Tours and Tickets
Lake Wanaka 1-Hour Cruise Including Wine and Cheese Board
4.5

Lake Wanaka 1-Hour Cruise Including Wine and Cheese Board

By Lake Wanaka Cruises
Recommended by 92% of travellers
92% of reviewers gave this product a bubble rating of 4 or higher.
About
from
$60.52
per adult
Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 0-99, max of 45 per group
Duration: 1h
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Live guide: English
More


  • One complimentary wine or beer
  • Cheeseboard
  • GST (Goods and Services Tax)
  • Snacks
  • Bottled water
  • Alcoholic Beverages
What's not included
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off


Start:
  • Wanaka Lakefront, Ardmore Street, Wānaka 9305, New Zealand
    At the lake front near to 100 Ardmore St. Directly across the road from Wanaka iSite.
End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Stroller accessible
    • Service animals allowed
    • Near public transportation
    • Infant seats available
    If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 56970P4

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Children must be accompanied by an adult
    • Subject to favorable weather conditions. If canceled due to poor weather, you will be given the option of an alternative date or full refund.
    • Most travellers can participate
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 45 travellers

    • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

    How much is Lake Wanaka 1-Hour Cruise Including Wine and Cheese Board?
    Lake Wanaka 1-Hour Cruise Including Wine and Cheese Board price starts from $61.96. Discover and book Lake Wanaka 1-Hour Cruise Including Wine and Cheese Board on Tripadvisor
    What is the Lake Wanaka 1-Hour Cruise Including Wine and Cheese Board cancellation policy?
    Lake Wanaka 1-Hour Cruise Including Wine and Cheese Board cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Lake Wanaka 1-Hour Cruise Including Wine and Cheese Board on Tripadvisor
    Which company provides Lake Wanaka 1-Hour Cruise Including Wine and Cheese Board?
    Lake Wanaka 1-Hour Cruise Including Wine and Cheese Board is hosted by Lake Wanaka Cruises. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Lake Wanaka Cruises on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Lake Wanaka 1-Hour Cruise Including Wine and Cheese Board on Tripadvisor
    How much time do I need for Lake Wanaka 1-Hour Cruise Including Wine and Cheese Board?

    If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 56970P4

    Reserve your spot

    Similar experiences

    Itinerary
    • You'll start at
      Wanaka Lakefront
      Ardmore Street, Wānaka 9305, New Zealand
      At the lake front near to 100 Ardmore St. Directly across the road from Wanaka iSite.
      See address & details
    • Pass by
      Lake Wanaka
    • You'll return to the starting point
    About the operator
    Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
    • Lake Wanaka Cruises
      178
      Wanaka, New Zealand
      Joined in January 2017
    • Lucy M
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Beautiful day, fab cruise
      Booked online, then the next day hopped on the boat, looking forward to a peaceful cruise on Lake Wanaka. The weather was perfect, sun, blue skies, water reflecting the sky, great visibility. It’s a fairly small catamaran, think there were a max of 18 of us and we all found a place to sit and enjoy the rays and tranquillity. After 45 mins we alighted at Stevensons Island, and followed the guide up to the top of the hill. It’s a pretty easy 15 min walk, gentle slope up, with only a couple of rocky/steepish parts that I needed a stable husband to support me with. Lovely view from the top, so worth the short hike. There’s a loo onboard and on the return trip we were served a cuppa and biscuits. Perfect. A lovely two hour excursion which l would highly recommend.
      Written 9 April 2024
    • evets1232016
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great day out on Lake Wanaka
      The day consisted of a leisurely one hour cruise about halfway up the lake, on a very nice boat, to Mou Waho island. There are a couple of hours on the island, then a return cruise back to the Wanaka marina. Lake Wanaka is stunningly beautiful, surrounded by towering mountains on all sides, and this is the best way to see it. The captain and guide, Tim, gave us just enough info. on the lake and its history, without overdoing it. On the island, which is full of wekas, we climbed to the top, learning a lot about the local fauna along the way. Just be aware the climb to the top of the island takes you up 150 metres in altitude, so it's not for everyone.
      Written 18 February 2024
    • 18103sunshine
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Beautiful outing
      Beautiful boat ride to the island. Incredible views once you reach the top including a small lake. Walk is easy enough for most people.
      Written 17 January 2024
    • LN1996_28
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Recommended guided island tour
      This was a 5* experience from start to finish. In a comfortable boat you are taken over to mou waho island and we were given a guided walk of the island. Although the lookout and pools are sign posted. You get interesting information about the wildlife and also taken down some off the beaten track paths.
      Written 13 January 2024
    • jacalyny
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Stunning Views Worth the Walk
      Took the trip to Mou Waho Island in Lake Wanaka. We opted for the guided tour. Reon was excellent. We had three groups of varying ages (we were the oldest) and he managed to keep the group moving along yet be very conscious of our much slower pace. Fortunately the trail is well marked and doable. At the top of the 30 minute (45 for us) trail you are rewarded with the glacial pool sitting near the top of the island. Another 20 minute hike up to the lookout point opened up to stunning stunning views. Spectacular. I do wish I had brought my walking stick with me….makes going down hill easier.
      Written 6 December 2023
    • 764delwynb
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Definitely recommend this trip
      Weather was perfect - sea was very calm. Our sea captain and tour guide were very friendly and knowledgeable. Idyllic 45 minute trip each way to the island, with time on the island for a comfortable walk to a lookout. Drink and biscuits were supplied on the way back to the marina
      Written 13 November 2023
    • martinwM7617NM
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Very pleasant cruise.
      A very pleasant cruise across Lake Wanaka surrounded by stunning scenery, followed by an informative short nature walk to the top of Stevenson Island. Highly recommended.
      Written 12 July 2023
    • sophie2173
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Highly recommend
      A short and sweet overview of lake wanaka and ruby island.Our skipper/guide was very friendly and knowledgeable and we would recommend to anyone visiting with only a few hours in wanaka.
      Written 16 June 2023
    • Kiwijoandsreve
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great short trip for all ages.
      Wonderful little trip that we all enjoyed (aged 4 to 66). We asked the kids 4,9 and11) when we got home what they enjoyed today and all said the boat trip! Excellent scenery and tour guide imparted a wealth of knowledge that we all appreciated. Would recommend 👍
      Written 13 June 2023
    • Inspire17364624524
      0 contributions
      2.0 of 5 bubbles
      Spot the difference
      When the cruise boat turned up ….well it was actually a small boat. Not what was advertised on the flyer. Had to climb in via a small ladder onto and into the front of the boat and a step down three stepped little ladder into the boat. Definitely not a recommended way of safely getting aboard. Couldn’t even go outside as he said it would destabilise the boat ? Kinda went near the Wanaka tree …..too far for a photo. Ruby island was more than a walk. Should have realised when the tour guide/skipper of the boat took his hiking pole. The ascent was steep and long … take a drink it will be needed. Very disappointing as this cost us $98.
      Written 15 March 2023
    • D1474XHgordons
      0 contributions
      2.0 of 5 bubbles
      Mou Waho Island Cruise and Nature Walk, value for money?
      The advertised 3.5 hour cruise and visit to Mou Waho island, was a disappointment, the tour company used a large water taxi which was not the boat shown on advertisements, the employed boat did not provide adequate visibility for approximately 50% of passengers and the boat trip should not in anyway be described as a cruise. Island itself was beautiful, however passengers only allowed 1.5 hours on island which shortened tour time to 3.0 hours. As it takes 40 minutes as sign posted to reach the view point above the island lake, the allowed 1.5 hours on island does not allow that much time for sightseeing. Overall cost of this activity represents very poor value for your money.
      Written 21 February 2023
    • ruthvG8658BK
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great experience
      Had a fun ride in the water taxi. Be prepared for a wavy experience. The island was beautiful, and the guide was very knowledgeable. Be prepared for some steep hiking in places.
      Written 9 February 2023
    • tommomelbourne
      0 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      Enjoyable Stevensons Island Cruise
      We did the Stevenson Island Cruise and nature walk which took around 2 hours and cost $79. You can buy tickets in the tourist shop across the road. Departure was from town end (Ardmore St) of Lake Wanaka. We travelled in a lovely Catarmaran with two friendly male staff including the skipper. There were many comfortable seats and the bar had alcoholic drinks for a reason able $5. The walk to the lookout point at Stevensons Island didnt take long and wasnt a difficultr walk but it was uphill arriving and downhill departing. Its a worthwhile cruise to do in Wanaka.
      Written 21 January 2023
    • LakesideChick
      0 contributions
      3.0 of 5 bubbles
      Ruby Island
      We enjoyed the cruise across the lake - but go see the tree from the beach as the view from the boat is a bit far away. The island walk is ok and the history of the island is interesting. It’s not really a photo walk - there’s just the one photo opportunity at the top of the hill. The guide and the driver were friendly and welcoming. Take a drink as there’s nowhere to purchase on the boat or island.
      Written 12 January 2023
    • J8197VDrobh
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Very interesting and scenic trip
      An authentic explanation of what the experience would be was provided and the boat driver/guide (Shaun) was excellent.
      Written 7 January 2023
    See all 178 reviews
    These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

    Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

    Popular mentions

    We perform checks on reviews.
    Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
    Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
    When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
    Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
    Learn more about our review moderation.
    4.5
    4.5 of 5 bubbles26 reviews
    Excellent
    18
    Very good
    6
    Average
    1
    Poor
    0
    Terrible
    1

    Eros
    Edinburgh, UK1,403 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Feb 2020
    We had a very enjoyable hour on Lake Wanaka sipping wine and eating cheese and biscuits. Friendly captain and sailoress. To cap it all the water was like a millpond and all blue skies. Enjoyed chatting to others from around the globe. A minor suggestion would be the choice of a second cheese as well Brie.
    Written 10 February 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thank you for your suggestion. We will put it into action.
    Written 14 February 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Molly01
    UK43 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Jan 2020
    We originally booked onto a longer more expensive cruise with skipper Adam and Pavla but due to a mechanical failure the cruise was cancelled. But not to worry as Adam refunded the cost of that trip and we had a complimentary trip on the happy hour cruise instead with drinks and cheese....whats not to like? Money was refunded by the time we got home!!! Very happy with the service.
    Thank you so much Adam and Pavla.
    Written 20 January 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thanks Molly, I'm sorry that your original trip was cancelled but its great to hear that you enjoyed the Happy Hour Cruise. All the best!
    Written 21 January 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Vicki
    Tauranga, New Zealand22 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Mar 2022
    Had a wonderful time on this cruise. Amazing views from the catamaran. The crew were lovely & friendly. Even took some photos of my husband & I together which was nice. Cheese board was perfect & we were happy to buy extra drinks as they were a reasonable price. Was one of the best things we did in Wanaka.
    Written 4 April 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hey thanks so much for your feedback Vicki. It means a lot to us.
    Written 6 April 2022
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    br0nski
    6 contributions
    1.0 of 5 bubbles
    Cruise was nice. Waited 15 minutes and to the 1hr cruise and decided to ask for the complimentary drink and cheese board as advertised. I was abruptly and rudely told service was on a rotary system which I assume customers are expected to know as there was no communication on this.

    So off I went and patiently waited. After a while a person came around and asked for our drink order. We then waited and waited for the cheeseboard but nothing came. After 30 minutes went back and asked when we might received the food but was told all the food had gone and you had to come down to some particular table for this.

    Incredibly poor communication.
    Written 3 January 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hi, sorry to hear of your experience. This was the busiest trip we have experienced for three years so the staff were under a lot of pressure to serve a lot of drinks in a short time. We do have to serve drinks on a rotation around the vessel otherwise it would just be chaos and indeed guests could be missed out. I have checked with the staff and they believe that you were up on the open air front deck of the vessel. Its not possible to serve cheese boards to that area as the crackers just blow away. I have also checked with staff regarding the other guests and they all had a great evening. Very happy to give you a complimentary trip on any of our cruises, please just contact me via the website thanks.
    Written 4 January 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    jennSaigon
    saigon31 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Feb 2024 • Friends
    We booked on Book me ($41) , excellent value which includes alcoholic beverage, cheese and crackers.
    It was a stunning night so being out on the water was a wonderful way to experience the views.
    Very good staff.
    Highly recommend.
    Written 11 February 2024
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    CC Wong
    Perth, Australia9 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Aug 2022 • Friends
    We booked this cruise with no expectations whatsoever as it was the first activity upon arriving to Wanaka. We were absolutely amazed all throughout the entire cruise by the stunning views surrounding us. The experience was made more memorable by the relaxed style of operation by Tim and Adrian.

    I cannot recommend this activity more!
    Written 24 August 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    LegallyBlondeVegan
    New Zealand160 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Located in the heart of Lake Wanaka, Tim and Adrian gave us the best time. Beautiful wines, snack board, and beautiful scenery.
    Totally recommend this for aprés ski or just any evening cruise!
    Roxy x
    Written 19 August 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Travelercindym
    Melbourne, Australia423 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    This was great and better than I thought it would be.
    Lindsay and Adam are great hosts. They have great stories and give good service. Highly recommended on a gorgeous day.
    I read one bad review and promise it isn’t like that at all. Bar also available onboard.
    Written 14 March 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    AlreadyPacked
    Columbia, MD18 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Aug 2019
    For the price, a little disappointing. It is not a "must do".

    The cheese board was limited at best - and only one plate displayed near the Captain. No plates or napkins offered, so if you wanted more than one cracker you had to keep coming back.
    Someone categorized it as a booze cruise. Really???? Well maybe if you pounded 5 or 6 beers in the hour we were on the lake. But can only tolerate 1 glass of cheap wine at a time.

    Luckily, it was a beautiful summer night - and yes, the little island in the middle of the lake along with its story/history/folklore - made the trip worthwhile!
    Written 21 February 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hey thanks for the feedback. We have never had comments like these to our Happy Hour cruise before but if you had mentioned this to us, we would happily have given you a refund. No point in leaving less than really happy!
    Written 23 February 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    JCM
    12 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Highly recommend this great tour with friendly, knowledgable crew. Beautiful views over Wanaka and surrounding islands and mountains that we wouldn’t be able to see otherwise.
    Written 27 February 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Showing results 1-10 of 26

    Lake Wanaka 1-Hour Cruise Including Wine and Cheese Board provided by Lake Wanaka Cruises

    All Wanaka HotelsWanaka Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Wanaka
    All things to do in Wanaka
    Day Trips in Wanaka
    RestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire