We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

High Country Horses

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 243 Priory Road, Glenorchy, New Zealand
Phone Number:
+64 3-442 9915
Website
Description:

High Country Horses operates from a farm 15 mins from Glenorchy at the top...

High Country Horses operates from a farm 15 mins from Glenorchy at the top of Lake Wakatipu. We are surround by the Humbolt and Richardson ranges of Mountains and are nested at the base of Mount Alfred.

The only Horse riding that is owned and operated by True New Zealanders. Offering local knowledge and Lord of the Rings locations. Young children can enjoy and feed our farm animals or take a ride on our carriage. Activities for all to enjoy.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 316 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 226
    Excellent
  • 38
    Very good
  • 18
    Average
  • 8
    Poor
  • 11
    Terrible
Beautiful place, beautiful horses and beautiful people

We did the Round the Mountain trip two weeks ago. My daughter and I were two of the three people riding with Max. Lovely, inspiring Max was encouraging and fun as well as very... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 weeks ago
deborahgai
,
australia
Add Photo Write a Review

316 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 301: English reviews
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We booked activity due to awesome advertising video on website, which shows exciting action with lively horses and guides. What we experienced was a boring walk. We were paired with riders that had zero experience and required constant stopping and coaching. Made for a very slow and annoying ride. There's no doubt the scenery is amazing, but we had hoped... More 

Helpful?
Thank Blaine S
DeanaIrvine, Owner at High Country Horses, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, but we would like to know if you just looked at the pretty pictures? The video CLEARLY states it is our over night ride AROUND THE MOUNTAIN! You were on our 2.5 hour ride. Did you really think you were going to cover all of that in a 2.5 hour ride?? Maybe you should have... More 

australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We did the Round the Mountain trip two weeks ago. My daughter and I were two of the three people riding with Max. Lovely, inspiring Max was encouraging and fun as well as very knowledgeable and experienced. She was a delight to be around. The horses were great and we had so much fun cantering, trotting, and walking through spectacular... More 

Helpful?
Thank deborahgai
DeanaIrvine, Owner at High Country Horses, responded to this review

Thank you sorry much for your kind no words. It is a very special place and truely Paradise. I bet you had some real quality time with your daughter. The memories will last a life time ❤️ More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Again we could do with a good button here. The ride was above average but could not rate it as very good. We were a family of 5 and did the Rees river trail. We hadn't a lot if experience - fortunately the horses were easy to ride if a little sedate and familiar with their trail. Only to be... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tony P
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We decided to book the Around the mountain track which is 2 days of horseriding for more experienced riders and we were not disappointed. Even though the weather forcast did not look great initially and lots of rains caused some flooding, the hack was not cancelled, it was only adjusted slightly. Our guide Sean was really nice and helpful and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Adéla D
DeanaIrvine, Owner at High Country Horses, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and so pleased you enjoy our AROUND THE MOUNTAIN product. It is one that we are very proud of and this reflects through to the Guides as well. I will show Shaun (Guide) and also Diane (Chef) your comments as it is so nice to get a pat on the back every now and... More 

Lausanne, Switzerland
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

We asked especially for an advanced riders tour. They took us to the Rees river tour what was a boring go and return tour almost on the same track. They told us we will be in a group with confirmed riders or we will separate the group to have lots of trot and canter. We trot few times and cantered... More 

Helpful?
Thank Viovoyages
DeanaIrvine, Owner at High Country Horses, responded to this review

Thank you for your view, now that you have put your opinions forward I now have a chance to respond. - Firstly when you booked your ride you were told there was a chance of 2 other people join your party of 3. If you wanted a EXCLUSIVE you could have paid for one. The other 2 people with you... More 

Ingleside, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

We (2 couples) did the Isengard LOTR High Country Horse tour the week before Christmas. The drive there from Queenstown alone was amazing (if you don't want to do a horse tour, just take a drive to Glenorchy because I think it's one of if not the prettiest place in NZ). The horses were great, the guides were informative and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lorena R
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

This was organized for me by my husband - otherwise I would never get on a horse. My experience is watching the Melbourne Cup on the work TV. That said, the guides are unbelievably good. The horses are so lovely and calm. So I put my trust in the experienced guides and horses and had the best day. Master 11... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank ValerieJPringle
Auckland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2017

I am a very reluctant rider having refused to go on my wife's own horse for years. During a moment of madness and in preparation for a trip to Queenstown, I bought my wife's Christmas present of a trip for us both on the 1 hour 30 Lord of the rings ride. On the day of the trip we took... More 

Helpful?
Thank neilf8538
Castlebar, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

The scenery on these rides is amazing. You get to ride through rivers, fields and mountains. The horses are clearly well looked after and well behaved. I've done many treks in different places over my travels in Ireland, England and Australia and this one was one of the best. Our guide was very friendly and accommodating. As I'm an experienced... More 

Helpful?
Thank ShellK8487
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

I did the "Around the Mountain" overnight tour and I can't recommend it enough! The scenery is absolutely stunning, and this was exactly the type of unique experience I was hoping for. The hut we spent the night in was the perfect mix of comfy and rustic. From the second we arrived at the homestead everyone was so friendly and... More 

Helpful?
Thank LArnott
DeanaIrvine, Owner at High Country Horses, responded to this review

People like you give me the warm fuzzys, so thank you. You have experienced our Back-country to the maximum. We are so grateful that you see everything and the effort gone into what we offer. Thank you one more time and we hope to see you again so we can show you more :) More 

Travellers who viewed High Country Horses also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Glenorchy, Otago Region
 
Glenorchy, Otago Region
 

Been to High Country Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of High Country Horses and other visitors
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from High Country Horses staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?