Tours and Tickets

Franz Josef Mountain Scenic Helicopter Flight provided by The Helicopter Line West Coast

Franz Josef Mountain Scenic Helicopter Flight

Franz Josef Mountain Scenic Helicopter Flight
5
Book in advance
from
$490.00
per adult
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Guides required to regularly wash hands
Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
What you can expect during your visit
Guides required to regularly wash hands
Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
About
Know before you go
  • Duration: 40m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
Know before you go
  • Duration: 40m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
What to expect
Board your twin-engine helicopter for a premier 40-minute flight including a remote snow landing above the eponymous glacier. Within the open-plan helicopter cabin that seats up to six passengers, look down upon two of New Zealand's finest national parks, divided by the imposing Southern Alps. From your vantage point in the air, discover the vast expanse of Franz Josef and Fox glaciers. You’ll get up close to towering peaks and crevasses, and learn about the alpine wonderland of the Murchison Glacier valley, as your pilot delivers expert commentary en route. Then descend onto a snowfield with a helicopter landing at around 7,000 feet (2,134 meters), and walk along the main divide, which offers panoramic views of Aoraki/Mt Cook and Tasman Glacier. Back in the air, continue down toward the coastal rainforests bordering the Tasman Sea before returning to the tour base.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 3434WHO_HLF3
Call +1 855 275 5071
Important information
Inclusions
Scenic helicopter flight with snow landing (5 - 10 minutes) • Live commentary on board • Pilot guide • GST (Goods and Services Tax)
Exclusions
Items of a personal nature
Duration
40m
Departure details
The Helicopter Line Franz Josef Heli Hike, Main South Road, Franz Josef / Waiau 7856, New Zealand
Inclusions
Scenic helicopter flight with snow landing (5 - 10 minutes) • Live commentary on board • Pilot guide • GST (Goods and Services Tax)
Exclusions
Items of a personal nature
Departure details
The Helicopter Line Franz Josef Heli Hike, Main South Road, Franz Josef / Waiau 7856, New Zealand
Duration
40m
Return details
Returns to original departure point
Additional information
Children must be accompanied by an adult, Children weighing less than 15kgs are required to sit on a parents lap.
It is recommended that warm clothing and suitable footwear be worn on this tour due to cold temperatures. Moderate fitness is required
Wheelchair accessible
Stroller accessible
Service animals allowed
Near public transportation
Infants must sit on laps
Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
Most travellers can participate
This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
This tour/activity will have a maximum of 6 travellers
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    The Helicopter Line Franz Josef Heli Hike
    Main South Road, Franz Josef / Waiau 7856, New Zealand
    See address & details
  • Pass by
    Franz Josef Glacier
    Tasman Glacier
    Southern Alps
    Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
  • You'll end at
    The Helicopter Line Franz Josef Heli Hike
    Main South Road, Franz Josef / Waiau 7856, New Zealand
    See address & details
+
Popular mentions

5.0
10 reviews
Excellent
9
Very good
1
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Bex
New Zealand5 contributions
Spectacular
I went on the 20 minute scenic flight with a snow landing and it was breathtaking. Pilot Toby and loader Bel were really friendly and informative. Nat was super helpful and kind and made sure everything was well taken care of, she’s an asset to the company.
Written 12 February 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi Bex, thank you for leaving us such a glowing review! The Franz Josef glacier is striking and flying so close to it on of our flights is a spectacular experience we’re lucky to have in New Zealand. We’re thrilled that our team here at The Helicopter Line made your time here on the Coast so special. We will pass your praise back to Nat, Bel and Toby, and we all hope to see you back here on the coast soon.
Written 28 February 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

clif471
Auckland, New Zealand4 contributions
Once in a lifetime experience
Jul 2020 • Family
Fantastic flight to the glacier on a bluebird day. Thanks so much for accomodating us last minute, will highly recommend to anyone coming to Franz Joesph.
Written 13 July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hello Clif. Thank you for your kind words. We’re pleased to hear that our team in Franz Josef were so helpful, last minute decisions can lead to creating some of the best memories. Thanks again for leaving us a positive review, we hope you enjoyed the rest of your time here on the West Coast. Kind regards, The Helicopter Line
Written 13 October 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Traveler53216
5 contributions
Great experience despite the weather
Nov 2019 • Solo
Booked the 40 mins helicopter flight with glacier landing. However the weather was terrible and had given up hope of the flight being able to go ahead. However there was a small window in which the weather improved enough for a shorter scenic helicopter flight to take place, but visibility wasn't good enough for a landing on the glacier. Staff refunded the difference between the cost of the trips. Everybody was very friendly and the views were great despite the poor weather. Well worth the trip.
Written 8 November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi there, Thank you for your lovely review. We are sorry that you were unable to experience the 40-minute flight but thrilled you enjoyed the flight you were able to go on. We are so pleased you found a service to be friendly. We strive to offer excellent customer service and this seems to be reflected in your experience with us. Wishing you a safe journey home. Kind Regards, The Helicopter Line, West Coast
Written 26 November 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Passport819621
1 contribution
Bad weather - but still amazing experience
Sep 2018 • Couples
We wanted to do the helihike for several days, but couldnt do it because of bad weather conditions. Despite of the bad weather, then the front desk personal tried everything they could to get us in the air, and in the end we finally managed to get a scenic flight and it was worth every penny.

The glacier is stunningly beautiful with the blue ice and rough formations. It is really an incredible sight. Walking around for a few minutes on top of the glacier, was also a completely stunning experience.

The complete trip is of course very short (only 20 minutes or so), but I would still recommend people to go. It is really beautiful.
Written 8 July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for leaving us a wonderful review. Unfortunately, as you experience the weather does play a major role in our operations, however, your patience was rewarded and we are thrilled that were able to experience a scenic flight with us. We do our best to re-book where we can and if it works for guests travel schedules. The flights are a fantastic way to see the expanse of our national park. We hope you enjoy the remainder of your New Zealand adventure. Kind Regards, The West Coast Team
Written 11 July 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Justin
Los Angeles, CA1 contribution
Started ruff but worth the wait
Jun 2019 • Friends
So our first flight of the morning was canceled due to bad weather for anyone that is visiting New Zealand and booking any kind of scenic flight tours the one thing I must warn you is be ready to either have your flight canceled or rescheduled the weather changes in New Zealand extremely quickly, I feel like no one talks about this so if you are going to be booking one make arrangements to do other things just in case. With that said I would like to thank the team for making our trip happen for us we were extremely excited to see the glacier. Everyone in the front office was extremely nice and helpful I don’t have enough good things to say about the office team we were treated like people not numbers and wow what a difference that makes. Our pilot was fantastic and even offered to snap a couple of photos for us, and the views we got can only be described as Astonishingly beautiful. I would 100% fly with them again. Thank you again to everyone in the organization you made our trip to Franz Josef.
Written 11 June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased the weather turned it on for you and you were able to fly with is. The weather is a huge factor in our operations and we do unfortunately cancel roughly 50% of our trips. We strive to offer fantastic customer service and this seems to reflected in your experience with us. Our pilots are always happy to oblige in taking photos of you on the snow and we agree that the views are beautiful. We hope to have you back to fly with us again in the future. Kind Regards, The West Coast Team
Written 20 June 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Wal M
Sydney, Australia31 contributions
What great people & oh, what a great flight !
Mar 2019 • Couples
I booked the flight for my wife and i a month before the flight. We arrived in Franz Josef on a Thursday eve. Rang the company to confirm the 1:00pm flight for Friday. Only to be told the booking i had made was for Thursday. Aargh... my paper work actually said that aswell. I had made a big mistake. The man booked us onto a 3:30pm flight for the Friday and told us to speak to the manager the following morning about the charges. We had visions of having to pay again due to MY mistake.
The manager was so nice, she said, your flight the previous day was cancelled, so, you only have to pay for today’s flight. They were all laughing with us due to a husband NOT getting killed by his wife for HIS mistake. What a day. These people are so helpful and nice to boot.
The flight was spectacular, amazing and a MUST DO. The sites you see are a once in a lifetime experience.
Do it with these people, they are honest and fun.
“The Helicopter Line” from the town of Franz Josef is the place to go.
Written 22 March 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi Wal M, Thank you for leaving us a fantastic review! We are so pleased we managed to work things out for you and get you flying, and we really appreciate the kind comments about our team. It is a stunning flight and the photos you have shared are amazing! We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday. Kind Regards, The West Coast Team
Written 3 April 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

graham j
Jersey, UK15 contributions
Great experience. Something special.
Feb 2019 • Couples
Had perfect weather which obviously makes a big difference to the experience. Well organised. Friendly and attentive staff, helpful and understanding.
Written 28 February 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi graham j, We really appreciate the positive feedback, thank you. It’s great that the weather was on your side as the flight is an amazing experience and it has to be perfect weather to do the big 40 minute flight that you were able to do! We hope you are enjoying the rest of your trip around New Zealand. Kind Regards, The West Coast Team
Written 6 March 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jai N
Dubai38 contributions
Stunning
Dec 2018 • Family
One of the high points of our trip. What better way to see the glacier than to take the flight over the peaks and be close at hand! We opted for the shorter version avoiding the hike, but the awe the sight inspired in us is everlasting.
The whole experience from the time we landed at the office of Helicopter Line West Coast to the point we got dropped off was pleasant and capably managed by the team.
Written 7 January 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi JaiddepN18, Thank you for your fantastic feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your trip with us. The flight you took is the best way to see the Glaciers and the surround areas. The views from the air are far more than you will see from the ground. We are pleased that our customer service was pleasant and you enjoyed your experience with us. Kind Regards, The West Coast Team
Written 13 January 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Thomas L
Whakatane, New Zealand14 contributions
Very helpful at the front counter
Thank you for all your help getting us on our 20 minute Franz flight! We had a great time in the air and in the snow. Will defiantly recommend to anyone we pass.

Thomas and Alice :)
Written 25 May 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi Thomas L, Thanks for taking the time to give us an awesome review! All of our scenic flights offer stunning views over at least one glacier and amongst the snowy mountains, so we are thrilled that you were able to fly. We hope you enjoy the rest of your visit. Kind Regards, The West Coast Team
Written 8 June 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

laurabrown333
Sydney, Australia83 contributions
Special
An amazing way to properly experience the glacier. Unfortunately due to the weather my trip had to be modified- being able to visit only one glacier and not being able to land, but I still found this truncated trip well worth it. The staff were very accommodating with trying to ensure that you had some experience even if it wasn’t as planned. They also offered a partial refund as the trip wasn’t exactly what had been booked. Good customer service.
Written 30 January 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi Laura, Thank you for your lovely review. We are sorry we were unable to land on your flight due to weather but it thrills is to learn that you enjoyed your flight despite this. We try our best to keep clients informed about the weather and keep them fully aware of the information we have at hand. We are pleased to know that you found our customer service satisfactory. We hope the remainder of your holiday was just as special as your flight with us and you had a safe return journey home. Kind regards, The West Coast Team
Written 12 February 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: The Helicopter Line West Coast
Macsmith308
Macsmith308
00
Great adventure
Great experience great staff support and adventure. Loved the variety of flights, walking, climbing and ice experi
Lee W
Lee W
00
What an amazing experience!
Wow! Wow! Wow! We had a perfectly stunning day for our flight over both the Fox & Franz Josef glaciers! Then the am
125ejm
125ejm
00
Incredible - Definitely Add To Your List
We had the best time, as first we both were pooping our dacks with the thought of a helicopter ride. But Brendan on
heatherfs2019
heatherfs2019
00
Once in a lifetime experience!
Helicopter Line had great reviews compared to their competitors sp we chose them for the heli hike at Franz Josef.
nzwestie
nzwestie
00
Bloody clouds!
Bloody clouds! We missed out on the trip as the clouds came down low. I still gave an excellent rating as the who
iansD8192QR
iansD8192QR
00
Help flight from Glentanner
Fantastic experience and a great pilot/guide. Good service on the ground by staff in helping us decide on the best
cassandraw224
cassandraw224
00
Sometimes the weather gods just beat you!
We didn't actually get to do this activity because although the weather was balmy and in the 20s at ground level, t
Scenictourista
Scenictourista
00
Incredible
We did first pilots choice today and just wanna say a massive thank you to our pilot Brian absolutely accomodating
Fearless530387
Fearless530387
00
Extremely disappointed
We had booked this trip for Tuesday 23 February at midday. This was to be the highlight of our month long South I
cunnington97
cunnington97
00
Picture perfect
We were very fortunate to hit Franz Joseph on a crystal clear, windless day! This is a very professionally run tour
608tinat
608tinat
00
Highlight of our South Island Trip
This was something I had dreamed about doing for years. We originally booked from Fox Glacier but the weather was n
Kirstynicmal
Kirstynicmal
00
World class experience
I was terrified to do the heli hike but I knew my partner really wanted to so I bit my lip and went anyway. The co
hoihoNZ
hoihoNZ
00
Mind-blowing and an experience of a lifetime!
Our family of 3 (including our 8 year old child) had been eagerly looking forward to the glacier heli-hike for over
HungusKiwi
HungusKiwi
00
Fantastic glacier flight
We did 20 min heli flight on 3 Jan. Loved it and would totally recommend! Sadly the weather wasn't on our side for
CJandMarz
CJandMarz
00
Bucketlist worthy experience!!
Absolutely amazing views and Toby our pilot was very friendly and informative. This was a big tick off my bucket li
Frequently Asked Questions about Franz Josef Mountain Scenic Helicopter Flight

Franz Josef Mountain Scenic Helicopter Flight price starts from $504.78. Discover and book Franz Josef Mountain Scenic Helicopter Flight on Tripadvisor

Franz Josef Mountain Scenic Helicopter Flight cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Franz Josef Mountain Scenic Helicopter Flight on Tripadvisor

Franz Josef Mountain Scenic Helicopter Flight is hosted by The Helicopter Line West Coast. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact The Helicopter Line West Coast on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Franz Josef Mountain Scenic Helicopter Flight on Tripadvisor

On average, this experience will take approximately 40m. Discover and book Franz Josef Mountain Scenic Helicopter Flight on Tripadvisor