We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
    EuropeHungaryCentral HungaryBudapestThings to do in BudapestTours and Tickets

Hungarian Home Cooking Class and Market Tour in Budapest - with unbiased reviews

Hungarian Home Cooking Class and Market Tour in Budapest

Select Date and Travellers
2 travellers
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
Low Price GuaranteeNo Booking Fees
Join us for a market tour and private Hungarian home cooking class where you will learn more about the Hungarian people, culture and food than you ever thought possible in just one afternoon or evening.
What to Expect
This is a typical itinerary for this product

Stop At: Central Market Hall, Vamhaz korut, 1-3, Budapest 1093 Hungary

Stop At: Culinary Hungary Home Cooking Class and Market Tour, Forint Street, Budapest 1024 Hungary
Show More
Important Information
Departure Point
Central Market Hall, Budapest, Vámház krt. 1-3, 1093 Hungary
Return Details
Returns to original departure point
  • Bottled water
  • Food-tasting
  • 3-course lunch
  • Palinka (Hungarian fruit brandy)
  • Wine
  • Coffee, tea
  • Local guide
  • Private cooking class
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
Show More
Additional Info
  • A maximum of 8 people per booking
  • A minimum of 2 people per booking is required
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Traveller rating
  • 17
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
Traveller type
Time of year
Popular mentions
Ian W wrote a review Nov 2019
2 contributions
This was a very worthwhile tour in which to take part. Andrew took the 2 Queenslanders on a very interesting walk around Budapest’s Central Market Building - the building an historical attraction in itself, the people watching (locals getting their supplies) irresistible, the
Read more
lois L wrote a review Sep 2019
11 contributions5 helpful votes
Sadly I did not enjoy this private cooking class and market tour. I found Andrew who took the market tour, self centred and at times unprofessional which made for a long 6 hours. Additionally, the Buda apartment where the cooking class was conducted did not have air conditioning
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
Response from AgnesBarath0, Owner at Hungarian Home Cooking Class and Market Tour in Budapest
Responded 23 Sep 2019
Dear Lois, TripAdvisor wants to provide reviews people can trust. Reading your review travelers would think that you wanted to book a private cooking class, you chose us and our service was poor. It is not the case, please let me paint a full picture of the situation. 1. You signed up for our market food tour combined with cooking class. We clearly say several times on our website that our cooking classes are private events. I also explained it in my email that I have sent to you. You agreed with that and confirmed it for 2 people. For me it meant that this was what you were looking for. Then it turned out at the market that you actually were looking for a group cooking class. Realizing it was a private session, you became disappointed. Here is what you wrote me in your email. „I failed to register it was a private class with just my husband and I which is possibly my fault. Had I realized this, I would not have booked the long session.” You did not read our website and my email properly, booked an experience that you were not looking for and was disappointed. I do not think this is our fault. 2. The first 90-120 minutes of this experience is the market tour with food samplings. Again, we explain on the website and three times in my email that you are going to sample Hungarian specialties at the market, please have just a light breakfast or no breakfast. You did not read it, arrived with full stomach and became frustrated that you had to eat. “As this is the start of the day, we had just had breakfast and so for me it was a waste as I could not appreciate the food or finish half the food.” We have 2 reasons to start the tour upstairs where the food stands are: A) The langos place and the other food stalls usually get very busy around 10:00-10:30, it takes too long to order food and there are not any free table to sit down or even just eat comfortably. B) If you eat a lot at the end of the tour, you will not be hungry by lunch time. Then you would complain that you could not eat the lunch that you have cooked in your cooking class, because you just had food at the market. If you book a market food tour with opportunities for tastings, please read the recommendations and do not eat before your tour or eat just a little, so you can appreciate the country’s local specialties. I guess that is why people book culinary experiences. According to your email, you became disinterested by the time you got around to cooking and found Andrew self-centered, he talked a lot about himself without interacting with you and was unprofessional. I think it is very hard to contact people who are disinterested, but he did his best to tell you about Hungary’s culture, culinary traditions, eating and shopping habits. He showcases culture, history, food through personal and other people's memories and experiences. He cannot showcase his city and his culture through textbooks and generic answers. He showcases it through himself. I am sorry to hear that they found it self-centered. Andrew has spent 4 years in professional kitchens, being totally up to date in current politics, culture, food trends, techniques, city happenings, food science. Hollywood stars, for example Mila Kunis and Ashton Kutcher picked Andrew to be their private chef and provide their daily meals during their 2-months stay in Budapest. I doubt they wanted an unprofessional chef to cook for them and their children for 8 weeks. 3. We offer a 100% money back guarantee to our clients. You can read it on our website and in the email I have sent you. “Our cooking program comes with a 100% money back guarantee. If at anytime during the cooking session you decide it is not for you, you are not satisfied with our service, or just expected something else, please let us know and you do not have to pay or we will be happy to refund your money. No question asked.” I figure 1.5-2 hours is enough time to decide if you do not wish to enjoy someone's company. We gave you the right to stop the tour and leave, even if it was not our fault. You could have said "I am sorry, I was looking for a group tour, I am not hungry, it is my fault that I did not read the tour information properly and booked this experience." Then just leave, not wasting your money, not wasting your and Andrew's time. Also, at the end of the day Andrew offered you not to pay, yet you did. I was happy to learn from your email that you very much enjoyed the food that you cooked in your cooking class. Agnes Barath
Read more
geldav wrote a review Sep 2019
210 contributions84 helpful votes
Andrew is a creative chef. We shopped at the Market and after a little retail therapy we created a menu and shopped across the market for the ingredients. We had great fun with the cooking and learnt a few new tricks. Hungarian dishes will now start to appear on our own
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Jean S wrote a review Apr 2019
6 contributions3 helpful votes
Our market tour and cooking class with Andrew was perfect! We really enjoyed the informative market tour, and the dishes we made were delicious. It was a great experience in Hungarian cooking! Even the guys, who were skeptical about a cooking class, had a great time, and really
Read more
Date of experience: April 2019
Paula C wrote a review Feb 2019
5 contributions
All of the good reviews are true! I had a great day with Andrew and learned so much. Who knew that there was such a thing as "parsley root"; I'd always thought it was a bad translation of "parsnip." They both taste good, but they are different. I was the only person in this
Read more
Date of experience: January 2019
Key Details
  • Central Market Hall, Culinary Hungary Home Cooking Class and Market Tour
  • Duration: 6h
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:+1 855 275 5071