Tours and Tickets

Off-Road Adventure Tour provided by Across Country Quad Bikes

Off-Road Adventure Tour
5
Book in advance
from
$180.00
per adult
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
97% of travellers recommend this experience
This number is based on the percentage of all Tripadvisor reviews for this product that have a bubble rating of 4 or higher
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this booking up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Tour snapshot
Explore Franz Josef terrain by quad bike
Duration:
2h
Taking Covid-19 safety measures
Group size:
20
Near public transportation
Ticket type:
Mobile
Free cancellation
About
This quad bike adventure covers the dense rain forest terrain around Franz Josef. Hop aboard a 2-seater ATV and follow your guide on a glacier-carved route. Experience the thrill of every twist and turn while you splash through sand, mud, and riverbeds. Wet weather gear, a helmet, and rubber boots are provided.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 2h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
Highlights
  • Guide has knowledge of the wild landscape
  • Safety and weather gear are provided for use
  • It's a thrilling outdoor adventure off the beaten path
What to expect
Know before you go
  • Duration: 2h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
  • Guide has knowledge of the wild landscape
  • Safety and weather gear are provided for use
  • It's a thrilling outdoor adventure off the beaten path
What to expect
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 42412P2
Important information
Inclusions
  • Use of helmet
  • Wet weather gears (jackets and pants)
  • Gumboots
  • Professional guide
  • Quad bike tour
Exclusions
  • Food and drinks
Duration
2h
Departure details
  • Across Country Quad Bikes, 26 Main Road Franz Josef Glacier, Franz Josef / Waiau 7886, New Zealand The office is located on the Main Street of Franz Josef in the same building as Glacier Helicopters and Air Safaris.
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Age: Minimum 8 years old (Passengers). Minimum 16 years old (Drivers).
  • Booking needs to include 1 driver for each passenger
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travellers
Inclusions
  • Use of helmet
  • Wet weather gears (jackets and pants)
  • Gumboots
  • Professional guide
  • Quad bike tour
Exclusions
  • Food and drinks
Departure details
  • Across Country Quad Bikes, 26 Main Road Franz Josef Glacier, Franz Josef / Waiau 7886, New Zealand The office is located on the Main Street of Franz Josef in the same building as Glacier Helicopters and Air Safaris.
Duration
2h
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Age: Minimum 8 years old (Passengers). Minimum 16 years old (Drivers).
  • Booking needs to include 1 driver for each passenger
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travellers
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Contactless payment for gratuities and add-ons
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

5.0
292 reviews
Excellent
269
Very good
15
Average
2
Poor
3
Terrible
3

Julie
Auckland, New Zealand174 contributions
Feb 2021 • Family
Our tour guide instilled confidence as soon as we met her. She’s passionate about safety and her job and took great care of us. Stopping and explaining each move and the expectations of us in how to keep ourselves safe. She knew the geography of the area well, was well equipped in the event of an emergency and ensured enough adrenaline rush within the confines of the right amount of safety.
We had an awesome adventure and I can’t believe how fast the two hours went.
The views were amazing and our guide ensured we had great photos to remember our adventure by at a really good price.
Will definately recommend this tour.
Written 9 February 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quad B
We absolutely love the area and sharing it with our customers. We take our customers safety as our number one concern follow very closely with fun and challenging our customers to conquer new obstacles. You are more than welcome to bring a camera or phone to take pictures as there is a couple of opportunities to enjoy the scenery, otherwise your guide captures the experience for you and you have the option of purchasing the photos at $5 each which goes to the guide. We are so happy that you enjoyed our tour and appreciate the time you took to write an amazing review, thanks heaps
Written 10 February 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

traveller#01
London, UK219 contributions
Dec 2019
We took the afternoon quad biking tour having using book me in advance. We paid for one driver and passenger, confirming we could go on the same quad bike in advance. After seeing the glacier up close in the morning, the rain started pouring in the afternoon and we were glad to hear the tour was going ahead anyway.

We headed across from their base with their umbrellas (helpful touch) towards the quad bikes to get kitted up. We were covered head to toe with adequate waterproof gear, some of which was still slightly damp from previous tours but we were going to get soaked anyway.

As we jumped on our quad bikes, the staff realised they were short one quad bike for both a driver and passenger. As a result they asked people to volunteer for someone to ride on the back of their larger roofed ATV. When nobody volunteered as they wanted to obviously go together with their friends/partners, this switched to what felt like pressuring people individually to volunteer and eventually offering a couple who didn't have a bike yet the option of going separately or driving the larger roofed ATV which the staff admitted was much tougher to drive. This was poorly organised on their behalf in advance as they knew how many drivers and passengers had booked (as they're a different price and you choose ahead), and if they couldn't accommodate they should not have booked accordingly.

The couple decided to take the tougher larger ATV, and on having difficulty maneuvering on the trip and lagging behind they were shouted at by one of the staff members which was inappropriate.

Despite all of this, we were fortunate to have our own quad bike and had an absolutely fantastic time out in the forest and the open valley. The terrain was tough to ride on but this made it all the more exhilarating, with the rain causing the path in the rainforest to be flooded, again making the experiencing more thrilling.

We loved the experience of the quad biking overall, and found it very different to a previous experience I had done in Thailand. Sadly the organisation put a slight downer as this was unfair on those who were treated inappropriately.
Written 6 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi msgtraveller1, So glad to hear that you had a brilliant experience out there with us exploring the forest and glacial riverbed! We operate in all weather, the pesky rain won't stop us :) Really disappointed to hear that we were short a quad bike, occasionally this happens if a bike gets broken on the trip before, however this is typically sorted out in the office at check-in. By the sounds of it this situation was not handled appropriately at all and I will be launching an investigation into this particular incident. If you could email us at 'acqbnz@gmail.com' to answer a few questions and to offer a more detailed insight as to what happened that would be very helpful. We take pride in our customer service skills, and work really hard to give all our clients the best possible experience that we can. Thank you for taking the time to give us this review, we really appreciate the feedback. Kind regards, -The ACQB Team
Written 13 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

stretchottawa
Ottawa10 contributions
Mar 2020
This was in my top 3 activities I did in NZ while travelling north and South Island for a month. 2 hours of ripping through mud, sand, grass, rainforest and glacial rivers. I’d never been on a quad bike and after getting us to practice weaving through tires and going down into 3 ft of water and out again we took off through rainforest trails. I still couldn’t believe the amount of water the bike could go through and keep going. Got to see the Franz Josef glacier from the bottom while crossing back and forth through the river below. Couple stops for picture taking and back at it. Well worth the money. You can be a driver or a passenger (different pricing to reflect this). Just a good, fun time out. I’d read the 5 star reviews and chose to go and I can see why it’s rated so well. I give it the same. What a hoot.
Written 16 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi stretchottawa, Thank you for this review! LOVE how we have mad it onto your top 3, feeling very grateful :) We are lucky with our varied terrain that we get to guide through and stoked that you enjoyed it aswell. Thank you for this awesome review! -The Quad Bike Team
Written 16 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Emma
Auckland, New Zealand1 contribution
Jan 2021
We purchased a two person buggy ride for $230 NZD under the Impression that we would both be able to drive, given that there were so many spots along the way where we could of had the opportunity to swap over and the fact that both me and my partner a very experienced buggy drivers given we own our own ones at home we thought that this would have been more than possible. Given this the $230 was very over priced for what we thought was a very G rated, primary school level, follow the leader tour. I wouldn't recommend this to any one who likes adventure as it was very misleading and boring driving around over the same track over and over. Also my helmet was very itchy not sure if they had made sure it was sanitised since its last user!
Written 11 January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quad B
This is so disappointing and we are so sorry you did not enjoy your experience. We do not normally let our drivers and passengers switch over as we have found that as our customers get more familiar with the vehicle we can give them new challenges. Our tours are amazing and adrenalin-filled and we have an amazing backyard to play in with hectares of area and we have the opportunity to go where we like and make new tracks. All of our helmets get cleaned and disinfectant after every use. We will be looking into this tour and speaking to the guide to ensure that this does not happen to anyone else again, as our goal is everyone getting what they want out of the tour. If you would like to contact us we would like to offer you both a free tour each with your own vehicle so you can both drive. Truly sorry and we look forward to showing you both a good time.
Written 11 January 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Brownowl87
Branston, UK38 contributions
Mar 2020 • Friends
We didn’t initially book in to do this tour as we were holding out on a helicopter ride which had the time changed, so we had to try and accommodate activities around that ...
However we were so glad that this fitted out time as it was a great 2hrs spent.
We had such a laugh and had a few occasions where our guide took our photos for us.
Be prepared to get cramp In your thumb from holding the gas down for 2hours, however the cramp is well worth it, going through the jungle terrain, through puddles, across the river and sand/mud, the waterproof outfit makes for a good laugh as well.
Our group was split into to 2, with the slower and faster riders going separate ways so no one missed out or was held up.
It was really chilled, unfortunately the cloud cover was really bad and as such we didn’t expect to see any views, it’s just common sense not to expect any with that weather, however this didn’t make the trip any less fun and worthwhile.
Loved it.
Written 4 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi BrownowI87, Sorry to hear your flight got cancelled, it has been such an extreme season here with all the rain :( We operate in all weather so are always here to console the poor tourists who can't fly and love taking them out for a good time on our bikes. The sore thumb is the only downfall of our company and something that as of yet have not managed to find a solution. Thank you so much for coming and for giving us this amazing review :) -The Quad Bike Team
Written 16 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Happiness788138
10 contributions
Dec 2019
I have been quad biking before so thought I knew what to expect... I was wrong! This was really fun but a lot more challenging than previous ones... the terrain we went over was very 'rough' - lots of steep bits and fairly deep water, and you have to keep your finger on the accelerator the entire time with the slightest movement making it speed up/slow down, which adds another challenge dimension in itself!! I'd definitely do it again, but it's not easy. They give you a test run first to make sure you can handle the bike which they said some people fail! So only do this if you're confident, but I'd definitely recommend it for those that like an adventure!
Written 7 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Happiness788138! Thank you for taking the time to give us this brilliant review! We are quite lucky with our range of terrain out there on the track. Lately we have had so much wild and wacky weather that the track, especially the riverbed, has changed constantly which has made parts very rough. Hope to see you again one day in the future. Thank you, -The Quad Bike Team
Written 27 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Karen L
Christchurch, New Zealand60 contributions
Sep 2020
After having to change dates due to an unexpected hospital visit ( nothing to do with the Quads) we finally got there! The trial ride is a great idea, I didn't feel I could safely ride so was able to hop on the back with Reece... and off we went! Such a great morning, beautiful scenery and awesome hosts. Sarah is so bubby and friendly, nothing is a problem while being super safety conscious and professional. totally would recommend this to anyone, either a rider or passenger. I'd love to do this again!
Written 27 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quad B
We love teaching anyone how to ride and with two different test tracks this gives our customers a real feel for what our track is like. If after the test tracks you do not feel comfortable to proceed you can have the option of riding passenger either behind a friend/family member or even behind on of our awesome guides, and you definitely get to enjoy the breath taking views more as a passenger. We are so pleased you enjoyed you quad biking adventure with us and thank you so much for taking the time to write such an amazing review.
Written 30 September 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Steff
Queenstown, New Zealand3 contributions
Sep 2021
Honestly so glad our heli hike got cancelled because if it hadn't - we wouldn't have got round to doing this!!!

The quad biking off road experience was both mine and my boyfriends favourite adventure on a 9 day South Island road trip.
The guide was amazing, it was so so much fun quadding through rainforest, river beds and rocky terrain. Would 100% recommend this activity to absolutely anybody!

Well worth the price.
Written 5 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quad B
We are a great option when other activities are cancelled due to the weather, we supply wet weather clothing and gumboots so keep you nice and dry. All the guides love teaching people how to drive our off-road vehicles and ensuring the customers have an epic experience. We are so stoked that we ranked so highly on our holiday and thank you so much for taking the time to write such an awesome review of us.
Written 5 October 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

angeladaw09
Wanaka, New Zealand3 contributions
Oct 2020 • Couples
Slightly delayed review. My partner and myself went on this fun filled adventure on the long labour weekend.
Anywho, 5star all round from us whanau..
The experience was well worth it.
We were lucky the day we had was a stunner. Made it that much better.
Both Sarah and Dora were our tour guides.
The service was the winner for me.. Nothing was too much, not even the jokes haha. Straight up rate Dora. If you know, you know.
Thankyou for topping our trip.
Quad biking was a spontaneous decision with the help of Dora and all her professional sales skills it was a no brainer haha. we decided, leeeshgo!!
It was the best decision!!
Through the forest, river crosses & amazing views, it was a out the gate, quad tipping, exhilarating, fun experience.
Thankyou for the amazing adventure, the service and experience will be remembered for a long time.
- Caity... (but really Ange) lol..
Written 8 November 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quad B
You were lucky for the stunner of a day. We love taking people on an adventure and thrive on making sure it is a memorable one. You both were a pleasure to take out and we are so stoked we could be part of your holiday. We really appreciate you taking the time to write such an awesome review, love your work
Written 9 November 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Richard
2 contributions
Jan 2020 • Couples
Did the 2 hour trip with George and Charlie and was fantastic, both guys were great to deal with. Very professional, informative with clear and easy instructions.

Starting out you do a quick test run around a track to show your confidence, split you into groups of faster and slower riders and ensure everyone has an enjoyable experience.
The rest of the trip is just what you would expect from a atv tour.

Although I wouldn't say this is for beginners they quickly see your riding skills and adapt the trip to ensure your tour is plesent not overwhelming.

Thanks George for the exhilarating trip and Charlie for the smooth intro.
Written 24 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi 111187, Thank you for this wicked review, it is a really great outline of what our product is. We try our very best to adapt each tour to our clients abilities and confidence levels. Cheers for this awesome review! Regards, -The Quad Bike Team
Written 27 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 290
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Across Country Quad Bikes
872ptf
872ptf
00
What a team!! THE BEST QUAD BIKE EXPERIENCE EVER.
I've done quad biking all over the world but nothing compares! Safe, reliable and so much fun! I will be back.
Megan M
Megan M
00
Super fun!
The perfect wet weather activity, which was necessary as we had rain the whole time we were in Franz Josef. This is
jakalnz
jakalnz
00
Awesome 👌
Great guides, heaps of fun, would highly recommend. Through forest, riverbed and streams. Definitely worthwhile.
susiecalderwood
susiecalderwood
00
Fun!!!
This is fun from start to finish!!!! Well worth doing for amazing scenery (obviously) and great staff from start to
JoshC_NZ
JoshC_NZ
00
Awesome fun.
Great trip out, had rain the night before which probably made it even better. Dora and the team were awesome, makin
djdjdjxjdkskwirbdmsm
djdjdjxjdkskwirbdmsm
00
MR & MRS F
Great staff, very informative, we had loads of fun, wife and I had a Quad each and by the time we got back, had to
Carolyn A
Carolyn A
00
Amazing fun
Had the best quad bike tour with Sarah and Brendan. A real mix of terrains with a beautiful backdrop of the mountai
Everton_13_777
Everton_13_777
00
No short cut for Sarah
Staff made me laugh professional polite and Sarah the owner kept it real she made the tour for me. I’m going back o
NigelBuzz
NigelBuzz
00
Great fun
Not your every day quad experience, one you’ll be talking about for a long time. If your looking for something a l
569stewarta
569stewarta
00
A great afternoon out.
We like to push the boundaries a little without scaring ourselves to death. Two years ago ebiking through the dunes
katieogrizek
katieogrizek
00
Backroad Views
Awesome team, took us through a great track to our half way point with breathtaking views. Gave us a run down of th
joetravelerct
joetravelerct
00
Super Fun!
After our heli hike was cancelled we decided to do the Quad Bikes. It was tons of fun. My husband and I are in ou
simonesV4649ER
simonesV4649ER
00
Amazing
Amazing drive around the forests and the river in Frenz Josef... I loved this experience... thank you so much
Bridget E
Bridget E
00
Great fun with teenagers
We booked the quad bike experience after our glacier hike was cancelled ... we weren’t disappointed! This was a cou
AdvantureLizzie
AdvantureLizzie
00
Super rad fun!
Excellent! My group and I had a blast. They guides were insightful and catered to different levels of ability / con
Frequently Asked Questions about Off-Road Adventure Tour

Off-Road Adventure Tour price starts from $182.04. Discover and book Off-Road Adventure Tour on Tripadvisor

Off-Road Adventure Tour cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Off-Road Adventure Tour on Tripadvisor

Off-Road Adventure Tour is hosted by Across Country Quad Bikes. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Across Country Quad Bikes on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Off-Road Adventure Tour on Tripadvisor

On average, this experience will take approximately 2h. Discover and book Off-Road Adventure Tour on Tripadvisor