnest Island last week. I'm sorry you felt rushed during your visit, perhaps the Island Explorer would have been a better option as this tour gives customers the opportunity to hop off at a...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited Rottnest as it was recommended by everyone and the kids couldn't wait to see a Quokka's! And the little beauties didn't disappoint. We travelled to Rottnest from Hillarys which is a really good little area with plenty of parking and a good amount...More

Thank leigh h
Perth_AustraliaPhil, Director of Sales at Rottnest Fast Ferries - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Leigh H, Sounds like you had an action packed day on Rottnest Island! So pleased that you got to travel around the whole island and the Quokkas were on their best behavior. The joeys have just started venturing out of their mothers pouches after...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Everything is as promised on the itinerary. The tour coordinators respond very promptly to any enquires you email them. We wish we have longer time on the island. It is beautiful. The scenic train right was fun and you got to enjoy the views of...More

Thank Carol Q
Perth_AustraliaPhil, Director of Sales at Rottnest Fast Ferries - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Carol Q Really pleased you enjoyed your day on Rottnest Island. We are very proud of the guides on the Island, they are all very knowledgeable on the Islands history and really bring the information to life. Thank you for your recommendation Best Wishes...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We paid more than $150 for 2 adults and 2 kids for the return ferry rides after 25% discount. The island is scenic and tries to be environment friendly but everything on the island is chargeable and very expensive. I will think twice about returning.More

Thank Ginny G
Perth_AustraliaPhil, Director of Sales at Rottnest Fast Ferries - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Ginny G Thank you for your review. The standard ferry transfer from Hillarys Boat Harbour to Rottnest works out to be $34.00 per adult for a one way 45 minute crossing, which is inline with or less than other ferry crossings around Australia. Please...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife found it too military and did not enjoy the train ride or the visit to the gun.When reboarding the train to go to the bus i was last on and my lunch was given to someone who was not in the tour,therefore no...More

Thank Inspiration777685
Perth_AustraliaPhil, Director of Sales at Rottnest Fast Ferries - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear tamkane9 Thank you for your feedback on your trip to Rottnest Island. I'm sorry your wife found the Historical Train and World War 2 Tunnel Tour too military, and there was a mix up with your lunch. This part of your visit to the...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Took the boat to Rottnest on a rough day and had a great experience, staff were great in explaining that this trip will be a little rough and supplied some bags for those that get sea sick but we enjoyed it. Dont be put of...More

Thank LCGOOD
Perth_AustraliaPhil, Director of Sales at Rottnest Fast Ferries - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear LCGOOD, Thank you for your review. We are very proud of our staff and it is always pleasing when our customers recognise them. The care of our passengers is our number one priority. We have certainly had one of the worst winter in recent...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It started with free parking. Next it was friendly helpful service from the bike hire man and the ferry staff. The trip over was a bit noisy but smooth and fast (45min). Once on the road we fount the bikes easy to ride (only 3...More

Thank Noel B
Perth_AustraliaPhil, Director of Sales at Rottnest Fast Ferries - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Noel B Thanks for your feedback on your recent trip to Rottnest Island. Sounds like you had a great day! We are proud of our fleet of 200 bikes the belts that replace the chain are a real winner. The free parking at Hillarys...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited this island during the winter close down and disappointed that not everything is open or available. The ferry service is also limited at these times. The only return is 16.30pm, which meant a long wait. The island itself is very interesting and beautiful. This...More

Thank ostess
Perth_AustraliaPhil, Director of Sales at Rottnest Fast Ferries - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear ostess Thank you for your review, in order for me to respond to your feedback would you be able to send me your best contact details at feedback@rottnestfastferries.com.au Kind Regards Phil

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Hillarys Harbour Resort
207 reviews
.10 km away
Quality Resort Sorrento Beach
300 reviews
.86 km away
Scarborough Apartments
90 reviews
7.59 km away
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
318 reviews
7.64 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 73 restaurants in Hillarys
AQWA CAFe
42 reviews
.02 km away
Chocolateria San Churro
183 reviews
.08 km away
Sharkey's
7 reviews
.40 km away
Portside
103 reviews
.14 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 24 attractions in Hillarys
Sorrento Quay Boardwalk
151 reviews
.18 km away
Sorrento Beach
98 reviews
1.31 km away
Hillarys Boat Harbour
1,063 reviews
1.51 km away
AQWA
760 reviews
.02 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Chris L
13 March 2018|
Answer
Response from RottnestFF | Property representative |
Hi Chis L, Yes you sure can bring your own cycle on the ferry. This is a freight charge of $15 return per bike. Alternatively you can Hire a Bike for $30 per day. I hope this helps. The Team at Rottnest Fast Ferries
0
Votes
MelanieMP
9 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from sassy23956 | Reviewed this property |
Hi Melanie, To be honest Im not that good in a boat either. I think at that swell and wind knots it would be a bit rough. From Hillarys would probably be better than Freo. Its only 45 minutes on the boat. You are there... More
0
Votes
helenw0ng
1 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from RottnestFF | Property representative |
Hi helenw0ng, Thank you for your question. The ferry company that departs from Fremantle is separate to us - we only depart from Hillarys Boat Harbour (20 minutes north of Perth CBD) and have free parking available in the... More
0
Votes