We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Book In Advance
631
All photos (631)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good34%
  • Average11%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“water taxi”(103 reviews)
“an umbrella”(49 reviews)
“cruise ship”(89 reviews)
About
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
29°
24°
Oct
28°
23°
Nov
27°
22°
Dec
Contact
Philipsburg, St Martin / St Maarten
Website
Ways to Experience Great Bay Beach
from US$380.00
More Info
from US$65.00
More Info
Reviews (1,063)
Filter reviews
814 results
Traveller rating
434
259
93
20
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
434
259
93
20
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water taxi an umbrella cruise ship beach chairs the nicest beach bucket of beer pretty beach clean beach white sand rent chairs board walk jet ski holland house downtown philipsburg beautiful water lots of shops front street
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 814 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived via water taxi ($7 USD, round trip) from the cruise port. MANY vendors hustling padded beach chairs and an umbrella ($20) with optional WiFi, drinks, etc if desired. Wear water shoes unless you're used to small pebbles in the sand. Also, along with the...More

Thank Eileen D
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Complimentary beach chair and umbrella. Always someone walking by selling drinks. Close enough to restaurants and places for lunch. Nice blue water. Very close to the pier of the water taxis

Thank MPWheart
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This beach was absolutely gorgeous. The water was perfectly blue. With the exception of seaweed, it was incredibly clean. It’s a great location next to many bars and restaurants. There are many people on the beach trying to sell things, which can be annoying, but...More

Thank Megan R
Reviewed 16 September 2018

(March) We enjoyed our many hours at the beach, just lounging around, and enjoying the view. We came here sooner than we expected, due to the heat, trying to walk the streets, re. shops. The heat was not pleasant! Our location of chairs, was good,...More

2  Thank Jurora
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

Plenty of loungers but bit too close as the umbrellas cross over each other. 5 beers for $20 is a good deal. Some mither from locals but not yoo much. Beach ok and sea easy in and out. Not yoo much if you like a...More

1  Thank SteBrizz
Reviewed 7 September 2018

My wife and I returned again for a beach day from our Celebrity cruise ship docked nearby at the cruise pier. The van shuttle is about a 10 minute ride for $4.00 pp. A short walk from the drop off point puts you on the...More

1  Thank Richard S
Reviewed 31 August 2018

Having been to Sint Maarten before and visiting Orient beach and Maho beach before the hurricane in 2017 we decided, due to the fact that that side of the island was still recovering from it, we would go to the beach on the French side....More

3  Thank m0ssy2016
Reviewed 24 August 2018

Spent our port day at Great Bay Beach while in St. Maarten. Took the $7 water taxi from the port to the beach. Rented 2 chairs and an umbrella for $20 for the day from a local, and had a great time!

4  Thank Angela L
Reviewed 7 August 2018

The Beach is absolutely beautiful and friendly people , also visit boardwalk for gifts and food , Enjoy your stay

1  Thank muskokagold
Reviewed 21 July 2018

This is the main beach where the big cruises that go to Sint Maarten/Saint Martin island stop. It's a nice area for a stroll and to have a drink or eat something, since there are restaurants and bars (not that much inJuly when its low...More

Thank JuPereira
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 69 nearby hotels
Sea View Beach Hotel
107 reviews
.04 km away
Sea Palace Resort
232 reviews
.26 km away
Horizon View Beach Hotel
130 reviews
.29 km away
Holland House Beach Hotel
875 reviews
.32 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 656 nearby restaurants
Dirty Sanchez Crew Bar
283 reviews
.35 km away
Caribbean Blend
171 reviews
.03 km away
St maarten burger madness
427 reviews
.04 km away
Honky Tonk Bar
148 reviews
.22 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 472 nearby attractions
Coral Transportation
7 reviews
.25 km away
Saint Martin of Tours Church
135 reviews
.26 km away
Tri-Sport Eco Tours
302 reviews
.16 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Karie K
2 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Rob S | Reviewed this property |
i would contact Passangrahan Hotel and Restaurant.
0
Votes
gabrielabmunoz
7 June 2018|
Answer
Response from Howard P | Reviewed this property |
no idea which beach place we rented from but there is a lot of competition and don't be bashful about negotiating a better price.
0
Votes
Petite_traveler31825
10 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from helenyazor | Reviewed this property |
There are plenty of vendors wanting your business, all offer a good price. We had excellent service from Ali Baba at NuLove. 2 sunloungers, umbrella, free WiFi & 5 drinks for $20.Also enjoyed lovely lunch overlooking the... More
1
Vote