Tours and Tickets
Stewart Island Wild Kiwi Encounter
5

Stewart Island Wild Kiwi Encounter

By RealNZ
Recommended by 94% of travellers
94% of reviewers gave this product a bubble rating of 4 or higher.
About
from
$229.00
per adult
Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 16-99, max of 16 per group
Duration: 5h
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Meets animal welfare guidelines
Live guide: English
More


  • Complimentary tea and coffee on board return scenic cruise


Start:
  • Visitor Terminal - Stewart Island Experience, Southland 9818, New Zealand
    Please arrive 15 minutes before your scheduled departure time.
End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

    • Not wheelchair accessible
    If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 2264P34

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
    • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
    • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
    • Not suitable for children under 16 years
    • A reasonable level of fitness is required
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 16 travellers

    • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

    How much is Stewart Island Wild Kiwi Encounter?
    Stewart Island Wild Kiwi Encounter price starts from $234.78. Discover and book Stewart Island Wild Kiwi Encounter on Tripadvisor
    What is the Stewart Island Wild Kiwi Encounter cancellation policy?
    Stewart Island Wild Kiwi Encounter cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Stewart Island Wild Kiwi Encounter on Tripadvisor
    Which company provides Stewart Island Wild Kiwi Encounter?
    Stewart Island Wild Kiwi Encounter is hosted by RealNZ. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact RealNZ on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Stewart Island Wild Kiwi Encounter on Tripadvisor
    How much time do I need for Stewart Island Wild Kiwi Encounter?
    On average, this experience will take approximately 5h. Discover and book Stewart Island Wild Kiwi Encounter on Tripadvisor

    If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 2264P34

    Reserve your spot
    About the operator
    Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
    • RealNZ
      1,236
      New Zealand
      Joined in May 2009
    • Kelsofly
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Epic Avian Adventure
      My parents and I visited Stewart Island for a couple days, and both RealNZ tours we did were truly amazing. We were fortunate enough to have the incredible Karen as our guide (but all the other guides seemed pretty cool too), and her passion for what she does, and the beautiful environment we were visiting, was clear. I've lived in NZ for 10 years, but learned so much on Ulva Island about our native species. We got to see an incredible variety of birdlife and spend time just taking everything in. The highlight was seeing mohua/yellowheads and sea lions on the beach (and Karen's bravery ensuring the stroppy male sea lion stayed well away from the group). Highly recommend this tour! You'll gain so much knowledge and walk away happy with a few hours incredibly well spent.
      Written 2 March 2024
    • Mary M
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Ulva island
      Many thanks for the great day. Thanks to the skipper for the boat ride, Sarah and Jan for the tour on the island. It was great to see the seals and Mick for his strong 💪 getting us on and off the boat ☺️
      Written 21 February 2024
    • PerthRJB
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Stewart Island bus tour.
      We flew to Stewart Island for a very short stay (only 5 hours) and chose the bus tour to fit as much in as possible in a short time. Our group was small, and we received very personal service from the guide/driver. Rhys was very informative and entertaining. He had a real working history of the settlement and island. He pointed out all the local attractions and things to do on such a short visit. What a ripper bloke! The tour unfolded stunning panorama after panorama. Highly recommended!
      Written 10 February 2024
    • I5660QJmaryd
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      See Stewart Island Up Close and Personsal
      This was a great tour! It was raining cats and dogs but Di still managed to be entertaining and informative. We loved learning about the island’s history.
      Written 9 February 2024
    • Samantha C
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Lovely place
      We took the island bus with Ryce a very knowledgeable man. Pretty island. We enjoyed our tour. When we got to the beach a sea lion came up which was great. Ryce told us the fish and chips from the blue van where the best do we had them for lunch very nice and it was so busy.
      Written 18 January 2024
    • carysb08
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Rhys, the tour guide, made the tour
      This tour was the first thing we did on our 3 day Stewart Island trip and it was the perfect introduction to the island. We travelled a good chunk of the roads and saw all the main spots with incredibly entertaining and informative commentary from Rhys. He delivered exceptional service and delivered the information with humour , expertise and humanity! An asset to the Real NZ team. Thank you Rhys!
      Written 16 January 2024
    • Pam A
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Amazing experience!
      Natasha was an amazing guide! So full of knowledge and passion!! We had an excellent experience and would highly recommend it to anyone!
      Written 15 January 2024
    • Laurie_B_VA
      0 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      Lovely tour to see new birds
      Lovely trip to learn more about Stewart Island and then Ulva. Levin was a great guide that gave us so much information before we even got to Ulva. On land, we saw wonderful birds and learned about their behavior and habits. Levin helped us find parrots and riflemen and helped us hear the calls of many others. We covered the beach and saw tracks from sea lions. This was a great day out and I certainly could have spent even longer on Ulva.
      Written 13 January 2024
    • L7293RTdavidt
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great Tour
      We had 3 days on Stuart Island and the tour was one of our itinerary items. Great to see the wildlife and fauna with a great and friendly guide. Very knowledgeable.
      Written 11 January 2024
    • Kristin M
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Stewart island tour
      Rhys our driver was knowledgeable and very open to questions about the area…. Although we felt like Stewart island was a bit scarce of activities we did enjoy our time in his tour.
      Written 31 December 2023
    • OnAir44773039820
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Perfect for nature lovers
      Ulva Island is an incredible place to see birds and fauna. Natasha worked really hard to find birds for us to see and was very knowledgeable about their calls. We saw piwakawaka/fantails, yellow heads, NZ pigeon, kaka parrots and parakeets. We heard a bellbirds call. A fantastic place to visit with a guide.
      Written 14 November 2023
    • philippab1956
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Trip of the township and local beaches
      Our guide Rhys was terrific and informed us about the history of the island as well as showing us the beautiful beaches and view points in the vicinity of the road network on the island. We got super extra service when we saw a sea lion on a beach and reversed back to view it a little closer. Excellent guide.
      Written 4 November 2023
    • LynetteR9
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Very useful info
      Well worth taking this tour for the local knowledge. Our guide was delightful and gave us so much information about the island life and where to go. A good activity when you first arrive.
      Written 3 November 2023
    • Y7564PCpeterm
      0 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great Intro to Stewart Island
      A great introduction to Stewart Island, particularly for those over just for the night or, like us, a little averse to hiking. Our tour was a lot of fun and very crowded as we were fortunate (????) to have a very rowdy tour group of New Zealanders with us. Reece our driver handled the situation with ease and ensured that my partner & I were comfortable and at ease, particularly as we are Australian. Our only issue was that the tour seemed a little brief and it would have been nice to have travelled further around the Island. However, to be fair, in this instance there may have been extenuating circumstances.
      Written 30 October 2023
    • L4886FTruthg
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Well worth it
      We had limited time on the island and this tour was great. Got a good overview of village life and the history of the island. Would highly recommend it.
      Written 20 October 2023
    See all 1 review
    These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

    Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

    Popular mentions

    We perform checks on reviews.
    Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
    Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
    When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
    Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
    Learn more about our review moderation.
    5.0
    5.0 of 5 bubbles34 reviews
    Excellent
    32
    Very good
    0
    Average
    0
    Poor
    1
    Terrible
    1

    Siobhán Kelleher
    Auckland, New Zealand3 contributions
    1.0 of 5 bubbles
    Apr 2022 • Solo
    Was very disappointed with booking with this company. I booked the tour for the last night of my trip on stewart island. And this tour got cancelled with out notification- I was told when I arrived to check in for tour it was cancelled- they could not contact me as I had an Australian prefix.
    This is inaccurate, I used my New Zealand number with no area country attached- they also should have noted it was a different prefix to Australian numbers and tried it just using the “02” prefix.

    They also had my email address. (Which upon her telling me they had to cancel tour and I asked was it being refunded I received a cancellation email, alas with my correct number on it and no Australian country code attached with it.)

    I wasn’t offered anything to make up for the fact that tour was cancelled except being told it wasn’t due to the wind but it was the rain and it was the least rainiest night I was there.

    Seems more likely there was not enough people doing the tour so they did not feel up to it that night.

    Very disappointed as I was looking forward to the tour, I would advise using another company over them.
    Written 26 April 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    We're very sorry to hear that you had a poor experience with us during your Stewart Island holiday. The RealNZ team aims to deliver excellent customer service and care to all our guests, so it's disappointing that you feel you did not receive this. Unfortunately, our Wild Kiwi Encounter Tour is weather dependent and tours can be cancelled on the day. We will be sure to investigate our cancellation procedure and educate our team on phone prefixes to ensure this miscommunication does not happen again in the future. If you would like to speak with someone about your experience and provide any additional comments or feedback, please contact marketing@realnz.com. Your happiness is our priority and we would love the opportunity to make things right.
    Written 28 April 2022
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Debbie B
    7 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    The team were great. Each had a part in making this trip memorable. Knowledgeable, humorous and did their very best to help us spot wildlife. Which can never be guaranteed. While it was light we went to sea the seal nursery, looked for penguins, had Albatross land on the sea near the boat. Saw shags, gulls and skua. Then a night walk through the bush where we lucked out and saw a young female kiwi. Seeing a kiwi was the icing on the cake. It is very obvious that there is pressure on the guides to find kiwis for us as people can be disappointed. We were lucky
    Written 2 October 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    There's nothing more special than seeing the local birdlife up close! We're so happy you got to experience this for yourself Debbie. Thank you for joining us. We hope to see you again.
    Written 6 October 2022
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Ian P
    Monaco119 contributions
    2.0 of 5 bubbles
    Really disappointed, not so many days on Stewart Island and our trip was suddenly cancelled
    Due to vessel engine problems. Was really disappointed as staff although arranging refund did
    Not go to any attempt to move to other options other than to say they were fully booked.
    Not really satisfactory.
    Written 26 February 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    907JLeMay
    Anchorage, AK169 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    This adventure was exciting! We took a scenic boat ride over to Tribal land and hiked through the woods at night from 10 pm to 12 am. We were fortunate and saw a couple kiwis. One was unfazed and spent about 20 minutes with us.
    Written 29 February 2024
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    KiwiJune
    Carterton, New Zealand13 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    An unforgettable experience! First time in my (almost) 70 years that I have seen Kiwi foraging in the wild. We saw two birds in two different locations in the bush thanks to the perseverance and skill of our guide Clare.
    No Kiwi on the beach but, on a perfect night, the guides took the opportunity for a stargazing and identification session. We could clearly see the "cloud" of the Milky Way.
    On the boat trip to the Kiwi encounter time was taken to view albatross, seals, dolphins and penguins.
    There is so much packed into this experience. All done with humor, professionalism and deep knowledge and respect for this special environment and its inhabitants. Highly recommended.
    Written 16 February 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Seeing a wild kiwi for the first time is such a special moment! We're so happy to be a part of this memory.
    Written 23 February 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Greg T
    Wellington, New Zealand31 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Mar 2023
    A trip around the inlet and surrounding islands first in the catamaran, with commentary on the area and wildlife. Stopped to sea sealions, and watch a range of birds including Mollymawks (small albatross - 2.5m wingspan), Titi and terns. Then onto a wharf for a slow walk through the bush in the dark (we have torches aimed at our feet to see), stopping to listen for kiwi "sneezes and rustling). No luck there so onto the beach, and after a few minutes the red light goes on (the kiwi cant see red light) showing a kiwi has been spotted. We saw two on the beach feeding for long periods, and the clouds cleared to see the night sky and Milky Way as well.

    My wife has a bad back and foot and uses a walking stick, but the walk was manageable and they accommodated by slowing down for her. You needed to be careful of soft sand and slippery ground and tree roots etc, so not suitable for those with a lot of walking difficulty. Great explanations and overall a great night delivering to expectations.
    Written 16 March 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thank you for joining our Wild Kiwi Encounter Tour and taking the time to share your experience with us. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the catamaran tour with commentary on the area and wildlife, as well as the walk through the bush in the dark to spot kiwis. We are glad to hear that we were able to accommodate your wife's needs and that the walk was manageable for her. We take pride in providing an experience that is both enjoyable and accessible to all of our guests. Thank you again for your kind words, and we hope to see you again in the future.
    Written 3 April 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Lorna C
    Melbourne, Australia3 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    A fantastic combination of cruising around Stewart Island's outer Islands spotting birds, seals and other wildlife & enjoying fantastic scenery, and bush walking in beautiful bush in the hope of spotting kiwi. Our guides (Karen, Natasha & Nick the skipper) had fantastic knowledge of the history of the area and the diverse wildlife. Despite the rainy night, we were lucky enough to see three Kiwi, which was an added bonus to all the other wildlife and amazing seascapes and sunset skies earlier in the night. A trip that's much more than a Kiwi encounter and well worth doing.
    Written 20 January 2024
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us! We are thrilled to hear that you had such an enjoyable time on our Stewart Island Wild Kiwi Encounter. We're delighted that our guides Karen, Natasha, and Nick provided you with excellent knowledge and made your experience memorable. Seeing three kiwi despite the rainy night must have been truly special, and we're glad it added to the magic of your adventure.
    Written 22 February 2024
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Guide21308535710
    1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Dec 2023 • Friends
    I had a excellent experience on your kiwi spotting tour. Our guides Jan and Sarah were both awesome snd full of knowledge. Would highly recommend this trip ro anyone wanting a one of a kind kiwi experience
    Written 4 January 2024
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us! We're thrilled to hear that you had an excellent time on our Wild Kiwi Encounter. Jan and Sarah are indeed fantastic guides, and we're delighted that their knowledge added to the enjoyment of your experience. Your recommendation means a lot to us, and we're grateful for the opportunity to provide you with a one-of-a-kind kiwi encounter.
    Written 22 February 2024
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    tony tylenda
    Williamsville, NY5 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    We found this Wild Kiwi Encounter to be extremely informative and interesting. The entire crew were very helpful, knowledgeable, and passionate about this entire tour! This tour is not just a walk through the forest at night, but it entails an experience that allows the visitor to have a greater understanding of the Kiwi as well as the surrounding islands!
    Written 5 March 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    It's great to hear that you had such a positive experience on the Wild Kiwi Encounter tour! It's always wonderful to hear feedback about tours that go beyond a simple walk and provides visitors with a deeper understanding of the environment and its inhabitants. Thanks for sharing your review, and I hope you have many more enjoyable experiences like this one in the future!
    Written 3 April 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Liat G
    Frisco, TX10 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    May 2023 • Solo
    Walking on the beach late at night was an amazing experience. I would have done it even if we hadn’t spotted kiwis, which we eventually did. The guides (Karen was my group’s guide) were very friendly, knowledgeable, and funny. I learned a lot and had a great time. You guys are the best.
    Written 12 June 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    We are absolutely thrilled to hear about your fantastic experience on our Wild Kiwi Encounter! We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again for another exciting adventure in the future.
    Written 4 September 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Showing results 1-10 of 30

    Stewart Island Wild Kiwi Encounter provided by RealNZ