Tours and Tickets
Routeburn Track Guided Walk (Half-Day)
4.5

Routeburn Track Guided Walk (Half-Day)

By Nomad Safaris
About

Ages 0-99, max of 41 per group
Duration: 5h
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Live guide: English
More


  • Small-group tour, afternoon departure from 1.30pm
  • Professional guide
  • Light snacks and water
  • Pickup from central Queenstown accommodations is included. Surround suburbs (Kelvin Heights, Frankton, Arthur's Point, Fernhill and others) by arrangement. Please contact to reconfirm pick up arrangement and time.
What's not included
  • Gratuities


Start:Multiple pickup locations offered.
  • 37 Shotover Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Hotel pickup offered
During checkout you will be able to select from the list of included hotels.
    End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

      • Not wheelchair accessible
      • Stroller accessible
      • Service animals allowed
      • Infant seats available
      If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 5762P9

      • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
      • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
      • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
      • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 41 travellers

      • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

      How much is Routeburn Track Guided Walk (Half-Day)?
      Routeburn Track Guided Walk (Half-Day) price starts from $227.96. Discover and book Routeburn Track Guided Walk (Half-Day) on Tripadvisor
      What is the Routeburn Track Guided Walk (Half-Day) cancellation policy?
      Routeburn Track Guided Walk (Half-Day) cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Routeburn Track Guided Walk (Half-Day) on Tripadvisor
      Which company provides Routeburn Track Guided Walk (Half-Day)?
      Routeburn Track Guided Walk (Half-Day) is hosted by Nomad Safaris. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Nomad Safaris on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Routeburn Track Guided Walk (Half-Day) on Tripadvisor
      How much time do I need for Routeburn Track Guided Walk (Half-Day)?
      On average, this experience will take approximately 5h. Discover and book Routeburn Track Guided Walk (Half-Day) on Tripadvisor

      If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 5762P9

      Reserve your spot
      from
      $225.00
      per adult

      Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

      Similar experiences

      Itinerary
      • You'll start at
        37 Shotover Street
        Or, you can also get picked up
        See departure details
      • 1
        Lake Wakatipu
        Stop: 2 hours
        See details
      • 2
        Mount Aspiring National Park
        Stop: 2 hours
        See details
        Pass by
        Nomad Safaris
      • You'll return to the starting point
      About the operator
      Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
      • Nomad Safaris
        1,684
        Queenstown, New Zealand
        Joined in October 2008
      • Krupenia
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        We Went There and Back Again
        Just did the LOTR Tour with tour guide and four wheel drive expert, David. His knowledge of the local history and landscape and the filming of Lord of the Rings made the tour and the experience exceptional. David has a lovely sense of humour, and was extremely caring. Taking us to places we would never get to, four wheeling through raging rivers to show us places where scenes from LOTR were filmed now means when I watch the movies once again it will have special meaning. For any LOTR fan, or those who just want to get off the beaten track, this is a tour well worth doing.
        Written 12 April 2024
      • tonyf524
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        A great morning even in the rain
        Despite the weather we had a great time and a real adventure. The driver/guide Nico was great, knowledgeable fun and a good, safe driver. There was lots on Lord of the Rings and much more besides. Would recommend unreservedly.
        Written 10 April 2024
      • Resort13917531622
        0 contributions
        2.0 of 5 bubbles
        Good sites but bad company
        We had a good experience on the other tour. But, this tour was a big let down and spoiled our whole experience. The sites were nice, but the driver was rude and when we mentioned it to the company, instead of doing. proper analysis, it tried to brush off the issue.
        Written 9 April 2024
      • lovetheoutdoors061
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Thrills in a 4 WD in the mountains of Queenstown.
        Soap was our driver for our thrilling 4 WD trip up the mountains in Queenstown. We stopped for photo ops with the mountain range behind us. He pointed out castle rock, lighthouse rock. You could tell he was a pro. Splashed through rivers, bouncing all the way. He has a great sense of humor and was very friendly. He gave us some fun facts about what we were seeing. It was evident he really likes his job. Want an exciting thing to do out of the city to see scenic vistas from mountain tops? This is the tour to take. Hopefully you will get Soap. He made it very fun.
        Written 8 April 2024
      • I8213KWallanc
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Lord of the Rings tour
        We went on the LOTR full day tour with Soap as our authentic and charming guide. The day was well run, stunning scenery, great storys and good 4x4 driving. It exceeded all of our expectations.
        Written 5 April 2024
      • F9305NYmarial
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Best day on a Quadbike!
        A great adventure. Learn to ride and then set off to the mountain peak above Queenstown on a quad bike. Thanks to Cam for making it such a great day.
        Written 4 April 2024
      • HackswithRak
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Adventurous way to see Queenstown
        This was our first trip to New Zealand’s South Island. Although I wasn’t a LOTR fanatic, I was intrigued to experience it with some adventure - and Nico with Nomad Safaris did not disappoint! It was a fun morning of seeing the interesting sites in Queenstown and surrounding areas, including Arrowtown and the Gold Rush. But the most exhilarating part, was Nico’s 4-wheel driving through the rushing Arrow River, water splashing over the hood and over the running boards! Nico offered for us to try gold panning, but all passengers declined because it was pouring rain. But, we all took him up on the hot chocolate, fresh banana bread and cookies. Nice touch! Nico had us back, on time, to continue our day. Price is good value for the adventure. Thank you!
        Written 31 March 2024
      • Lyphe416
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Exceeded all expectations
        Great excursion and guide. Well run, stunning scenery, great history, and exceeded all of our expectations. Thank you!
        Written 24 March 2024
      • Kdk08d
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Beautiful scenery and fun hike!
        We had an amazing hike led by Benjamin! He informed and entertained us on the drive to the trailhead from Queenstown. It was clear that Benjamin was experienced and focused on making this hike a great experience for us….he checked in periodically on the pace and our wishes for photos, and need for breaks. We preferred a faster pace and due to the smaller group, we were able to make it to the Landslide lookout where we had a tasty lunch and just enjoyed the view. The scenery was spectacular- clear water, forest, views of glaciers and some wonderful waterfalls. Thanks, Benjamin, for a very personalized and enjoyable hike of 11.5 miles! You have a gift for guiding!
        Written 23 March 2024
      • echingc2023
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Great Tour
        Had great time with the tour, enjoyed it. The staff are very good, have good interaction with the guest. Thanks Adrian, Soap, Nico and David.
        Written 23 March 2024
      • Wander07532777481
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Great day on ATVs
        They picked us up downtown and drove us up to the ATV base. Great instruction with some good humor and solid advice. We got out on the trails after and had a great time. Lots of dust and lots of fun.
        Written 20 March 2024
      • caNewHampshire
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Amazing trip.
        I was picked up promptly from my hotel and we headed right up to skippers canyon. Our drivers family went back to the original settlers of this area and he was able to tell us a lot of personal stories growing up in this area. We were blessed with an incredibly crystal clear day and amazing views. I enjoyed the tea and biscuit stop when we got to the school house. Also enjoyed walking across the suspension bridge. I must have taken hundreds of pictures.
        Written 18 March 2024
      • Storyteller724578
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Great fun and worth the money
        The guys Dan and Mike were really lovely and good fun. They ensured we were fully capable by doing some initial skill tests before taking us up the mountain. I'd highly recommend. It was definitely my favourite adventure in QT above Paragliding and the Nevis Swing.
        Written 17 March 2024
      • lindabP8371HX
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Skippers Canyon
        We went as a Titan tour group, and were picked up from our hotel to Skippers Canyon. Our driver was Jordan, he was very informative. Amazing views. Did goldpanning by Shotover river. Was a really amazing experience, and would highly recommend this company. 10 out of 10.
        Written 16 March 2024
      • Curiosity45329692489
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Adventure Highlight
        Our experience was AMAZING! Soap was a great tour guide and so much fun. The experience was educational and adventurous. If you’re staying in Queenstown you should absolutely do this!
        Written 15 March 2024
      See all 1 review
      These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

      Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.


      We perform checks on reviews.
      Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
      Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
      When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
      Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
      Learn more about our review moderation.
      4.5
      4.5 of 5 bubbles4 reviews
      Excellent
      3
      Very good
      0
      Average
      0
      Poor
      1
      Terrible
      0

      Lawrence C
      3 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Lovely hike on a track through trees up the mountain with the sight and sound of waterfalls along the way. We had a small group of 4, luckily, and walked just over 16 km in around 5.5 hrs total trip. The walk was a steady rise with a few minor steep bits but nothing major. It was a there and back trek with a picnic halfway. The weather was kind and the scenery beautiful with some lovely waterfalls containing crystal clear water, stunning. Our guide, Jono, was extremely knowledgeable, not just about the route but also Māori cultural in general. He was good at checking in on how we were feeling, conscious of the return walk, giving options for us to choose on distance and highlighting time between toilets. Jono was a definite bonus.
      This is not a walk for young children however there is the longer possibilities for those wanting to trek further. Routeburn Track provides different levels of challenge, you choose what you want. A great day out.
      Written 14 March 2024
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Thank you for sharing your wonderful hiking experience! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the lovely scenery and waterfalls along the way, as well as the knowledge and care provided by our guide, Jono. It's great to know that you found the Routeburn Track to offer different levels of challenge, making it suitable for various preferences. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again for another great day out!
      Written 31 March 2024
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Julia H
      6 contributions
      2.0 of 5 bubbles
      Guides were fabulous, view was stunning and that’s the extent of the positivity for this trip. It’s wrongly marketed as a half day adventure and while theoretically you are away from Queenstown for half a day, the activity goes for 45 mins. My family were incredibly disappointed with the bang for buck on this trip. Even the guides said it shouldn’t be marketed as a a half day trip. No transparency around the 1.5 hour drive in each direction. Had we known we would have thought twice about paying such a price for such a short walk.
      Written 9 March 2024
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Hello, thank you for writing to us, we can’t improve our services without you giving us feedback. We are sorry this trip did not meet your expectations. The drive is 1.25 hours in each direction, leaving the walking portion of this tour to be around 1.5 hours, so we do not understand why you only walked for 45 minutes. This trip is specifically designed for those visitors who do not have the time to do the full day walk, but still want a taste of the Great Routeburn Track. We will be speaking with our guide to find out what happened on this trip. We will also be reviewing our product descriptions on our partner booking sites. Please can you get in touch with mcc@nomadsafaris.co.nz or phone the our business phone number and ask for the Business Development Manager and we will look understand your trip further. Thank you for writing to us and I hope to hear from you soon.
      Written 4 April 2024
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Lisa R
      Preston, UK47 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Excellent day with Jono along the Routeburn track to the falls under the Harris saddle, our group of 6 including Jono had a short stop to collect a lovely coffee in Glenorchy and then onto the start of our walk. Our pace was steady but that meant we covered plenty of ground. Jono gave us loads of information along the way about plants, landscape and birds. His knowledge was excellent. I really would recommend this trip if you enjoy the outdoors 👍🏻 lunch was also superb and our fellow walkers were excellent company.
      Lisa & Stuart UK
      Written 18 February 2024
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      We're thrilled that you enjoyed the steady pace and the ample ground you covered. We're also glad to hear that you found the lunch superb and that you had great company along the way. Your recommendation means a lot to us, and we hope to welcome you back for more outdoor adventures in the future!
      Written 8 March 2024
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Keith K
      43 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      We had a fantastic morning enjoying the scenery, stories and some great humour with our guide, Brent.

      Would recommend this walk for all abilities
      Written 30 March 2023
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      The scenery is quite magic. It is great to know that our guides are always doing their best to make your day memorable! Thanks for the review!
      Written 4 May 2023
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Routeburn Track Guided Walk (Half-Day) provided by Nomad Safaris

      All Queenstown HotelsQueenstown Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Queenstown
      All things to do in Queenstown
      Day Trips in QueenstownZoos & Aquariums in Queenstown
      RestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire