Akaroa Tours
Akaroa Shore Excursion: Akaroa Harbour and Giants House Local Tour
4.5

Akaroa Shore Excursion: Akaroa Harbour and Giants House Local Tour

By Leisure Tours
About
from
$99.00
per adult
Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 0-99, max of 16 per group
Duration: 2h 30m
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Live guide: English
More


  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Port pickup and drop-off
  • Driver/guide
  • Worry-free Shore Excursion Guarantee
  • Entry/Admission - The Giants House
What's not included
  • Food and drinks
  • Gratuities (optional)


Start:
  • Britomart Reserve, 77/87 Beach Road, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
    From the Main Wharf in Akaroa, head down to the end where you will see the Akaroa I-Site and a small park on the right-hand side. Next to the Canon statue, a representative will be waiting for you. Please arrive by 10.50am for a 11.00am departure.
End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

    • Wheelchair accessible
    • Pushchair accessible
    • Service animals allowed
    • Infants must sit on laps
    • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
    If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 2950P88

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Most travellers can participate
    • At time of booking, cruise ship passengers must provide the following information: ship name, docking time, disembarkation time and re-boarding time
    • Please note that activity times and schedules can be slightly amended depending on your cruise ships timetable.
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 16 travellers

    • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

    If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 2950P88

    Reserve your spot

    Similar experiences

    Itinerary
    • 77/87 Beach Road, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
      From the Main Wharf in Akaroa, head down to the end where you will see the Akaroa I-Site and a small park on the right-hand side. Next to the Canon statue, a representative will be waiting for you. Please arrive by 10.50am for a 11.00am departure.
    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    About the operator
    Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
    • Leisure Tours
      643
      Christchurch, New Zealand
      Joined in July 2010
    • N9482HPjuditha
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Fabulous wine tour!
      Fabulous wine tour! The driver/guide provided information on the drive to the first winery, Waipara Springs, where we tasted several wines, then had a great lunch. The wine pourer explained the wine processes and answered questions. We also visited George's Road and Torlesse. I was able to discuss the wines we tasted with the owner at George's Road who then offered to let us taste his syrah. Two of us found this one to be the best and we each bought a bottle. Torlesse produces wine in a more French style. All in all, a great day out meeting other wine lovers, and tasting a variety of wines and styles. I would definitely recommend!
      Written 16 June 2024
    • Scenic729478
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Excellent tour worth every penny
      Excellent, informative tour with lots to see and fabulous views. Our guid was very knowledgeable and I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone.
      Written 12 June 2024
    • pkh213
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Lovely day in Akaroa
      We were picked up at our hotel at 8:30 a.m. for this full day tour. There were 12 of us in the van. It took us about 90 minutes to make our way to Akaroa. We stopped outside area to enjoy the views from above before descending into the town. We had lunch at Bully Hayes which is in the English area of the town. At 1:30 p.m. we took a two hour cruise on Black Cat Cruises. We stopped at Barry's Bay to sample some cheese before heading back.
      Written 9 June 2024
    • 532taylaf
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Fun & intimate
      Intimate group of people, great hosts out at the vineyards and driver Pete was great to chat with and educated us along the way! We tasted around 15 wines all very unique and lunch was more than I expected. Definitely recommend :)
      Written 8 June 2024
    • Pathfinder561044
      0 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      A really enjoyable wine tasting experience.
      What a truly enjoyable day. We were collected from our hotel by our driver and tour guide Joseph. He is a Christchurch local he had a wonderful knowledge of Christchurch and surrounds and he made our tour so interesting and informative. We had a small group which was really great and in no time everyone was chatting like old friends. Our first winery ( where we had a very tasty lunch) was excellent. The second winery a little off the beaten track was interesting to see snd our third and last so welcoming and friendly and offered us so many different tastings. The whole tour took a little over 5 hours and we never felt rushed or pressured to move on. I would highly recommend this experience. Such an enjoyable day.
      Written 20 May 2024
    • bubbsie2015
      0 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      Akaroa Day Trip
      We thoroughly enjoyed the day trip to Akaroa and harbour cruise. Our driver/guide Scotty is a legend, very knowledgeable on the history and background, giving us an insight to how this part of NZ was settled. Akaroa itself is a charming place, the lunch was a chance to catch up wth fellow travellers and hear of their experiences. On the harbour cruise we saw dolphins, babyseals and a humpback made a brief appearance... this was the first sighting of the season, so a big point score for the skipper and crew. Picked up some chutneys, cheese and chocs at the factory before heading back to town Thanks to all for a very enjoyable day out.. Barbara M
      Written 17 May 2024
    • Anonymous855
      0 contributions
      3.0 of 5 bubbles
      Very nice tour operator, Akaroa town blah, Hector dolphins on bay good
      We live along a vibrant coast so I'm a bit jaded on beach towns so this place did not meet my expectations and we did not enjoy our lunch choices at Bully Hayes. The restaurant was not busy and yet they crammed 5 of us into a table for 4 making it difficult to place beverages, elbows, etc. The boat out to the marine reserve was good, you cannot see the penguins, don't plan on it. I'm seen enough fur seals to last my life, but we were fortunate to have an abundance of playful Hector dolphins hang around the boat. Before arriving in town, we stopped at a beautiful viewpoint. Afterward, we stopped at a cheese place. Seriously, you should drop that from the tour, it is ridiculous and not worthy of being called a tasting. Waste of time. I wouldn't do this trip again...too much time and money for the result.
      Written 29 April 2024
    • garycO4045WM
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great time.
      Had a great tour guide.Reasonable time to enjoy the sights.Weather played its part with heaps of sunshine.Saw heaps of wildlife on boat part of tour.
      Written 28 April 2024
    • hrs314
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Loved our tour with Scotty. What a great way to see Christchurch, Mona Vale and the International Antarctic Centre
      Loved our tour with Scotty. What a great tour guide and driver. After leaving Lyttelton, travelled via the inner bays of Lyttelton Harbour to Governors Bay via Dyers Pass to the Sign of the Takahe. Hike for a few minutes to enjoy a stunning panoramic view of the City of Christchurch and the Southern Alps which are snowcapped for up to 9 months. The Scottish "castle" is so charming. Next stop was the Mona Vale Gardens which was renamed by Annie Quayle Townend after her mother's house in Tasmania. Annie inherited one million pounds as the sole surviving child in her family. This made her the richest independent woman in 1905. Mona Vale was originally called Karewa when it was built in 1899-1900. Townend added the gatehouse, more land and gardens and a Fernery to the property. Ferneries are quite popular in New Zealand. After her death, the property went through several owners including the Church of Latter Day Saints. When the church tried to sell the property to a private developer, there was a major public outcry. Community fundraising helped to turn the homestead into a beautiful public park and gardens open for all to enjoy. Our guide, Scotty dropped us off at the Fendalton Road gatehouse. So nice to able to walk along the Avon River enjoying the weeping willows and the agapanthus until we reached the rose garden. The rose garden is gorgeous. Love all the different varieties. Also interesting to visit the Fernery which seem to be quite popular in New Zealand. So many different varieties of huge ferns. Loved seeing the purple cardoon, artichoke thistle, and large yellow garden dahlias. Spent a couple of hours exploring Christchurch which is still recovering from a devastating earthquake in 2011. Amazing to see how the city is rebuilding historic landmarks and adding green spaces. Want to explore Antarctica without actually stepping foot on the continent? Visit the International Antarctic Centre to get an overview of what happens on the frozen land. So easy to get to the International Antarctic Centre with our guide Scotty. Booked a great tour of Christchurch and the International Antarctic Centre from the Shore Excursions Group. Adorable Little Blue Fairy Penguins. Hagglund Field Trip. A blizzard in the Storm Dome....and the cutest huskies! Started with a very bumpy ride on the Hagglund Field Trip. Sit back, buckle up and hold on. Get an idea of what scientists experience on the all-terrain amphibious vehicles designed to explore the icy crevasses on Antarctica. Up, down, over and through. The little blue fairy penguins are so cute! Since they usually are out hunting fish during the day, they are hard to find in the wild until they come back in a parade at night. So nice to be able to see the family of tiny penguins that are native to New Zealand who have been rescued due to physical ailments or injuries. Adorable! Brrrrrrrrr..... Feel the chill of an Antarctic Storm up close and personal. Bundle up in a long coat, put on shoe covers and enter the Storm Dome. Every hour, an Antarctic Storm drops the temperature from minus 8 degrees Celsius to minus 18. Amazed at how well the coats provided keep you comfortable. But still, so cold! Explore Antarctica in the galleries. Watch the 4D movie. The 360 gallery had such beautiful images of the continent, penguins and whales. Loved learning about the research that happens with international cooperation and how the scientists prepare to live in Antarctica. Huskies!! Who can resist playing with huskies? So cute and so friendly. My parents especially loved this part. A great way to end the day at the International Antarctic Centre. Support the center with a purchase in the gift shop. They had a sale on two tea towels for $2 NZD. We also grabbed some magnets and beanies for friends and family back home. On the return to Lyttleton, Scotty drove by the estuary and the beach suburb via Evans Pass which was closed for more than 7 years following the Christchurch earthquake of 2011 due to cliff collapse. Imagine the devastation, but nice to see how the community has banded together to help each other.
      Written 24 April 2024
    • 328traceyp
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great afternoon out
      Great afternoon out. Lovely wineries, including our fun host at Waipara Springs and great company with our fellow tourists and driver Jude.
      Written 21 April 2024
    • DarDiner
      0 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      Could have been better.
      Overall good but it was obvious that the tour guide had little knowledge of the wine region and had not even tried any of the 3 vineyards wine. One of the cellar doors (Georges Road) was great with wine that showed the skills of the winemaker. My wife and I thought the other 2 were really average. The other participants made for good company. My advice to the operator of the tours is, employ people who know the product and region to make the day more enjoyable and informative.
      Written 17 April 2024
    • SGero67
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Good tour for cruise ship visitors if your time is limited.🚢
      Picked up directly from where the cruise ship transfer point in Lyttelton. Good overview of Christchurch if your time is limited. The Antarctic Centre was the highlight thanks to our guide Karen with the bonus of seeing the new Husky Puppy, Thanks also to Andrew for making the tour very enjoyable and informative. 🙂
      Written 12 April 2024
    • U4770LIcharlesj
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great coverage of Christchurch
      Great tour. Guide Scotty gave lots of pertinent information about city and sites as well as information of quake, reconstruction, and red zone. Highly recommend.
      Written 12 April 2024
    • susangJ5984QS
      0 contributions
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      bus breakdown and no communication
      Stay away from this vendor. It was the worst experience ever. We went out about 30 minutes and the bus broke down and all the anti-freeze poured out. The driver put water bottles in the bus and flagged down a bicyclist for a screw driver. He claimed it was fixed and we continued on. The first viewing stop, he added water into the empty water bottles into the bus. We continued on, instead of going back. We went into town for a lunch break, which was not long enough to eat. Then we finally got to the Antarctic Center. He was filling the bus up again with water. We expected another mode of transportation back, since we were there for over two hours. The bus started loosing water again as we headed back to the ship. He stopped again at a gas station and filled up the bus again. He communicated we would only make it back to the Princess shuttle busses. He did not refund us any money or apologize. We were lucky to get back to the Princess shuttles, otherwise we would have missed the ship. Never again. I sent a letter to the company and he sent back a very condescending email and never refused any of our money for this more than stressful excursion
      Written 11 April 2024
    • Gaza74
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Lyttelton/Christchurch tour
      My Wife & I along with 2 of our good friends took this tour Monday 8th of April 2024, our tour guide was awesome, he was a very friendly, colorful character with a big bushy white beard, in bright Green Shoes & hat with red & Black Checkered pants, he explained liquefaction & why the earthquake was so devastating to the City of Christchurch, his knowledge of the city redesign/rebuild, buildings, earthquakes & geology was amazing, he explained the red zone and what that entailed, he gave us so many suggestions of where to eat lunch and what to look at. The only very minor negative was as we were from a cruise ship, docked in Lyttelton we needed more time to have lunch free explore the city centre of Christchurch & look at some of his suggestions.
      Written 9 April 2024
    See all 643 reviews
    These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

    Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.


    We perform checks on reviews.
    Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
    Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
    When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
    Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
    Learn more about our review moderation.
    4.5
    4.5 of 5 bubbles9 reviews
    Excellent
    7
    Very good
    0
    Average
    1
    Poor
    1
    Terrible
    0

    BKGTrips
    Naples, FL193 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Jan 2020
    We booked this tour online since we were coming into Akaroa on a cruise. I just wanted a mini tour of the area and then was planning on walking around the town. What I got was two hours in a van touring the countryside and about an hour at the Giants house. The stop for coffee described was a mini stop for about 10 min so we could get out of the van. The tour was way to much time in the van and we personally felt the Giants house was OK to see but an hour was just to long to be stuck there.

    To be fair, the guide was pleasant and offered a lot of detail about the area. The drive was pretty but I just wasn't prepared to be trapped in a van for 2 hrs.
    Written 20 February 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. The local tour you booked was a two hour sightseeing tour followed by a tour of the Giants House. The description provided of the tour at the time of booking was exactly the shore excursion provided, so we are unsure why you were not expecting the excursion that was provided.
    Written 21 February 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Joshua H
    3 contributions
    2.0 of 5 bubbles
    After minimal sightseeing and two rushed 5 minute stops for pictures, driver wanted to drop group off at Giant’s House and leave. Told people to walk back to ship and then finally agreed to return in an hour. Tour was nowhere near 2.5 hours. Save your money and walk or cab to the Giant’s house on your own.
    Written 2 March 2024
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    It is disappointing when tours and excursions are booked, the customer travels and then reviews the product poorly as they haven't read the tour description correctly and or haven't listened to the drivers instructions. This excursion was the full 2.5 hours and covered the bays of the inner harbour, the summit road and the Hil Top where there were stops for photo opportunity. The excursions final stop is at the Giants House where the drivers give the group the option to travel back to the wharf in the tour vehicle approximately 45 minutes after arrival or to spend longer there and make their own way back at their leisure , ( a two minute drive or a 10 minute down hill walk). The 2.5 hours includes the Giants House and on the day of travel the driver recommended walking back as it was a nice day and those that wanted could enjoy the Giants House at a more leisurely pace. We believe that this is where there has been some unfortunate misunderstanding.
    Written 2 March 2024
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Vince B
    Crest Hill, IL46 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Nov 2019
    We took the Akaroa Harbour & Giants House Local Tour and had a great time. The tour company met us at the dock and our bus was there waiting. OUr tour guide was pleasant, friendly and knew the area extremely well. We made several stops along the way and had plenty of time for photos with awesome views of Akaroa harbor from the mountains. The tour finished with a grand tour of the Giants House. This was an amazing place and the gardens were beautiful. Again, plenty of time to take pictures and enjoy the house and gardens at your pace. We were dropped off in town and had several hours to walk through Akaroa and enjoy the shops and scenery. Great way to see Akaroa. Highly recommend this tour.
    Written 12 December 2019
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your Akaroa Harbour & Giants House Local Tour. I'm really glad you enjoyed this shore excursion. We only started this tour this cruise ship season and it's already proven to be quite popular amongst visitors. It is a great substitute for those looking to do something during their time in the Akaroa Harbour but who don't want to drive into Christchurch. Thanks again and I hope you get to visit New Zealand again soon.
    Written 16 December 2019
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Lynne D
    Watford, UK239 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Nov 2019
    I booked following other good reviews before traveling with Leisure Tours (Shores Trips & Tours) and I received great customer service and communication throughout. They were easy to find at each port, with a representative on hand to reassure you. The drivers were excellent, very friendly, personable and accommodating.
    This tour was one of the best in NZ, Akaroa is a beautiful port with great souvenir shops at good prices. The tour was approx 3h and took in all best sites locally, a visit to Barry's cheeses via lunch at the Hilltop Tavern, which unfortunately for us was a cloudy day which meant we couldn't appreciate the stunning views, and finishing at the delightful Giants House and gardens (Afternoon Tea is available at a small charge) and we were given the option of being dropped back at the port or making use of the time available to make the short stroll back via the lovely little town, shops & market on cruise days. Admission to the house was included in the tour price which is great value for money compared to the cruise excursion costs.
    Written 20 November 2019
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thank you, Lynne, for taking the time to post such a detailed review and recommendation of our Local Sights and Giants House Tour. We really appreciate your kind words regarding our representatives and driver/guides for your day of travel - I'll be sure to pass on your great comments to them. This option is good alternative to Christchurch based tours and is perfect for those who only want to spend a few hours visiting some of the best attractions and this portion of the Banks Peninsula. And, as you mentioned, this tour is great value for money! Thanks again for the glowing review and I hope you get to visit Akaroa and New Zealand again soon!
    Written 21 November 2019
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Luke W
    2 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Jul 2022 • Couples
    Really cute little place and the lady is lovely at the gate. A whacky but unique experience recommend highly ❤️
    Written 9 July 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, yes the experience is definitely unique.
    Written 11 July 2022
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Robyn C
    Melbourne, Australia32 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Jan 2020
    entertaining and informative I would happily book with this company again. Professional form start to finish
    Written 8 February 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thank you very much for the kind words and 5 star rating! I hope you get to return to Akaroa again soon and join us for another shore excursion!
    Written 12 February 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Akaroa Shore Excursion: Akaroa Harbour and Giants House Local Tour provided by Leisure Tours

    All things to do in Akaroa
    Day Trips in Akaroa
    RestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire