Alpine Jet Thrills -Braided Shallows

Alpine Jet Thrills -Braided Shallows

Alpine Jet Thrills -Braided Shallows
5
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
About
JetBoating & AirBoating An Experience - More than Just a Ride! Canterbury's Leading JetBoat & NZ's Only AirBoat Experience
Springfield, New Zealand

Awards
Travellers' Choice
2023

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Travellers talk about
(9 reviews)
(9 reviews)
(6 reviews)

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles98 reviews
Excellent
92
Very good
4
Average
0
Poor
1
Terrible
1

Janet E
Wolverhampton, UK143 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2024 • Couples
Omg! What an amazing experience. Took this excursion whilst on a cruise, so came with a coach full of shipmates. The guys were so friendly. We were fitted with life vests and split into 2 groups to go on the boat. Our boat pilot, Paul, was amazing. We sped along the Waimakariki river at about 75kmh swinging left, right and making hilarious (and wet) 360 degree turns. What an absolute adrenaline rush. Definitely recommend and would love to go again! Cant wait to see the photos....
Written 8 March 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Gregory P
Chagrin Falls, United States49 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2023 • Family
The Jet Boat zoomed over 4 inch deep fast moving curvy river. The river bed is all rocks and one could feel them slide past our "Bottoms". The driver would go full speed then make a fast 360 turn splashing water everywhere. He would drive straight toward a cliff and turn on the dime to miss it. The canyon scenery was beautiful. I wanted to do it again. This is a ride of a life time because there are few rivers with boats capable of achieving this ride. Put this on your "To do list".
Written 22 February 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Ez&chad working Aus
10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2024 • Couples
Heaps of fun the guys are great.the river is stunning. We sat in the back seat got a few refreshing water sprays definitely worth it
Written 16 February 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

james f
Grand Rapids, MI216 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2024 • Couples
I want to make sure this review gets posted, although I am sorry to do so in light of all the 5 star reviews.
Our experience was horrible. The river rose, supposedly unexpectedly, so our trip was cancelled.
No compensation was offered, but our cruise ship refunded most of the cost. I was very disappointed that the owners didn’t accept responsibility and step up to make things right. On top of that, they tried to sell us stuff from their store after canceling our trip.
Not a quality operation, IMHO. Not representative of the other folks we have met in NZ.
Written 27 January 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
I have also addressed this same review on Google and didn't see this Trip Advisor one as it has been posted to an unrelated jet boat operation 60 miles away which incidentally was not operating at all on the day in question. Even so, I will address your issue here, so everyone understands the full circumstances, especially in light of this review being completely out of step with our usual reviews. Hi James, I'm very sorry for your experience and I'll try to address your concerns here in order. So others reading this might better understand the circumstances, the jet boat component was only one aspect of your excursion which was booked through the cruise ship and we have no recourse to refund as we did not take the booking. As you point out you have been refunded by the cruise ship and we certainly were not paid for it. We are a supplier to the company that supplies this combination tour to the cruise lines. You did complete the 90 minute tour of the high country sheep stations and a tour of Jet Boat World though, and also the Gourmet Burger lunch. In respect to failing to acknowledge that you didn't get what you bargained for, on several occasions I addressed those who had missed out, offering my sincere apologies, explaining we had done everything possible to make it work. What perhaps adds to your disappointment is the morning jet boat runs both happened for the other group while you were out on the high country stations tour. Even after that though, the river was still as it had been throughout the morning. It was only when the level gauges (available to us) were showing the huge rise had begun, that we realised it was unlikely we could run the afternoon, so unfortunately we were not in a position to make this decision any earlier. I am truly sorry you were offended by Robyn talking to everyone about what we have established here at Springfield Adventure Park. It is another aspect of the experience we provide for guests and is certainly not focused on selling as much as showcasing the success of several small kiwi businesses, especially post pandemic. We are very proud to promote local products like Manuka Honey from our river region as part of the 'story' for you hopefully to better enjoy your experience, but I can certainly see how you took this in a completely different light in these circumstances - so again my and Robyn's apologies. I also said several times to your group that I was bitterly disappointed you would not experience New Zealand jet boating... explaining exactly as you have suggested that we have little control over mother nature. I also accompanied many of your group to the river to watch and discuss the ferocity of the water and how quickly it was rising, and explained there that this was the first time for the season we had been forced off it. We absolutely delight in sharing the story of Bill Hamilton and his jet boat with everyone who comes here... keeping in mind it is only one part of the excursion you booked, so to have this happen is gutting for us too. Unfortunately, there was little else we could do, the other half of your group was on the high country stations tour and the majority of your group was wanting to watch the rising river, hence I accompanied them to the river's edge. We did try to move as soon as we discovered there might be an issue, when I suggested trying to rush your trip on to the water in lieu of lunch that you were already lining up for, but it became clear that in that short window the peak of the river rise was coming through and we (both the business owners) therefore made the call to cancel. In terms of 'making it right' we are not in any position to offer refunds as we are a part supplier to the seller, (so we couldn't offer a refund for our component regardless) however you will appreciate we also didn't get paid either and as you said, the 'cruise ship refunded most of the cost' as I expected they might. I know you travelled a long way to experience this but if it helps in any small way, I will happily provide an foc ticket to you or anyone else on that day who missed out on this experience if you're ever back here in New Zealand. Once again, my sincerest apologies. Paul Mullan
Written 7 March 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Dianna
6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2024 • Solo
The jet boat ride through the Waimakariri gorge was so beautiful and so much fun. I loved every minute of it. Paul and Robyn provide such a fantastic experience, sharing their knowledge and welcoming their customers into their environment. I will definitely be back.
Written 26 January 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Roam21505883294
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2023 • Couples
The trip was excellent the scenery is out of this world. Loved the feeling of flying over water ankle deep would go again
Written 20 January 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

janmgood
Indianapolis, IN9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2024 • Couples
It was so fun!! To see the Southern Alps from a boat was amazing. It was a beautiful sunny day.
Lunch was part of our tour package - it was delish. And a ride to an overlook. Great day!
Written 11 January 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Passenger09817546900
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2024 • Couples
Loved every aspect of the experience .
Great scenery and very pleasant staff operators, haven't laughed so much for some time
Written 3 January 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

pixtip
Terrigal, Australia132 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2023 • Family
We took our extended family of 10 people on this thrilling and informative ride. Learning of Bill Hamilton and the history of jet boating in New Zealand, visiting the museum as well as the human and railway history around the river was a bonus. Aged from 6 to 71 we all loved the trip, felt safe and look forward to returning on another holiday in New Zealand.
Did I mention the scones, cream and cherry jam made from wild cherry trees which grow along the river? We’ll never forget those either 😀
Written 2 October 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Lisa T
Horsham5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2023 • Couples
The views, staff, facilities, food, safety and experience were amazing. We were the last cruise ship for the season and so glad we chose to go on this tour. Definitely the highlight of my trip to New Zealand for our port stops. Would highly recommend this company and experience for all ages - (mid 50's).
Written 18 April 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 98

ALPINE JET THRILLS -BRAIDED SHALLOWS (Springfield) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go

All things to do in Springfield
RestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire