Tours and Tickets

Full-Day Guatavita and Salt Cathedral Group Tour from Bogotá provided by Bogota City Bus

Reserve Now & Pay Later

Full-Day Guatavita and Salt Cathedral Group Tour from Bogotá

Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this experience is taking.Read more
View all photos (39)
Recommended by 88% of travellers
Select Date and Travellers
From
US$85.00
Date
2 adults
Options
Select tour language
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Low Price Guarantee
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during this experience
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless payment for gratuities and add-ons
  • Face masks required for travellers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Hand sanitizer available to travellers and staff
Read more
Updated 22/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Full-Day Guatavita and Salt Cathedral Group Tour from Bogotá
As a tourism company we want you to travel safely in Colombia. We comply with the biosecurity protocols established by the National Government and we have a Certificate of Tourist Quality in sustainability.
Read more
Updated 22/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Overview
This is undoubtedly one of the best combinations of tourist attractions near Bogotá; the day begins with a visit to the Guatavita Lake, famous for being the place where the Muiscas performed the ritual that gave rise to the legend of El Dorado; this place possesses an overwhelming beauty that can only be understood when visiting it. Then, cross the savannah to reach the municipality of Zipaquirá; you will know the First Wonder of Colombia, the Salt Cathedral, one of those places that you will not want to miss when coming to Colombia. ** It may take longer than usual for road arrangements. ** At the moment Guatavita doesn't have guides in English, you can take the tour in Spanish.
Itinerary
+
You’ll have 2 starting options
See Important Information for details
  • 1
    Laguna de Guatavita
    Stop: 2 hours - Admission included
    See details
  • 2
    Catedral de Sal de Zipaquira
    Stop: 2 hours - Admission included
    See details
You'll end at
See Important Information for details
Important Information
Departure Point
Cl. 16 #4-3, Bogotá, Colombia Cra. 11a #93a-10, Bogotá, Colombia
Duration
10h
Return Details
Returns to original departure point
Inclusions
  • Transportation Roundtrip
  • Audio guide (ES/EN)
  • Entrance Fees (Guatavita Lagoon - Salt Cathedral)
  • Fast track in Salt Cathedral (We recommend you to bring your own headphones with audio jack)
  • Insurance
  • Time for lunch
  • Entry/Admission - Laguna de Guatavita
  • Entry/Admission - Catedral de Sal de Zipaquira
Exclusions
  • Lunch
  • Snacks
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Infant seats available
  • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travellers
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
18Reviews
0Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 13
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Popular mentions
123Trinity123 wrote a review Feb 2020
Titirangi, New Zealand16 contributions1 helpful vote
We really enjoyed this tour. The tour is in both English and Spanish. Our guide was lovely, friendly and very knowledgeable. She told us not only about the places we visited but also about life in Bogota, and a bit about Colombian history too. The company was doing a promotional
Read more
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from BogotaPass, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Full-Day Guatavita and Salt Cathedral Group Tour from Bogotá
Responded 12 Mar 2020
Thank you so much for your comment! I´m glad you had a great day while we film the promotional video, definitely you had a unique tour. we want you to take the best of Bogotá, our people, and our tourist attractions. Welcome again! Regards, Bogota Pass
Read more
Nashi82 wrote a review Feb 2020
Bogota, Colombia5 contributions5 helpful votes
The pick up was not easy to find. I spent all day trying to get hold of them but they dont answer the phone. Only WhatsApp.
Read more
Helpful
Share
Response from BogotaPass, Director General at Full-Day Guatavita and Salt Cathedral Group Tour from Bogotá
Responded 23 Feb 2020
Dear Omar, we hope you are well. Strangely we received your comment because what happened doesn’t correspond to what you wrote. The day you had the service with us seeing that you didn’t arrive at the meeting point on time, we tried to call and text you many times (very weird in a group tour, no?) in order to avoid losing your spot the tour, however you never replied. That day we had other 6 people in the group and they did not have any problem with the meeting point (even many people daily), Who does not know where is the Juan Valdez at 93 park? it´s in a corner, you would have asked anyone and people could help you. Of course we needed to start our tour (8:10 am) because we never received a response from you and we respect the time of customers because they had arrived on time. Then You communicated with us through a call 2 hours later the tour had started, a call that we answered immediately and you informed that you couldn’t attend because of the address, so we kindly gave you the opportunity to take the same tour the next day without any charge (we want to provide the experience, that´s it) and we provide again the exact address and all the indications. In order to be so clear, we asked you to write that "you agreed with the change of date" through WhatsApp which you did immediately. Besides we asked you about the clarity of how to get to the point, departure time and details of the service and you stressed saying everything YES through WhatsApp, there is the chat as evidence. The next day when we realized that you had not arrived again (8:10 am), we wrote you again on WhatsApp and you answered that you could not attend because you did not find the meeting point, (how? we sent the google map link and also you had said you were in the point the last day at different time, so the question was: why are not in the point now my friend?), We could not wait more because there were other 2 people in the tour on time, so we just left. Again losing the opportunity to go (guatavita and salt cathedral). Even we gave you the opportunity to shared the group to just for the cathedral what starts every day at 9 am at the same point -our last option- and you said YES, sure, my hotel is 5 blocks away, that is a good idea too. However at 9:10 you never showed up, again we called you and you said never had found the meeting point. At this point we do not really understand what happened, we tried the best for you, what else can we do? We are a very responsible company and our main objective is happiness and fulfillment to costumers during their days in Bogotá, so in these cases we always try to contact our clients to verify if they have had any delay and if anything has been presented to them just to find any solution. No one in the city makes what we do, even if you have traveled to big cities, the city sightseeing Bus never will call you if you are going to show up in the points, they just stop for a moment, getting in people and continue, isn´t it? My god, it is not true that the points are difficult to find. in order to avoid this, they have been chosen precisely thinking that they were recognized places to facilitate the arrival of tourists at each stop (Candelaria and Parque de la 93), Juan Valdez coffee is a top brand here, are in a well-located points and are comfortable to wait, so, what else? Also, the booking voucher has the schedules and exact address of each point, you can google it or put in on Waze and go directly, people attend daily without any problem. In addition, we are a company that is characterized by offering 24-hour service (calls or WhatsApp), Spanish / English (good English), so shouldn't we answer any question or help our customers? Of course!!!. It is a pity that you have not attended any of the two days because the experience is really good especially when compared to the price, our customers are very happy with the service and attractions they visit every day. Let´s See all our comments and you will see a really good average, this one star is totally unfair and fake.
Read more
KimeeAnn wrote a review Feb 2020
Tampa, Florida2 contributions
I booked this group tour as I thought it was a safer bet as a solo traveler. I think "group" may mean something different in Columbia as it ended up being what I would describe as a private tour ... a driver, a tour guide and me. The issue was that my Spanish is limited and
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from BogotaPass, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Full-Day Guatavita and Salt Cathedral Group Tour from Bogotá
Responded 23 Feb 2020
Dear Kimee, We really appreciate your comment as it is very important to improve our experience every day. We offer group tours to make it easier for people that traveling alone or as a couple to visit the different attractions paying a lower price than a private one and also receiving good service. In our country, the group concept is the same as in the world, however, some days in some seasons it is difficult to find that more people book the same tour, but when it happens we don´t force customers to expect a minimum of people to complete the group, on the other hand -unlike other agencies-, we fulfill what we offer and it is to make the tour from 1 person paying the same price (as a group) with a personalized service, so good, no? The information about what the group tour includes is very clear and is: transport with Spanish driver, entrance without payment line, insurance, free time to visit the town/lunch and each tourist within the attraction takes the audio guide In the language they prefer, sometimes when we have a driver in English available and we send it to the tour without additional charge, however, it is not possible every day because they are few and are so busy. The guides in English in Guatavita are organized directly by the attraction and we can’t control the days or times in which they are available, we take those guides because is a mandatory, even if we have a guide with a group. So to help the tourist we have created some audio guides also in English so they can receive more information and are available in the brochures that we deliver on each tour. Of course, it is not the same as a real guide, but believe we are so worried about a good experience, we are unique with this option. So sorry for your nonconformity, there was a private option with a guide in your language (all time) also available and you chose the group option even we said all information and inclusions.
Read more
DesiGulliver wrote a review Jan 2020
New York City, New York135 contributions46 helpful votes
+4
I'm glad I booked this tour as the lake and the salt cathedral are a bit of a trek outside of Bogota. The guide we had was punctual, friendly, patient, and the ride was clean and comfortable. If you are traveling as a women alone I would highly recommend this tour for a day
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from BogotaPass, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Full-Day Guatavita and Salt Cathedral Group Tour from Bogotá
Responded 14 Feb 2020
DesiGulliver, our mission is to achieve outstanding experiences for our costumers. Thank you, for taking the time to let us know how was your tour with us. Our priority its for you to have an amazing time feeling completely comfortable, and its great to see that it happened! Have an amazing day! Regards, City Bus Team
Read more
SpiderJ wrote a review Sep 2019
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom14 contributions1 helpful vote
A great day out to see some really special places. The hike up the hill to see Guatavita Lagoon is quite steep but at a slow pace with numerous stops. I'm not in good shape, was panting hard but made it without issue. Guides only in Spanish so I only understood a little of the
Read more
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from BogotaPass, Director de Recepción at Full-Day Guatavita and Salt Cathedral Group Tour from Bogotá
Responded 29 Sep 2019
We are in a huge process in order to provide the best experiences in Bogotá. However there are some public attractions working on some improvements, we are helping them actually with audio guides and trainings for visitors. Welcome again
Read more
Read 2 more reviews on Viator
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Bogota City Bus
Earlville
00
Excellent Introduction to Bogota's Neighborhoods and History
Four of us took a 4 hour private tour on our first morning in Bogota. Gained a great perspective by what we saw but
Read more
Paul B
00
Half way decent but description is way oversold
Positives: Clean, safe driver/vehicle. Answered our questions well. Negatives: basically was a downtown tour, not
Read more
Penelope R
00
What a fantastic day!
As I was the only person who had booked for this particular date it was like having a private tour with my knowledg
Read more
zeljkok310
00
Such an amazing trip
It would be a shame if you were in Bogotá and missed this. It was an amazing experience, and our driver Carlos was
Read more
Judy2800
00
Great tour and very knowledgeable driver/guide
From the beginning of our tour, to the end of our fabulous day, everything about this excursion was very organized
Read more
CinciaT1
00
Wonderful day tour
Rodolfo the driver & tour guide who can speak good English and he explains everything so well. Despite that it’s a
Read more
thomaswJ5443MN
00
Amazing tour
Yesterday I did the Zipaquira tour with our guide Nestor. Great thanks to him because ideas the only one in our gro
Read more
Claireflah
00
Not to be missed
From start to finish we had a great day. The salt Cathedral is a beautiful site not to be missed it is a maze of wo
Read more
happydevo55
00
Great Tour, fun, interesting and comfortable
We enjoyed the tour and our guide Alex was thoughtful and interesting. The guide met us on time at Park 93. The bus
Read more
mariasN9867XT
00
Amazon!
Our tour guide and driver were so friendly, they made you feel like they know you for ever. Very knowledgeable and
Read more
O849NQjohnp
00
Definitely worth it
This trip is definitely worth it. The driver Carlos is an excellent guide. He was very friendly and welcoming w
Read more
GurmeetKudhail
00
Highly recommended trip!
The trip was a long journey but worth the trip if you have a spare day in Bogotá. Marcelo was an excellent guide o
Read more
TomMinicucci
00
A terrific tour of all that's important to see and know about Bogota!
Rodolfo took his time and made sure I got to see and understand everything he was showing me about Bogota. We got
Read more
Dara L
00
Dara
Fantastic day trip to Villa de Leyva! Also included visit to Boyaca, terra-cotta house, monastery and winery. To
Read more
jcschew
00
Salt Cathedral Tour
Alex was a great tour guide and driver! After dropping us off at the Cathedral and getting us set up with our audio
Read more
Key Details
  • Duration: 10h
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Instant Confirmation
  • Languages Offered: English, Spanish
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Reserve Now & Pay Later
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:+1 855 275 5071
Frequently Asked Questions about Full-Day Guatavita and Salt Cathedral Group Tour from Bogotá