We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Akaroa Full Day Sightseeing Tour from Christchurch

Select Date and Travellers
2 travellers
Select tour language
Enjoy a Sightseeing tour to Akaroa through the spectacular scenery surrounding Banks Peninsula, formed following violent eruptions of two ancient volcanoes.  The Akaroa crater nurses the picturesque harbor and Akaroa village. Experience a Nature Cruise with highlights including the rare, NZ native dolphin - the Hector's Dolphin, as well as penguins and other sea birds. And you'll see giant volcanic sea cliffs and hear about Akaroa's fascinating past. The Tour also includes a delightful lunch at Bully Hayes Restaurant.
  • Tour Akaroa from Christchurch without having to rent a car
  • Enjoy convenience of reserved harbor cruise and lunch (if selected)
  • Gain insight into the settlement’s history and the area’s ecosystem
  • Convenient hotel pickup and drop-off in Christchurch
What to Expect
Your tour starts with pickup from your Christchurch hotel. Hop aboard a bus and enjoy the scenery as you pass through South Island to Akaroa. On the way, gaze at Little River, Lake Forsyth, Lake Ellesmere, Gebbies Pass, and Governor's Bay. Arrive at the Akaroa crater, home to the scenic harbor and French settlement of Akaroa. Stop by the Barry's Bay Cheese Factory to taste locally made cheeses, and wander through the town, distinguished by colonial architecture, with your guide. If you chose to upgrade to lunch, you stop at popular Bully Hayes Restaurant on the waterfront. After lunch, board a catamaran for a 2-hour harbor cruise on the lookout for marine and bird life, including Hector's dolphins, the world's smallest oceanic dolphin. Your guide provides information on the ecosystem surrounding the bay and its marine inhabitants. The tour ends with drop-off at your Christchurch hotel.
Show More
Important Information
Departure Point
Traveler pickup is offered
Departure Point: Your centrally located Christchurch Hotel or Motel
Dates: Daily Departures
Return point: Returns to original departure point at approximately 5:30pm
Departure Time
9:00 AM
9h 30m
Return Details
Returns to original departure point at approximately 5:30pm
  • Lunch - (if option chosen)
  • Driver/guide
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Gratuities
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Please advise any specific dietary requirements at time of booking
  • Collapsible wheelchairs with removable wheels can be accommodated providing the passenger is accompanied by someone who can assist them board and disembark
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
Cancellation Policy
If you cancel at least 7 days in advance of the scheduled departure, there is no cancellation fee. If you cancel between 3 and 6 day(s) in advance of the scheduled departure, there is a 50 percent cancellation fee. If you cancel within 2 days of the scheduled departure, there is a 100 percent cancellation fee.
Traveller rating
  • 13
  • 2
  • 2
  • 0
  • 1
Traveller type
Time of year
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Amazing customer service throughout the whole thing. I had to change my activity due and they really helped to find with me the right match for what I was looking. All went really smooth thanks to their professionalism.
Read more
Response from Canterburyleisure, Digital Marketing Manager at Akaroa Full Day Sightseeing Tour from Christchurch
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thanks for the five star review and thanks for praising our office workers who were able to rectify your situation. Occasionally these things happen due to bad weather, not meeting minimum numbers, etc, and each time our team will help with either refunds or finding an alternative tour. I'm really glad that our team were able to find you a new activity and that you ultimately enjoyed your day with us despite the circumstances. I hope you had a nice time in New Zealand and get to visit us again soon!
Read more
I enjoyed a relaxing day out at Akaroa. Everything was well organised and efficiently taken care of. Rob, my driver cum guide was great! Lunch was scrumptious! The 2-hour cruise was excellent!
Read more
Response from Canterburyleisure, Digital Marketing Manager at Akaroa Full Day Sightseeing Tour from Christchurch
Responded 11 Dec 2019
Thanks for the great review of your Akaroa Day Tour and for praising our driver/guide, Rob. I'll be sure to pass on your kind words to him. Hope you have a great time in New Zealand and that you visit New Zealand again soon!
Read more
Our driver Janet was very knowledgeable and kind, and the cruise itself was amazing. Definitely worth it!
Read more
Response from Canterburyleisure, Digital Marketing Manager at Akaroa Full Day Sightseeing Tour from Christchurch
Responded 3 Dec 2019
Thanks for the great review and recommendation, Sammy. It was a pleasure to have you join us! I'll be sure to pass on your kind remarks to your driver Janet the next time I see her. All the best and I hope you get to visit Christchurch again soon!
Read more
My husband and I took this day tour on the last full day of our NZ roadtrip. Overall we found the tour just good, though not as excellent as some of the tours we had taken earlier in the trip. We liked not having to drive ourselves down to Akaroa and the boat tour really made
Read more
Response from Canterburyleisure, Digital Marketing Manager at Akaroa Full Day Sightseeing Tour from Christchurch
Responded 16 Jul 2019
Thanks for the review Jessica. I'm glad you enjoyed your day with us in Akaroa. The Black Cat cruise is always great, no matter what time in the year it is. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your ride down in our coach. As there was only four people going to Akaroa that day, and because our other vehicles were in use, we had to use that slightly smaller vehicle. Usually the sound quality in that coach is fine. It was most likely a problem with the microphone, which we will look into now that you have brought it to our attention. I'm also sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the cheese factory. Many people have often cited this as being one of the highlights of the Akaroa Day Tour, but to each their own. Thanks again for the review and I hope you visit New Zealand again sometime soon!
Read more
We were on Akaroa day tour with harbour cruise from Christchurch. Beautiful & quiet little town with nice scenery. Our guide Graham was knowledgeable & took care of us. Lunch was included & I chose the salmon set. The salmon super delicious as it melted in my mouth. After
Read more
Response from Canterburyleisure, Digital Marketing Manager at Akaroa Full Day Sightseeing Tour from Christchurch
Responded 26 May 2019
Thanks for the great review Alicia. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your Akaroa Day tour with us. And I'm pleased you had a nice time with Graham, our driver, and at the Bully Hayes restaurant in Akaroa. I'll definitely pass on your kind words. Regarding your Black Cat Cruise, New Zealand's weather can unfortunately be very changeable and this can affect the sea conditions in the harbour. Much of Akaroa Harbour is protected by adverse weather, but heading towards the sea can be a little rough if the conditions change suddenly. So its recommended for those who are afflicted by seasickness should bring some pills with them if conditions are a little bad. Thanks again for the great review and I hope you return to New Zealand again soon in the future.
Read more
About the operator
By: Leisure Tours
319 reviews
Moscow, Russia
A quick tour of the Waipara Valley wineries
It was a quick and fun tour on the 4 wineries in the Waipara valley. The guide was fun and knowledgeable. Got to
Read more
Peter M
The history and the scenic surrounds
The amazing history of how the town came to be and the geological formations created by volcanic actions.
Read more
Aiken, South Carolina
Don't Take This Tour if You're Taller that 5'5"
The tour bus seated sixteen people. The seats were narrow with virtually no leg room. My husband I and were so
Read more
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Visit to Akaroa and Christ Church
Tour guide was extremely knowledgeable about both Akaroa and Chrsit Church. Christ Church is quite a distance from
Read more
Hoi An, Vietnam
Lovely day out
Loved the tour. Guide Dennis was amazing and told us so much about nz. Very interesting to see how Christchurch
Read more
Not enough time
Transfer from the ship was dealyed, so we arrived at 1032 at the meeting point, our bus had already left and we
Read more
London, United Kingdom
Waipara Wine Trail
Lovely locations and wines. We were impressed by the history of the vineyards and the fact that they were family
Read more
beautiful afternoon
Good wine, great lunch. Everyone was friendly. Enjoyed touring with a couple from Australia. The region is mostly
Read more
Maťa K
Wonderful day off!
Thank you very much for this great experience! Everything was excellent, our guide picked us up at our
Read more
Great way to spend an afternoon
Excellent commentary on the way out before a tasty lunch. And which winery had the best wine? Go along and decide
Read more
Houston, Texas
Everything you needed to know about Christchurch.
This was a great tour, made even more special because of the commentary and knowledge of our guide/driver, Scotty.
Read more
Yogesh B
Melbourne, Australia
Very Pleased to say it was well worth the trip and good value for money!!!!!
We landed on shore in Akaroa from the ship by tender. We pre-booked this tour and glad we did as we have great
Read more
Exceptional Customer Service
We were a group of 6 senior adults who engaged Leisure Tours for this tour. The tour itself was as advertised.
Read more
Larnach and Speights
This is an excellent tour--our driver (Russell I think) was an excellent guide who knew the town super well, and
Read more
Brilliant volunteers on this scenic tour
Due to miscommunication from Princess Cruises and the Dunedin Railways, cousins who were to join us on this tour,
Read more
Key Details
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Free Cancellation up to 7 days in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:+1 855 275 5071