Tours and Tickets

Milford Sound Day Trip from Queenstown by Coach, Cruise and Flight provided by Air Milford

Milford Sound Day Trip from Queenstown by Coach, Cruise and Flight

Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this experience is taking.Read more
View all photos (69)
Select Date and Travellers
From
US$426.41
Date
2 adults
Options
Low Price Guarantee
No Booking Fees
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during this experience
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
Updated 22/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 22/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Overview
Itinerary
+
You'll start at
9 Athol Street
Or, you can also get picked up
See Important Information for details
  • Pass by Lake Wakatipu
  • 1
    Lake Te Anau
    Stop: 30 minutes -
    See details
    Pass by Fiordland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
  • 2
    Eglinton Valley
    Stop: 5 minutes -
    See details
  • 3
    Mirror Lakes Walk
    Stop: 10 minutes -
    See details
  • 4
    Milford Sound
    Stop: 5 minutes -
    See details
  • 5
    Monkey Creek
    Stop: 5 minutes -
    See details
    Pass by Homer Tunnel
  • 6
    The Chasm Walk
    Stop: 15 minutes -
    See details
  • 7
    Cruise Milford
    Stop: 2 hours - Admission included
    See details
    Pass by Bowen Falls
  • 8
    Milford Sound Airport
    Stop: 10 minutes -
    See details
    Pass by Sutherland Falls
    Pass by Lake Te Anau
    Pass by Greenstone and Caples Tracks
    Pass by Lake Wakatipu
    Pass by Walter Peak Station Wharf
  • 9
    Air Milford
    Stop: 10 minutes -
    See details
You'll end at
9 Athol Street
9 Athol Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
See address & details
Important Information
Departure Point
9 Athol Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Duration
8–13 hours
Return Details
Returns to original departure point
Inclusions
  • 5-hour coach excursion to Milford Sound
  • 1 hour 45 minute cruise of Milford Sound
  • 35-minute scenic flight with Air Milford in a high wing airplane (weather permitting)
  • Live pilot commentary on board
  • Picnic lunch aboard cruise
  • Complimentary tea and coffee aboard cruise
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off (centrally located hotels)
  • Entry/Admission - Cruise Milford
Exclusions
  • Morning tea
Show More
Additional Info
  • Subject to favorable weather conditions: if poor weather prevents the flight, you will return by coach. You will be given a refund for the flight segment of the excursion
  • Do not forget to bring a jacket and your camera
  • Please advise any specific dietary requirements at time of booking
  • Infant rates apply for 0 - 1 years of age, when the infant is sat on a parents lap, with an infant lap belt
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travellers
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
33Reviews
3Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 14
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Popular mentions
LindaEM wrote a review Jan 2020
Norwich, United Kingdom12 contributions6 helpful votes
+4
We had the most amazing day. Firstly picked up by taxi to take us to out meeting point. Dave our coach driver ( 5 hours) kept us informed and entertained. Well thought out breaks along the way. We both learned so much and the views were fantastic. The boat trip on the sound was
Read more
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Airmilford, Front Office Manager at Milford Sound Day Trip from Queenstown by Coach, Cruise and Flight
Responded 1 Feb 2020
Dear Linda, Thank you for reviewing Air Milford on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased to receive your kind feedback and hear that you absolutely loved your recent GrayLine Coach/Cruise/Fly excursion. Fiordland National Park is such a stunning region, exploring it from land, sea and air all in one day makes for an unforgettable experience. We are pleased to hear that the personal touch from your coach driver, cruise skipper and pilot enhanced your day out. I have passed your praise onto the coach operator, Gray Line, the cruise operator, Cruise Milford and to our pilot Jimmy and they would all like to send their thanks and regards. On behalf of the whole team, thank you for choosing to fly with Air Milford and for your endorsement to future travelers, Sincerely, Mary, Guest services, Air Milford.
Read more
Rebecca C wrote a review Jan 2020
8 contributions
+2
We were picked up by a glass top bus from our hotel in Queenstown. The bus was comfortable and the driver was full of knowledge about New Zealand and what we were seeing along the drive. We had multiple breaks and stops to take in the sights along the way, which were absolutely
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Airmilford, Front Office Manager at Milford Sound Day Trip from Queenstown by Coach, Cruise and Flight
Responded 31 Jan 2020
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for sharing your glowing review and beautiful photos with the TripAdvisor community. The Milford Sound Coach/Cruise/Fly trip is an awesome day out in Fiordland National Park, combining land, sea and air, all into one spectacular day. We like to think that personal interaction makes a huge difference to a day out, so are really pleased to hear that your driver was knowledgeable and captivating and that your skipper was educational and entertaining! It can be cold over in Milford, especially on the boat where it is nice to be able to stand out on deck for viewing. For future guest's benefit we recommend bringing a jacket and note that you are more than welcome to bring a small bag with you with some extra layers :-) On behalf of the whole team, thank you for kind words and all the best for your future travels, Sincerely, Mary, Guest services, Air Milford.
Read more
kwcdeb wrote a review Dec 2019
Melbourne, Australia11 contributions7 helpful votes
Coach trip was great - really comfortable coach - with a half hour stop in Te Anau, and a few more photo stops along the drive to Milford Sound. Was impressed with the driving skill of our driver - he seemed very careful and would pause his commentary if his attention was
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Airmilford, Manager at Milford Sound Day Trip from Queenstown by Coach, Cruise and Flight
Responded 29 Dec 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for your thorough review of a Coach/Cruise/Fly option to Milford Sound. You provide travelers with a fantastic overview of what can be expected on this tour, (land/sea/air). We are thrilled to hear you positive feedback on these three parts of the trip, however we are disappointed that your special meal requirement was not provided. This is unacceptable because the tour is a minimum of 8 hours. For this we apologise, our first step has been to contact the coach company (who provide the lunch) and find an explanation to the error. Their manager has returned apologising for their mistake, and she is investigating why this occurred. She assures us that it will be rectified ASAP. I would like to take the opportunity to advise future travelers that we have 3 different coach options that we work with. Each has a different appeal for different situations, and our Flight Coordinators are more than happy to match the best to the guests requirements. Overall we are pleased to hear the experience was enjoyed. Have a great new year, and thanks again for your honest feedback especially in an area that we can help improve for future coach travelers. Sincerely, Antony Sproull
Read more
Y7260FCcarls wrote a review Oct 2019
Houston, United States5 contributions1 helpful vote
We signed up for the bus to milford, cruise and then flight back. unfortunately the weather was bad and our original day was canceled as the roadway to Milford was closed. They were proactive and helped us reschedule for the following day. Again the weather was bad and they
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Airmilford, Front Office Manager at Milford Sound Day Trip from Queenstown by Coach, Cruise and Flight
Responded 19 Oct 2019
Dear Y7260FCcarls, Thank you for reviewing your recent excursion on TripAdvisor. We are really pleased to hear that you had an awesome time exploring Fiordland National Park and that you though that we did a good job. During the spring we can experience some quite unsettled weather and when there is high precipitation, road closures do occur to Milford Sound, due to increased avalanche risk. Regrettably during your visit we were treated to some pretty abysmal weather, with a combination of road closures and no flying days. We are really pleased that you had some flexibility in your schedule, so that when bad weather intervened with your booking on the first day, you were able to switch days, so that you did not miss out on visiting Milford Sound entirely. We are also pleased to hear that you appreciated that we were able to proactively reach out to you, when the decision had been made that the road would be closed. In certain conditions, the road crew are not able to make this decision on the road status until mid-morning, and the coaches to Milford have to turn back after getting half way there, which is very disappointing for all involved. In regards to your point about your driver not knowing you were booked to fly, I can confirm that your driver had a clear manifest with him noting that you were booked to fly with us and that, as we do every day, spoke with him whilst you were out on the cruise portion of the excursion to make the final weather check on your flight status. Regrettably, the weather was inclement and so he was instructed that your flight was cancelled. In Milford Sound there are certain weather conditions that are more/less favorable for fixed wing planes, or helicopters, but on the whole the weather effects both options similarly and so if one is grounded, the other often will be too. On behalf of the whole team, I would like to say that we are really pleased that you were able have an enjoyable experience of Milford Sound, in some quite challenging conditions and that you would recommend us to future travelers. Sincerely, Mary, Guest services, Air Milford.
Read more
David A Edwards wrote a review Sep 2019
Melbourne, Australia128 contributions28 helpful votes
We booked the tour with Air Milford, but like many of these trips it was a consolidation of three legs/operators; the 5-hour bus trip (GreyLine), 1h40m cruise on Milford Sound (Cruise Milford) and the 40min flight back to Queenstown (Air Milford). We were a bit apprehensive of
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Airmilford, Front Office Manager at Milford Sound Day Trip from Queenstown by Coach, Cruise and Flight
Responded 11 Oct 2019
Dear Davidaedwards-au, Thank you for your kind and comprehensive review of your experience on TripAdvisor. The Milford Sound Coach/Cruise/Fly trip, in our opinion, is the 'holy grail' of day trips. It combines land, seas and air all in one day and makes for a fantastic and well rounded experience of the region. We are so pleased to hear that your driver/guide Jonno made the coach journey and logistics seamless, he is an awesome chap, we love his dad jokes too! On a long drive, it makes all the difference to have an interesting and informative commentary to guide you through the region and keep you entertained. How fantastic to finish the day on a high, with the scenic flight portion being confirmed, as you experienced first hand the weather changes very quickly in Milford Sound, but once you get up in the air, the views are worth the wait. On behalf of Gray Line coaches, Cruise Milford and Air Milford, thank you for joining us and all the best for your future adventures, Sincerely, Mary, Guest services, Air Milford.
Read more
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Air Milford
PaulB9017
00
Flight to the top of the world
Staff and facilities great. Excellent flight the scenery was stunning. Pilot looked after us on the ground and in t
Read more
RoyBuensuceso
00
A quick and fun ride above Queenstown.
This was a quick flight but the views up there were absolutely breathtaking! We didn't spend much time on the groun
Read more
MERosie863
00
Ultimate Experience
Best part of my weekend in Queenstown was taking to the air with Ant's from Air Milford and capturing the views of
Read more
michaels523
00
JUST BOOK IT!!!
Don't hesitate, don't over think it, simply do this!! We travel the world for amazing places to see and as a New Z
Read more
rosyj826
00
Excellent experience
My partner and I did a 20 min scenic flight over Queenstown and the montain range but also Arrowtown. The scenery w
Read more
100kaylaw
00
Queenstown Flight
Amazing. Friendly staff, pilot knew the area well and pointed out a lot of different views for us to look at. Beaut
Read more
EmmelineC18
00
Views to remember
Simply amazing adventure! From booking to our final landing Air Milford were so welcoming - their front of staff Jo
Read more
BronwynDW
00
Amazing Experience
We were extremely lucky to get this awesome flight in as the weather was due to turn in the afernoon. Our pilot, To
Read more
JAppel74
00
Scenic flight
Amazing views and great crew. Top notch. Easy to book. Really clean planes and great value for money
Read more
Hodson27
00
All 'round great Kiwi experience.
What a fantastic experience, both the plane trip and the cruise were wonderful. Our pilot Tom was excellent, a weal
Read more
Donnut
00
Milford
Flying over the snow covered mountains... We were overwhelmed by their sheer magnificence and beauty. The cruise th
Read more
Rick11223344
00
Fantastic Experience.
Best flight and boat trip ever! Great team, nice, well cared for plane. The views are incredible. A must do.
Read more
joliehod
00
Breathtaking Sights
Spectacular day with the engaging crew at Air Milford. Flying across the basin and through the mountain ranges to t
Read more
247leeannem
00
WOW
The Air Milford fly/cruise/fly is undoubtedly one of NZ best scenic tours. The crew at Air Milford were outstanding
Read more
Waiheketravellers
00
The best experience ever!
We caught a coach from Queenstown to the Milford Sounds. We decided to fly back. Our pilot Antony was amazing. We f
Read more
Key Details
  • Duration: 8–13 hours
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Hotel Pickup
  • Languages Offered: English
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:+1 855 275 5071
Frequently Asked Questions about Milford Sound Day Trip from Queenstown by Coach, Cruise and Flight