Tours and Tickets

Akaroa Dolphins | Harbour Nature Cruise provided by Akaroa Dolphins

Reserve Now & Pay Later

Akaroa Dolphins | Harbour Nature Cruise

Save
Share
Support this operator
Times are tough for the travel community right now. To show your support, consider leaving a thoughtful review or posting photos of your favourite tours and experiences. Your support will go a long way in helping tour operators worldwide get back on their feet down the road.
Likely To Sell Out
Select Date and Travellers
From
US$62.36
Date
2 adults
Options
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Low Price Guarantee
Overview
Important Information
Departure Point
65 Beach Road, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Duration
2h
Return Details
Returns to original departure point
Inclusions
  • A complimentary glass of New Zealand wine, beer or non-alcoholic option
  • One of our famous home-baked cookies
Exclusions
  • We do not swim with the dolphins on our tours.
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Infant seats available
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • We do not swim with the dolphins
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 35 travellers
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
783Reviews
6Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 746
  • 24
  • 0
  • 1
  • 2
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
More
Popular mentions
raandaka wrote a review Mar 2020
Greater Adelaide, Australia170 contributions34 helpful votes
So disappointed not to have the opportunity to do this cruise due to aborted travel travel plans due to Covid-19 crisis, and our need to get back to Australia asap. Akaroa Dolphins responded promptly with a full refund, processed quickly when we needed to cancel. Thank you
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Response from AkaroaDolphins, Manager at Akaroa Dolphins | Harbour Nature Cruise
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for your review. It means the world to our team. We are sorry that you weren't able to join our cruise at this time, but please take care and hope you are able to join us in the near future - From the team at Akaroa Dolphins :)
Read more
Wandering Blyss wrote a review Mar 2020
Wasco, Illinois10 contributions
This tour was absolutely stunning! Once on board, we were provided with a drink of choice (wine, water, juice, etc.) as we sailed out into the bay. Our captain, an Akaroa local, provided us with a lot of detail about the area itself before we cruised further out. It wasn't long
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Helpful
Response from AkaroaDolphins, Manager at Akaroa Dolphins | Harbour Nature Cruise
Responded 1 week ago
Wow. Lucky you to see Hector's dolphins jumping! Sounds amazing that you had the best time, and saw all the wildlife here at Akaroa Harbour! Thank you for recommending us - it means much to our little family-owned business. Please take care -From the team at Akaroa Dolphins :)
Read more
penmick wrote a review Mar 2020
San DIego, California75 contributions67 helpful votes
This was a great tour. Just after we got underway Desiree offed everyone a free glass of wine, coffee or hot chocolate. The boat was beautiful and new, comfortable and built especially for this tour. The captain and crew tried to make sure everyone got a chance to have a look at
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Response from AkaroaDolphins, Owner at Akaroa Dolphins | Harbour Nature Cruise
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your wonderful review. It was a pleasure being able to show you our backyard. We'll be sure and pass the compliments on to Desiree, she'll be happy to hear that you enjoyed the trip! Please take care and come back again soon.
Read more
sophie301 wrote a review Mar 2020
Silver Spring, Maryland28 contributions10 helpful votes
This was a very special experience. The boat was very comfortable, well equipped with gear and built for smaller tour groups. Through the support of two fantastic human guides and one dolphin spotting dog, Albie, we enjoyed see ing Hector dolphins, penguins and sea otters with
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Helpful
Response from AkaroaDolphins, Owner at Akaroa Dolphins | Harbour Nature Cruise
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience! So lovely to hear you had a great trip and saw the beautiful Hector's dolphins and all the wildlife here in Akaroa Harbour. We and Albie hope you can join us again in the future. Please take care :)
Read more
A World Traveller wrote a review Mar 2020
Ottawa, Canada18 contributions3 helpful votes
+4
We picked this tour by chance, as our original shore excursion booked through the Cruise Line was cancelled at the last minute. We could not be more thrilled by the experience that we had on board this morning harbour cruise! This double-decker boat is one of the smaller
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Response from AkaroaDolphins, Manager at Akaroa Dolphins | Harbour Nature Cruise
Responded 2 weeks ago
We are over the moon to hear your experience with us at Akaroa Dolphins was amazing! Thank you for choosing Akaroa Dolphins, which is locally and family-run business, we really appreciate the rating and enjoy reading your review! Especially when you have such kind words about our boat, commentary, the scenery, dolphins spotting dog and the crew! Please take care and hope you can join us again in the future.
Read more
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Akaroa Dolphins
Thelongones
00
Beautiful boat
The boat for this trip is new and very comfortable. Homemade cookies and a refreshing drink made the trip a very en
Read more
travelerwannabee20
00
Great adventure
OMG! What an experience! Hector Dolphins, seal pups and penguins! Plus a great family run business, doesn't get
Read more
lolablack2
00
Aka-Do!!!
Fantastic family-run tour which even includes complimentary drinks and cookies made by grandma - and a dolphin-hun
Read more
timhockey79
00
Dolphins
I can highly recommend the Akaroa Dolphins Tour. I have done it two years ago and twice the last two days. All thre
Read more
BrisChic
00
Gorgeous tour, wonderful experience
This was a very relaxed, informative and enjoyable tour. The boat is slick and new and very stable. First Mate Albi
Read more
mcgregor47
00
A fabulous cruise
The tour was informative and interesting. We saw Hector’s Dolphins, fur seals and a Northern Giant Petrel floating
Read more
karena56
00
Great Cruise
We went on the Akaroa Dolphins cruise this morning and had a magical time. We saw so many dolphins, it is had to im
Read more
ErinC792
00
Fabulous
Akaroa Harbour is a natural beauty. This cruise had one of the most interesting commentaries I've had on this type
Read more
PJ254
00
Professional all the Way
We could not fault our experience, we got to see the dolphins, seals and penguins, as well as the lava extrusion so
Read more
Craig O
00
The best
These guys do it perfectly. The cruise itself, but also all the other little things - jackets on board to borrow (y
Read more
John E
00
Great Boat Tour
Friendly and knowledgeable tour guide took us on a 2 hr cruise that was a real delight. Lots of 'Hector' dolphins,
Read more
andysanders72
00
Akaroa trip
Good trip, staff friendly and knowledgeable worth the $ got to see dolphins and fur seals. Plenty of room on the bo
Read more
ssm39
00
Excellent touring experience
We were on a Road Scholar Tour and this was the co. chosen for the boat cruise at Akaroa. Excellent and informative
Read more
davidspinks1704
00
Harbour and Dolphin Tour
This trip is GREAT value 2 hours out on the bay with A glass of good wine and cookies on return. Buster the dog is
Read more
k0sm056
00
great tour
enjoyed our tour very much. Nice touch to have a beer or wine and the jackets as it was very windy and cold. The pu
Read more
Key Details
  • Akaroa Lighthouse, Akaroa, and 1 more
  • Duration: 2h
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Instant Confirmation
  • Languages Offered: English
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Reserve Now & Pay Later
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:+1 855 275 5071