We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Nice meal for 10

We had a work meal at the F&H. We were in the side room and had plenty of space to mingle and chat... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
CharlieCB
,
Swindon
What a lovely place to stay

Me and my partner stayed here mid-week for a night and I originally chose because it was so... read more

Reviewed 11 August 2018
Susan B
via mobile
Read all 173 reviews
7
All photos (7)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good27%
  • Average10%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“sunday lunch”(14 reviews)
“fish pie”(9 reviews)
“lovely pub”(6 reviews)
About
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
16°
Sep
12°
Oct
Nov
Contact
Markham Road, Wroughton, Swindon SN4 9JT, England
Website
+44 1793 815415
Call
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
69
48
18
26
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
69
48
18
26
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunday lunchfish pielovely pubcooked to perfectionfamily meallovely foodonion ringsgoats cheese tartstaff were lovelygood sizebeer gardenwill visit again soonwooden boardalexandra houseplace to stayvery enjoyable mealwine list
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a work meal at the F&H. We were in the side room and had plenty of space to mingle and chat before the food arrived. We asked for two bowls of olives, not knowing how big they were going to be, and found...More

Thank CharlieCB
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very expensive, £14 a head for Sunday lunch, one course, pub manager very aggressive and abusive to the young lady that organised the lunch for her parents,definitely wouldn't go back....

4  Thank Jeff H
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here mid-week for a night and I originally chose because it was so reasonably priced but what a lovely surprise we had, firstly the staff could not have been any more helpful and polite, the pub was decorated beautifully plus...More

Thank Susan B
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

We ventured out on Sunday for a drive to the country and fell upon this pub. The food was fabulous, I had the leg of lamb which was beautiful, my partner was delighted with his sirloin of beef and despite being wheat and gluten Intolerant...More

Thank Elmcpo
Reviewed 25 July 2018 via mobile

What a change of a venue in such a short time. Place full of atmosphere and great friendly staff great music infact the whole evening was just great food was fantastic and great quality and priced very well we all thought. Will be back very...More

Thank Paul C
Reviewed 24 July 2018

We went last week for a celebration meal and the food was amazing, really large portions too. All the staff are very friendly and attentive and it has a very relaxed feeling, you don't feel rushed at all. Will be going back again. Thank you...More

Thank wonderwomanSwindon
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

Went there following a recommendation. Our friends were over from New Zealand and actually booked in there to stay. We decided to have dinner there together and booked a table for 8.30. We arrived a hour earlier. Had a couple of drinks. The bar staff...More

Thank Nicki P
Reviewed 17 July 2018

I was really looking forward to lunch here as I had heard good things. I can only say that it was a massive disappointment. The service was terrible and the food horrid. Nasty cheap microwavable food which tasted of nothing and was all over cooked,...More

Thank Sharna70
Paul C, Owner at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Hi Sharna70, Please could you give me a call to discuss this further. I would be very interested to hear how the service was terrible and who served you so this can be dealt with! Again it will be interesting to see what you had...More

Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

Stopped in as we were passing. Fitted us in on a busy evening. Fantastic food and very friendly service. Will definitely be coming back soon. Thank you x

1  Thank alisonguest
Paul C, Owner at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Hi alisonguest, Thank you for your review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed the food and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

Popped in here for tea on a recommendation from someone in the village. Place was very welcoming and the garden was great for the young one to run around safely. Food came out and what a fantastic piece of fish. Service was excellent too and...More

Thank dumptruck1972
Paul C, Owner at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Hi dumptruck1972, Thank you for a brilliant review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Alexandra House
1,209 reviews
2.15 km away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
780 reviews
3.11 km away
20 at The Kings
187 reviews
3.73 km away
Campanile Swindon
604 reviews
3.95 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 7 restaurants in Wroughton
The White Hart
307 reviews
.19 km away
Cowpuccinos
42 reviews
.37 km away
Mahdi's Indian Takeaway and Kebabs
45 reviews
.38 km away
The Fox & Hounds
24 reviews
.12 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 4 attractions in Wroughton
Museum of Computing
140 reviews
4.23 km away
Barbury Castle Country Park
37 reviews
4.28 km away
Studley Grange Garden and Leisure Park
188 reviews
3.61 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Fox and Hounds staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines