Tours and Tickets

Swimming with Wild Dolphins in Akaroa provided by Black Cat Cruises

Reserve Now & Pay Later

Swimming with Wild Dolphins in Akaroa

Save
Share
Support this operator:Times are tough for the travel community right now. To show your support, consider leaving a review or posting photos of tours and experiences you have taken. Your support will go a long way in helping tour operators worldwide get back on their feet down the road
Select Date and Travellers
From
US$59.30
Date
2 adults
Options
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Low Price Guarantee
Overview
Swim in the vicinity of wild dolphins on this Akaroa Harbour cruise, limited to 12 passengers. You’ll chance upon Hector’s dolphins, the world’s smallest and rarest dolphins, in their natural habitat. A wetsuit and mask are provided for your experience in the water, followed by a hot beverage and shower.
Highlights
  • Akaroa Harbour dolphin cruise
  • Swim in the natural habitat of wild dolphins
  • Covered vessel with heated cabin and hot drinks
  • Limit of 12 passengers permitted per departure
Important Information
Departure Point
The Wharf - Akaroa, 75 Beach Road, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Duration
3h
Return Details
Returns to original departure point
Inclusions
  • 3-hour dolphin swim (2-hours in water)
  • Wetsuit and mask (for those swimming)
  • Hot Beverage
  • Includes a full, live commentary from skipper
  • Hot Shower Facilities
Exclusions
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not suitable for infants or children under 8
  • Children between 8yrs and 12yrs must be accompanied by an adult swimmer.
  • Children between 13yrs and 16yrs must be accompanied by an adult watcher.
  • Please note to join this activity you need to be able to swim a minimum of 50 meters unaided and be confident in open sea conditions.
  • Akaroa is ideally situated, only a 90 minute drive from Christchurch International Airport. You can either drive yourself or catch one of the shuttles, which operate daily between Christchurch city center and Akaroa.
  • Dolphin Sightseeing Guarantee - In the event of “partial swim” (dolphins are viewed from the boat but swimmers do not get into the water; or swimmers do not get full interaction while in the water as determined by Black Cat skipper & crew) Black Cat will refund 25% of fare. If no dolphins are seen, Black Cat will refund 50% of fare.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Life jackets are not provided or used, if one is required this product is not suitable, please join our Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruise.
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • You can only book to watch a swim when travelling with a swimmer
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 12 travellers
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
141Reviews
21Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 85
  • 7
  • 4
  • 7
  • 3
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Popular mentions
dlynne7 wrote a review Apr 2020
London, United Kingdom180 contributions2 helpful votes
Friendly from the start, helping us to find the correct wet suits and storing our possessions. We were briefed about what to expect and it wasn’t long before we were on the boat seeking dolphins. The staff were very competent and determined to find dolphins for us. We had three
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from BlackCat_NZ, Manager at Swimming with Wild Dolphins in Akaroa
Responded 10 Apr 2020
It's wonderful to hear that you had such a great experience with us here in stunning Akaroa! A special thank you for your kind words about our friendly and knowledgeable team. We hope to see you again in the future!
Read more
Voyager560420 wrote a review Apr 2020
9 contributions
We drove here to Akaroa from Christchurch, which in itself was a really nice trip with stunning views. On arrival we were sent of to get fitted into out wet suites and then out onto the boat. At all times all the staff were very helpful and nice. We left the Quay and headed out
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from BlackCat_NZ, Manager at Swimming with Wild Dolphins in Akaroa
Responded 5 Apr 2020
Hi Voyager560420, Thank you for choosing Black Cat Cruises to introduce you to Akaroa Harbour and the wonderful Hectors Dolphins. We are very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable experience. It is very important to us that all of our trips are fun, safe and sensitive to the nature that surrounds us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and we hope to see you again soon! All the best
Read more
bev185 wrote a review Mar 2020
Toronto, Canada18 contributions8 helpful votes
We had a great time with Black Cat. We weren’t able to swim with the dolphins but saw them close up and had fun trying. We received a partial refund because we didn’t swim with the dolphins which was unexpected. Had a great time and would definitely recommend this excursion.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from BlackCat_NZ, Manager at Swimming with Wild Dolphins in Akaroa
Responded 19 Mar 2020
Hi Bev185, thanks very much for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. Sounds like you had a great time despite not being able to get in the water with the dolphins. I hope you can join us again in Akaroa soon.
Read more
GKimb wrote a review Mar 2020
Saint John, Canada224 contributions64 helpful votes
We had a great time on our trip to swim with the dolphins even though we didn’t get the full experience and had some of our money refunded! The folks at Black Cat are great and make the experience a lot of fun. We were thrilled just to be able to float off the coast in New
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from BlackCat_NZ, Manager at Swimming with Wild Dolphins in Akaroa
Responded 19 Mar 2020
Hi GKimb, thanks so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. Sounds like you had a fab time out in the water, we really hope you can join us again soon!
Read more
Dilip D wrote a review Feb 2020
13 contributions7 helpful votes
Excellent!!! Black cat cruise Swimming with Dolphins is an vary enjoyable experience worth the effort to get here. The road to get here is (Akaroa) is around the hills is a very winding.
Read more
Helpful
Share
Response from BlackCat_NZ, Manager at Swimming with Wild Dolphins in Akaroa
Responded 19 Mar 2020
H 967dilipd, thanks very much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor! We hope you can join us on another tour soon.
Read more
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Black Cat Cruises
craigieb16
00
Hector Dolphins and Hump Back Whale!
Amazing Experience! Set off from Akaroa and within minutes we had spotted an hector dolphin, Everyone was in high a
Read more
M2344
00
Amazing cruise and crew!
We went on the 2 hour nature cruise yesterday and it was amazing. We saw many Hector’s Dolphins, blue penguins, bab
Read more
Leisurelytravellers
00
A Most Enjoyable Experience
The sun came out just as we cast off on our cruise in Akaroa harbour. The boat was comfortable with not too many on
Read more
Sammy And Stue'... H
00
world class experience
A 2 hour cruise packed full of information by the skipper, who was very friendly and full of knowledge about the lo
Read more
Chocolateer
00
Special Experience
We had a lovely cruise of the Harbor. The captain was very experienced at spotting and attracting the wildlife. H
Read more
Belsara19
00
Amazing Harbour Cruise
Black Cat deliver a fantastic tour which I highly recommend. Over the course of two hours we saw multiple dolphins,
Read more
TamKL
00
Fantastic experience - saw lots of wildlife
Friendly and helpful crew led by the wonderful Kate. Saw dolphins, penguins (which apparently are rare but on that
Read more
B5724TIcindym
00
Great 2 hr cruise
Take anti emetics prior if cruising on a choppy day. Very pleasant cruise. Seen dolphins and seals and a great comm
Read more
Andrew B
00
Dolphin Experience
Travelled from Christchurch to see this and it was well worth it.Family run business and they look after you better
Read more
Wilpensmi
00
Nice side trip from Christchurch
If you are going to visit Christchurch, you will find it is totally unlike Auckland as far as the number of attract
Read more
watchitwatchout
00
Don't miss this!
Did the Akaroa Harbour Cruise with Black Cat as a shore excursion from Princess NZ Cruise, Feb 2020. Cannot recomme
Read more
Fredthefiddle
00
Real value for money.
It seemed like quite a lot of money to pay for a trip out of Akaroa for a 2 hour nature cruise, but boy, did this t
Read more
Toni-Wayne
00
Awesome experience
Spectacular scenery and we saw lots of dolphins as well as penguins and fur seals. This was on our bucket list and
Read more
johnandleew
00
Great excursion!
We completely enjoyed our cruise in the harbor. There was plenty of room on the boat - we stayed up front with room
Read more
Greynomad_10
00
Poor crew attitude
We have lived in Kenya and travelled to most of the game parks. We have been to Alaska, the High Artic and Antartic
Read more
Key Details
  • Akaroa Harbour, Akaroa
  • Duration: 3h
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Instant Confirmation
  • Languages Offered: English
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Reserve Now & Pay Later
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:+1 855 275 5071

Travellers also viewed

Akaroa Dolphins | Harbour Nature Cruise
from $63.64*
Popular: Booked by 327 travellers!
Akaroa Swim with Dolphins Tour from Christchurch
from $196.64*
Popular: Booked by 181 travellers!

Other Water Sports

Akaroa Dolphins | Harbour Nature Cruise
from $63.64*
Popular: Booked by 327 travellers!
Swimming with Wild Dolphins in Akaroa
from $59.30*
Popular: Booked by 774 travellers!
Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruise
from $56.94*
Popular: Booked by 826 travellers!