We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve Now & Pay Later

Civil War Walking Tour of Savannah

Save
Share
Likely To Sell Out
Select Date and Travellers
From
US$19.98
Date
2 travellers
Options
Overview
Great for those interested in Savannah’s history, this guided tour takes you back to the Civil War era on a leisurely walk through the Savannah Historic District. Pass the houses of the South’s most prominent generals and visit homes and buildings that were present during the war years of the 1860s. Along the way, your guide will entertain you with interesting stories and facts about Savannah’s role in the war, as well as its military strategies and civilian hardships during those infamous years.
Itinerary
+
You'll start at
323 E Congress St
323 E Congress St, Savannah, GA 31401, USAIn the middle of Warren Square, at the intersection of Congress St. and Habersham St.
See address & details
  • 1
    Warren Square
    Stop: 5 minutes -
    "I beg to present you, as a Christmas gift, the city of Savannah....". So reads the opening lines of General Sherman's telegram to President Lincoln on December 22, 1864, after the occupation of Savannah. See Civil War era Savannah and the houses and buildings involved in the conflict. You'll hear about the strategies of both sides and learn how Savannahians endured the hardships of The War. This tour begins in Warren Square and ends at The Green-Meldrium house, which is the home where Sherman was invited to stay and penned his famous missive.
    Read more
You'll end at
14 W Macon St
14 W Macon St, Savannah, GA 31401, USAThe tour ends at The Green-Meldrium home also known as Sherman's headquarters, located on the west side of Madison Square, at the intersection of Bull and Harris St.
See address & details
Highlights
  • Hear little-known Civil War facts during this walking tour of Savannah
  • A guide leads you through the historic district to see Civil War landmarks
  • Learn about the military strategies of the North and the South
  • This short tour is offered at two times to easily fit it into your schedule
What to Expect
This Civil War tour meets in Savannah’s Historic District at Warren Square. Get acquainted with your guide and group, and then take off by foot around the city. As you walk through the historic district, your guide tells you little-known facts about Savannah’s Civil War history. Pass by homes that belonged to generals and other buildings from the 1860s. Hear stories about the war, and learn about military strategies of both the North and the South. You’ll also get to hear about how civilians at the time of the war dealt with such difficult conditions. This Civil War walking tour in Savannah ends at the Green-Meldrium house, which is the home where Sherman was invited to stay and penned his famous Savannah missive to President Lincoln.
Show More
Important Information
Departure Point
323 E Congress St, Savannah, GA 31401, USA
Duration
1h 30m
Return Details
14 W Macon St, Savannah, GA 31401, USA
Inclusions
  • Professional guide
  • History of Savannah's role in the Civil War
  • Small Group experience
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Minimum numbers apply. There is a possibility of cancellation after confirmation if there are not enough passengers to meet requirements. In the event of this occurring, you will be offered an alternative or full refund.
  • Comfortable shoes are recommended
  • Pets welcome
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
104Reviews4Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 20
  • 4
  • 2
  • 5
  • 3
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I gave it two stars only because the guide was knowledgeable and it would have been good if a Savannah walking tour is what I paid for. Unfortunately, I made a reservation for the Civil War walking tour and that's not what I got. A couple hours before the tour I received a
Read more
Response from Brad S, General Manager at Civil War Walking Tour of Savannah
Responded 4 Jan 2020
We were asked by the city to move the meeting location due to the large groups and Warren Square being a residential square. They were trying to keep the square quiet for the residents. The tour you received was a wonderful blending of the history and Civil War of Savannah. Every single aspect of the was as it applies to Savannah was included on the tour. That is a certainty. I was the guide!
Read more
My husband and I did this tour last minute, and we are so glad that we did. We ended up being only 2 of the 4 guests in the group, so we felt it was awesome to be able to do this tour with only a few people. Our guide was very knowledgeable and provided so much information.
Read more
Response from Brad S, General Manager at Civil War Walking Tour of Savannah
Responded 13 Dec 2019
Hello! Thank you for the review. You were very fortunate to take the tour during the slow part of the month. It gets busy in December once the kids get out of school for Christmas! The reviews about guides not showing up are a bit misleading. We used to have guests try to find the meeting location using GPS. Unfortunately GPS is pretty inaccurate in a city that’s 285 years old. The squares don’t even have addresses. However, we have found a way to ensure all guests find the meeting location.
Read more
Although James was very knowledgeable on the history of Savannah I expected (based on what I signed up for) way more discussion of the Civil War in Savannah. Fact is there was not all that much.
Read more
I did just book the tour a few hours in advance but I was charged and received a confirmation. We arrived with out of town relatives 20 minutes early. At 1 I called the number on the confirmation I should call if "We were going to be late" . No answer. Called the reservation
Read more
Response from Brad S, General Manager at Civil War Walking Tour of Savannah
Responded 9 Oct 2019
Thank you for the review. Unfortunately, your purchase was received by the ticket seller late. So we didn’t get a copy of the reservation until after tour time. It is unfortunate but that can happen with online reservations. We would never knowingly leave a group of guests in a square without a guide. That being a fact, it makes this “review” especially undeserved and troubling.
Read more
Donny was a great tour guide. Highly recommend. Very interesting. Walking was moderate. Definitely worth it.
Read more
Previous
About the operator
By: Savannah Walks
mikelewis220
92
Roll w it
Brad, the owner, took us after his other guide came down w flu. Very informative, kept it moving and interesting.
Read more
mybailey63
10
Great tour
I really enjoyed. As a budding preservationist, I had fun and learned a lot. I highly recommend this tour.
Read more
Barbara G
Tolland, Connecticut
81
Great walk and wonderful history
Our guide was a native who knew his stuff and shared some really interesting stories with us. We got a much better
Read more
Jdunn112
Omaha, Nebraska
52
Good tour
It was pouring rain the original day I was supposed to do the tour, the tour guide was very helpful with
Read more
Sameer J
20
Very informative and thoroughly enjoyable
The Tour guide was very passionate about History of Savannah and was very thorough. He walked us through the
Read more
emkini2020
10
Loved the tour
Our tour guide was awesome! So informative and engaging. Really made our trip to Savannah memorable.
Read more
Richmay55
Vestavia Hills, Alabama
51
Great guide, great tour
Our guide was James. He was very knowledgable and made it interesting. We loved it. He answered all our questions
Read more
Kristin E
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2111
Flake
Scheduled a walking tour of Savannah and the day before the guide started texting, worried about rain. The day of
Read more
Tim H
40
Lovely tour - disappointing start
James sure knew his stuff about the Historic District, and we enjoyed his tour very much! The experience was
Read more
BlueMoc
Parrish, Florida
11559
Not what I paid for.
I gave it two stars only because the guide was knowledgeable and it would have been good if a Savannah walking
Read more
Key Details
  • Duration: 1h 30m
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Instant confirmation
  • Languages Offered: English
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Reserve Now & Pay Later
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:+1 855 275 5071
Travellers Also Viewed
Savannah's Civil War Tour
77 Reviews
from US$30.00*
Historic Savannah Walking Tour
404 Reviews
from US$25.00*
Likely To Sell Out
Fort Jackson and Bonaventure Tour
4 Reviews
from US$49.00*
Likely To Sell Out
Wormsloe-Isle of Hope Tour
3 Reviews
from US$45.00*
Frequently bought together
Likely To Sell Out
Creepy Crawl Haunted Pub Tour of...
178 Reviews
from US$24.99*
Savannah Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour
627 Reviews
from US$35.19*
Savannah Scavenger Hunt Adventure
2 Reviews
from US$20.52*
Likely To Sell Out
Savannah Walking Tour
182 Reviews
from US$19.99*
Likely To Sell Out
Savannah Ghost Walking Tour
146 Reviews
from US$19.99*
Likely To Sell Out
Historic Homes Walk
from US$35.00*
Likely To Sell Out