Tours and Tickets

Fox and Franz Josef Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Fox Glacier provided by Glacier Helicopters

Fox and Franz Josef Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Fox Glacier

Fox and Franz Josef Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Fox Glacier
4.5
Book in advance
from
$360.00
per adult
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Gear/equipment sanitised between use
Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
What you can expect during your visit
Gear/equipment sanitised between use
Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
About
Know before you go
  • Duration: 30m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
Know before you go
  • Duration: 30m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
What to expect
Make your way to Fox Glacier, where you’ll present this voucher for a 30-minute helicopter tour. Board the helicopter, strap in, then lift off above Fox Glacier, which stretches for 8.1 miles (13 km) through Westland Tai Poutini National Park. You’ll see ice falls and rock falls from above, and get aerial views of the glacier’s path down the valley. Keep flying towards Franz Josef Glacier—the glacier was named after the then-Emperor of Austria when a German explorer spotted it in 1865—and touch down on a snowfield to throw some glacier snowballs and take the selfies of a lifetime. Take to the air again for the return flight to Fox Glacier, where this tour concludes at the original departure point.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 28287P6
Call +1 855 275 5071
Important information
Inclusions
Professional Guide • Entry/Admission - Fox Glacier South Side Walk • Entry/Admission - Franz Josef Glacier
Exclusions
Food and drinks • Hotel pickup and drop-off
Duration
30m
Departure details
Fox Glacier, Fox Glacier, Westland Tai Poutini National Park, West Coast Region, South Island Departure Point: Glacier Helicopters, Main South Road, SH6, Fox Glacier Address: Located in the township of Fox Glacier on the Main Street though town - Main South Road, SH6 Dates: Daily
Inclusions
Professional Guide • Entry/Admission - Fox Glacier South Side Walk • Entry/Admission - Franz Josef Glacier
Exclusions
Food and drinks • Hotel pickup and drop-off
Departure details
Fox Glacier, Fox Glacier, Westland Tai Poutini National Park, West Coast Region, South Island Departure Point: Glacier Helicopters, Main South Road, SH6, Fox Glacier Address: Located in the township of Fox Glacier on the Main Street though town - Main South Road, SH6 Dates: Daily
Duration
30m
Return details
Returns to original departure point
Additional information
Children must be accompanied by an adult
We recommend you bring along warm clothes, sunglasses, sturdy footwear, your camera and a sense of adventure!
Not wheelchair accessible
Near public transportation
Infants must sit on laps
Infant seats available
For safety reasons, we do not allow selfie sticks, drones, flammable liquids, lighters, iPads/ tablets and bags of any description on any of our flights.
We fly all year round, weather permitting. Please note: On Christmas, we only operate for half the day (9 am - 12 pm).
Most travellers can participate
This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
This tour/activity will have a maximum of 100 travellers
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    Fox Glacier
    See Important Information for details
  • 1
    Fox Glacier South Side Walk
    Stop: 15 minutes - Admission included
    See details
  • 2
    Franz Josef Glacier
    Stop: 15 minutes - Admission included
    See details
  • You'll end at
    Fox Glacier
    See Important Information for details
+
Popular mentions

4.5
13 reviews
Excellent
11
Very good
1
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
1

Amelia H
Napier, New Zealand3 contributions
Flight of lifetime!
Mar 2021
What an incredible experience. From the moment we walked in, we were greeted by the friendliest tour guide named Brenden. He really represents the image of the company amazingly well. Happy, helpful, full of energy and so well presented. We walked off the street in the hope that we could get a flight ASAP, and with his hard work, he managed to get us flying within the hour! A big thanks to him as he made the process so easy and exciting, John as well who took us through the briefing and to the helicopter, as well as our awesome pilot Tim, who took us on the most spectacular ride of our lives. It truely blew our minds and he was very knowledgeable and very friendly and made an effort to make us feel welcome! Thanks to the team again for an experience of a lifetime and one we will never forget. Even though it's a hard time with Covid and getting the customers, it's so important to support these businesses and we can't recommend a better company and team.
Written 13 March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hello Amelia H Thank you for taking the time to leave such a glowing review. The team at Glacier Helicopters all take pride in our work and in delivering unforgettable experiences of the glaciers and southern alps. We always aim to exceed all expectations, and we’re thrilled to hear we helped you have such a wonderful day. Thank you again for your recommendation, we hope you enjoyed the rest of your time on the coast.
Written 28 March 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Macarena P
3 contributions
This experience was unreal!!
Dec 2020 • Couples
We had incredible weather which allowed us to see both Mount Tasman and Mount Cook from the air. The flight was gentle (had no turbulence) the pilot was great (providing us with stunning views and commentary of the different glaciers in the area), getting out and walking on top of the glacier was incredible (it was nice and warm as well, surprisingly). The staff were the best, friendly and accomodating, would 100% recommend!!
Written 14 January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kia ora Macarena P It sounds like you had the perfect experience with us! Your photos of the massive ice formations are breath taking, it’s hard to experience the scale and beauty of Glacier Country without taking a helicopter tour. We’re lucky enough to have snow all year around- but you’re right! In summer it can be surprisingly toasty on our snow landings. Thank you for taking the time to write us a positive review, we hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
Written 25 January 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Janet J
Auckland, New Zealand43 contributions
Lifetime experience
Jan 2021 • Family
A must do experience when in the Glacier country. Our pilot Tim is extremely knowledgeable and has 27 years of flying experience. Helped us click some memorable picture's while at the snow as well.
Bel was our flight loader she is very knowledgeable and helpful too. Guided us so very well while entering and exiting the helicopter for our safety.
We were served by Jess very well managed 👏
Jess took us through the entire process so smoothly and she definitely made our trip memorable by upgrading our flights at no additional costs. She is very knowledgeable and explained the safety procedures while in the sky to make an amazing experience for lifetime. Definitely will recommend flying with them and look forward to flying in the future again.
Written 13 January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hello Janet J What an awesome shot you have taken of one of our popular landing sites- the Fox Neve. It looks like you had perfect weather for your flight too! We’re pleased to hear that our team went out of their way to make sure you felt right at home. S afety is key here bat Glacier Helicopters, our in depth safety briefings are one of the ways we ensure that your trip runs as smoothly as possible. Thank you for leaving us a great review, we will pass your feedback on to Jess, Bel and Tim, and we look forward to seeing you again!
Written 25 January 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

owai
Tauranga, New Zealand81 contributions
Well worth the money for top experience on the glacier
Sep 2020 • Couples
We had a fantastic experience with Glacier helicopters. All staff Jess, Bel and pilot Tim were extremely friendly and helpful. It was a beautiful morning with no clouds and lots of fresh snow from a couple of days ago. The flight landed on a flat area not far below the summit of Aoraki Mt Cook and we had lots of time to enjoy the scenery. Tim gave a good commentary and a smooth flight close up to glaciers and other features. A special highlight of our trip.
Written 3 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi Owai, thank you for taking the time to leave us a fantastic review! We are glad that you were able to see the Glaciers and Aoraki Mt Cook in their full glory on a beautiful morning! It's great to hear the wonderful feedback about our team members, we will be sure to pass on the positive comments to them. Thanks again for the pleasant comments, we hope you enjoyed your time on the West Coast. Kind regards, Glacier Helicopters
Written 13 October 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

David and Lisa
Blenheim, New Zealand5 contributions
Glacier fly over and landing
Jun 2020
Jess Looked after us and Bel was the Loader. They were lovely to Lisa and I made the experience a pleasure.
Dion was the Pilot. He was also a pleasure to fly with with lots of local info to share.
We fortunately had the best weather possible so the views were breath taking. It was a highlight of our road trip after COVID-19. Well worth a visit especially with so few tourists around.
Written 12 July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi David and Lisa. Winter is a special time here on the coast. Lot’s of blue skies, more fresh snow and less people around can equate to a truly memorable experience! Jess, Bel and Dion are wonderful members of the team at Glacier Helicopters, we’re glad to hear that they helped make your trip as special as possible. Thank you for taking the time to write us a lovely review, and for supporting us through these times. We all hope you enjoy the rest of your road trip, and safe travels back home.
Written 16 July 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

MPC28
Cardiff, UK83 contributions
Great Customer Service
Feb 2020
Sadly our trip didn't go quite as planned as the weather had other ideas - heavy cloud coming in as we were due to take off. That said, the pilot was willing to take us up to see the stunning Fox Glacier but immediately afterwards, we returned to base for as he said, health and safety is paramount. The 5 of us on board were all agreed that it had been worth doing - even when trip had been curtailed. Staff kindly took photos of us on our mobile phones and as we returned to the office, we were advised that we would be eligible for a partial refund which came through promptly. Nothing but praise for the staff with a special shout-out to Nat. Thank you guys - still an experience we will always remember - for all the right reasons!!
Written 15 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review. We are sorry that you didn’t get the opportunity to do the trip which you booked; however, it sounds like you both still had a wonderful time flying up over the Fox Glacier. The weather here is very unpredictable due to the alpine environment in which we operate in. When the weather is not good enough for a snow landing, we can sometimes still fly a 12 minute over flight without a landing. This explores the Fox or Franz Josef glaciers and still gives you an opportunity to see the breath-taking views of the glacier and snow-capped mountains. We are pleased to hear you still got to see the beautiful Fox Glacier and got that lovely photo of you both! It sounds like you both still had a beautiful experience. We will also pass your kind words onto Nat and rest of our staff! Thank you for booking with Glacier Helicopters and we wish you all the best for the rest of your travels.
Written 16 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

laf2travel
New York City, NY29 contributions
A quick and perfect trip
Nov 2018 • Couples
Bad weather was rolling in on the date of our scheduled helicopter flight, and when Glacier Helicopters called us to tell us that they were cancelling the remaining flights that afternoon we were initially very disappointed. Our tight itinerary timeline didn't leave a lot of leeway for rescheduling, but that was no problem -- the kind lady behind the front desk couldn't have been more helpful, and she called us first thing the next morning, as promised, to update us on conditions (much better that day!) and put us on the first available helicopter tour to accommodate our schedule. We flew up with a captain and group of six passengers. As the two smallest passengers we were assigned to the front seat, and (fair warning) it looks like the back seat can get pretty smooshed, but the ride itself was short enough that no one was uncomfortable for long. Our pilot was awesome -- he gave just the appropriate amount of commentary so that we could learn a bit about what we were seeing and how the environment had changed due to climate change generally and even earlier that spring when heavy rainfall had washed out some local roads. On our glacier landing, he knew just where to position everyone for excellent pictures. We had a great time and would definitely recommend!
Written 24 April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi laf2travel and thank you for your great review. Unfortunately, the weather can scupper plans here on the West Coast but we are so glad that you got up and had such a great time! We are so happy that our experienced pilot got some great photos of you as well as giving you plenty of information for you to take away. Thank you again for your kind words and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in New Zealand.
Written 8 May 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

RucksackT
Amsterdam, The Netherlands118 contributions
A spectacular flight
Feb 2019 • Friends
We soared over Fox Glacier and had a fantastic view of Mount Cook and Mount Tasman, and then just over the ridge we saw Franz Josef glacier, upon which we alighted. It was a wonderful and exhilarating experience. We were also really lucky with the weather. When we first checked in at the office, we were told that the flight was cancelled, but the staff were accommodating and tried to find us alternative options. Luckily just as we were about to leave, the clouds lifted and we got the green light to go.
Written 31 March 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hello, RucksackT. It sounds like you had a dream flight! It can be very touch and go with the weather around here, but he views would have made waiting for the weather worth your time! Being able to see the two highest peaks in New Zealand via helicopter is remarkable, and the snow landing would have been a highlight. We’re glad to hear about how helpful our staff were, we try and provide you with as much information and options of rescheduling or other activities in the area if we cannot run our flights. Thank you for your great review, and we hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday in New Zealand.
Written 22 April 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sandip S
Adelaide, Australia23 contributions
Best of the best
Nov 2018 • Family
The breathtaking views and landing on snow perhaps will remain in our memory forever. Our pilot was very friendly and true customer focused. I dropped my GoPro camera during snow landing and when I realized the same I was on the way back to Wanaka! However, the next flight pilot found my camera on the snow and brought it back. Later they courier my camera back to Queenstown! The overall customer services and amazing experiences is one of the big thumbs up for this company.
Written 13 November 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hello Sandip S, thank you for your great review. Your photos are fantastic, we’re glad you had such a wonderful time on one of our flights. You’re extremely lucky that a pilot found your GoPro! We’re glad to hear it made it back into your hands. We hope that you enjoy the rest of your holiday around our beautiful country.
Written 18 November 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Deon M
1 contribution
Rude personnel, no assistance after trip was cancelled
Feb 2018 • Couples
Helicopter trip was cancelled due to cyclone (we understand this) but no options were offered, we were referred to Viator to get our money back but now Viator claims they already paid Glacier Helicopters ... not happy and will pursue this
Written 1 March 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hello Deon M and thank you for your feedback. At the time of cancellation you should have been offered to rebook for another time depending on your travel plans, or explained how to receive a full refund. We apologise that this wasn’t offered to you clearly, unfortunately the cyclone had made things quiet difficult here on the Coast. We have contacted Viator and you should have your refund from them shortly. Please feel free to contact myself directly if you have any further concerns, helibasemgr@glacierhelicopters.co.nz Kind regards, Heli Base Manager.
Written 11 March 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 13
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Glacier Helicopters
StaceyCheer
StaceyCheer
00
Highlight of the holiday!
After our booked flight (with another company) cancelled due to lack of numbers, we were lucky enough to book a fli
chrisdV2469ZY
chrisdV2469ZY
00
Wow is such a small word for such an experience
Wow, what an awesome team. From Natalie booking us and safety briefing to Tim the pilot that gave us the most aweso
Getafix
Getafix
00
Spectacular helicopter experience.
Flight around Franz Josef and Fox Glaciers and snow landing with Clark as pilot. More spectacular than the Crand Ca
mcd1987
mcd1987
00
40 Breathtaking Minutes
Amazing 40 minute flight from Franz Josef with Greg, we were very fortunate to fly around Aoraki Mt Cook in such am
tonyandgayemeier
tonyandgayemeier
00
Fox Glacier snow landing.
What an experience! Such a friendly Brendon(and humorous) and a skilled pilot in Tim. What a combination to make it
famadven
famadven
00
The best experience ever
We had hoped to do the Twin Glacier with Snow Landing but of course the weekend we visited (a) Fox was uber busy (w
651delwynl
651delwynl
00
Wow wow and wow
Had booked to fly the next morning but they phoned to ask if we could do it earlier. We had just had lunch at a wee
thursty64
thursty64
00
Awesome!
Amazing experience! Didn't actually need all of the cold weather clothing we brought - a stunning day (well part o
CCNewZealand
CCNewZealand
00
Awe inspiring - you must do it
We did this trip many years ago, and were so excited to go again. We flew over Fox and Franz Josef glaciers, landed
Britwi
Britwi
00
Flight of your life
Had to stay an extra day due to the weather stopping flights on our original day, but wow was it worth it. The staf
CMDobbie
CMDobbie
00
Wow what an experience
We took the helicopter up to see the Fox and Franz Josef glaciers. Pilot landed just above the Franz Josef glacier
Shellydineen
Shellydineen
00
Awesome experience
Such a great experience - our Pilot Tim was super nice, really safe and took a great photo of us at the top! The wh
NayHaybz
NayHaybz
00
Once in a lifetime
This was a once in a lifetime experience, which myself, my kids, and mum will never forget. Everything about the fl
Sassyaston75
Sassyaston75
00
Spectacular experience
Absolutely worth every penny. If you can spare the dollars don’t miss this. Flying over and then standing on a glac
342haleyd
342haleyd
00
Stunning glaciers
Highly recommend! The glaciers are incredible and standing in the snow on the top on a beautiful day surrounded by
Frequently Asked Questions about Fox and Franz Josef Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Fox Glacier

Fox and Franz Josef Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Fox Glacier price starts from $367.49. Discover and book Fox and Franz Josef Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Fox Glacier on Tripadvisor

Fox and Franz Josef Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Fox Glacier cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Fox and Franz Josef Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Fox Glacier on Tripadvisor

Fox and Franz Josef Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Fox Glacier is hosted by Glacier Helicopters. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Glacier Helicopters on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Fox and Franz Josef Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Fox Glacier on Tripadvisor