Tours and Tickets
Bike The Wineries Full Day Ride Queenstown
4.5

Bike The Wineries Full Day Ride Queenstown

By Around The Basin Bike Queenstown
Recommended by 91% of travellers
91% of reviewers gave this product a bubble rating of 4 or higher.
About
If you enjoy the freedom of independent travel and the convenience of guided tours, then this winery biking tour from Queenstown offers the best of both worlds. You’ll be conveniently dropped off at the starting point, with your provided bikes and helmets, so you don’t need to drive yourself. Using your informative trail map you’ll then spend the day touring the historic Arrowtown area, stopping at wineries as you wish, and going at your own pace.
from
$105.00
per adult
Lowest price guarantee

Ages 5-90, max of 8 per group
Duration: 7h 30m
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Live guide: English
More
Written guide
Print or digital reading material such as a guide, map, brochure, etc.
: English
More

Highlights
  • Return transfers to start and end points, plus hotels, are included
  • Receive exclusive deals at the wineries along the cycle trail
  • A fun way to spend the day outdoors with friends
  • Ideal for active travelers who also enjoy good food and drink

  • Use of bicycle
  • Use of helmet
  • Shuttle transport to start and from finish
What's not included
  • Food and drinks
  • Wine tastings


Start:
  • 3 Searle Lane, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

    • Not wheelchair accessible
    If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 19208P2

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Minimum drinking age is 18 years - recommended to bring ID
    • A maximum of 8 people per booking
    • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
    • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 8 travellers

    • All sales are final and incur 100% cancellation penalties.

    Which attractions will I visit with Bike The Wineries Full Day Ride Queenstown?
    How much is Bike The Wineries Full Day Ride Queenstown?
    Bike The Wineries Full Day Ride Queenstown price starts from $107.53. Discover and book Bike The Wineries Full Day Ride Queenstown on Tripadvisor
    What is the Bike The Wineries Full Day Ride Queenstown cancellation policy?
    Bike The Wineries Full Day Ride Queenstown cancellation policy: All sales are final and incur 100% cancellation penalties. Discover and book Bike The Wineries Full Day Ride Queenstown on Tripadvisor
    Which company provides Bike The Wineries Full Day Ride Queenstown?
    Bike The Wineries Full Day Ride Queenstown is hosted by Around The Basin Bike Queenstown. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Around The Basin Bike Queenstown on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Bike The Wineries Full Day Ride Queenstown on Tripadvisor

    If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 19208P2

    Reserve your spot

    Similar experiences

    Itinerary
    • You'll start at
      3 Searle Lane
      3 Searle Lane, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
      See address & details
    • 1
      Arrowtown Village
      Stop: 30 minutes
      See details
    • 2
      Gibbston
      Stop: 30 minutes
      See details
      Pass by
      Kawarau Suspension Bridge
    • 3
      Gibbston Valley Winery
      Stop: 30 minutes
      See details
    • 4
      Rockburn - Cellar Door
      Stop: 30 minutes
      See details
    • 5
      Mt Rosa Wines
      Stop: 30 minutes
      See details
    • 6
      Brennan Wines
      Stop: 30 minutes
      See details
    • 7
      Chard Farm Winery
      Stop: 30 minutes
      See details
    • You'll return to the starting point
    About the operator
    Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
    • Around The Basin Bike Queenstown
      475
      Queenstown, New Zealand
      Joined in August 2012
    • MichelleH243657
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Arrowtown to Gibbston Valley
      We hired 2 electric bikes and rode the trail along the river through to Gibbston Valley Winery. A lovely ride, easy , and very safe. The company was easy to deal with and the guys super friendly. This was my first time on an electric bike so it was the ideal trail to ride.
      Written 22 April 2024
    • 458brettc
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great experience for all ages
      Awesome trip. Well organized. First time we used e-bikes and they were excellent. Easy ride and we are in our 50s and had not ridden for years. Great scenery. Next time we would do the longer one as need more time if you want to do more than 3 x wine tastings. Staff professional and good humor. Thanks team.
      Written 5 April 2024
    • Carla_2009
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      A Brilliant way to spend a day.
      Brilliant fun, thought 3/4 of a day would be enough, but would did less that 1/2 the wineries and would love to have biked more and then drank more! The whole meet at the shop, van ride to bike collection point, and the comprehensive safety brief were all well run and co-ordinated. Then we were off. Following the very clearly marked bike path, Criss crossing the river at times, the weather was perfect, the bikes were smooth and well maintained. We managed 4 wineries inc lunch but the day gets away with you for sure. If I'd had another day I would have done this again to get to some other venues. Have to peddle faster and drink faster or less maybe? We got the collection point, the bikes were loaded for us and all too soon it was back in the van trundling back to QT, full of tales of differnent wines whilst comparing overall speed and distance data on our phones, ever competitive!
      Written 29 March 2024
    • lswear2018
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Very fun, e-bikes were great and easy to learn
      Fun experience. We rented the e-bikes and it was worth it. A few parts would have been harder, but definitely doable without e-bike. The bridges were beautiful. We stopped and watched some brave bungee jumpers. Finished the afternoon at the winery. Very fun afternoon.
      Written 13 March 2024
    • David B
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Highly Recommend for eMTB Hire
      Great service, friendly staff and nothing too much trouble, would not hesitate to recommend if requiring electric MTBs in Queenstown. We had mûri-day hire and even when we experienced a problem with the battery charger a member of the team came out to our accommodation to fix the problem - customer service at its best!
      Written 11 March 2024
    • N4280TUkiml
      0 contributions
      2.0 of 5 bubbles
      Bad reaction when I challenged a charge.
      I think I can count on one hand the number of adverse reviews I've posted. This will be one of them. You know how you feel when one of those budget airlines stings you extra when they get the chance. That was my experience. And the owner, to whom I asked to speak about it so he knew exactly where I was coming from, had zero interest in doing anything other than defending his charge and making me feel like I was quibbling. The bottom line is that I hired a great bike and had a good ride on a wonderful trail to Arrowtown. Realising I would likely be late back to Q'town to return the bike if I rode, I planned to jump onto a local bus. Unfortunately, it arrived late into Arrowtown and then got a flat tire. (First ever public bus I've been on that has had flat!). After a couple of calls back and forth to their office to let them know what was going on I was offered their bus pickup. Sounds fairly good to this point. But it's from here that they need to rethink how they handle a situation like this. After I deplaned from the broken public bus, so to speak, I got another call telling me they would charge me full price for their pickup. A short while later, when I called to check on where their bus pickup was (it too was running late), I let them know I thought the charge wasn't a fair thing to do in the circumstances. Then we go south even more. According to the owner, it was more than fair given almost the same amount would be charged as a late fee if I wasn't back by the deadline time. Where was this fee explained I asked? In the terms and conditions link if I cared to press it when I checked the bike out, apparently. Really! Who reads these things. Well, our conversation went downhill from here to the point where I was quite shocked with how little they seemed to care. Clearly they have a successful business. They have mostly good reviews but a couple of negative ones - and another that had their own challenging experience with owner. You will probably be 100% ok to use these guys, but if it's just a simple bike hire and not one of the packaged bike tours they offer, then be aware there are other good options in Q'town at similar price points.
      Written 29 February 2024
    • 684juliab
      0 contributions
      2.0 of 5 bubbles
      Don’t go here if you expect service
      We hired bikes to cycle on our own. No explanation at all - not about the bikes, not about the routes. Routes are from gravel and some are quite advanced, so a little explanation would have been helpful. Staff really didn’t care and were very uninterested. Bikes are decent.
      Written 23 February 2024
    • Navigate58290369366
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great bike ride
      Staff was very helpful and it was apparent they enjoyed their work. Great bikes! Trailers very scenic and easy on our E bikes. Wineries were informative and had great products. Really enjoyed the Church winery!
      Written 22 February 2024
    • shburrus
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great wine and food
      From beginning to end, it was a great trip. The pickup in Queenstown went well. The bikes were easy to operate. We stopped at the new Church winery, which is at the end of the trail. We were served some good wine and had great food enjoyed in an uncrowded peaceful setting. Josh picked us up on time and took care of the bikes. All we had to do was enjoy the trip.
      Written 16 February 2024
    • P1296REnatalies
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great bike trip for those of us who do not ride regularly!
      Do not do this if you have trouble with heights. If you do not have trouble with heights, you will love this, even if you are not a seasoned cyclist. We rarely ride and got electric bikes to help us on upslopes. That made it so pleasant! We could really enjoy the scenery. There are amazing views and points of interest along the way. For example, we watched a woman do a bungee jump from one of the bridges. That’s not something we would do, but it was thrilling to see her doing it. It’s nice to end at the winery. We enjoyed their wine and had a great meal. This was among the highlights of our trip to Queenstown. Also, the bikes were well maintained and fitted to us. The trip coordinators did a great job getting us acclimated to our bikes before sending us off, and they were great about giving safety guidance and hints to keep us from getting off the path. Signage along the way is good as well.
      Written 5 February 2024
    • Imapepper79
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      GREAT Day!
      This was a really fun day! The service provided by Around the Basin was super. Especially the last minute scheduling change. You meet downtown and they bus you out towards Arrowtown , then fit your bike and safety talk. Give you the map and you're on your way. With the 3/4 day, we biked up to Arrowtown and had coffee. Highly recommend this as it was the most beautiful part of the ride and shaded. Then returned and started the winery tour in Gibbston Valley. Great wineries and beautiful views into the river canyon. You really don't need the E-Bike, but they made it lots of FUN! Highly recommend!
      Written 3 February 2024
    • 366alysonc
      0 contributions
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      Don’t do this if you suffer from vertigo!
      This tour should come with a warning for anyone who suffers from vertigo. There are two suspended bridges to cross and most of the trail is along the edge of the gorge with a 100ft drop. The online tour description gives no warning of this. I suffer from extreme vertigo and ended up pushing the (heavy electric) bike for most of the tour. When we returned to the office to point out that a more helpful description of the surroundings would be a good idea for people with vertigo, we were met with a complete denial of responsibility or any sympathy, which seems consistent with other comments on this site. In fact, the manager’s reaction was “why should we be responsible for your vertigo” which frankly completely misses the point. On the plus side, the young guys driving the shuttle buses were great and the bike itself worked well (for the short time I used it!).
      Written 30 January 2024
    • Tourist580154
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Arrowtown ride to Queenstown
      The views were amazing! The ride easy to moderate. The staff was knowledgeable and the mountain bikes in great shape. Highly recommend.
      Written 27 January 2024
    • jbm4075
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Splurge for the e-bike option
      Seriously, don't be a cheapskate and splurge that extra NZ$50 for the e-bike option. The Arrowtown To Gibbston Valley Half Day Ride was just the right amount of time with just the right amount of sights. A lunch at Gibbston Valley Winery while waiting to be picked up was the perfect ending.
      Written 19 January 2024
    • JerryM302
      0 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      An Amazing Ride Diminished by Less Than Customer Service Oriented Staff
      An amazing ride with fantastic views and a well maintained path diminished by less than customer service oriented staff who twice insisted that rain was not in the forecast, even while it was raining at the time. Glad that we were forced to ahead when they would not cancel as an hour or so into the ride the weather improved.
      Written 19 January 2024
    See all 475 reviews
    These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

    Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

    Popular mentions

    We perform checks on reviews.
    Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
    Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
    When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
    Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
    Learn more about our review moderation.
    4.5
    4.5 of 5 bubbles46 reviews
    Excellent
    38
    Very good
    4
    Average
    3
    Poor
    0
    Terrible
    1

    Simon C
    Cairns, Australia63 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Jul 2021
    You are picked up from Queenstown and driven in a very nice bus to Arrowtown where you are given a briefing on riding through the Gibbston Valley.

    It is well organised and the bikes and equipment are pretty good.

    The cost is only your bike hire and transfer to and from Arrowtown - you get collected from a smallish pub in the Valley on the return run (or where ever else you might be).

    The scenery is great and the ride is very enjoyable.

    What was disappointing was the proprietors of the wineries ripping off the tourists. You sample very small quantities of wine at very high prices.

    That kind of ruined it for me and made the day disappointing. Effectively you pay up to $30 for the equivalent of one small glass of wine (120mls). Cheese boards are extra (understandably) but I would not have done this tour if I knew how expensive the wine tasting was.

    Could have been so much better.
    Written 5 August 2021
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hello Simon - very pleased to hear that you were happy with all your service from our business. It is a shame you felt the wineries in Gibbston were ripping you off - you are the first I can personally recall in nearly 10 years of operation to give this feedback. Most NZ wineries charge for tastings and $10 to $15 for 5 - 8 substantial tastings is by NZ standards fairly good value. One of the wineries does offer free tastings and a number refund the cost of the tasting if you buy a bottle of wine. What the wineries charge is out of our control, and I have not heard of anyone paying $30 for a small glass of wine - it may have been a very premium vintage. We generally get great feedback from most of our customers about what a fantastic day they've had.
    Written 6 August 2021
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Emily
    1 contribution
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Feb 2020 • Friends
    We were disappointed that the bus did not pick us up from our accommodation as advertised and as a result we missed the first part of the day.
    They said they emailed but we did not receive and they did not attempt to call or message.
    Customer service needs a lot of work!
    The ride was beautiful and the wine was delish
    Written 18 February 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thanks for your review - it's a shame that you did not receive the email from us asking for you to walk to our shop in the morning, if someone has not checked in we do always try to call to see where guests are before leaving but unfortunately we could not get through to you on the number that was given with the booking. I'm glad that you did enjoy the ride and wineries after we took you out on the next shuttle.
    Written 6 March 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    IanAuld
    Brisbane, Australia5 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Mar 2020
    We took this tour when recently in Queenstown. We enjoyed the day immensely and we would thoroughly recommend Around the Basin Bike Tours as they facilitated the day brilliantly.
    The bikes were in really good condition, the directions were clear and the interaction with the crew who took us to the start and returned us home was terrific - highly professional but very engaging.
    Written 4 April 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hi Ian Glad you had a good day! Was great to have you guys out with us :) Thanks, Louise
    Written 2 July 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Kathy
    573 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Jan 2020
    This was Tour #1 of three winery cycle tours we took during our two-month vacation in New Zealand. We loved it so much we decided to do it again when we were in Blenheim and Napier. We booked this tour through Around the Basin Bike Tours, who provided bikes, helmets, maps, and shuttle service at the beginning and end of the ride. We cycled from Arrowtown to Gibbston Valley on the Arrow River Bridge Trail and the Queenstown Trail, crossing suspension bridges and riding through farmland with spectacular mountain views and along deep gorges with turquoise water. In Gibbston Valley, the heart of the wine-making country, we visited numerous winery cellar doors and a fantastic craft brewery with wood fired pizza! The trail was easy and the beverages were outstanding. We will definitely do it again.
    Written 28 April 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    So glad you enjoyed the day so much you did it again in other places - can't go wrong with wine, bikes and beautiful scenery can you! Thanks for coming out with us and taking the time to leave such a nice review :)
    Written 2 July 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    18margarett
    Plimmerton, New Zealand19 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Oct 2020
    Thought we’d signed up for one thing, got another! Due to a wee mix up we ended up doing the whole cycle tour from Arrowtown. Been a long time since either of us has been on a bike, but we gave it a good shot. If we’d known just how far we were going to be going, we would’ve opted for e-bikes, but were pretty chuffed with ourselves to manage the day on the old plodders. Had a fantastic day out, great weather luckily, went to some lovely vineyards and had fun at the Gibbston Tavern for the afternoon whilst waiting for our ride back. Highly recommend this way to travel the vineyards and see the back country with some fun.
    Written 20 October 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Nice work on making the best of your day, even when you booked to ride a bit further than you expected. Luckily the trail is all pretty easy riding. E- bikes sure are a good option too! Next time :)
    Written 10 November 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Peter G
    New York City, NY47 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Was a gorgeous ride and bought some great wine. Only problem was the standard bike seats were quite uncomfortable after 8 hrs of biking. Suggest requesting a wider more padded seat if available. Otherwise no complaints!
    Written 20 February 2021
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thanks for your review and great to hear you had an awesome ride. We do have gel seats available in our vans so sorry you weren't offered one :) Cheers, the Around The Basin team.
    Written 21 February 2021
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Alan S
    Ottawa, Canada19 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Feb 2020
    The bike route was very scenic and enjoyable to ride. Unfotunately it was raining lightly and somewhat cold. Should have spent time in Arrowtown at the start since the ride didn't take long so there was a lot of time to kill at the end.
    Written 22 February 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hi Alan - when doing our full day Bike The Wineries as you did it's definitely good to spend a bit of time exploring Arrowtown and even having a coffee or breakfast there, then after riding to Gibbston you can spend the afternoon exploring the numerous wineries in the region. It's a shame the weather wasn't playing ball on the day you went out. Cheers, the Around The Basin Team.
    Written 7 March 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Ken ward
    1 contribution
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Oct 2020
    Had a great experience. We did have a bit of a problem , because the track was a bit of challenging for my 80 year old wife who hadn’t cycled for a long time and never ridden an ebike before. Long story short, she didn’t gloveless friendly o far and had to go back this split our group up, . But the wonderful staff sorted this out for us and picked her up and took her to Gibbston, where we all met up again. We were all able to enjoy the wine and food and then they came and picked us up and returned us to Queenstown. So after a shaky start we enjoyed the trip and can’ say enough about how wonderful and friendly the staff were in ensuring we had a good time. Thank you so much.
    Written 18 October 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Great to have you out with us - it was awesome that your Mum tried to give it a go! We were happy to pick her up and get her to the winery so she could join you at the end of your ride for some family time.
    Written 19 October 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    nmj99
    Orange, Australia97 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Feb 2020
    My husband suggested this and I didn't know if it would be worth it for the price, but I gave in and I'm glad I did! It is totally worth the money. Not only was the bike ride fabulous but this company were a lot of fun to deal with, they were very informative and their shuttle service is very accommodating to everyone's needs, so if you're not the best rider you don't have to worry, or if you want to go a bit extra there's room for that too. I only did the one winery (Gibbston Valley Wines - highly recommend!), but my husband did more while I waited it out at the pick-up point, Gibbston Tavern, which was easy to while away a bit of time on a beanbag in their beautiful garden set-up with a drink in hand.
    Written 17 February 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Raymond S
    Sandringham, New Zealand77 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Absolute banger of a day. The trip itself is fantastic, but the staff at Around the Basin are top drawer.

    I stuffed up my booking, then wanted to change days, then change my pick up point... none of which was a problem at all. They were super friendly and accommodating.

    We went electric bikes, partly because we’d never ridden them before. They are amazing and make a relatively easy ride even easier.

    Some stunning sights, drank loads of wine and voila, call that a top day.

    The team happily pick up any bottles of wine you’ve purchased at wineries so you don’t have to lug them around, and they manage to find you at the end of the day (so long as you tell them where you’ll be).

    Can’t rate the trip or the staff higher.
    Written 21 January 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hey, thanks for the epic review! Glad to hear you had a good one.
    Written 21 January 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Showing results 1-10 of 43

    Bike The Wineries Full Day Ride Queenstown provided by Around The Basin Bike Queenstown

    All Queenstown HotelsQueenstown Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Queenstown
    All things to do in Queenstown
    Day Trips in QueenstownZoos & Aquariums in Queenstown
    RestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire