Franz Josef Tours
Franz Josef Glacier Heli-Hike
4.5
LIKELY TO SELL OUT*

Franz Josef Glacier Heli-Hike

By Franz Josef Glacier Guides
About
Heli-hike Franz Josef Glacier on a small-group glacier-hiking tour that explores a maze of ice caves, pinnacles, and crevasses. Flying over Franz Josef means spectacular panoramic views of the massive glacier. And with ample hiking time, see more of the glacial landscape than most Franz Josef tours, traveling mountaineer-style with crampons and ice axes.
from
$712.83
per adult
Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 10-99, max of 11 per group
Duration: 4h
Start time: Check availability
Live guide: English
More

Highlights
  • Spectacular views and photo ops of Franz Josef Glacier from the helicopter
  • Includes warm clothes and safety gear
  • Group size limited to 11 people to ensure personalized service 
  • Four departures available for your convenience

  • Round-trip helicopter flights to Franz Josef Glacier
  • 2-hours 15 minutes (approx.) guided glacier walk
  • All hiking equipment (Gore-tex jackets, over trousers, woolen hats and gloves, leather boots, crampons)
What's not included
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Gratuities

Make your way to a helicopter base camp in Franz Josef to meet your guide and suit up in warm clothing—you can supplement your own gear with jackets, pants, hats, gloves, and leather boots.  Board the helicopter for the scenic flight to Franz Josef Glacier, with sweeping views over the ice field, then land on the glacier itself for the guided glacier hike.  Following your guide through the icy landscape of caves and pinnacles, see a forest of ice formations and learn about the environmental changes that are transforming the face of Franz Josef Glacier. When the hike concludes, fly back over the glacier on your return to Franz Josef.

Start:
  • Franz Josef Glacier Guides, Te Ao Marama, Glacier Base, 63 cron street Franz Josef Glacier Franz Josef Glacier, Franz Josef / Waiau 7886, New Zealand
End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Near public transportation
    If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 2524HDICE

    • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
    • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
    • Minimum age is 10 years old
    • Minimum weight is 35kg and height of 137cm
    • It is advised that families travelling with younger children to book an afternoon tour when the track is more suitable
    • Children must be accompanied by an adult
    • Glacier walks are moderately difficult, clients need to be fit and able. Refunds will not be available for clients who cannot participate on the day due to inappropriate fitness levels, i.e. it is important you are selecting the right trip for your physical fitness ability. Guides reserve the right to curtail or cancel trips for clients whose fitness is not appropriate
    • Operates in most weather conditions, please dress appropriately. Two to four warm upper- body layers of clothing are recommended, quick-drying trousers or shorts (no jeans), a hat and gloves, sunglasses, sunscreen and a camera
    • The Operator reserves the absolute right to cancel or vary any service for any reason including as a result of weather conditions, insufficient reservations or any unforeseen event or circumstance. These trips are weather dependent.
    • For Health and Safety reasons, we are unable to guide pregnant women. Please note: We have a weight limit of 115kg per person on the Heli Hike.
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 11 travellers

    • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

    How much is Franz Josef Glacier Heli-Hike?
    Franz Josef Glacier Heli-Hike price starts from $709.33. Discover and book Franz Josef Glacier Heli-Hike on Tripadvisor
    What is the Franz Josef Glacier Heli-Hike cancellation policy?
    Franz Josef Glacier Heli-Hike cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Franz Josef Glacier Heli-Hike on Tripadvisor
    Which company provides Franz Josef Glacier Heli-Hike?
    Franz Josef Glacier Heli-Hike is hosted by Franz Josef Glacier Guides. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Franz Josef Glacier Guides on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Franz Josef Glacier Heli-Hike on Tripadvisor
    How much time do I need for Franz Josef Glacier Heli-Hike?
    On average, this experience will take approximately 4h. Discover and book Franz Josef Glacier Heli-Hike on Tripadvisor

    If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 2524HDICE

    Reserve your spot

    Similar experiences

    Itinerary
    • Te Ao Marama, Glacier Base, 63 cron street Franz Josef Glacier Franz Josef Glacier, Franz Josef / Waiau 7886, New Zealand
    • 1
      This is where you need to check in for the Glacier Tour.
    About the operator
    Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
    • Franz Josef Glacier Guides
      2,224
      Franz Josef, New Zealand
      Joined in August 2010
    • David L
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Outstanding tour
      We had Maya as our guide. She was outstanding - funny and knowledgeable. She grew up in the area so provided interesting historical color. On the way to the glacier, we walked through the lovely rain forest and learned about the interesting flora and fauna, including medicinal properties of fauna used by the Māoris. If you’re lucky enough to tour on a clear day, the waterfall and glacier are spectacular. I highly recommend Maya and this tour.
      Written 16 January 2024
    • janiephil
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great tour of the Franz Joseph Glacier
      We took a guided tour of the Franz Joseph Glacier with Maya. She was an excellent guide with a good sense of humor. She knew about the glacier and the flora and fauna of the area. She is of Maori descent and had a delivery which included comments about her heritage. When we first got to the area, it was clouded over, so she took us through the rain forest first and then by the time we got to the glacier the clouds had lifted. We highly recommend this tour and Maya.
      Written 15 January 2024
    • rebelnorm
      0 contributions
      2.0 of 5 bubbles
      Glacier has receeded, cannot see it
      It takes less than 30min to get up here and it’s through a bit of Forrest with views. Very crowded. When you get to the top you’ll realize you’re just looking at a mountain with clouds, the glacier has receeded and probably only visible a small percentage of the time. We went in summer when it is supposedly most visible We did take a helicopter to see it and that was amazing, so do that if able
      Written 11 January 2024
    • lachlantm
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Exceptional glacier experience
      The biggest challenge for many experiences in New Zealand is the weather, especially so on the South Island’s west coast. This was the second attempt at the heli-hike after weather cancelled plans in October 2022. Safe to say this time, the weather held and the experience was phenomenal! Our guide was superb, health and safety is forefront and any medical conditions / injuries are thoroughly discussed before setting off. The heli ride was fun and the 2 hours spent on the ice was second to none - excellent from start to finish and so worth it!
      Written 28 December 2023
    • johncZ8263SL
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great service, bad weather.
      So the staff before and after were great. Weather did not allow our flight to go but trek to the glacier and made the best we could. Would try again!
      Written 8 December 2023
    • Sightseer28991027416
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Lovely Hike
      We did this with Adventures by Disney and I see why Disney chose them. Our guides were Romina, Drew, and Angus and they were all cream of the crop! They had lots of knowledge of local flora and fauna and the history of the glacier as well. We were in good hands with them, definitely recommend this experience for a nice hike.
      Written 28 December 2022
    • J D
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Incredible staff, great tour - definitely recommend!
      We booked the Heli Hike, but unfortunately, due to weather, this had to be cancelled as the helicopter could not safely fly up to the glacier and land us there. It's clear that they take safety very seriously (which I really appreciate), and this cancellation was communicated clearly and promptly once the weather changed. They offered to re-book us for the following day, which wasn't possible given our travel schedule, or to attend the valley walking hike with a partial reimbursement as an alternative. We opted to join the early morning valley hike, and I am so glad that we did! The tour guides were incredibly friendly and knowledgeable. They carefully assessed everyone's outfits, then offered appropriate equipment, jackets, gloves, and gear to anyone who they thought needed it and encouraged people to be prepared. The waterproof jacket that they loaned to me was amazing! I have no idea what brand it was, and I wish I'd taken a picture of the logo because I would love to get one! (it rained the entire walk, but the jacket kept me bone dry, and it was awesome) While I'm sad we didn't get to ice climb and check out the glacier, I was really impressed with the valley tour, and we ended up having a lot of fun. I learned a lot about NZs natural plants, history, and local animals. The guides kept a close eye on everyone, regularly did head counts, and made sure that everyone was safe. They were very accommodating, very careful, very prepared, and just all-around excellent tour guides. If you get the chance to stop in at Franz Josef, I highly recommend taking one of their tours.
      Written 22 August 2022
    • cunnington97
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Family fun
      This was a fantastic experience for our family of 5. Our guide, Jack, was very knowledgeable and engaging. We had around 2 hours on the glacier, and Jack added in features such as crawling through an ice cave which our kids loved.
      Written 15 January 2021
    • NirvanaBee
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Xmas/New Year road trip
      The staff and guides at the Heli Line helicopter were particularly helpful and friendly. Everything was explained in detail and program efficiently handled. Brendan who checked us in in particular was a star.
      Written 30 December 2020
    • shandapanda1993
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Awesome fun!
      Went on the 2 hour glacier hike and it was absolutely breathtaking and amazing. Well worth the four day wait for the weather to allow but then I got an absolutely stunner of a day. My guide was fantastic and the people I met was fun and awesome. Highly recommend doing this Atleast once! Well worth the money. Got heaps of photo opportunities too at no extra cost which is pretty special considering other places.
      Written 11 November 2020
    • annedunne24
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Truly amazing experience
      The helihike was simply amazing. The Franz Joseph Guide Comnpnay were so professional, safety conscience and covered every aspect of the tour. We well kitted out with gloves, jackets beanie hats and cripons for our shoes. I could not recommend Chris our guide highly enough, he ticked all the boxes, he was super, meticulous regarding our safety and made a fun and informative guide. The helicoptor trip was awesome and the walk on the glaciers was truly incredible. One of the high lights of our trip to New Zealand. We also got free entrance to the thermal baths after our hike which was so relaxing and enjoyable.
      Written 30 March 2020
    • Lesleysayers
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Best trip ever
      Not to be missed. Very friendly and informative guide. Felt totally confident about level of safety on the heli hike both in the helicopter and on the ice. And awesome experience
      Written 12 March 2020
    • sally b
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great experience
      In 7 weeks away from home, this was the highlight. So lucky to get a weather window - trip was interesting as well as exciting, Rebekah the guide was knowledgeable and the whole company felt organised and reliable. Good size group (11). All equipment provided such as boots and crampons, overtrousers and jackets.
      Written 12 March 2020
    • PaulandChris86
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Professional and excellent experience
      Could not fault the whole experience and would definitely recommend. Parking was no problem, booked in and introduced to the hike guide who showed us through all aspects of the hike and what to expect from walking to the helicopter, the flight itself and the hike. The hike is stunning and was especially so because of the perfectly clear day. The guide was very informative about the glacier and we learnt so much. Could not fault anything about the whole trip.
      Written 12 March 2020
    • Curious29772702048
      0 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      Once in a lifetime photo opportunity, with problems
      The glacier tour was awesome. Our guide was awesome. BUT, I had a miserabe experience with my camera gear. I normally hike, etc, with my DSLR in a "top loader" case which is marginally bigger than my camera and lens. The supervisor declared that my top loader case was a camera bag and would not allow me to take it. So I had a very frustrating last minute abandonment excercise so that the only thing I took on the tour was my naked camera. It looked like I was about to get booted off the tour with the supervisor standing over me watching everything I did. I had to leave my top loader case in an unsecured public access "cubby".
      Written 11 March 2020
    See all 2 reviews
    These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

    Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

    Popular mentions

    We perform checks on reviews.
    Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
    Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
    When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
    Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
    Learn more about our review moderation.
    4.5
    4.5 of 5 bubbles332 reviews
    Excellent
    261
    Very good
    30
    Average
    8
    Poor
    13
    Terrible
    20

    Emma
    2 contributions
    1.0 of 5 bubbles
    Sept 2019
    This company who also run the hot pools gave terrible customer service. My experience: as soon as myself and my tour group paid for our trip and the last person in line handed their money over they suddenly declared it cancelled. They told us if we had paid by card ( which most of us did as carrying around hundreds of dollars cash is dangerous, especially when backpacking) we will have to wait up to 10 working days to get our money back - no exceptions. As a backpacker on a tight budget that's a huge chunk of money missing that myself and my friends didn't even see back in our bank accounts until we returned to our home country as this was the end of our trip. I explained this and asked nicely if they could make an exception and refund in another way such as cash or simply cancel the purchase so we all who paid with our cards don't miss out on the other options available for our short stay in the area, but the woman on the desk refused in the most inconsiderate manner possible, seemingly enjoying ruining our chances to see anything with another company that day. Considering how many people they went through just in my line for that flight time that day and how expensive these tours are that's a nice kitty in the bank to earn interest off by the end of each day that could sit there for two weeks for tours they didn't bother waiting a few minutes longer to be sure they were even running. They could have helped out in another way - they just didn't care to, saying 'company policy' doesn't allow them and when we asked to speak to the manager they refused. My suggestion to future travelers who are keen to go with this company is to pay by cash so they have to refund you immediately. Go with anyone else if you can. That day other tours in the area still went ahead and were much more sensibly run - cleverly saying they take payment at the end of the tour so if they couldn't complete it all due to sudden bad weather you would only pay for the portion you did, or not at all. This company could learn from their competitors and do the same.
    Written 2 January 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Kia Ora emmamV2877ON, Thank you for your review. I'm extremely sorry to hear that you did not have the best experience with our staff and did not manage to get on a Glacier Heli Hike. Unfortunately the weather is constantly changing here on the West Coast and as the Heli Hike is such a long tour, being 3.5hours long in total we do need a weather gap of 3.5 - 4 hours so we can get everyone back down off the ice safetly. The Safety of all guests and staff are our number one prioity here and it is never our intention to not go ahead with the tour, although sometimes we do have to make those hard descions to cancel last minute. In regards to the payment, we do refund back onto the card you have paid with while you are there or we send it to our accounts team for them to process it if needed. However with bank transfers it can always take up to 10 buisness days to process into your bank account and unfortunately we have no control over that. If you do not pay by cash we are unable to refund in cash as we do not hold a huge amount of money on site for people unless they have paid by cash. Due to the large number of people we see through our business daily we cannot let people on tours without payment first as there is no way to control taking payment when everyone arrives back at once and expect everyone to come back to pay. Most Scenic flight companys do take payment for their flight after the tour has been as that is always a maximum of six people which is a lot easier to control and keep track of compared to our large trip numbers. Again I am really sorry you did not have the best experience with us here in Franz Josef Glacier it is never our intentions for anyone to leave feeling like this. If you would like to discuss anything further please contact me directly on aimee.blackburn@franzjosefglacier.com. Ngā mihi, Aimee
    Written 2 January 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Anand B
    Mumbai, India23 contributions
    2.0 of 5 bubbles
    Dec 2019 • Couples
    Unfortunately our booking was cancelled due to weather and we learned late that the cancellation percentage is very high (50%+ as per our hotel). We were really looking forward to this one. Suggest future travellers to plan well and keep some backup days. And not make this a key part of their travel. Could even avoid Franz Joseph altogether. We unfortunately made multiple non refundable bookings around this activity towards the last leg of our travel as it is not easy to get in and get out of franz joseph. Could have done lot other activities or places by avoiding this. Anyways lesson learned. :)
    Written 1 January 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Kia Ora Anand B, Thank you for your review. I'm really sorry to hear your trip was cancelled due to the weather, unfortunately we have no control over the weather. We do recommend people to try and spend atleast 2 days in Franz Josef incase the trip is cancelled we can always try transfer you to the next day if we have any availability. In regards to the percentage you mentioned of how often we cancel, that number is incorrect and we tend to fly a lot more than what we cancel however we have had very bad luck with weather for quite a number of weeks now. Apologies again that you did not mange to experience the Franz Josef Glacier but we hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Ngā mihi, Aimee
    Written 2 January 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Jenny T
    30 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    We got really lucky that the weather clear up for us. From booking at front desk to check in and being up the glacier everything is taken care of. We joined the 11.15 am tour with Sam, the front desk didn’t charge us until it can be confirm that the weather is good to go.

    Filling in forms and gear rental is clear. The helicopter ride is fast but fun. Sam received us at the helipad and we love her character . Her briefing is clear and make sure we stay as a group and safe on the ice. We also feel the walking pace is good , allow plenty of time for photos , she also welcome questions and offer took photos for us , I would definitely recommend her .

    End of tour the complimentary hot pool is just perfect , mind you can only go in once with the wristband they give u.

    Overall I would want to do it again !
    Written 15 February 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Kia Ora Jennyt355, Thank you for taking the time to place your review on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your Glacier Heli Hike with the Glacier Hot Pools afterwards and that the weather managed to clear up for you! It is also great to see you really liked Sam's guiding, I will be sure to pass on your lovely comments to her. Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back to the Franz Josef area again one day! Ngā mihi, Aimee
    Written 15 February 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Jon R
    Canberra, Australia10 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Jun 2021
    My partner and I had an amazing experience on our Franz Josef Heli Hike with Andrew, Craig and the team at Franz Josef Glacier Guides and The Helicopter Line. We went in early June and were fortunate to have perfect weather with a small group of just 6 plus the guides. We were well briefed throughout the process and felt super safe at all times, from the helicopter to putting on safety equipment to climbing on the glacier itself. We spent around 2 hours on the glacier which was extraordinary, climbing through narrow crevasses and seeing incredible vistas of snow-capped mountains juxtapositioned against the rocky glacier. Andrew and Craig work hard to ensure a comfortable and ultra-safe experience in this extraordinary location, and the guides were super friendly and open in sharing every bit of information you could want about the glaciers and the region, as well as the impact of climate change. At $485 per person, this isn't a cheap experience, but it was worth every dollar! A true bucket list experience that won't be there forever, so don't miss out!
    Written 15 June 2021
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Kia ora 937jonr, Thanks for reaching out to share the experience with everyone. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing trip with us. We will be sure to pass on the kind words to Andrew, Craig and the team. Safety is our top priority and we are very open to talk about what our guests want to explore and learn about. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope this inspires others to do the same! Nga mihi, Romina
    Written 29 July 2021
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Darshni P
    1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Feb 2024 • Friends
    An amazing experience! The entire process was so smooth and all the staff, from check in all the way through to guides, were knowledgable and friendly.

    We booked last minute approx 2 days before the departure date. The website was initially slow to take payment and remained on the loading screen, but we got there in the end. The team were well responsive via email.

    On arrival, there is free parking on the main street and a tap to fill up water bottles. We were allocated into groups of 11, which was split across 2 helicopters. Our guide, Yula, was so fun and patient. As the first group onto the ice, we were able to stop at a sheltered part of the glacier alone and watch the sunrise over the mountain whilst she told us an indigineous origin story about the glacier - magical!

    Try to factor in some breathing room into your itinerary. Some flights in the afternoon were cut short due to incoming cloud but the team are very good at communicating this as a possibility throughout. They do everything they can to maximise the experience safely.

    I would thoroughly recommend this experience to anyone!
    Written 10 March 2024
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Kia ora darshnip2024, We are so glad to hear you had an amazing time on Ka Roimata O Hine Hukatere! Safe travels on the rest of your journey throughout New Zealand! Nga mihi nui
    Written 20 March 2024
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Ave9961
    Oxford, UK44 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    I did the heli-hike whilst doing a tour with kiwi experience.

    Myself and my group checked in at 8am and filled out forms. However, due to the low-lying cloud that often falls around the glacier, the morning tour was cancelled as the helicopters would not be able to pass through. So we were booked onto the afternoon trip at 2pm instead, hoping the cloud would clear away.
    Luckily, the cloud did not hang around and we were able to get on the 2pm trip. We were given trousers, jackets, hats, gloves, a bag, boots and crampons. You cannot take your own bag onto the ice, but the bags provided are large enough for anything you might need eg. Phone and snack. The service was efficient and staff were all friendly!
    The flight to the glacier was absolutely incredible- a must do, it was so beautiful and exciting! Once we got to the glacier we met our guide Michael. He took us around the glacier, cutting out steps when needed with the axe.
    Michael was such a great tour guide, very knowledgeable, friendly, patient and professional!! Had such an amazing day learning about the glacier and walking along it. Felt so safe the entire time as well as our guide was just fantastic.
    Thank you so much for the best experience ever!!!
    Written 4 March 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Kia Ora Ave9961, Thank you for taking the time to place your review on TripAdvisor. We are so glad to see you had the most amazing time on the Glacier Heli Hike, and that you think it is the best thing you have done! It is definately a once in a life time experience. We certainly agree that Michael is an excellent guide, I will be pass on your lovely comments to him and the team here! Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back to the stunning West Coast area soon. Ngā mihi, Aimee
    Written 5 March 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Hannah M
    London, UK21 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Mar 2020
    We knew that this was definitely something that we wanted to do when planning our trip to NZ. We were informed that the previous two days had been cancelled due to poor weather, hence the trip being a little busier than usual apparently. The staff are all very realistic with you when you arrive and make it clear that safety is the priority, and that flights will not go ahead if there is any risk.
    Thankfully luck was on our side we were able to go ahead - and what an experience it was. Our guide Eliot was great - seemed very knowledgable and experienced, and lead the group well. The track through the glacier is well maintained and you are given all the equipment you will need.
    It was amazing.
    Written 14 March 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Kia Ora Hannah M, Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. It is good to hear you had an amazing experience on the Glacier Heli Hike and the weather turned good for you! I will pass on your lovely words and review to your guide Eliot. Thanks again and Safe Travels. Ngā mihi (Kind Regards), Aimee
    Written 19 March 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    andrewomahony23
    Stockton Heath, UK140 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Wow what an absolutely amazing trip this morning. We were on the 8.45 trip and were so lucky with the weather. The cloud held off so the helicopters were flying. The rides up and down were smooth and gave great views. Jake was our guide on the ice and he was an absolute star. Having briefed us down at the main office he assisted us all with our crampons. He constantly checked to see we were ok. He was really personable and informative about the glacier whilst also swinging his ice axe to make our route easier! The trip through the crevasse was fantastic and the whole 2 hours on the ice so memorable. A real highlight of our time in NZ
    Written 20 February 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Kia Ora andrewomahony23, Thank you for taking the time to place your review on TripAdvisor. It is really great to hear you had an amazing time on the Glacier Heli Hike with your guide Jake! I am pleased to see it was the highlight of your trip to New Zealand! I will pass on your lovely words to Jake your guide! Thanks again and Safe Travels! Ngā mihi, Aimee
    Written 20 February 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    bgolob
    London27 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Oct 2019
    We did the glacier heli-hike as well as the private and public hot tubs and massage and these guys were great at all of those experiences.

    Definitely would recommend the private pools, but we had a really nice time in the public ones as well.

    The heli-hike was really great. We had to reschedule because of weather and they were very amenable to changing our booking. We got lucky and got to fly. The guides were clearly knowledgeable and discussed interesting facts about the glacier and local area. My only small gripe is that we wished they provided MORE info while we were actually hiking the glacier. Usually, commentary was provided when we stopped, and it was great, but it would've been good to know what kinds of things we were seeing while we were seeing them. But that's a small thing. Everything else was excellent and we felt very safe the entire time.
    Written 25 June 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Kia Ora Brittany, Thankyou for your review. We are so pleased you had such a great trip and felt safe throughout. Our guides are passionate about the glacier and surrounding environment and would be very happy to answer any questions you may have on the trip, so don't feel afraid to speak out next time! Safe travels! Ngā Mihi, Romina
    Written 19 November 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Sandhya F
    Hamilton, New Zealand6 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Dec 2020
    This was my favorite thing to do in the South Island! We had perfect weather (Franz Joseph was warmer compared to Queenstown). The staff was wonderful. The people at the front desk were amazing! I am writing this review after a month of the experience and can't seem to remember the guy's name at the front desk! He was just amazing and so funny! Our guide, Jake that took us through the hike was super as well. He was well informed, was clearly passionate about what he did an excellent job of answering questions.
    Written 25 January 2021
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Kia ora, Thank you for your message. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your day with us doing the Heli hike and that the weather played the game for you and you were able to get up onto the ice. We really appreciate the feedback and I shall forward on your lovely comments onto the staff in question. Nga mihi Rebecca
    Written 26 January 2021
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Showing results 1-10 of 312
    *Likely to sell out: Based on Viator’s booking data and information from the provider from the past 30 days, it seems likely this experience will sell out through Viator, a Tripadvisor company.

    Franz Josef Glacier Heli-Hike provided by Franz Josef Glacier Guides

    All Franz Josef HotelsFranz Josef Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Franz Josef
    All things to do in Franz Josef
    Spas & Wellness in Franz JosefDay Trips in Franz Josef
    RestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire