We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
641
All photos (641)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good34%
  • Average10%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“water taxi”(110 reviews)
“an umbrella”(53 reviews)
“cruise ship”(90 reviews)
About
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
27°
22°
Dec
27°
22°
Jan
27°
22°
Feb
Contact
Philipsburg, St Martin / St Maarten
Website
Ways to Experience Great Bay Beach
from US$65.00
More Info
from US$400.00
More Info
Reviews (1,074)
Filter reviews
821 results
Traveller rating
440
260
93
20
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
440
260
93
20
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water taxi an umbrella cruise ship beach chairs bucket of beer pretty beach clean beach rent chairs board walk soft sand holland house jet ski beautiful water clear water lots of shops front street orient beach
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 821 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

You can rent an umbrella, 2 beds, get Wi-fi and a bucket of 5 bears for $25 here. I lovely beach but not great for snorkelling. If you are just looking for a nice relax this is the beach for you! Only a 20 minute...More

4  Thank Plip8080Newquay
Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful beach with easy access bordered by the boardwalk adjacent to Front Street. Many good deals for sunny such as chaise, umbrella and beverages. Plenty of shops and bars along the beach

Thank 436arthurg
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Short walk from the port. Calm, clear water. Quiet beach. Limited vendors on the beach,not pushy. Close to shopping on the boardwalk.

Thank robertrbeard
Reviewed 1 week ago

I own a timeshare on great bay. Beautiful beach and wonderful people! The water was beautiful the beach well taken care of. Front St shopping is coming back after IRMA. Can't wait for it all to be up and running!

Thank bon1333
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were going to Maho beach but heard differing reviews, so decided to take the water taxi from the cruise port to here a short trip across the bay, we loved it here, rented a couple of loungers and just relaxed enjoying the lovely view...More

1  Thank neilmF2117MN
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is not generally the most private or quietest beach on the Island - so we had never stayed to enjoy the beach before. On a recent Friday we found ourselves in town without the usual crowds. We enjoyed two lounge chairs with an umbrella-...More

1  Thank Altius10
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

It is very quiet beach with clean sand and turquise waters full of young fish, and very busy during the day when cruise ship is docked. Early morning we usually swim and suntan , and after siesta sometimes return to the each to watch cruise...More

Thank Igor K
Reviewed 10 October 2018

Arrived via water taxi ($7 USD, round trip) from the cruise port. MANY vendors hustling padded beach chairs and an umbrella ($20) with optional WiFi, drinks, etc if desired. Wear water shoes unless you're used to small pebbles in the sand. Also, along with the...More

4  Thank Eileen D
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

Complimentary beach chair and umbrella. Always someone walking by selling drinks. Close enough to restaurants and places for lunch. Nice blue water. Very close to the pier of the water taxis

Thank MPWheart
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

This beach was absolutely gorgeous. The water was perfectly blue. With the exception of seaweed, it was incredibly clean. It’s a great location next to many bars and restaurants. There are many people on the beach trying to sell things, which can be annoying, but...More

1  Thank Megan R
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 69 nearby hotels
Sea View Beach Hotel
108 reviews
.04 km away
Sea Palace Resort
233 reviews
.26 km away
Horizon View Beach Hotel
131 reviews
.29 km away
Holland House Beach Hotel
886 reviews
.32 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 664 nearby restaurants
Dirty Sanchez Crew Bar
285 reviews
.35 km away
Caribbean Blend
175 reviews
.03 km away
St maarten burger madness
431 reviews
.04 km away
Ocean Lounge
308 reviews
.32 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 475 nearby attractions
Coral Transportation
7 reviews
.25 km away
Saint Martin of Tours Church
135 reviews
.26 km away
Tri-Sport Eco Tours
310 reviews
.16 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Karie K
2 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Rob S | Reviewed this property |
i would contact Passangrahan Hotel and Restaurant.
0
Votes
gabrielabmunoz
7 June 2018|
Answer
Response from HowardP568 | Reviewed this property |
no idea which beach place we rented from but there is a lot of competition and don't be bashful about negotiating a better price.
0
Votes
Petite_traveler31825
10 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from helenyazor | Reviewed this property |
There are plenty of vendors wanting your business, all offer a good price. We had excellent service from Ali Baba at NuLove. 2 sunloungers, umbrella, free WiFi & 5 drinks for $20.Also enjoyed lovely lunch overlooking the... More
1
Vote